Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streisand LIVE .... One Last Time
This Streisand concert is incredible. Barbra, at 58 years old, sounds incredible. The show, named "TIMELESS", is a walk down memory lane with Barbra. She sings all of her hits plus a few seldom-performed songs.
I feel the need to clarify for buyers out there: This DVD is the same concert that the FOX television showed -- however, FOX edited out every...
Published on February 17, 2001 by Matt Howe

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, could have been so much better
What's frustrating about this DVD is how much absolutely more fabulous it could have been. Why Barbra chose to release her millenium concerts where the theme of the dialogue and songs reflects the impending new year is a mystery. Because of it's timing the bits and some of the songs will lose relevance with time. Barbra could have released any of her non-millenium...
Published on October 19, 2001 by Kwame Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streisand LIVE .... One Last Time, February 17, 2001
This review is from: Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert (DVD)
This Streisand concert is incredible. Barbra, at 58 years old, sounds incredible. The show, named "TIMELESS", is a walk down memory lane with Barbra. She sings all of her hits plus a few seldom-performed songs.
I feel the need to clarify for buyers out there: This DVD is the same concert that the FOX television showed -- however, FOX edited out every reference to the "Millenium" or "New Years" and basically aired a truncated version of this DVD. Also, this DVD is NOT Barbra's final show in New York. This is a recorded version of the December 31, 1999 and January 1, 2000 shows at the MGM Grand in Vegas. Barbra proceeded to perform "Timeless" in Australia, Los Angeles, and New York. The DVD cuts out the song "Simple Pleasures" which was placed in Act II between "The Clicker Blues" and "The Main Event". However, if you watched the FOX special, you will be happy to find a lot more songs on this DVD that were not included in their telecast -- including "Miss Marmelstein"; "A Sleepin Bee"; and the "Auld Lang Syne" songs. Plus, more of Barbra's in-between-songs patter and schtick will be on the DVD (including Shirley MacLaine's video skit and more of Savion Glover's Brother Time...).
As for the concert itself: Compared to 1994-95's "BARBRA: THE CONCERT", you will find "TIMELESS" to be full of more lights, costume changes and theatricality (it opens with a cast of three, and includes Lauren Frost portraying a 14-year-old Barbra). TIMELESS is what I would call the ULTIMATE STREISAND concert. You get a fleeting idea of what it would be like to see Streisand on stage at the Winter Garden Theatre in FUNNY GIRL back in the 60's. Barbra gives a very athletic performance in TIMELESS. She dances, crosses the stage, and flaps those wonderful long arms up and down like a bird (ahhh, vintage Streisand moves!) The 1994 "CONCERT" is serene, yet simpler in comparison.
As for the voice, I have realized that 60-70% of experiencing Barbra as a performer is watching her! The voice, although older and richer, is still amazing. The actress and performer is still exciting and idiosyncratic -- put the audio and the visual together (i.e. the TIMELESS DVD!) and you've got an incredible record of Barbra Streisand's final performances.
I think Barbra will come out and appear "live" and sing a little in the next few years -- benefits or awards shows. But, I do believe that these TIMELESS concerts were the last time that we fans could realistically buy a ticket. Therefore, we have this DVD to remind us what a terrific performer Streisand is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Timeless" on VIDEO far superior to Fox TV special!, March 4, 2001
This review is from: Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert (DVD)
This amazing DVD/VHS is so superior to that choppy, commercial-ridden TV special that there should be no comparison. In addition to the extra performances... this home video version has alternate performances to several of the songs shown on the TV special that are considerably better.
First of all, I must finally say that Barbra is indeed a gracious duet partner. She yields the stage quite equally to Lauren Frost in "Something's Coming", shows wonderous restraint in the mock video duet with Frank Sinatra and has shown over the years that even singers of far less quality are not upstaged by her.
To be certain, we have all her classic standards such as "People", "Happys Days...", "Evergreen", "Somewhere" etc., but this concert is most notable for the new material and some of it is electrifying. On "Cry Me A River", Barbra does not end with that slightly higher sounding "Yooooou" but rather with a far more satisfying and beautitifully sustained lower note. "Lover Come Back To Me" is just pure magic and it is here that you see how much more relaxed Barbra is than the 1994 concert. The "Funny Girl" medley is delightful in that we see a bit of Barbra the actress here. I've never cared much for "A Sleepin Bee" but Barbra's performane here redeems it somewhat in my eyes.Her rendition of "Something Wonderful" is angelic and her "Being Alive" was for me the 1st major high point in the concert. "Alfie" could easily have been the one promo-video from the concert as I think it is the perfect type of song for Barbra's voice. The "Yentl" medley here was an interesting variation on the 1994 version and equally satisfying.
