Customer Reviews


5,745 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,362)
4 star:
 (1,092)
3 star:
 (558)
2 star:
 (334)
1 star:
 (399)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


446 of 515 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Fifty Shades of Grey!
First off, I haven't written a review in a while. After reading BARED TO YOU by SYLVIA DAY I felt the need to.

If you're looking for a book similar To Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James then BARED TO YOU is THE BOOK! Some may think it's a rip of Fifty, but in my case I appreciate it for what it is... Two emotionally F'd up individuals hoping to find some...
Published on April 7, 2012 by KMags

versus
838 of 904 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope men don't read this and think that this kind of behaviour is what women want
What I liked:

GOOD WRITING: I've read Sylvia Day in the past, and her writing flows. There are no annoying typos, actually I found one, but the novel is not typo-ridden, which seems to be a common thing with Kindle books. There was some repetition but the author's vocabulary is wide enough that you don't feel like you're reading the same thing over and over...
Published on May 23, 2012 by Seta


‹ Previous | 1 2575 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

838 of 904 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope men don't read this and think that this kind of behaviour is what women want, May 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What I liked:

GOOD WRITING: I've read Sylvia Day in the past, and her writing flows. There are no annoying typos, actually I found one, but the novel is not typo-ridden, which seems to be a common thing with Kindle books. There was some repetition but the author's vocabulary is wide enough that you don't feel like you're reading the same thing over and over again.

FAST-PACED PLOT: The story moved along nicely. Something was always happening to move the story forward, but wasn't always sure which direction the story was heading in.

SETTING: Lots of modern references and brands mentioned, but not overdone. There's no doubt that we are in the high-flying world of upper class New York.

What I didn't like:
CHARACTERS: Everyone in this book is too perfect, at least on the outside. Can't remember how many times Gideon was referred to as the hottest, sexiest, fittest, most eligible, gorgeous [insert Adonis quality here] man in the city. And the heroine was physically attractive too, as was her roommate, and her gym instructor, her mother, the receptionist etc etc. It was a pity that everyone was model material and there were no ugly Smeagols anywhere, not even as interesting side characters.

SEX SCENES: It's hot, until it's not. There have got to be at least 20 sex scenes in the novel, double the number of orgasms, triple the number of references to Gideon's constant erections (was he on Viagra?) and an untold number of times that the characters moan each other's names. It gets a bit old. I began skipping the sex scenes, which became banal and to be honest, a bit of a turn OFF. Sometimes less really is more.

EMOTION: Or lack thereof. Gideon isn't subtle at all. He's like a two-year old who wants something and won't stop pouting until he gets it. He has a lot of pretty words and flashy gestures of love, but as he himself put it, romance isn't in his repertoire. If you're looking for a love story, Bared to You is not that. You won't find characters that come to the realisation of their feelings for each other through some intense emotional conflict. What you will find are two horny good-looking people intent on banging each other senseless who somehow, from the get go, have an urgent, desperate and unhealthy need for each other. How? Why? I'm still not sure.

OBSESSIVE POSSESSIVE STALKERISH BEHAVIOUR: As another reviewer mentioned, the cringe factor is pretty high in this book. If someone did what these characters do in real life, they would probably have restraining orders against them. For example, *** SPOILERS AHEAD - STOP READING HERE IF YOU HAVEN"T READ THE BOOK AND INTEND TO *** After Eva runs off from him the umpteenth time, he leaves Eva 21 messages in the space of about 30 minutes. 21. That's a lot of calls. Before that, he seems to have amassed all the information he can about her, from who she's living with (and his sexual orientation) through to whether or not her gym instructor is married. But Eva's no better because she signs up for Google alerts on his name. Like really? People do that? Later, Eva sends Gideon three, count them, THREE separate lots of flowers with messages in one day and then hand delivers him a gift. I mean, really? You don't think that's a tad bit much for just ONE day? I guess it isn't when your lover takes a photo of you sleeping in your own bedroom, then has your WHOLE bedroom recreated in his own home...to the detail. And that's just so when you need space, you can run off your to 'own' room without leaving his house. Eww. Eva's mother traces her cellphone, Gideon traces Eva's credit card - I mean, billionaires stalking people when they could be out yachting, travelling to exotic places, flying to the moon or whatever it is billionaires do?

