Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine CD of songs from the seventies by Barry Manilow
The Greatest Songs of the Seventies is a solid Barry Manilow album that offers us a chance to hear some of the greatest songs of the 1970s performed by Barry Manilow. The sound quality is excellent and I like the artwork, too. Oh, sure, we're not going to hear ALL the greatest songs of the 1970s; but what we do get is rather good material from a man who can really...
Published on April 22, 2008 by Matthew G. Sherwin

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barry & The 70's
There are some great songs here, specifically tracks 1-12. Why in the world re-record Mandy and the rest? Barry does seem somewhat uninspired. Barry, your much better than this. There are so many great songs from the 70's that you could have done, even a double cd and not even scratched the surface of the 70's material. The re-records are extremely boring. Five stars for...
Published on September 23, 2007 by Mr.Oldies But Goodies


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine CD of songs from the seventies by Barry Manilow, April 22, 2008
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
The Greatest Songs of the Seventies is a solid Barry Manilow album that offers us a chance to hear some of the greatest songs of the 1970s performed by Barry Manilow. The sound quality is excellent and I like the artwork, too. Oh, sure, we're not going to hear ALL the greatest songs of the 1970s; but what we do get is rather good material from a man who can really sing!

Manilow starts the CD off with an elegant rendition of "The Way We Were" from the movie of the same name. Barry plays with the tempo and keys a bit to place his own stamp on this ballad. It's not quite the high level of quality we got from Barbra Streisand; but I still like Barry Manilow's performance here and his excellent diction bolsters his singing, too. "My Eyes Adored You" was always one of my very favorite love songs; and this torch song shines brilliantly when Barry sings it. The musical arrangement is very pretty as well. "Bridge Over Troubled Water" gets the royal treatment from Barry Manilow who uses this chance to showcase more of his vocal range. Great!

"How Can You Mend A Broken Heart?" by The Bee Gees has Barry singing his heart out. This works especially well on this tune. "The Long And Winding Road" by The Beatles stuns me with its beauty; the Fab Four would be very proud of how well Barry Manilow delivers this! The arrangement makes good use of the strings as well.
Listen also for Barry to perform "(They Long To Be) Close To You." "(They Long To Be) Close To You" was a great song for The Carpenters; and Barry does great justice to this timeless love song. Barry sings this without a superfluous note; and I am very impressed.

"Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word" by Elton John gets a fine treatment from Barry and this places him squarely front and center--right where he belongs! Barry never misses a beat and I love it!

"Weekend In New England" gives us Barry doing a remake of one of his own songs; the elegant piano arrangement is very pretty but it's also simplistic enough to place the spotlight right on Manilow--and that's excellent. "Even Now" is yet another song that sounds just so good when Barry delivers this with panache. "Even Now" is a very sweet tune that fits in well with the other songs on this album.

"I Write The Songs" ends the album with Barry Manilow performing a redo of another one of his own songs; he sings this with passion, heart and soul. This makes the perfect ending for this solid album of `70s hits.

Yes, we don't get as many hits as people may have wanted on this disc; but it's still very good and I can only take off one star because what we get is fantastic words and music. Barry Manilow fans will want this in their collections; and people who enjoy classic pop vocals from the 1970s will enjoy this album also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barry & The 70's, September 23, 2007
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
There are some great songs here, specifically tracks 1-12. Why in the world re-record Mandy and the rest? Barry does seem somewhat uninspired. Barry, your much better than this. There are so many great songs from the 70's that you could have done, even a double cd and not even scratched the surface of the 70's material. The re-records are extremely boring. Five stars for tracks 1-12, one for 13-18. Avg. three. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Previous Two Were Better, October 21, 2007
By 
L. D. Auerbach (Elkins Park, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
Although I am a huge Manilow fan I was dissappointed with his 70's CD. The song selection could have been better and more upbeat. Hey if Johnny Mathis can do a version of I Will Survive why can't Barry???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Enough is enough!, September 21, 2007
By 
Curtis Jones (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
I realize I'm about to enrage all the Fanilows out there, but this CD is a huge step down from his other nostalgia efforts. It's time to move on.

To hear Barry attempt to sing classics by the Carpenters, James Taylor, McCartney, Elton and Streisand is painful.

His version of "It Never Rains in Southern California" is less offensive, since it's basically pop pablum anyway. But to Albert Hammond's credit, he hit a home run with it in 1972, so why Barry feels compelled to do a note-for-note remake is a mystery.

