Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock n' Roll Rebel
What can I say? Other than that there is a notable difference about this album from the rest, although it's not necessarily a bad one. That difference , of course, is the introduction of Jake E. Lee as Ozzy's lead guitarist. In contrast to the first two albums, Ozzy is given much more room to shine next to Lee than he was next to Randy Rhoads. It's not that Lee...
Published on December 11, 1999 by jdubach

versus
136 of 138 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Remix of CD is cohesive and modern,but is it what fans want?
The 2002 remastered "Bark at the Moon" CD is actually more of a remix than a remaster. Needless to say, a side by side comparison will show that the music itself (not just the tonal quality) sounds different from all previous releases of this album. If you're a young fan who's brand new to Ozzy's music and thus have never really heard the "Bark at the Moon" album, you...
Published on February 21, 2003 by Bill M.


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

136 of 138 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Remix of CD is cohesive and modern,but is it what fans want?, February 21, 2003
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
The 2002 remastered "Bark at the Moon" CD is actually more of a remix than a remaster. Needless to say, a side by side comparison will show that the music itself (not just the tonal quality) sounds different from all previous releases of this album. If you're a young fan who's brand new to Ozzy's music and thus have never really heard the "Bark at the Moon" album, you might like this somewhat modern-sounding remix. Otherwise, if you're a long-time fan who knows the original album inside and out, you may be totally repulsed by the difference in the CD's music.

Ozzy re-re-released his first two solo albums on CD in 2002, but without any mention on the outside packaging that they were actually RE-RECORDINGS done with different musicians! In an attempt to get out of paying royalties to the musicians who played on the original album, Ozzy had the original bass and drum tracks re-recorded by his current band mates. (Quite an insulting way to treat the remaining band who not only made the late Randy Rhodes' a legend, but also helped bring Ozzy out of Black Sabbath's shadow -- if not reverse that situation entirely.)

The 2002 "Bark at the Moon" CD is essentially a remix of the 1983 original, not a re-recording. But you'd have no way of knowing from reading the outside packaging or even the CD booklet. In and of itself, the remixed album admittedly sounds rather good in places. Although in a few other places it sounds like Ozzy's singing behind a wall (which is not an uncommon side effect found on badly produced metal albums). Overall the CD music is very cohesive sounding, unlike what you get when you, oh say, try to re-record drums. Here there's a little more boominess, different guitar and drum fills, more rhythm guitar and less keyboards. It's now a somewhat modern-sounding metal album.

But is this what people expect when they buy a "remaster"? For the long-time Ozzy fans: please be aware that this simply isn't the same "Bark at the Moon" you bought in the 80s! If, like me, you've become very familiar with "Bark at the Moon" after years of listening, then listening to the remixed album might come as a shock. Not that it's been remixed as a dance album or anything extreme like that, but gone are all those little fills and solos your ears have come to learn. The bell tolling at the start of "Center of Eternity" sounds like it's been shifted down an octave, like somebody throwing a rock at a pot of water.