Then there's the jealousy. Gideon is suspicious of any unfamiliar male that he hasn't got a file on and Eva is suspicious of every female in Gideon's life, even his mother (!!). Both characters are so insecure, their actions become laughable. ["Hello," he purred, his icy gaze on Martin. "Introduce us."] Sexy and possessive? Or just plain rude?

At the end of the day, I liked this book, but I didn't. Sylvia Day has made a good business decision to capitalise on 50 shades (which I haven't read because I didn't care for the kindle sample I received) and I still like her writing skills. She creates vivid scenes and has great command of language. But I'm not crazy about some aspects of 'Bared' so I probably won't read the rest of the series. I don't give a toss about Gideon's inner demons, and Eva seems to have it together (she's a likeable heroine). There were so many declarations of LOVE(from Eva) and NEED(from Gideon) that its already clear from this first instalment that the two will be sticking with each other through thick and thin while copulating fast and furiously. Glad I read part one, but not holding my breath for part II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


446 of 515 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Fifty Shades of Grey!, April 7, 2012
By 
First off, I haven't written a review in a while. After reading BARED TO YOU by SYLVIA DAY I felt the need to.

If you're looking for a book similar To Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James then BARED TO YOU is THE BOOK! Some may think it's a rip of Fifty, but in my case I appreciate it for what it is... Two emotionally F'd up individuals hoping to find some kind of happiness. In my opinion I think it's better than Fifty Shades and it may have to do with Sylvia Day being a seasoned author. You can be the judge of that.

From the moment Eva and Gideon meet, there's a connection they can't resist. Initially it's a physical attraction that creates interest. They try to keep it casual, however one broken individual can recognize another and that's what Eva recognizes in Gideon. Although he tries to deny and in the process hurts Eva he always finds himself chasing after her because she sees him. Accepting the knowledge brings them closer, but not wiser regarding their relationship. They understand they'll need to take baby steps if they want their relationship to work. You do see them grow and learn from their mistakes.

How can two dysfunctional individuals make a relationship work? Their relationship is emotional, intense and complicated. They're obsessed, possessive and jealous of each other. Put all that together and the sex is explosive, their love is sweetly intoxicating, their relationship at times is stormy but when they're happy it's beautiful.

Will Eva have enough patience to overcome her frustrations with Gideon withholding his past from her? I hope so. Like Gideon, Eva and Cary (Eva's best friend), I myself is a part of the F'd up group so I can relate to their story. They all deserve their happily ever after as I have. ^_^

I can't wait for the next book, DEEPER IN YOU, to learn more about Gideon. My only hope is that it's not like Fifty Shades Darker. I love Fifty Shades of Grey, but in the second book, I felt as if I read the first book all over again. I have yet to read the third book.

Updated 4/30/2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


170 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Bared To You by Sylvia Day, April 1, 2012
My Review:
This is the first book that I've read by Sylvia Day and I wasn't really sure what to expect. WOW!! After reading Bared To You, Sylvia Day has a new fan and I have a new favorite author!! I loved, loved, loved this book. Right from the start it grabbed me and drew me in and still hasn't let go. I finished it in one sitting, I just couldn't put it down. I fell in love with the Gideon and Eva right from the start.

Bared To You is the story of Eva and Gideon (great name for him). The story is told from Eva's point of view and I only wish that I could have heard it from Gideon's also. They are both extremely attractive and are instantly drawn to each other, but neither is looking for a relationship. Eva has just moved from San Diego to New York with her roommate. It is when she goes to her office building for the first time, that she runs into Gideon, literally, and their lives are forever changed. They each struggle with their own internal demons, insecurities, and past hurts. Through the story, each tries to overcome their issues as well as help each other. I love that Sylvia Day wrote these characters as not perfect, they both unintentionally made mistakes that hurt the other but they tried to learn from them and build on their relationship. Sylvia Day shows that relationships are hard and they take work and compromise from each person involved. It is not always sunshine and flowers, but when two people are meant to be together, it can be amazing. And their story is absolutely amazing, so much more then I expected and I loved every second.