Barry also does remakes of his own hits at the end of the CD. Sadly, it shows his always limited range is now...more limited.

And although this has nothing to do with the music, it must be said: the guy on the cover looks faintly like Barry Manilow; kind of like the guy who's going around the country now claiming to be Kenny Rogers.

But seriously, folks, I have two suggestions for anyone considering this purchase.

If you like the songs, look at your CD collection. It's probably not that hard to make a mix CD of the original, impossible-to-surpass hits.

If you like Manilow's songs, there's always "Ultimate Manilow."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Karaoke Mishegas Volume 3, September 19, 2007
By 
A. Russo (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
On Barry's third collection of Greatest Songs remakes, this 70's collection has not improved the quality of arrangements nor softened the aging of his voice. He is not known as the greatest singer, though more of an entertainer and former songwriter. There are some redeeming highlights here such as the duet with Melissa Manchester (fellow label mate and 70's Songstress). Together their somber aging voices balance off in song and emotion for Carole King's You've Got A Friend sung by James Taylor back then. He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother, Bridge Over Troubled Water and The Long And Winding Road are done very Barry like though not consistent throughout. Elton John's Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word is the second best track here. Kept simple and Barry embraces it as his own creation.

There are two different versions of this recording. The simple 18 track including some of Barry's own acoustic versions of his 70's hits. The second is a double sided disc that includes 4 other Manilow 70's tracks including a Trevor Horn dance remix of could It Be Magic which was done in the 1990's. This version may not be played on all CD players and thankfully it says on the back of the CD which prevented me from buying that version. There is a UK version with bonus tracks like Solitaire and a few other differences compared to the US version. There is also a 3 CD QVC out of print version. Still missing in all is the Rosie O'Donnell duet Don't Go Breaking My Heart. Hurray!

Although I wanted to keep this a review of his CD, I can't help but to interject my opinion of the latest drama surrounded the promotion of this CD. Refusing to go on The View because of Elizabeth Hasselbeck is child like and plain stupid. I believe everyone is entitled to their opinions including Hasselbeck. You may not have to agree with everyone. Barry's singling out of Hasselbeck shows hatred, bitterness and non tolerance of others. That would be like Barry being singled out as Jewish and not allowed to participate in specific stadiums. Isn't that why we have war and other huge issues today? Elizabeth's view is in the minority, Barry should have acted more professional and make his appearance on the show.
Entertainers are not politicians and can have their opinions like everyone else. Using this forum is not always professional. Funny how Sally Field got beeped for her comments at the Emmy's, though when Bush and Clinton won the presidency, they never said...oh, by the way... I like that Sally Field movie blah blah blah...go see it!
Can anyone see the mixed messages here?

Looks Like He Didn't Make It

Response:
There is a great difference in every singers voice as they get older. No one's voice sounds the same at 55 as it did when they were 20. I'm sure you misunderstood my point about the CD being that is not one of his more flattering CD's. In fact I'm not too crazy about the whole Greatest Songs CD series. I liked his music that he wrote and sane much better. Anything from the 70's to early 80's, Barry was top notch.

Melissa Manchester, on the other hand has shown growth and perfection if you listen to her latest CD When I Look Down That Road. All songs were written by Miss M and her voice is top notch. It is also different than her belting ballads she is known for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointed Fan, October 3, 2007
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
I've been a huge Manilow fan for decades, but the 70s CD was a real disappointment. The choice of songs was not good and they certainly weren't songs that go with Barry's voice. He made a total mess of "The Way We Were" and "Sailing." The man who is known for "music and passion" certainly had no passion for this CD. At best, he manages "mediocre" on a few cuts. I think Manilow has gotten to the point where the people around him are afraid to tell him the truth. He does have a nice voice, but not for these songs. Buying the CD at full price is a rip-off. Buy a used copy, listen once, and then re-sell it to get your money back. Let's pray he doesn't feel compelled to do an 80s CD!

Save your money and go see him in Vegas. He really does rock in person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barry re-visits the '70s, September 22, 2007
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
This latest collection of music from Barry Manilow follows in the foot-steps of the two previous collections. THE GREATEST SONGS OF THE FIFTIES and THE GREATEST SONGS OF THE SIXTIES...both were top sellers...each collection PLATINUM. Arista and all involved are hoping lightning will strike three times...this collection of songs is taken primarily from the early '70s and a few from the late '70s. The disco era is not spotlighted on purpose...the CD contains 12 songs previously recorded by other artists in the 1970's. Barry calls these songs "my competition on the charts".