If you still need a replacement for your scratchy vinyl or warbled cassette copy of "Bark At The Moon", try to get the 1995 remaster instead. It will sound like what a remastered CD should sound like: just as you remembered it musically, but with superior audio quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bark At The Moon "Remaster", April 10, 2004
By 
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
This review is of the second Bark At The Moon remaster, released in 2002 along side the rest of Ozzy's catalog predating Down To Earth. Though Blizzard and Diary feature new drum and bass parts, Bark At The Moon was completely remastered using the original session tapes.
Or was it...?
I bought Bark At The Moon when it came out, and it was a great recording and very influential in it's time. But Bruce Dickerson's remix is missing major signature solos in Rock N' Roll Rebel, both in the opening licks, and in the breaks. This is one of the most renowned tracks from Bark, delivered in an incomplete state on this "remaster!" The only explanation is that Jake E. Lee recorded his solos over the stereo master in the final hour, and they couldn't be extracted.
But it gets worse: You're No Different" was full of keyboards on the original recording, but they are super loud on this CD, drowning out the drums and guitar. It's as if Dickerson just ran the session tapes without checking the volume of individual instruments. It defies explanation, truly.
If you haven't heard Bark At The Moon before, you may not notice these omissions. You'll just think it's a record made on the rebound of Randy's death by a weaker band.
But Jake E. Lee held his own with Ozzy, and if you dig for earlier releases of this recording, you'll discover an album that stands up to Blizzard and Diary.
This is sonething else...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!!! This is *NOT* the original recording!!!, June 26, 2002
By 
"ghstofwntr" (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
Ozzy and Sony have done it again. Another 5-star album has been ruined! This reissue was remixed with some guitar parts deleted (for example, the first half of the intro solo to "Rock 'n' Roll Rebel" has been eliminated.) The keyboards in the beginning of "Waiting for Darkness" have been boosted up so loud that you can barely hear the churning guitar riff below. These are just two of the things that have been changed. "Bark at the Moon" has been drastically altered. "Centre of Eternity" has been drastically altered. I can't believe they would have done this after the fiasco with the Blizzard and Diary reissues. Once again, there has been no mention of the altering on the CD's sticker or advertising. No, Sir, I don't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO MORE LIES OZZY - Your fans deserve the truth., July 26, 2002
By 
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
I've had it with the lies.
I've loved Ozzy like all of you for a long time. But you know what: the reissues of 'BOZ' and 'DOAM' and 'BATM' have lifted the veil on lies that are simply unacceptable. Tell me - in any other form of art or music, would outright lies about the true creators of lyrics/music/art be accepted?
Bob Daisley is the true architect behind the topics of Ozzy's solo career. His lyrics are what gave Ozzy SUBSTANCE (the difference between him and a thousand others). Daisley needs to be recognized, admired and given his credit. Ozzy is not what he has led people to believe. Funny, I always wondered how this clown of a personality could write such great lyrics...
Now we find out the truth.
I am so disappointed, as others will be when they find out. The worst part of this is that Ozzy and Sharon will not even pay Daisley his royalties. Christ - these songs would not exist without Bob's lyrics. THEY ARE HIS SONGS ALSO. (imagine if you can, the hypocrisy of reading in the Bark at the Moon credits that Ozzy wrote these songs alone... Daisely or Jake E. Lee aren't even mentioned.)
I am throwing down the gauntlet to true OZZY fans - Spread the truth and let's get Ozzy to make things right. He is nothing if not truthful about his career.
Public personalites earn our love and respect with their talent, performances, accomplishments and INTEGRITY. But when they cease to show truthfullness, they lose their right to our admiration. It is imperative that people and especially Ozzy's fans learn the truth about his songs. His greatest acheivements are mainly due to Bob Daisley's fantastic lyrics. Daisley deserves the same royalties as Ozzy.
And the same respect from the public. Truth must prevail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame on Sharon/Poor Old Ozzy, October 8, 2005
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
Yoko Ono multiplied by a thousand? Meet Sharon Osbourne. Was the TV show amusing? Sure, make Ozzy the Al Bundy of heavy metal music. What comes next? Removing drum and bass tracks so you don't have to pay the original musicians? A new low and a new lame. Sharon Osbourne pulling the plug on Iron Maiden during the Ozzfest, or staging hecklers? May Eddie sodomize Sharon in hell, where she'll assuredly be headed. She's turned Ozzy into a joke. Tell her to take all these "reissues" and stuff them. By the way, the Ultimate Sin album still exists, no matter how much you try to ignore it, Sharon. What, was Ozzy coked out and cheating on you then, so you want to bury that material, or is it simply you want to stiff a whole other set of musicians?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORD HAS TO GO OUT ABOUT THIS....RE-RECORDED ALBUM..., July 9, 2002
By 
Anthony (sun city, Az United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
This is correct, Sharon and Epic have done it again with putting new drum and bass parts in the album. All of the songs have different drum patterns in certain parts of the songs they are Not remixed. "Now you see it now you dont","Rock n roll rebel" have different drum sounds or altering of the beigining of a song, not like the original re-issues back in 95' which sounded normal. "Centre of eternity" the bells are not the ones on the original album. The title track is also different. Ozzy's vocals also echoed alot on the original album but not this one. Also in the booklet of credits it says all songs written by Ozzy. Nope.
That's not true other people helped him. Its in the original album credits. Sharon and epic Ruined a heavy metal classic. Disgraceful to ruin a legend's work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock n' Roll Rebel, December 11, 1999
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
What can I say? Other than that there is a notable difference about this album from the rest, although it's not necessarily a bad one. That difference , of course, is the introduction of Jake E. Lee as Ozzy's lead guitarist. In contrast to the first two albums, Ozzy is given much more room to shine next to Lee than he was next to Randy Rhoads. It's not that Lee isn't a capable guitarist, it's just that his playing isn't as fluidic as Rhoads' was. Since, in my opinion Lee's guitar style is definitley more definitive in its chords and its momentous riffs than Rhoads' complex playing style, Ozzy is able to be more pronounced in his singing. These things aren't bad, and don't detract from the album any, but what does is the introduction of the keyboard. Ozzy's music is noted for being tough, heavy, and spiteful of traditional values, but the keyboard just brings the music down a little. It's an interesting introduction, but a completely unnecessary one. "Bark at The Moon", "Rock n' Roll Rebel", "Centre of Eternity", and "Waiting for Darkness" are the better songs on this album, but "Now You See It, Now You Don't" and "So Tired" help balance out this album and provide a truly diverse album with different writing techniques by Ozzy. This album represents a pinnacle in Ozzy's career, and is a necessity to any Ozzy fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The results bark for themselves, January 12, 2004