I fell in love with Gideon, he is the ultimate Alpha Male, he says the best things to Eva. It was a good thing I read this on my Kindle, because in paperback I wouldn't have been surprised if the pages melted!! It has some of the HOTTEST, STEAMIEST, INTENSE, SEXIEST sex scenes that I have ever read!!

Eva and Gideon are perfect for each other and you can't help but root for them on their journey towards a happily ever after. There is a great entertaining cast of secondary characters that have me hoping for their happily ever after as well.

Silvia's website states that this is the first book in the Crossfire series that follows the emotional and romantic journey taken by Gideon Cross and Eva Tramell. Bared To You is an excellent start to the series. I am definitely along for the ride on Gideon and Eva's journey and eagerly await the next book. I highly recommend this book. It is absolutely a reread for me!!
BEST OF THE BEST RATING
Mariann at Belle's Book Bag [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What 50 Shades of Grey aspired to be, July 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This novel was the potential 50 Shades of Grey had, but didn't reach at all. People harping on this being a cop off of 50 Shades may be right in a way but this story line isn't something new, it's been used over and over again -- those other books just haven't made it main stream like 50 Shades-- which is fan fiction at best and will never be anything more. You can see Twilight all through the book and it started to become obnoxious.

Bared To You is the version of this torrid tale of the rich young man getting with the younger woman with some controlling/dominating characters thrown in. It's well written and keeps you enthralled. I actually liked the characters and didn't think they were extremely far fetched. It's fiction but its the kind you hope would happen in real life. I am excited for the next installment of this series-- the secrets are engaging and each chapter keeps you salivating for more.

My opinion-- don't waste your money on 50 Shades and go for Bared To You. The female character is actually tolerable and not some bumbling child who says "crap!", "double crap!" all the time. I'm happy a seasoned writer was able to turn this idea into something readable and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


267 of 333 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Shades of Grey Rewritten, May 20, 2012
By 
MariRockN (Pleasant Hill, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have never in my life found two books that read almost exactly the same. Bare to You is as close to Fifty Shades of Grey as a book can get and not be called Fifty Shades of Grey. While I loved the FSoG series, the fact that I actually finished this book is a miracle. I was intrigued to see just how ridiculous it would get and, sadly, I was not disappointed.

**Spoilers**

Christian = Gideon
Ana = Eva
Ehlena/Christian = Magdelene/Corinne/Gideon (altho there was no Mrs. Robinson)
Jose = Cary - close friends of Ana/Eva (both photograph pictures of Ana/Eva)
Taylor = Angus - Christian's/Gideon's chauffeurs with accents
Dr. Flynn = Dr. Peterson - therapists

Christian/Gideon similarities:
Both are extraordinarily hot, handsome, sexy and fit (not a problem)
Upon meeting Ana/Eva for the first time, they were instantly smitten when they witness Ana/Eva trip/stumble in their office/office building
Are in their late twenties (billionaires, owning numerous companies)
Live in opulent high-rises with spectacular views
Have one brother and one sister
Chose brunettes exclusively for sexual partners
Use business transaction approach to have sexual relationship with Ana/Eva
Became obsessively addicted and possessive to Ana/Eva - "you are mine" "only mine"
Both stated up front they didn't do romance, but guess what?
Have severe mood swings leaving Ana/Eva second-guessing all the time
Either owned Ana's/Eva's employer's company or the employer's building
Suffered trauma at a very young age
Support charities for the abused
Have large scale, wall mounted photographs of Ana/Eva
Conducted extensive investigations into Ana's/Eva's background
Both say to Ana/Eva "do you know what you do to me?"
Have nightmares screaming out about being touched/hurt then awaken with a need to have sex immediately. In addition to Gideon's trauma suffered at the age of five when his father committed suicide, there is apparently some other sexual abuse that has him going mental, but you do not learn what that is in this book.