The 2nd Act opens with "Putting It Together" and incorporates statements of affection for Barbra by audience members as well as various clips of her work over the years. As Barbra reappears in a majestic gown, she launches into thoroughly enjoyable takes of "On A Clear Day" & "Send in the Clowns".
My fondest memory of the concert was "The Main Event" as it was so unexpected. I remember each of us in the audience spontaneously reaching for our little fiberoptic Duracell "flashlights" and cheering Barbra on throughout this exciting and gloriously uptempo version of her only solo dance hit! [Interestingly, there was no mention of her duet with Donna Summer at any point, and this was one of her biggest #1 hits. I suspect that there was no video footage to use and the fact that Donna Summer tried to get a laugh at Barbra's expense during HER concert possibly has something to do with it... payback Barbra style...?!] [Also, the duet footage with Ray Charles that WAS shown that night, was also cut from the CD and video. I have my own ideas for this, though not appropriate for here...]
Barbra was clearly surprised/delighted by the response to "The Main Event/Fight" and I hope that she will see this as a clear sign that MANY of her fans HAVE greatly enjoyed her forays into dance music. ["Promises", "Emotion", "Time Machine" etc.] I hear she is considering a 2nd Christmas collection of songs for this year, but I have to say I am tiring of the same TYPES of music. Where is the experimental Barbra? The one who would take chances. "A Love Like Ours" has sold no more copies than "Emotion" which was far more cntemporary in feel! How about an album of upbeat songs or at least an album with songs that are re-mix friendly. An album that might be called "NIGHTLIGHT"!
Oh well, I can dream! But if you could experience the energy of the crowd during "The Main Event" it wouldn't seem so crazy!
Barbra exits to return shortly thereafter with "I've Dreamed of You", which is now one of my favorites but took a LONG time to grow on me! The New Years Eve songs are wonderful but naturally dated. However, Barbra's "Happy Days" is among her best live performances of the song. For me the ONE defintive magical momement was "I Believe/Somewhere" when Barbra turned around and belted out the final three words a 2nd time... WHEW!
If the audience seemed a bit more laid back at this concert than the 1994 one, I think much of this had to due with the fact that it was incredibly hot in the arena and with so much anxiety and anticipation, Barbra's "surprise" entrance took a few momemnts to register. This was no grand entrance like 1994.
I'm sad "Simple Pleasures" was not included on the video or even her 12/31/99 additonal performance of the "The Music That Makes Me Dance"... I mean, this could have been a BONUS track on the DVD or something...
Also, I wish Barbra would do live versions of "Memory". "Woman In Love"... could you imagine if Barbra had opened this concert with "Woman In Love"... now THAT would have been awesome! Though Barbra has decided not to do anymore live full length concerts, I'm sure she will perform a few songs at the occasional benefit. I hope she revisits some of her biggest hits tat she has never done live.
Overall though... this show was incredible... well worth the money at almost ANY price and I'm glad I have this reminder of one of the most incredible nights in my life! Thanks Barbra!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbra's Amazing Millenium Concert, December 10, 2003
This review is from: Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert (DVD)
This was the first Barbra Concert i saw - and boy was I impressed!
The Beginning is different to how you would expect a concert to start - but then Barbra isn't your average performer...
After a dance routine from Savion Glover, three actors enter and portray Barbra Streisand's first recording session when she was just 13 - shortly afterwards, 2 of the actors disappear leaving just the young Barbra on stage. She begins singing and is then transformed into the present day Barbra who steps out from behind "Brother Time's" cloak as the young Barbra disappears into it.
Barbra's entrance sparks an immediate standing ovation which is just electric - she continues singing "Somethings Coming" and duets with Lauren Frost, acting as the young Barbra.
Barbra then welcomes her audience and talks to them briefly about her mother and that first moment of magic when she first sang in a recording studio.
Her next song is "The Way We Were", followed by a funny video screen chat with fellow legend Shirley Maclaine.
Barbra continues her first act going back in time and performing her very earliest material like "Cry me a river", "Lover, Come back to me" and "A Sleepin' Bee".
Then comes a very funny rendition of "Ms. Marmelstein" in which Barbra sits on an office chair on wheels and glides around the stage. After this - what we've all been waiting for - A Funny Girl Medley. Barbra begins with "The Greatest Star" then going into "Second Hand Rose" and finally into the showstopper that is "Don't Rain on my Parade". Barbra sings this even better than when she first recorded this nearly 40 years previously and when she hits the high notes at the end, you really do get shivers down your spine. She holds the final big note triumphantly and the audience subsequently roar in applause and give Barbra a very well deserved standing ovation. Simply Amazing!
