Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Baseball Analysis on the Market!
This is a great read for any baseball fan but a MUST READ for the fantasy baseball player.

1. The players are ordered by teams with hitters first followed by pitchers in alphabetical order. There's a great index by name as well. The front matter talks in great detail about the statistics used in the text, explaining the analytic approach in excrutiating but...
Published on February 21, 2012 by Mike P.

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT buy digital edition
On an iPad and on an Asus tablet, the data for the Kindle version displays one column at a time, no headers and no tables. It's horrible. A total waste of money and not worth even looking at. Why even BOTHER doing a digital edition if the formatting is going to be so terrible?

EDITED 2/29/12: Well then! not only did the Exec. Pub at Wiley contact me about the...
Published on February 24, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Baseball Analysis on the Market!, February 21, 2012
By 
Mike P. "mikep007" (Reynoldsburg, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
This is a great read for any baseball fan but a MUST READ for the fantasy baseball player.

1. The players are ordered by teams with hitters first followed by pitchers in alphabetical order. There's a great index by name as well. The front matter talks in great detail about the statistics used in the text, explaining the analytic approach in excrutiating but fun detail.

2. Each team has a few pages of sumnmary discussion followed by player stats/descriptions. The player stats are presented for the prior 3 years and they include projections for the 2012 season.

3. The best part: the analysts provide a text summary of the player in plain English terms -- the comments can be sarcastic, funny, biting, and even hilarious. I often quote from the book at my baseball draft auction. The Manny Ramirez quote, for example, "Everyone's favorite idiot showed a new level of stupidity by violating baseball's performance-enhancing drug policy for the second time. Manny's bay area retreat lasted only slightly longer than the Bay of Pigs invasion in Cuba as Ramirez retired rather than sit out 100 games...." Great stuff.

Buy this book. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Baseball, February 17, 2012
By 
N. Bilmes "bookaholic" (Vernon, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
Anyone who is a fan of the game, whether a fantasy fanatic or not, should find a lot to like in this edition of BP. Like the other annuals over the years, this edition is divided into team sections with analysis of last season's successes and failures, followed by a batter and pitcher section for each team that includes more data than you'll ever need, but with all the data you want to read included. The player comments are pithy and entertaining, and the prospect section at the end of the book is filled with nuggets of information that any fantasy-playing baseball follower will want to keep on hand on draft days and during the season.

This year's edition is very entertaining, and relatively free of the typo-mania that afflicted the 2010 edition.

With Baseball Prospectus back on the shelf, and spring training getting underway, the 2012 season can officially begin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spring classic for baseball fans, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
Along with the BA Prospect Handbook, this is a title that I start waiting anxiously for sometime in early January. And as usual, the great baseball minds at BP have not disappointed, providing a guide for the upcoming season that should be within arm's reach all year for any baseball fan.

I think many of us have enjoyed the sharp humor of the player comments, and that remains on display in this latest edition. One thing I've noticed over the past few editions is that they've become a little more confident in these predictions, and you can see that confidence in the 2012 edition. The wit is still in evidence, too, and it's good to see that the writers still aren't taking themselves too seriously. The statistics are similar to previous editions, and there's some fun to be had in comparing the PECOTA leaders from 2011 to the projections made in last year's edition. For those who are new to some of the stats that BP holds near and dear, there's a nicely written introduction that helps explain what they mean and why they're important.

My only wish (I wouldn't call it a complaint) is that I'd like to see more essays and analysis, but that's likely to remain true no matter how much they include. And I should also mention that this year's edition does a far better job than past years in both layout and editing. Gone are some of the previous problems with formatting, and there are far few editing errors.

Five stars is a no-brainer for this one. Great for fantasy players, for hardcore baseball fans, and for those just trying to gain a greater understanding of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ways to start a new baseball season, April 7, 2012
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
At the outset of each baseball season, I like to pick up several volumes--the Bill James annual work and this volume, among others. And the 2012 edition does not disappoint.

The purpose of this book (Page ix): "Baseball Prospectus 2012, like its predecessors, is an attempt to make sense of the chaos, not just the sometimes tragic chaos of those cold months, but also the wonderful bedlam that makes up any baseball season any summer, and more importantly, what it means for the coming season and beyond." This work begins with a discussion of statistics--both on offense and defense and pitching. On offense, the "True Average" is a key metric. Note that a TAv of .260 is average, .300 exceptional, and .200 awful (TAv is a conglomerate measure including power, walking, striking out, and making "productive outs"). Then, there is PECOTA--projections for the coming season.

Let's take a look at the Chicago Cubs. Their best offensive player, by the PECOTA score, should be Geovany Soto. The Chicago White Sox? Paul Konerko has the highest projected true average--.297. One element in the player descriptions is the analogous players to the one named. Konerko's doppelgangers? Stan Musial, Kevin Mitchell, and Rafael Palmeiro. Not bad company! The most intriguing projection? Adam Dunn, after a disastrous 2011 season, is projected to have a TAv of .292. We shall see! And we see projections and actual records on a team by team basis, from the Arizona Diamondbacks to the Washington Nationals.