In addition to the 12 cover songs, Barry re-records 6 of his own hit songs from the 1970's: "Mandy", "Weekend in New England", "Copacabana", "Even Now", "Looks Like We Made It", and "I Write the Songs". So there is a total of 18 songs on this collection...plus if you buy the deluxe edition, which is also sold here, you will get a DVD bonus on the other side of the CD.

I like the CD and when i first heard it i immediately had my picks of favorites: "It Never Rains In Southern California", "My Eyes Adored You", "Bridge Over Troubled Water", "They Long To Be Close To You", and "He Ain't Heavy He's My Brother". Admittedly, the melody of "They Long To Be Close To You" and "It Never Rains in Southern California" grab you...i like listening to the music of the songs. Burt Bacharach and Hal David wrote "They Long To Be Close To You" and it has a similar melody with another of their songs, "What The World Needs Now", which Barry sang on the last collection, THE GREATEST SONGS OF THE SIXTIES.

Barry covers Christopher Cross...the 1979 song "Sailing". I love the arrangement and the delivery from Barry...it actually sounds like a '70s song...the arrangement is Disney-like and i mean that as a compliment. Barry fans will know what i mean...the arrangement is so crisp and sounds perfect for any one of the Disney animated movies.

The rest of the 7 songs are also enjoyable...he sings with Melissa Manchester on James Taylor's "You've Got a Friend". The CD opens up with the Streisand hit, "The Way We Were". Each and every song is arranged in such a way that has Manilow stamped all over it...meaning that, Barry makes the songs sound like "Barry Manilow songs" which is why these tribute CD's work so well...he isn't trying to re-create the original recordings...the essence of the song is the key and the desire according to Barry from things i've read is to put your own take on the song and put your own personality into the recording.

One wonders why Clive Davis didn't want disco to be covered...which was a major sound in the 1970's...maybe one day we'll find out. However, the Bee Gee's are covered on this collection...but not a disco song. The song that Barry covers from the Bee Gees is "How Can You Mend a Broken Heart". Another good collection of songs in this 'Greatest Songs...' series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just a repeat, September 22, 2007
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
If you love Barry Manilow, you probably already have all you need. Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars By Jove... Inspiration IS DEAD???..., September 26, 2007
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
It seems that musical inspiration is dead, if it's let in the hands of the Big Nose guys.
Yeap, as it happened with Rod Stewart's "Still The Same... Great Rock Classics of Our Time", Barry Manilow attempts to REFURBISH (in a bad manner), classic tunes of the 70s that are authentic musical treasures by themselves, in their original versions. Therefore, nothing new is to be given to these wonderful tunes!
Don't waste your money on this CD. Go instead to the song list, and if by any chance it happens you don't have the original version of the song:
- THE WAY WE WERE (Gladys Knight & The Pips, and even Barbra Streisand have much better performances of this song)
- MY EYES ADORED YOU (Frankie Valli - the same from The Four Seasons)
- BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER (Simon & Garfunkel)
- HOW CAN YOU MEND A BROKEN HEART (Bee Gees)
- IT NEVER RAINS IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA (Albert Hammond)
- YOU'VE GOT A FRIEND (both by Carole King and James Taylor, in separate solo versions)
- HE AIN'T HEAVY, HE'S MY BROTHER (The Hollies)
- SAILING (Christopher Cross)
- THE LONG AND WINDING ROAD (The Beatles)
- (THEY LONG TO BE) CLOSE TO YOU (Carpenters)
- IF (Bread)
- SORRY SEEMS TO BE THE HARDEST WORD (Elton John)

Get any good "The Best Of..." or "Greatest Hits" compilations of these authentic Music megastars, and enjoy the original version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Karaoke from Clive, October 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies (Audio CD)
The main reason to own this latest collection from the Clive Davis assembly line is the tastefully stripped down and, at moments, breathtaking renditions of Barry's own hit songs from the nakesake decade. It is on these tracks (most notably Copacabana and Even Now) that there is a trace of emotional connection between the singer and the song, and something new to be found in revisiting familiar territory.

While it's impossible to dispute the commercial success of the formulaic collections that have become the Davis stock-in-trade, it is none-the-less unfortunate that a talent such as Barry, who has demonstrated an aptitude in the distant past for much more interesting interpretations of classic songs, is now satisfied with turning out such utterly bland and pointless material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies
Barry Manilow - The Greatest Songs of the Seventies by Barry Manilow (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.