Facility Spring Cleaning BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 11, 2012
I found out I was loosing coolant as I had the dreaded "53" Cummins engine block in my 2001 Ram. I tried this because the options are few - replacement short block is $5000 or a $1000 drill and mash in block filler metal. To my very happy surprise the Bar's Leaks 1109 worked great and all I had to do was pour it in the rad leaving the antifreeze in there. Just make sure you remove enough coolant from the radiator to fit the whole bottle in the rad. DO NOT put any in the oveflow bottle as it will plug the siphon tube and you'll have to clean the canister out.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
GM 5.3 V-8 - 2001 Yukon XL with 120xxx miles - - I started noticing and smelling a coolant leak - always double checking my oil to insure the leak wasn't internal - discovered the intake manifold leaking fluid which would then hit the exhaust pipe and headers (hence the smell one the engine was turned off)

I did my research and decided to spend the 8 bucks (give or take) and see what would happen -Start with a COLD engine - - Placed a bucket under my vehicle to catch the fluid - shook the bottle well and removed the foil seal. disconnected the upper radiator hose from the radiator (and coolant flowed from the radiator into the bucket). Poured the product directly into my hose - reconnected the hose. Started the engine, let it run for 15 minutes - the temp never reached the "normal" operating temp - but did reach around 165 - shut the engine off and let the motor cool (overnight for me) the next day I ran a few errands - no smell or fluid - The next day pulled my utility trailer to put some stress on the engine - - no smell or fluid drips - used the vehicle all weekend - - everything worked fine..

Bottom line - If you have the dreaded leak - give this a try - it cost less than 8 bucks - new intake gasket replacement cost $600 and UP
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
At 156,000 miles my 99 F150 v6 4.2L started to milk up my engine oil with a very noticeable internal coolant leak. I followed the directions for this product and it worked. This engine has no radiator cap only a reservoir bottle for adding coolant. So I took off the top radiator hose and sucked out some antifreeze from the radiator with a turkey baster to make room for the bars. I poured 3/4 of the recommend V6 amount into the radiator then the rest into the reservoir. Within a day after following the run directions on the package it stopped the disappearing antifreeze level. So I changed my oil and their was no more grey oil /water mix on the dipstick any more. Great product!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
I used this product as a stop-gap treatment when my head gasket leak went from minor, to pretty bad (large plume of smokey steam and bad misfire when i first started the car and then a constant white mist from the exhaust.) The Block Seal has plugged the leak for the most part, but I am still using a little coolant and have some obvious signs of moisture on the dipstick and I doubt it will hold for long.

If you have a small leak, this should work well. A larger head gasket leak will require a better product. I'm going to flush my system next week and try the Moroso 35500 Engine Block Sealant, followed by the Moroso All Weather Sealant. My mechanic quoted me a price that is more than the car is worth, otherwise I'd have the head gasket done.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
This saved a 93 Tercel with what i think was a bad head gasket. I put 1/8 of the bottle in, drove around 15 minutes and let cool. I did this two more times. Haven't lost any radiator fluid since.They recommend using half a bottle on four cylinder engines. But I think putting in smaller amounts at a time is a better way to solve fixable problems. When I opened the bottle with my knife I got some of this on the blade.. Guess what? it cant be removed from the blade. Looks like copper filaments.

Also be sure to run your heater on high after putting in the radiator to keep the core from plugging up. Engine now runs noticeably smoother. How long it lasts is anybody's guess, but I am hopping for another 20k miles based on some of the reviews i've read. This car has 200 k miles on it now....its blue book value is around 500 dollars.... so for 7 dollars you can't go wrong.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2011
Bottom Line: This stuff works incredibly. I tried 3 other well-known stop leak products, two different Prestone's and K-Seal and they failed. I had a head gasket leak in my 1995 Mitsubishi 3000GT, mint condition, but moderate coolant leak. All other coolant system components were almost new: radiator, radiator cap, upper and lower hoses and water pump. 1 Jug of coolant still leaked about every 3 weeks and made for a mess and strong toxic odor. Liquid Copper worked incredibly. The Liquid Aluminum may also work (I didnt try), but I would stick with the liquid copper as fixing any coolant leak you have. Poured it directly into the radiator which was about 80% full, drove 10 miles, topped off radiator 100%, and within 100 miles the leak was completely sealed, no leaking on ground, or in/around engine bay. Saved me well over $1,000.00. Thank you very much to Bar's for their superior products, and for saving my coolant system and vehicle from major costly repairs.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
I got the Liquid Copper as a last resort fix for an old 1996 Dodge Caravan with 3.3L V6 with about 150,000 miles. That car has had radiator leak issues since the odometer hit around 100,000 miles. At first, I tried Bar's own liquid aluminum and that seemed to have worked for a bit. It would leak slowly enough that I could just refill the coolant reservoir tank every month or two. I know, not great for the environment, but unfortunately the local mechanic shop wanted over $650 to put in a new radiator tank. In the summer of 2014 the leak became worse and I eventually found myself refilling coolant almost every week. I tried several other brands of stop leak but they all had negligible effects. It was bad.

As luck would have it, I came across the liquid copper right as I was ready to bite the bullet and pay the mechanic for a new tank. First, I allowed the coolant to almost leak completely out (radiator cap was almost empty). After pouring about 3/4 of the bottle directly into the radiator and the rest into the reservoir tank (along with enough 50/50 coolant mix to bring it up to the right level), I drove for about 40 miles of mostly highway to get the system running a bit. I started checking the levels everyday, and I was pleasantly surprised when I observed no change after two weeks. It's been about three months now. The reservoir tank did drop a bit but has stabilized just below the min line. The radiator cap side looks good. I am cautiously optimistic, but I think this may have indeed stopped most of the leaks.

Will update this review periodically - hopefully it'll continue to hold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
Purchased Product and following instruction added it to my 03 VW Passat 4 cylinder cooling system and it completely clogged the system and caused my car to run hot. I don't know if my engine is irreversibly shot :(
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2015
I'm very pleased to say, that despite my skepticism, this product works as advertized. My 2004 GMC Sierra was burning through about a quart of radiator fluid per week,belching white smoke, and running poorly until I added this product. After one week of driving there has been NO fluid loss, the exhaust is normal, and it runs better. Hopefully the improvement will be permanent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
My wife's car recently blew a leak in the radiator. I'm not much of a mechanic, and we didn't have the money to take it to the shop. I found this and bought it based on the good reviews. Followed the directions and everything was running great. I left the car running for about 15 mins, revving the engine occasionally. I thought we were done and this would be the fix for at least a few months until we could afford to fix the actual problem. Then all of a sudden, the leak bursts again and the copper seal starts leaking out. From what I've read, this probably means a blown head gasket, and might not be repairable with just sealer. I'm a little weary to buy the head gasket specific sealer since I've read that putting too much of this stuff in your car can cause more issues than help. Oh well, we had to try this before we spent a ton of money on a mechanic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.