Other features--the top 101 prospects for the major leagues (Matt Moore, pitcher for the Rays) comes in as the number 1 prospect; the PECOTA leaderboard.

Another baseball season has begun! And this work helps make that a little bit more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Basics Each Spring, March 20, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendora, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
Baseball Prospectus along with Shandler's Forecaster and Baseball America's Prospects books are the annual spring baseball triumvirate. There's no need to spend $9.95 on a magazine when you can buy this book. It has detailed PECOTA projections for 2012 player performance for the Fantasy fans and detailed stories about each team for everybody.

The writing is humerous - snarky might be a good way to describe some of the satire and sarcasm. I think the player composites have been improved a bit and moving players to their 2012 teams rather than their former team is a bigger improvement than it sounds. And - there's an index!

All in all, perhaps the one book to buy if you're only buying one and you want to review 2011 while looking forwad to 2012. Shandler is geared (on the surface anyway) more to the Fantasy player while Prospectus is better for people who don't like to look at tables of numbers, which is not to say that there are not plenty of insights in the copius tables in this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for Any Fantasy Baseball Player, March 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
I bought this for my father who greatly enjoys fantasy baseball. Since I graduated school and found a job, instead of buying him the book a year late and paying 99 cents and letting him look up the recent data online, I was able to buy the new edition this year - This book is worth every penny for a real baseball statistics fanatic.

It provides several years' worth of stats, as well as projections and comparisons to other players. I wish it had a better guide to what each statistic meant; we had to look up a sort of glossary for that online and make an addendum in a binder for Dad's extra fantasy baseball information. The book is so complete and thorough in terms of information about the players, once we understood what each stat was, it really cut back on the amount of time he spends researching on various sites to build his time, and he's been able to better focus on actually putting together teams.

Every baseball team has a team synopsis written out with projections for the year before discussing the players of that team, and there's very useful information that's easy to read. There's also enough room in the margins to make notes.

He's purchased other baseball stat books in the past, but nothing really compares to BP. The only real complaint I heard from him regarding the book was the silly nature of the introduction; I guess they're trying to be coy and market it to young people. Of course, it's easy enough to skip that part. If anyone could recommend an equally good pro football guide, please comment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baseball's Most Reliable Guide, February 25, 2012
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
There are scores of baseball "experts" floating around who claim to know just about everything there is to know about your favorite team and your favorite players. Some have written books on the subject; some present their opinions in the dozens of blogs populating the internet; and some are regular analysts on the MLB Network, offering their interesting perspectives on a wide variety of topics. Occasionally, the "experts" are even right.

Baseball is a funny game, as Joe Garagiola once observed; its unpredictability has been confounding and amusing players, fans, and the media forever; and that trend is likely to continue.

Luckily, we have the annual Baseball Prospectus, which provides us with information that is more reliable and entertaining than any other resource guide I can name. This year's edition appears to be another winner, taking saber-metrics to a whole new level. If you are a fantasy baseball fanatic, you'd better get this in a hurry; a new season is almost upon us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT buy digital edition, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
On an iPad and on an Asus tablet, the data for the Kindle version displays one column at a time, no headers and no tables. It's horrible. A total waste of money and not worth even looking at. Why even BOTHER doing a digital edition if the formatting is going to be so terrible?

EDITED 2/29/12: Well then! not only did the Exec. Pub at Wiley contact me about the book, but when I explained the problem I was having, he saw it too. Nice to know I'm not crazy.

Here's the problem: if you skip ahead to a player (like, say, a Pirate, because you want to draft ALL the Pirates on your rotisserie team, of course), and start paging through the stats on a tablet (any tablet), if you go back a page or two, the tables break and show only one column per page. Because my initial perusal involved flipping back and forth, the broken tables were the first thing I saw. BUT if you go forward again, the tables realign.

That said, the digital copy is not as easy to read and compare players as the paper edition, because if you know the Baseball Prospectus, you know the data tables are looooonnnnng. Plus, if you use this book to draft a team, you aren't going to always read it straight through in the printed order - you skip around. Thus the broken tables are bothersome, BUT it is not permanently broken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy on Kindle, March 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
I'm giving this book 3 stars. I have purchased it in the past and found it very helpful. 5 stars. The Kindle version is next to useless. Stats are listed one number per line for page after page after page. I'm trying to think of a comparison for something equally useless, but cannot come up with one. Ergo, the kindle version of BP may just be the single most useless item on earth. So, zero stars for the Kindle version. 5 stars for the published version. Average and round up = 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding as usual, February 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2012 (Paperback)
I have bought just about every edition of Baseball Prospectus, and this one once again does not disappoint. It is a very detailed book filled with reports on most major league players and prospectus and is a must have for a baseball fan. One thing I don't like about this book, however, is the failure to include the author of each team's preview. When writing an opinionated article, it is best to know who has the opinion. All in all, however, it is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Baseball Prospectus 2012
Baseball Prospectus 2012 by Baseball Prospectus (Paperback - February 1, 2012)
$24.95 $14.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.