And now for Ana/Eva similarities:
Both are beautiful women in their early twenties, but don't see it in themselves
Had similar "first" jobs right out of college - publishing company/ad agency
Mothers both married three times
Love their dads who have carried a torch for their remarried mother
Have deep-rooted insecurities. Question what Christian/Gideon see in them when they could have their pick of any woman they want.

Train wreck meets roller coaster! I felt like I got whiplash with (IMO) one horribly written scene followed by another.

Eva, who was sexually abused by a stepbrother at the age of 10 dreams she is being sexually attacked again only to awaken and find that Gideon, while he is also dreaming, is, in fact, trying to rape her. Were they having the same dream? Gideon abhorred by what he has done wants to leave but is convinced to stay. She then tells him she loves him. Really? Seriously? And then, just like that, he wants to have sex? Again, really? She tells him she can't, that how she's just woken up is too fresh in her mind...then two hours later, they are having sex. "Let's forget" she tells him. Really? Oh, and how are they going to insure the attack doesn't repeat itself...Gideon got a prescription.

Fast forward to gala dinner where Gideon and Eva run into Magdalene and...Corinne. It turns out Corinne and Gideon were once engaged to me married. This is shocking news, of course, but shouldn't be since Cary and Eva set up Google alerts for Gideon and dredged up every newsworthy article and photo they could find about him. What, no news about Gideon getting engaged? Then Magdalene and Eva commiserate over their love for Gideon. (This is laughable!) Gideon actually leaves the three women alone and Corinne coos that she has heard so much about Eva from Gideon as they talk nearly every single day. And then admits that she still loves him - "you can't blame me for that." Gideon/Eva ending up fighting ah-gain, run out to limo, where Eva caves, they have rough sex, go back to party where Gideon gives all his attention to Corinne, not speaking to or looking at Eva. Only when she takes up conversation with a man sitting next to her, does Gideon notice and tells the guy to back off. Ah-gain another scene where Eva leaves and heads home. Ah-gain Gideon follows and they have another fight. She accuses him of ignoring her and he responds "it's impossible for me to ignore you Eva. If you're in the same room with me, I don't see anyone else." But he was definitely ignoring her. Then he proceeds to tell her that the reason he's never told her he loved her is because [love] is nothing compared to what he feels for her. (Again laughable). Eva caves again and they have sex again. She asks him to stop seeing Corinne and he tells her he can't because she's having a bit of trouble right now. Sound familiar? Mrs. Robinson was being blackmailed and Christian couldn't abandon her either. Never a dull moment!

No need for me to read the next book in this series "Deeper in You" because I have already read Fifty Shades Darker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A darkly compelling and erotic read, April 10, 2012
4 1/2 stars.
"Bared to You" by Sylvia Day is the wrenchingly emotional erotic tale of Eva Tramell who gets involved with the sensual and privileged Gideon Cross in a complex and often disturbing relationship. Both have tortuous backgrounds that cause them to be emotionally damaged but they are drawn to each other even as they become entangled in the epitome of a dysfunctional relationship. Their on-again, off-again dance of sexual need and rejection forms the basis for this Crossfire novel which plays out both at work and in social venues such as charity fundraisers. Eva is quick to feel rejected and insecure while dealing with the often overpowering and arrogant Gideon and neither is adept at communicating true feelings. Complicating matters is Cary Taylor, Eva's roommate, confidante and former therapy cohort, who seems to be on a path of self-destruction and dysfunction himself even as his professional career seems to be ascending. All three of these damaged people must refrain from hiding their feelings by engaging in mindless sex and open themselves up to the vulnerability to placing their trust in another person.

