Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pony Tale
My family has been following Barbie's movie adventures for over a decade, but we were especially excited for Barbie and Her Sisters in a Pony Tale. My three-year-old loves horses and for her, nothing could be better than watching Barbie ride. In this move, Barbie and the girls visit their aunt at their riding academy. Some of them excel at riding right away while others...
Published 12 months ago by NewAgeMama

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Daughter likes it
My daughter likes it, and that's what counts. Don't expect it to be tittilating. It's rather dull from an adults point of view.
Published 5 months ago by A. Burt


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pony Tale, October 22, 2013
My family has been following Barbie's movie adventures for over a decade, but we were especially excited for Barbie and Her Sisters in a Pony Tale. My three-year-old loves horses and for her, nothing could be better than watching Barbie ride. In this move, Barbie and the girls visit their aunt at their riding academy. Some of them excel at riding right away while others find it a little challenging, but they all work through their issues and not only learn to ride but to treat the animals with respect.

Since Barbie is the oldest, she is able to go out riding on her own. One day she gets into trouble and is almost attacked by wolves and a beautiful wild mare saves her. Later she returns the favor. The two of them develop a friendship and she starts to train the horse. In the meantime, Skipper learns her aunt is in danger of losing the riding academy to a rival family who wants to capture the beautiful wild horses and break them. Barbie has two very good reasons to enter the race that could save her aunt's school, but it won't be as easy as she thinks when not everyone is playing fair.

My family and I really enjoyed watching this film together. Like all the Barbies movies, it offers a interesting storyline with a moral but also has fun songs and characters little girls can really relate to. My daughter loved meeting Barbie's little sisters, Skipper, Stacie and Chelsea. Its fun to see all the dolls we grew up with and their different personalities. Girls will also love the beautiful horses and the sweet little puppies that are always running around the academ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it!!!, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great barbie movie!!! 😊😊😊😊
My children loved it fascinated till the end.
And I loved it too
I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feminist approves, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
7 and 3 year old daughters are horse crazy and love this movie. Shows women in positive light which is always a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for adults too!, November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very funny! Even for adults. Not your mindless kid movie. It really captures your imagination. Great fun for movie sleepovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, November 3, 2013
By 
Carrie (Farmington, MI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another great Barbie movie...my 5 year old loves them all...isn't quite as good as the popstar or princes charm school but good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story, November 14, 2013
By 
I think it was a really good movie, if not almost as good as the older ones from the 2000s and definitely better than most of the movies that came out since the Mermaid Tale one. I think the plot was more interesting than the Perfect Christmas movie. That one was just a little bit boring. I just wish that the youngest sister was never renamed to "Chelsea". I grew up in a generation where I was used to her being called "Kelly". Why did they ever changed her name? What was wrong with "Kelly". I'm glad they never went on to change the names of Skipper and Stacie. That would have been really terrible for us 90s kids...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Birthday present, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter loved it. It was her birthday present. She has Down's Syndrome and turned 42 this month. She has all the Barbie movies and knows when the new ones come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Ponies, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My first time buying instant movies and I love it. I don't know why I haven't done this earlier. My little one is into ponies and this movie just kept her attention from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie & Her Sisters in A Pony Tale DVD., November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My grand kids ages 3-7, girls and boy loved this DVD movie. Especially the horses. It has great learning values in the movie and boy and girl characters that the kids can identify with. And music too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than expected!, October 24, 2013
My family and I always consider it a special holiday when a new Barbie movie comes out, and this was a particularly happy one. Barbie is back with a new adventure, this time at a horse-riding academy in Switzerland, and she's bringing her sisters; Skipper, Stacie and Chelsea along for the fun!
Set against some breathtaking alpine scenery, Barbie and company embark on a series of entertaining adventures; each contributing their own special skills, personalities and a lot of fun humor to the story, thanks to some sharp writing from the largely new creative team behind the film.
As with any movie with a plot, there is a bad guy; out to put the Alpine Riding Academy out of business and find and exploit the mythical herd of 'Majestique' horses dwelling on the Academy's land. But his story line is largely comical and not too intrusive; it's just enough to keep the film moving forward. The real strength in the story comes from Barbie's befriending one of the elusive horses when it rescues her from a pack of wolves; a favor that is later returned when Barbie frees the horse trapped and injured by a rock slide.
The other sisters, each with their own subplot, complete the picture when each of their stories culminate seamlessly into the final outcome; saving the academy from the designs of the Phillipe, the villain of the piece, and return it to prosperity.
At the center of the story is a good message of respecting others; in this case, the sisters learn that horseback riding is a mutual effort between them and their steed, and that they must learn to respect the personalities and intelligence their animals. Even Barbie, whose intentions were to adopt her Majestique horse and bring her home to Malibu (not too unlike the villain who wanted to capture and break the great horses for his own gains) ultimately makes the right decision and fulfills the movie's message of "If you love something, set it free."
The animation is bright and colorful with some nice directorial touches, gorgeous scenery, and of course the girls maintain a tasteful, stylish fashion sense throughout. Even the peripheral characters are well written and original, rounding out an entertaining cast. This is a great movie that I strongly recommend for anyone who loves Barbie, horses and well-made entertainment for all ages. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.