By 
"thebrujah" (Brazil, Belo Horizonte MG) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
Let's face it, Bark At The Moon is, right next to The Ultimate Sin, considered to be Ozzy's weakest achievement to date. I personally can't see the reason behind that statement, as Bark At The Moon is one of Ozzys most fast-paced-rock-like album I've ever heard.
In fact, I remember I hated Ozzy long ago, actually thinking that songs like Crazy Train and Mama Im Coming Home were boring, until I heard Bark... which I thought was harder and faster than anything I used to call "Heavy" and immediately started to listen to it at the loudest volume possible. I would later buy it, listen to all the songs in it, and give the others ozzman albums a chance. I was amazed how this album turned out to be quite different from the average heavy rockers you can buy everywhere, with both melodic both heavy songs (featuring keyboards to add a goth atmosphere to the background) and how it never really became popular. True, this album really wasnt something the fans were expecting to hear later, but thats because Ozzy had to move on due to circunstances (Randys death for instance) while the fans kept theyre Randy Rhoads fanatism. Wheter or not this album reaches Ozzys standards its a good thing to discuss, however one way or the other this album is still pretty famous in the "metal-community", (more than many fans think) and there is a reason for that.
Unfortenately, Ozzy himself doesn't see this album with very good eyes nowadays (the madman cant stand an album which he isnt praised for right at its release) and decided to mix it up a little to try and make this album a little more "suitable" for his taste. The result is the 2002 re-mixed album with sometimes louder sometimes lower keyboards on the songs, ecoes and some guitars riff out and well, 50% percent of the quality out.If you have have both versions, pay attention and notice that some of the songs have been slow-paced in the re-mixed version.
Fortunately I already had an old version of that album (even older than the 1995 remastered series) and knew how it was really meant to sound like. I bought the 2002-version just because of the bonus tracks and boy was I dissapointed, read-out why:
Bark At The Moon:Arrrrrgh, this version sucks, the laugh ecoes are out, so are all the others ecoes, you can barely tell the keyboards are playing, Jakes guitar sounds noisy instead of melodic, and you can tell Ozzys voice been tempered with something. The song that got me into Ozzy the first place turned to trash.
You're No Different: Unlike the previous version, this one actually makes it to the end of the song (it was cut for some reason in the earlier albums) Also, this is one of the songs that Ozzy has made slower, but it actually seems to work :O. So, you say, this version was meant to be better than the previous ones right? yes, it was meant to be. But Ozzy did also cut the ecoes here (they were really cool :( ) and the keyboard is louder than all other instruments (guitars,drums,bass) You cant tell if you have a good sound device... but try and listen to this version in a disc-man or weak radio and you'll see how crappy the keyboards make the song look like. crappy.
Now You See It (Now You Don't):
Now this song isnt really excelent at first place, but it is worst in this 2002 version, some keyboard acts are out and so are guitars riff, oh yeah this song was made slower too.
Rock'n'Roll Rebel: This song didn't got slower at all, but dozens of Jakes guitar riffs are out (not just the one in the start), and I think Ozzys voice been tempered here as well.
Centre Of Eternity: This one is the easiest to tell the difference so I wont even bother... let me just say this a classic turned into bad-performed-tempered thing.
So Tired: Ozzys voice at the beginning of the song is a little higher in the previous albums, also I think some ecoes were removed out of this song.
Slow Down: The only song that didn't suffer any change at all! I've listened to it time and time again and i can tell its the same... too bad its not much of a song either, its good but, Ozzy should have left a better song intact. dammit >:(
Waiting For Darkness:Too high keyboards, too many riffs taken away, Ozzys voice is tempered again and this song got slower too... man I cant stand all these changes, this was another personal favorite of mine, and yet, its been turned to trash too.
Spiders In The Night: Actually I never heard the version on the 1995 version, but I woudnt be surprised if its better than this one.
One Up The B-Side: This one we will never be able to tell, but by the way this thing sounds alike the rest of the album, id pretty much bet that at least Ozzys voice got tempered.
Notice that when I say "Tempered" I mean that without all those ecoes, Ozzy probably tried to better his voice a little with some mixing device among the many they got down at Epic.
So the final question, why 5 stars if so much critics? well I've just listened to both Bark At the Moon versions and, though this was meant to be the "clean" versions review, I just had to let it out, so the stars are for the "clean" album not the 2002 "horrible mistake". Which by the way, if you want to really catch the good Bark... album, the one that got famous, you better hurry, cause sooner or later they will be all depleted, and will have to stand this "tempered" version <:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUINED his best album!!!!!!!, February 12, 2009
By 
WillWilson2 (Corona Ca, Federal way Wa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
They butchered a classic! Frustrating to think how they took the time to remaster it the way they did. The only improvement in my opinion is the outro to Youre No Different. One Up On The B Side isnt even good or anything. Oh yeah and it sucks too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Ozzy's best work!, July 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bark at the Moon (Audio CD)
I am a HUGE Ozzy Osbourne fan and this album is a definetally a classic! This album is AWESOME from begining to end. Songs like Bark at the Moon, Now You See it Now You Don't, Rock and Roll Rebel, and Centre of Eternity just want to make you go nuts or just plain old headbang! You're No Different and Waiting For Darkness are songs that have good lyrics and demand your attention. So Tired is a short, but a nice ballad. Slow Down puts you in a good mood. Spiders is a weird but interesting song. Let me tell you one thing, you are not a true metal fan until you have this Ozzy Osbourne album along with Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman. LONG LIVE OZZY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bark at the Moon
Bark at the Moon by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.