Customer Reviews


239 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, clever, beautifully shot
Louie CK is the best comic working today and his one-man show (he writes, directs and stars in it) just keeps getting better. Great guest turns by Melissa Leo and Parker Posey and writing that is sharp and poignant without veering into sentimentality. Each episode is like a self-contained short narrative film, beautifully shot and scored with a jazz soundtrack, Louie's...
Published on August 4, 2012 by Segolene

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This series is improving.
This comedy series has improved over time. Less of the stand up and more heart felt sketch comedy about a middle aged man dealing with the vagaries of life.
Published 5 months ago by Jerome Donarski


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, clever, beautifully shot, August 4, 2012
This review is from: Louie Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
Louie CK is the best comic working today and his one-man show (he writes, directs and stars in it) just keeps getting better. Great guest turns by Melissa Leo and Parker Posey and writing that is sharp and poignant without veering into sentimentality. Each episode is like a self-contained short narrative film, beautifully shot and scored with a jazz soundtrack, Louie's not afraid to take risks with his writing and his casting and delivers something unexpected each week. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for everybody but I *really* appreciate it, August 26, 2012
By 
Babaluba (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
I look forward to each new episode in Season 3. Part of what I like about this show is how it balances Louis as a really sincere and loving father (even when he is giving his kids the finger behind their backs when they p*** him off) with his no-holds-barred adult life, filled with odd people who often have bizarre sexual tastes. Some of the later episodes are playing less for laughs and more for very intimate portrayals of the complexities of true intimacy with another person and the sometimes-very-thin wall it shares with perversity. The two episodes showing him meeting and going on a date with the marvelous Parker Posey were beautifully rendered (she should get some sort of big old prize for the way she transformed her role in a special way I know I've never before seen on a small screen). My wife is not a fan at ALL: he curses around his kids (they take no offense and hardly seem to notice) and some of the almost-always-sexual situations are over the top, but hey this is Louis CK. This season definitely feels like a move forward toward different ways of presenting itself: black-and-white episodes, unique and varying camera angles, and impressionistic portrayals all suggest to me that he is refusing to get bored with the same-old same-old "stand-up, story, stand-up" format of past seasons. Louis is raunchy and touching, callous and vulnerable, intelligent and stupid, accepting and horrified by growing older, and torn between an almost overwhelming love for his girls and a desire that they had never been born. He fights a constant battle between his big and little head. I'm glad to see some briefly-sketched characters get back on camera (his gay neighbors, for instance). Not every episode is gold, but I'm hooked and look forward to each episode so I can get to know him and those around him a little better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, August 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I know that "Louie" is billed as a comedy, and that some people may be turned off on some of his episodes because they don't make you bust a gut laughing every second of every minute. As a viewer, though, you need to keep in mind that this is as close as anyone is going to get to a "stream of consciousness" from a comedian.

The very nature of a comedian's talent is to take the slices of life we all endure, and then distill the essence of the experience so that we can then identify with it and laugh at it as a shared experience. That's what comedy is -- laughing at our shared experiences -- and that's what makes Louie CK so funny: he does this (seemingly) like second nature.

It's not second nature though, because to be genuine, the distillation process must come from real, dark and sometimes sad experiences and memories. I, for one, am glad to know that Louis CK is out there, and am in constant awe of the way he can show us both sides of the coin -- both the comedy and slices of life that come to inform it.

Was this episode side-splitting comedy? No. But I'm going on record as saying that here we see Louis CK and Parker Posey delivering a breathtaking, true-to-life, sometimes fun, mostly dark, and perfectly nuanced performance in this (what could be called a) short film about two people searching for a connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was not aware, July 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was not aware of how many awkward emotions can be felt during a television show. It's certainly unlike anything you'll watch and it's almost scary that Louis CK is capable of doing that. My hands are sweaty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louie Louie oh baby where are we gonna go?, July 29, 2012
By 
J. Adams (Bloomington, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is awesome that you are reading this review when there have been so many reviews regarding this show. The fact remains that this is the show you've heard it was and may be even better. So wonderful. I love it and look forward to this show all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful episode!, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not to many shows make me feel heart warmed and awkward at the same time. The "asking out" scene pays off so well at the end. Really enjoying this season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louie keeps getting better, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a fantastic episode. Louie always seems to have these special episodes which really speak to me sometimes. This was one of them. Very insightful and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, January 25, 2013
Horrifyingly honest. Brilliant. This is the kind of show I've been waiting for since Seinfeld ended. But this is different. Good different. The awkwardness. The agony. Breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This season was phenomenal. Very dark at times thanks to the special guest in the end of the season! It's worth every penny, and is the best work Louie's done yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uniquely funny, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show is unlike anything else on TV. Louis C.K. not only makes you laugh, he makes you think and he makes you uncomfortable sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.