An intense tale filled with carnal encounters that initially are used to assuage mutual lust but soon develop into a tenuous relationship between two insecure people. The frequent misunderstandings and attempts at reconciliation that usually involve the purchase of extravagant gifts and steamy make-up sex make this a very rocky relationship. Eva is having troubles with her own relationships but feels obligated to find a way to deal with Carey's issues as well due to their shared backgrounds. There is no true resolution of any of the conflicts, just a temporary bandage on some serious issues that must be faced and dealt with, theoretically in the next book. A steamy and emotional read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much like fifty, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First..I bought this book because I was really missing Fifty shades which I loved..so when I saw this and how people were saying this was even better I got excited and thought what the heck? Well what the heck is I feel as though Sylvia just took what Ms. James wrote and just made it slightly her own. She had no original ideas of her own this was a complete copy of Fifty. Second..most people who hated fifty make fun of the characters names but I would much rather read about Christian and Ana then Gideon and Eva. I don't understand why she copied so much of fifty and why people would say that it's better when it's the same. I would agree the writing style is a little better and not such like a child wrote it but I don't feel what these characters feel at all unlike in fifty...I do not recommend this if you have read fifty as the whole time I am reading this I feel like I am reading a mock story such as The Hunger Pains instead of The Hunger Games. I wish I could say this felt like a book all it's own but truth is it didn't...this is one author who took someone's idea thinking she could revamp it and didn't quite deliver. Waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, sensual romance!, May 3, 2012
By 
Marie (OCEAN SPRINGS, Montserrat) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bared to You is a dark, intense emotional romance. After I finished I wished there was more and I'm glad Ms. Day is going to be writing a sequel (according to her website). The end was on a note of hope but there is still a lot Eva and Gideon need to work through and it couldn't have been wrapped up in one book so I'm very thankful the author didn't rush the ending.

As the story starts, Eva has moved to New York from California where she's taken a new job at an ad agency. She works in a huge building and since she's in a new city she's working out how long it will take her to get to work by walking there before her actual first day. When she's at the new building she'll be working at (Crossfire) she sees this woman drop a bunch of change and stops to help her out. While she's doing this, she `meets' Gideon for the first time. Their eyes connect and it's like this electric energy sparks between them. Even though he learns her name (from her fallen name badge) she has no idea he's the uber wealthy man who owns the building she's in. The next time they meet is in a meeting with her boss at the ad agency. Gideon's focus is on her the entire time and even though she's an assistant, he asks for her opinion and it's pretty obvious he wants her in a bad way. After the meeting he blatantly propositions her in a sort of dirty way. It's very blunt and she mocks him and calls him out on it, which I thought was brilliant. She's turned on by him but she doesn't like feeling like "a vagina with legs" as she tells her best friend later.

*POSSIBLE SPOILERS*

Eva has suffered from sexual abuse, something that's easily identifiable early on in the book. It's clear from the way she reacts to things. It's also very clear that Gideon has suffered from abuse though things are never fully explained in this book. In fact, there are a lot of loose ends in this book so I'm very excited there will be a sequel.

Gideon is very wealthy and not used to hearing no so when Eva makes it clear she's not going to just drop her panties for him, he starts making adjustments because he wants her in his life. At first it's almost like he can't admit it to himself just how much he desires her for more than sex. There's a scene early on where he pulls away from her emotionally after a very intimate moment between them. After he pulls away their relationship could have gone either way afterward. Luckily, Gideon got it together. Eva is jealous and emotional and I liked that she let him know this upfront. She also had a habit of running from her problems, which could have been annoying since she ran almost every time Gideon screwed up or she got scared (in the beginning), but considering the abuse she suffered, it was clear that this was the way she handled things. I like that she owned up to it and acknowledged that while it wasn't the best way to handle things, it was her way and she was working on communicating better.

One thing I really liked was that when Gideon committed, he full on did. He really screwed up a few times and it's clear that he has never had a real relationship, but he's apologetic when he does stupid things and he tries so hard to make things right with Eva. So while he's a very alpha male and had some control issues, he's not a jerk. He was almost like an adolescent trying to figure out his first `real' relationship.

There are some interesting secondary characters I hope we get to see more of in the next book and I really hope we get to learn more about Gideon in the next book. That would be my only complaint about this book; there wasn't enough revealed about Gideon. I understand why Eva didn't push him too much. As a survivor of abuse, it was pretty obvious she was letting him tell her things in his own time.

So, if you like darker, sensual romances with a slight hint of domination and submission, this is a great, emotional book. And even though I really want to see what happens next, I don't feel like this book is incomplete and I'm not dissatisfied with the ending.