Barbra continues the first act with such classics as "Being Alive" and "Evergreen", before touchingly singing "Papa, can you hear me" which leads into "A Piece of Sky" a moment later.
During this song - her massive video screen comes down and Lauren Frost again appears beside Barbra to sing the final big notes of the song.
As they do this - the video screen seperates into 3 pieces in mid air with Lauren on the right, Barbra in "Yentl" in the middle and Barbra live on stage on the right hand side - it really is a brilliant and inspired end to Act One.
The Second Act begins with a video presentation of "Putting it Together" after which Barbra appears in a different outfit, a large red and green frock no less, to sing "On a Clear Day".
Then after a video montage of her greatest duets Barbra launches into a fantastic performance of "The Main Event", a song many thought she would never perform live. This song rouses the crowd and gets them dancing with their glowsticks while Barbra and her three backing singers perform a routine on stage.
After this, there is another costume change after which Barbra re-appears in a white gown partly made out of material from her wedding veil. She poinently sings "I've dreamed of you" to her husband in the audience, as well as "At the same time" with a large childrens choir who appear behind her.
Then its time for Streisand's most famous song - "People".
She performs a beautiful version of it which illicits yet another standing ovation from her entralled crowd.
The Millennium celebrations follow which lead in gorgeous version of "Happy days are here again" and a very slow "Don't like Goodbyes".
This is nearly the end of this event - but not quite.
Barbra begins movingly singing "I Believe" and then launches into another of her trademark ballads, the fantastic "Somewhere"
As Lauren Frost joins her onstage, a giant staircase is revealed from the set, which Barbra climbs halfway up to sing her final notes in the song including an amazing acappela note which ends the concert.
Barbra is the greatest "diva" that has ever lived - and this concert more than proved it. At 58 years old - she still has it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great farewell from one of the greats., February 21, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert (DVD)
So much better than the truncated and aimless version shown on Fox. The restored comic interludes, Savion Glover's "Brother Time," the New Year's festivities and additional songs give her stellar performances a theatrical and narrative context that is completely missing from the TV broadcast. Act One is incredibly exciting and moving, and Act Two -- despite one too many sentimental songs -- ultimately triumphs as Streisand's voice heats up and soars with thrilling confidence. Streisand, despite all the theatrical structure, seems much more relaxed than the '94 concert, and it makes this viewer remember why I fell in love with her talent in the first place. There's nothing quite like seeing this incomparable artist live -- this is much more vibrant and essential than its CD counterpart which seems confusing without the visual reference. An essential and bittersweet reminder that artists like this come around only once in a lifetime. We will never see Streisand sing peform a full concert again, but we will have this DVD as a constant and welcome reminder of what she is and was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Streisand's talent is TIMELESS..., April 10, 2002
By 
This review is from: Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert (DVD)
This DVD is chock-full of glorious highlights--the Act I finale (featuring the prodigiously gifted young Lauren Frost) and Streisand's truly stunning interpretations of her signature classics "People" and "Happy Days are here Again" in Act II, among them. The singer also pleads a strong case for "Alfie", a beautiful song which she sings with loving care. Ms. Streisand looks great, seems utterly relaxed and invigorated, and, her vocals are consistently top-notch. the show is a creative, fresh, innovative autobiographical "show" rather than a song recital--well conceived and directed by Ms. Striesand herself. In addition, the DVD looks and sounds FANTASTIC. But why release the now-awkwardly dated New Year's/Milennium shows with the running Y2K theme, and not the FAR-SUPERIOR "Final" performances in New York and Los Angeles? During those electrifying four final shows, which took place in late September 2000, Ms. Streisand was in even better voice, and the shows were much more emotional and the audience response thunderous. Plus, there were a number of ADDED songs: "Come Rain or Come Shine", "The Music That Makes Me Dance", "My Man", and the totally unexpected, absolutely THRILLING slow-version of "Before the Parade Passes By", which put a fitting and heartfelt polish to the show. This was a much-improved, more polished version of the program contained in this DVD. Bottom line: the closest we have (so far) to Barbra's live-performance finale, and she's worth the price...but dare we hope for a second, REALLY TIMELESS "Timeless" on DVD in the future?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbra is spectacular -- as usual!, February 15, 2001
By 
"dunesgirl" (Watsonville, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Having just seen this program on television, I am waiting anxiously for the video. No one else can sing a song as beautifully as Barbara Streisand does with that gorgeous, crystal-clear voice. And now I am also sure that no one else can do better producing, writing, and directing either. She does it all. And with such class! The songs she chose and the feelings with which she sings them go directly to your heart. Such songs as "Send in the Clowns", "Papa" (from Yentl), "He is Wonderful" (from The King and I), her own song, "Evergreen", and of course "People". And many, many more. She also sings duets with herself, by singing along with clips from her movies. It is truly a spectacular show. She reminds you of what music should sound like and what it can do to your soul. I have ordered this video and can't wait for it to arrive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Event, April 13, 2001
This concert was taped from her concert at the MGM Grand Hotel in Las Vegas on December 31, 1999 and January 1, 2000. This is her farewell to the concert stage, and what a show it is. From the beginning scene of a younger Barbra (played by Lauren Frost) singing in a recording studio, listenening to her heart and singing the notes how she hears them, then the older Barbra (showing a transition from her early days to now) giving advice to young Barbra about never being afraid to do what your heart says and how you feel inside. This is very true to the career of Barbra, she never compromised anything, she always did things as she wanted to.
