Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, lovely display of Barbie vintage fashion!
Current clothes for Barbie are gorgeous, but I just can't help getting caught up in the past -- and a peek and the thousands of photos in this book and the description of the dresses is just wonderful. And the best news is, these outfits are still available from vendors of vintage Barbie! They aren't that expensive when you consider their age.
They say never judge...
Published on July 4, 2000 by Andrea Egger, author of Grave ...

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as helpful as I hoped
As a new collector I thought this book would be a useful tool in recognizing valuable dolls. However,that hasn't been the case.With dolls and even more so, doll clothing,there has to be some photos (or at least descriptions) for you to know what you are looking at. I have found that the prices are not accurate with the actual market value of the dolls either. For the...
Published on February 12, 2003 by Patricia Bessey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, lovely display of Barbie vintage fashion!, July 4, 2000
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
Current clothes for Barbie are gorgeous, but I just can't help getting caught up in the past -- and a peek and the thousands of photos in this book and the description of the dresses is just wonderful. And the best news is, these outfits are still available from vendors of vintage Barbie! They aren't that expensive when you consider their age.
They say never judge a book by it's cover. Any Barbie lover will doubt that notion when they see this cover! A blown up shot of our gorgeous #1 hero (pun intended, the doll shown is the first Barbie ever made!).
I purchased this book because I have always collected Barbie and I love Barbie clothes, especially ball gowns. Oh, the current clothes sold in stores are beautiful, but the old clothes are just hot, hot, hot! What made me purchase this fashion book in particular was the other customer reviews in Amazon.com; these other customers were definitely satisfied and described just what I was looking for -- photos and descriptions of the clothes along with their number in their series (like the 800, 900, 1600 series for Barbie and the 700 series for Ken). That way, when you shop on the internet and a vendor says it has no. 816, you can look in the book and see what it is and if you want it!
I can't say enough about Sarah Sink Eames except she's certainly done her homework, and readers should keep up with her work! Give this book a look-see, readers, you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Beautiful and Informative of All Barbie Books, January 25, 2003
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
This book and its companion volume, 'Barbie Doll Fashion: 1968-1974', are without doubt the most beautiful and informative books on the market for the vintage Barbie collector today. They are very well-written, with lovely photographs of absolutely pristine examples of each outfit, enough to make you drool over on every single page!
'Barbie Fashion, 1959-1967' contains fashions not only for Barbie, but for her friends and family as well. These include original outfits, Pak outfits, and every outfit available from 1959 to 1967. Also included are some very interesting prototypes and foreign outfits.
Each outfit is described in detail, with a photograph showing the outfit and all accessories next to it, laying flat. Some outfits are shown on the doll. The photography is stunning, by far the best of any Barbie book I've ever seen.
'Barbie Fashion, 1959-1967' isn't just informative, it's a catalogue of dreams to build on, and a fun book just to sit and look at. You'll never be sorry you own it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I use this book all the time!!, February 24, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
This is the first book I bought when I started collecting Barbie doll accessories. I learned quite a bit from reading this book and refer to it quite often. It gives great cronological history and a good picture of every out fit by year introduced. The outfits that are pictured modeled by dolls have the period appropriate doll to go along. There's a price guide included too. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Fashion, vol 1, 1959-1967, by Sarah Sink Eames, February 21, 2000
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
This is it! The absolute best! An encyclopedia of every outfit you dreamed about in living color. Very helpful in identifying outfits, accessories, names of friends/family and the year they were introduced. Wonderful pictures of every outfit with all accessories, right down to the earings. Nice captions under each outfit with extra information, item number, and name of the outfit. Priceless in organizing your new finds or getting things all together for selling. Felt price guide in back overestimated values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most specific guide ever written, Shows every detail., March 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
Sarah Sink Eames has done alot of homework, footwork, eyework. This book is the most complete guide I have ever read. I have shopped the world over for Barbie and accessories and just find I could not buy anything else without this book. I won't go anywhere without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on Vintage Outfits for Barbie!, March 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
This book is the Bible on Barbie Doll fashions, I use it as a guide for buying vintage outfits and it has never let me down. I am so impress that I am buying Ms Eames second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant book for both novice and experinced collectors, September 8, 1997
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
full descriptions of Barbie clothes through the years. this book makes it eady to identify what outfit you have and the correct accessories that go with them. even if you aren't a collector of Barbie fashions you can follow the fashion trends through the years. You may even remember owning simalar clothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recomend for the Barbie Collector, July 19, 2000
By 
Ginger D. Comeaux (Gainesville, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
This book has so much information. I was able to put accessories and outfits together from a bundle of Barbie "stuff". If you are looking for a book to inform you on original Barbie clothes this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR THE BARBIE DOLL COLLECTOR!!, November 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
For any serious collector of vintage Barbie doll, this book is the best resource available. I have many other books on early Barbie and her fashions, but this volume is the one that I consistently use. It is an accurate, comprehensive chronology of Barbie doll, her family and friends from 1959 through 1967. The photographs alone are worth purchasing the book. The colors are vibrant and crisp. Each fashion is pictured with all of its original components. This is of great value to the collector in putting together an outfit. I keep this book by my computer for reference when making vintage Barbie doll purchases or bidding on online auctions. I cannot imagine collecting Barbie doll items without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of vintage Barbie ensambles, March 9, 2006
By 
This review is from: Barbie Fashion: The Complete History of the Wardrobes of Barbie Doll, Her Friends and her Family, Vol. 1: 1959-1967 (Barbie Doll Fashion) (Hardcover)
Very informative book with lots of pictures of good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.