A side note: I've seen some comparisons with Bared to You and the 50 Shades trilogy and I just don't see the huge similarities. I really enjoyed the 50 books and plan to review them soon also, but there really aren't any more similarities in these books than a lot of other romances (like super Alpha heroes which is very common in Harlequin Presents books). The two heroines, Eva and Ana (from 50), are wildly different. Where Ana was super virginal and innocent, Eva is none of those things. She's more worldly, driven in her career and dealt with a seriously messed up childhood. Eva is also a wealthy socialite so to speak so there's no `class issues' unlike Ana who was always uncomfortable with Christian's wealth in the 50 books. Not to mention the sex in the 50 books is kinkier and more in line with the actual BDSM lifestyle whereas there was a dominant/submissive feel to Bared to You, but there wasn't any actual bondage or sadism or anything kinky. There are a lot more differences and I'm not going to do a complete breakdown of why these books are different because I want this to be about Bared to You. I've just found it interesting that so many people are comparing them and I've been trying to figure out why. I feel like I'm missing something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If You Liked Fifty Shades of Grey..., May 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was pleasantly surprised by this book. So many people compared it to Fifty Shades of Grey, which I loved by the way, but I was hesitant that the storyline would be too emotionally wrenching. Sometimes I get too caught up in stories and it can be overwhelming to be right there with the characters when they're experiencing tough emotions. When I read that this book was about two abuse survivors, all I could think about was a codependency drama disaster that was going to violate my mind in uncomfortable ways. I'm happy to say though that I'm glad I took a chance on this one, it was worth the read and this book was able to take me through a comfortable range of emotions without taking me to dark places.

While there were some major differences, I can definitely see why the Fifty Shades comparison. However, while I really really liked this book (it's much more grounded in my opinion than 50) I still think the story and blazing attraction between Christian and Ana spoke more directly to me. That's not to say this book can't hold it's own though. Sylvia Day is a much better writer than EL James and had Fifty Shades been written with her experience I believe that it would have surpassed much of the criticism that it has received.

Bared to You was a refreshing read. Eva is a woman who has a real depth to her emotions, not the cardboard cutouts that have become so popular with protags such as Bella and Ana. The way Eva feels and responds to Gideon is intense but it's not intense in a vacuous way. Eva has a dark past and it shows through in the way that she acts and responds to other people, Gideon in particular. I felt through the entire book that her emotions were justified because we as readers had something to base them on. There was none of that crap about characters getting pissed and storming off leaving the reader wondering what the hell they're so upset about. With Eva, you know exactly where she's coming from. She has a great deal of personal insight and her inner dialogue is very insightful and mature, no doubt due to her many years of therapy. She is a well developed character and it shows. This really gave a deeper layer and a sense of reality to the story. Of course Gideon and Cary are also great characters. (I just didn't find myself swooning over Gideon like I did for Christian though). They all meld together in an enticing way and it's easy to see how and why they fit together.

Seeing as how this probably also classifies as erotica, it bears mentioning that the sexual tension (and easement) between Eva and Gideon is just as gratifying as it was between Christian and Ana in Fifty Shades of Grey and the emotional connection (from reader to story) was even better. I'm looking forward to reading more about Eva and Gideon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 74 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When you're already a good writer, why did you go there?, June 17, 2012
Okay, with roughly 100 pages to go, I think I've read enough. I just couldn't finish this book and find myself very disappointed that Ms. Day created her own story based on the widely popular E.L. James book, "Fifty Shades of Grey." Sure, Christian Grey is now, "Gideon Cross" (I'm not a rocket scientist, but I figured out the initial exhange - along with changing "Ana" to "Eva.") But here's where I'm baffled: Ms. Day is actually a good writer. There's a reason I read as many pages as I did. Because of that fact, with each turn of the page, my heart sank for her.

Without going into the meat of this story, if you've read FSOG, you essentially already know it. Yes, the people, places and situations have been jumbled around a bit, but for the most part; (and it pains me to say this since Ms. Day has such great potential), someone should have waved a red flag in her direction long before it was published.

This is the first review where I am at a loss for words...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2575 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel
Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia Day (Paperback - June 12, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.