Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$21.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 17, 2013
Mr. Creamer has detailed the 1941 baseball season not by someone who read history books and old newspaper articles but rather by his own memories of that year. There was so much going on that year with Joe Dimaggio's streak, to the war in Europe and the draft that started taking ballplayers to the entrance of the U.S. into the war. All that and more is covered here. The pages flew while I read this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2005
This is an entertaining memoir of the 1941 baseball season. Sportswriter Robert Creamer wrote this book a half century later, recalling his days a 19-year old Yankee fan in the summer before Pearl Harbor. Baseball was the national rage in 1941, but worries about dangerous events overseas were never far away. Soon, America would be at war, and many players would be in uniform, as would Creamer and most of his peers. This book covers the year's hitting feats by superstars Ted Williams (batted .406) and Joe DiMaggio (56 game hitting streak), the arrival of Stan Musial, the tragic death of Lou Gherig, and the drafting of Hank Greenberg into the army. There's also a look at prejudice in baseball, politics, and the improbable pennant won by the Brooklyn Dodgers - who then lost to the Yankees in a World Series that featured Mickey Owen's dropped third strike. Readers get a very nice feel for baseball and life in America in that pre-television era.

I wish Creamer would have devoted more attention to baseball's oft-overlooked, non-glamour teams (Pittsburgh Pirates, Chicago White Sox, etc) for a more complete view. Still, this is an interesting look at baseball from a bygone era.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 22, 2009
Robert Creamer was a young college student in 1941, which he terms "the best baseball season ever." Most baseball fans know that 1941 was the year Ted Williams hit .406 and Joe DiMaggio registered his 56-game hit streak. Those events, however, overshadowed an exciting National League race involving the Brooklyn Dodgers and the St. Louis Cardinals.

Creamer writes that in the summer of 1941 he "rooted for the Dodgers, DiMaggio and the Russians." In addition to baseball, Creamer details the events leading up to World War II.

"Baseball and Other Matters in 1941" is heavier on the National League pennant race and lighter on the feats of Williams and DiMaggio than most readers would expect. Creamer chronicles the rise of the Dodgers and their season-long battle with the St. Louis Cardinals. Cardinals' manager Billy Southworth called the 1941 National League pennant race "the greatest pennant race ever." The Dodgers' acquisition of second baseman Billy Herman was the key to winning the pennant, according to Creamer.

Readers will perhaps gain a greater appreciation for players such as Hank Greenberg, Bob Feller and Pete Reiser after reading Creamer's book.

Williams called Feller "the greatest pitcher I ever saw." In 1941, DiMaggio said, "Feller is the best living pitcher. I don't think anyone is going to throw the ball faster and his curve ball isn't human."

In his autobiography, Leo Durocher said of Reiser, the Dodgers' centerfielder whose career was shortened by injuries, "He was every bit as good as Mays. He might have been better...Mays had everything. Pete Reiser had everything but luck."

Greenberg put up impressive numbers before losing four and a half years to military service. From 1937-1940, he averaged 43 homers and 143 RBIs.

The strength of this book is that Creamer was a young and impressionable baseball fan in 1941. He remembers the events he writes about and the book goes beyond just the factual accounts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2001
For once, the integration of autobiography, history and baseball really works. I can't explain why - this sort of thing often stinks - but this is a truly wonderful book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
One of the best baseball books I have ever read. Very informative. I love baseball. This book was about the year that I find very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
Gives you a great feel for what it was like to be following baseball as the world ramped up to war. Great baseball stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
One of the better books on the 1941 baseball season I've ever read. In addition, the book provides great insight into what was going on in the world during those tumultuous times. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
Almost new condition and bought it used. If you love the history of baseball and the impact WWII had on the game, good book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2000
I am a big fan of the "Dead Ball" era so I was a bit skeptical when I picked up this book. However, it is well written, and interleaves Creamer's experiences as a person and as a baseball fan in 1941. He brings a lot of his excitement back to life to those of us who weren't there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse