Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clever and sweet film
an off the radar movie
that had no money in the budget for publicity
but great cast
all in it to do their best and create a poignant story
worth seeing
Published on April 21, 2012 by Amy Agzarian

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Comedy - Great Acting but Light on Laughs
Barry Munday stands out from most straight to DVD movies in that it has a terrific cast. Just keep in mind that it's a chick flick, don't expect plenty of laugh out loud moments like most comedies.

What's great about the film is that it has a cast of veteran actors. Patrick Wilson (Watchmen, Hard Candy) stars as Barry Munday, an aging womanizer whose testicles...
Published on December 7, 2010 by Compay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Comedy - Great Acting but Light on Laughs, December 7, 2010
By 
Compay (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barry Munday (DVD)
Barry Munday stands out from most straight to DVD movies in that it has a terrific cast. Just keep in mind that it's a chick flick, don't expect plenty of laugh out loud moments like most comedies.

What's great about the film is that it has a cast of veteran actors. Patrick Wilson (Watchmen, Hard Candy) stars as Barry Munday, an aging womanizer whose testicles are removed after an injury. Judy Greer does a terrific job as Ginger, the pregnant who claims that Barry is the father. I've enjoyed her work before, but she makes for some great reaction shots in this film.

Wilson and Greer are supplemented by a solid cast of veteran actors. British actor Malcolm McDowell, Chloe Sevigny, Cybill Shepherd, Shea Whigham, Missi Pyle, and even Billy Dee Williams. For this being Chris D'Arienzo's first gig as a director, he did a great job shooting the film.

My only real complaint was that the film wasn't as funny as I had expected. There are only two or three laugh out loud moments, otherwise the humor is extremely light throughout the film. It's also not written as well as other chick flicks that I've enjoyed such as What Women Want, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, or Sweet Home Alabama.

I watched the movie a second time with an interesting commentary by the director, Patrick Wilson, and Judy Greer. Turns out one of the funnier scenes in the movie (Barry's support group) involves Wilson's real friends improvising their lines. Other extras include some light outtakes, bloopers, and a fake PSA for men like Barry.

Barry Munday is worth renting for the great performances by Judy Greer and Jean Smart. Just know in advance that it's a light romantic comedy, so don't expect The Hangover or I Love You Man. Give this one a rent before you decide to buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars he had to lose em to find em, July 31, 2012
idiot guy grows up. really nice story, very believable emotions despite the unrealistic premise. a couple of laughs, but mostly this is not a funny movie so much as an oddly tender movie. i enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clever and sweet film, April 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barry Munday (DVD)
an off the radar movie
that had no money in the budget for publicity
but great cast
all in it to do their best and create a poignant story
worth seeing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears of Joy, March 1, 2012
By 
This review is from: Barry Munday [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My movie rental is long so I don't know or remember why I choose this movie for my list. It has a rather boring promo. I fell in love with it about 10 minutes in. It is a wonderful surprise, I loved it. Everything in it is there for a reason, loving mother, bad ass family turns into a family bond. I don't know how a writer comes up with all these "just right" emotions. I haven't teared up this much during a movie since "Saving Private Ryan", but for very different reasons. If you want to feel good after 1.5 hours of viewing, let me give you my highest recommendation right here. It is emotionally deep if you know where to look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Indy Watch, December 9, 2010
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barry Munday (DVD)
Patric Wilson does a fine job as Barry Munday who works in an insurance office and whose life revolves around the sexual conquest of women. His conquests lead to his losing his testicles in an attack by an angry father. Shortly thereafter he finds out that, just prior to the testicle incident, he fathered a child with a woman he doesn't even remember. He now wants to step up and do the right thing, and it changes his life and the lives of others around him.

This is a good-hearted Indy flick. Some have mentioned that it's a chick flick and I don't know that I agree. More time is spent with Barry than any of the female characters and it's mostly his transformation we witness. Though it is nice to see Judy Greer's Ginger come around, it's something that happens only in the final stage of the movie.

This is an Indy movie with a somewhat limited budget but it seems most of the money went into the cast. Jean Smart, Chloe Sevigny, Cybill Shepherd, Shea Whigham, Malcolm McDowell and others help move this puppy along. I wish they'd used a few of those dollars to punch up a couple of the sets but that's a minor quibble.

I would put this in the same zip code as, say, "Juno" or "Little Miss Sunshine" but it really isn't quite as good. Where this lacks is in the characterizations. Though the Barry and Ginger characters are written very well, there is a significant drop off after that. Cybill Shepherd and Malcolm MacDowell have surprisingly little to do. Even the Chloe Sevigny character is a bit of a mystery. What is it she's supposed to be doing here other than supplying a counterpart to to her nerdy sister? She adds little to the proceedings.

That aside, this is still a decent watch. At a crisp 95 minutes you probably won't be checking your watch. It's a decent story supported by a few very good performances. If you're looking for something off the beaten path, this is a good bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Loved........, May 10, 2014
This review is from: Barry Munday (DVD)
this movie!! I had no idea that Patrick Wilson did comedy, plenty of laugh out louds and the out takes and gag reel were also hysterical. I have no idea why this release got little attention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BARRY MUNDAY WONDERFUL, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barry Munday (DVD)
this film is so heartwarming,another example of Patrick Wilson sacrificing himself for the sake of the film he was barely recognizable.same for judy greer.they were delightful together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, endearing, and subtly suspenseful, December 6, 2013
As many of the other reviewers have said, the movie has a good cast, well-directed, who play their roles entertainingly. The thing I found odd, at first, was the 10-month gap between the February 11 coitus and the December 10 due date. Together with the brief appearances of the Asian neighbor and the greenskeeper's observation, I kept expecting a different twist to the plot and a different ending. However, the way it was written and the ending it has, the movie depicts a much deeper evolution of Barry's character than any other aspect of the script. I liked that a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judy Greer RULES!, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This surprisingly funny and alternately heartwarming semi-absurd comedy had both me and my wife (not usually her fare) laughing and tugging heart strings. This is a great new young director!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Movie review, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barry Munday (DVD)
Very sweet story. Actors did a great job telling a complicated but very human experience. It's a comedy but also has very touching moments. Well done!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Barry Munday
Barry Munday by Chris D'Arienzo (DVD - 2010)
$13.97 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.