Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Doll
My daughter loves this transformation doll. You can do many things with. A great buy for your little girl. It is a great gift.
Published 4 months ago by B. Younes

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, First one Broke, Doesn't Transform, Wings Fall Off
What a mess. On the second day my 7 year old was playing with this doll, it snapped in half! What we didn't realize is that the bust is attached to the waist with a small plastic rod (to make the 'transformation' happen). She doesn't have any pose-ability and my daughter didn't realize that. She bent the doll over to sit her and snap! There was a sharp broken plastic...
Published on December 9, 2010 by Talvi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, First one Broke, Doesn't Transform, Wings Fall Off, December 9, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
What a mess. On the second day my 7 year old was playing with this doll, it snapped in half! What we didn't realize is that the bust is attached to the waist with a small plastic rod (to make the 'transformation' happen). She doesn't have any pose-ability and my daughter didn't realize that. She bent the doll over to sit her and snap! There was a sharp broken plastic piece exposed on both ends. The doll has hollow hard plastic cheap legs so the only way to make her sit was to bend her at the waist (just like the other Barbies). Except you find out the hard way that she can't bend, sit, or even pose!

More disturbing was the sharp plastic pieces on each end of the broken area. That can't be safe - we made sure to look for any pieces that might have flown off when it snapped as well in case her 2 year old cousin visited.

Even before it broke, however, we could tell it suffers from the same problem that Mariposa and a lot of the other 'transforming' fairy dolls had: the wings do not stay on nor will they stay "up". I wish we had bought the less expensive 'non transforming' version instead.

Everything about the doll feels cheap. The legs are cheap hollow plastic (not softer vinyl), the dress works oddly (if at all), she doesn't have undergarments so when she bends over, she bares all, the face and hair are very generic looking Barbie (actually reminiscent of the cheaper $7.99 line of dolls), and her chest/body is very square and oddly shaped. That doesn't even take into account that the wings just fall off all the time (even our Winx dolls have wings that don't fall off). What's the point of a fairy doll if the wings don't stay on ever?

Finally, the whole transforming thing is a joke. You pull strings in the back (that hang down below the length of the doll when not in use) to pull up the dress so it goes from ankle length to 'fairy' length short. But the strings only pull up one inner skirt and not the outer one.

Neither my daughter nor I can push the small sharp edged butterfly button on the wings to make those raise up (and when they do, only one goes up limply and the other goes half way and falters). Even if the wings stayed on, we couldn't get them to work.

In all, an incredibly bad dolls in every regard. Get the non-transforming version of this doll and save yourself the disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy, February 13, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
This toy is terrible. 1 hour ouf of box and the wings don't stay on and the dress won't stay up. Cheaply made. Not worth the cost. Will be returned asap. Would give negative star rating if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another disappontment from Mattel, January 3, 2011
By 
mrs. dani (lexington, sc United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
While this doll is very pretty in the box, it is a disappointment elsewhere.

First the legs can not bend (which is the biggest complaint by far made by the children), the doll feels like it is made of cheaper grade plastic (like the knock off brands you find at the dollar stores) and the dress design is just puzzling. They could have just made the dress fold up in itself instead of inside the doll's tummy.

The poor design and quality was also seen in the Barbie in a Fashion Fairytale; pretty but disappointing playing with it. The Barbie designers are not scoring many points on their dolls this season.

A waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap plastic, cheap doll, August 10, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
This doll is not worth a cent.........it's cheap plastic, legs do no bend, doll is made of hollow plastic, breaks easily. Come on Mattel.....I'm sure most customers who have the time would instantly return these cheap toys. Why can't the product description clearly mention that this doll does not have legs that bend and is made from cheap plastic. Save your money. Mattel are cheating customers. Half the dolls are made this way. Looks like a pretty doll but not worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON"T BUY, April 3, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
This doll looks pretty, but be cautioned--it is not a typical Barbie. The legs don't bend, not even at the hips. The arms do not bend either and have limited mobility. The skirt, which is supposed to gather up when you pull the string, doesn't go all the way up. The wings won't stay up after a few uses. This is junk. Be warned--the strings on it are a chocking hazard and I can also envision that they will get tangled up at some point. Really, I would not waste your money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst doll ever, June 2, 2011
By 
Christopher Tighe (East Setauket, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
I thought things were imported from china so they cost less, not made to last a day. One day and the doll is broken. I could tell as I took it out of the box that this was not going to last more than a few days. Why are we paying almost $20 for such a cheap doll? I am sure they can make it here in the US with quality parts and still make money at $20 a doll... I'll pay $25 if it would be as sturdy as the ones my sister played with 25 years ago... which have been handed down and my daughter STILL PLAYS WITH. Support our country, give them a message and stop buying these disposible items.. call and get your moneyback and demand quality in big name products. I am so sick of how everything today breaks after just a few uses..

Mattel contact info:
333 Continental Boulevard
El Segundo, CA 90245-5012
310-252-2000

FYI I am 35 not a crabby old man :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Piece of junk. Do not waste your money., December 30, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
I cannot stress it enough to not waste your money on this Barbie. It's not like my daughter was rough on this barbie and it still fell apart within the first hour of playing with it.

The wings fall off almost every time my daughter turned this item upside down. They don't lock in in any way. What good are wing on a fairy if she cannot be flown around or put upside down by my daughter?? Also within the first 4 or 5 times of opening and closing the wings one of the threads came undone so now the wings are basically junk.

Additionally the short skirt that pulls down bunches very much when the larger skirt is over it.

Lastly the packaging is so hard to open that it's not even like I can put it all back together so send it back for a refund.

I would give this 0 stars if I could.

Again, piece of junk. Do not waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll, April 10, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
Hard to get out of the package, wings don't stay on, constantly falling off, hard to open the wings, pull sting for dress doesn't work well. Disappointing to grand daughter. Not the quality of the previous dolls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks fun in the box..., May 25, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
... and then falls apart once unpackaged. The wings just will not snap into the up/open position, which really bummed my daughter out. I tried disassembling and reassembling after bedtime, but to no avail, its just cheaply made. This is too bad because both daughters love it other than that. I agree with another reviewer, save your kids the heartache and buy them non-transforming version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mattel should be ashamed!, March 29, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll (Toy)
I don't understand how companies can get away with making garbage like this. Just like other reviewers, the wings do not stay up, they fall off the Barbie and her head just about fell off. Not to mention the annoying cord that "transforms" barbie into her fairy form. The recipient was frustrated to no end. I wish I could turn back the clock and decide not to purchase this Barbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Barbie A Fairy Secret Transforming Doll
$19.99 $17.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.