The first Act consists mainly of a timeline between her early days to her movie songs, all sung with the same passion and emotion as on the recordings. Highlights include Alfie, Papa Can You Hear Me, A Piece Of Sky and more.
Act Two contains a duet section, which showcases many of the duets she has sang over her lenghly career. Even is featured is a duet with her and her son Jason Gould, at a young age (video clip). The Technology Dialogue is very humorous and we get to see a personal side of Barbra when she talks with the audience, especially in the Dialogues where she talks about the letter she found that her father had written a long time ago. When she sings At The Same Time, she enstows much faith into everyone, with the children's choir, it is truly beautiful. She even counts down into the new millenium, singing People just before, very fitting. Ending with a rendition of I Believe and Somewhere, truly a spectacular event this was.
Its rare that Barbra goes on tour, but with this final concert, fans are once again treated to this show from a performer that never disapoints. Barbra has persevered throughout her career, she has lasted. Her music is timeless, the emotion and passion that goes into the production. Everything about this video is memorable, and I highly reccomend you get it, it is a wonderful show that cant be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Barbra, May 1, 2004
By 
her fan (Paranaque, Metro Manila Philippines) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert (DVD)
Barbra Streisand is my favorite actress/singer. In this "Timeless" DVD, it's as if I've met her personally! In the concert itself, she have shown some of the things that she passed through her life. Starting with the recording studio, a 15-year old Barbra was played by Lauren Frost. She even sang songs from the Broadway, such as Miss Marmelstein, Don't Rain on My Parade, and Second Hand Rose. Also her Academy-award winner song, "Evergreen". In the ActII, she had a video of the highlights in her career..."The Main Event/Fight", "People" and "Send in the Clowns". Watch this concert...and you'll experience the ABSOLUTE BARBRA ever...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless says it all, April 19, 2002
By 
Joseph Albanese "The Joe Show" (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How can a performance by Streisand be anything but? She proves, again, that despite the nay-sayers, the critics and others, her voice is nothing less than sheer magic.
The performance (which I saw in New York) is more like a musical play than your standard Vegas outing. Barbra manages to make an event such as this seem intimate and homey - she is sharing with you and the tape brings across the feeling that when she sings (with that beautiful voice that gets better each year) it is only for you.
If you've seen her in concert at any time, buy this tape. If you've never seen her, watch this and discover the magic and joy for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget the 2 other concerts, August 29, 2001
This review is from: Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert (DVD)
I was lucky enough to catch in the same week Liza Minnelli at the Palace as well as Bette Midler and Barbra in Vegas. Liza was the most moving, a triumph of courage over adversity. Barbra was perfection, a profoundly intelligent and caring human being gifted with a golden, now more silvery voice. I was at the New Year's Eve performance and I didn't expect the DVD of the concert to recreate adequately the magic of these moments. Perhaps it was the moment in time, perhaps it was the trepidation at the prospect of seeing, in the flesh, one of the past century's most important performers for the very last time (so we thought), but I will never forget this concert. And it is true that a year after, now that the hullaboola about the year 2000 has passed, what we are left with is Barbra and although she sang magnificently (I do however remember her expression at the end of "Love Come Back to Me" when she knew the last top note would go astray and it did but the clashing of the cymbals mercifully covered this ; we have here the Jan. 1 rendition of the song, where I think she went for a lower note) and spoke eloquently, when I am in a Barbra mood, I feel more encline to watch her 1994 concert or her Central Park concert than this one.
Still, it is a precious document on an incredibly gifted, brave, intelligent performer without whom the history of modern music wouldn't quite be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Barbra Streisand - Timeless: Live in Concert
$17.98 $13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.