Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substance is okay, but DO NOT BUY ON KINDLE (UPDATED)
I've been an avid reader of the annual since 2001 and have been subscribing to their site for almost as long. I love the substance and material covered and, while I too miss the research articles, don't think the material included has been "dumbed down" or limited relative to past annuals.

My problem is with the kindle version of the book. This is the first...
Published 22 months ago by Ryan Beck

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
I agree with some others who have lamented the decline of the once great BP annual. It's a maddening book in the sense that it doesn't appeal as much to the hardcore anymore, yet isn't really that friendly to neophytes either.

If you are fairly new to sabermetrics you'll be scratching your head over the cursory explanations BP gives of the PECOTA system and...
Published 22 months ago by cavscout


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
I agree with some others who have lamented the decline of the once great BP annual. It's a maddening book in the sense that it doesn't appeal as much to the hardcore anymore, yet isn't really that friendly to neophytes either.

If you are fairly new to sabermetrics you'll be scratching your head over the cursory explanations BP gives of the PECOTA system and other stats they use; you certainly won't get a good sense of what they really mean. Nor are all parts of the book itself adequately explained. What is the Lineouts section in each team report about? What do the subscript numbers in some of the IP lines stand for? Why is a manager credited for x number of stolen bases when his team actually stole 5x that number? Lots of examples where a new (or even more veteran reader) needs to dig through the intro again for clarity or be left to try and figure it out for themselves.

If you are part of the old guard you're aware that the actual analysis (and snark) keeps getting dialed back. True again for this year's book. I can find numbers anywhere online; I want to read more from BP about what that means to the player or the organization and I want it with the old-time BP humor. Oh well. There were some good one-liners in there at least.

I'll probably always buy BP's book to start the year, but I'll adjust expectations accordingly.

Collapse: 35%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less and less interesting with every passing year, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
I used to eagerly look forward to Baseball Prospectus every spring, to get me in the mood for the upcoming baseball season. The combination of interesting research articles, detailed essays for each team exploring some sabrmetric aspect related to the team, and witty and insightful player comments.

Then they got rid of the research articles, and spun them off into their own books. I was disappointed, but kept buying the annual, because the team essays often had some interting insights in them, and the player comments were interesting.

And then they dialed back the sarcasm and snark on the player comments, probably to try not to offend a bigger reader base. But hey, they still had Nate Silver's PECOTA, and the interesting team essays.

Then Silver left BP, and they revamped PECOTA, and more and more freely available projection systems that were just as good as PECOTA sprung up. But hey, team essays!

And then, this year, they gutted the team essays. The team essays were often inconsistent - some clunkers, some mediocre, but every annual had at least a couple really interesting team essays. They're all gone this year, with the detailed team essays replaced with a few bland paragraphs briefly describing what happened in 2012, and what's likely to happen in 2013. The insight is gone, along with everything else that made the annual interesting.

I own every Baseball Prospectus annual, going all the way back to 1996. But the 2013 annual will probably be the last one I buy. It's sad to see a great franchise dumbed down and gutted of everything that made it interesting to appeal to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substance is okay, but DO NOT BUY ON KINDLE (UPDATED), February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been an avid reader of the annual since 2001 and have been subscribing to their site for almost as long. I love the substance and material covered and, while I too miss the research articles, don't think the material included has been "dumbed down" or limited relative to past annuals.

My problem is with the kindle version of the book. This is the first year I moved away from the bound version and the product I received is borderline unreadable. The player charts are broken up in such a way so to make them nearly useless and I was finding so many errors (Aroldis Chapman pitched 712 innings in 2012? Not even Dusty Baker is that sadistic) that I just stopped looking at the charts all together. Sometimes, moving backward and forward changes the formatting of the charts altogether.

I'm disappointed not with the content, but with the product. I sincerely hope they decide to release a .pdf version of the book or something similar. I will not buy this on the kindle in the future until these issues are resolved.

***UPDATE March 3, 2013: I contacted Baseball Prospectus regarding my issues with the Kindle version. I had a prompt response from Baseball Prospectus customer service who referred my issue to the publisher. Within 48 hours the publisher had contacted me and provided a solution that completely satisfied me. The customer service from both BP and the publisher were top notch. Given my complaint was with the product, not the content, I have amended my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars like the Caesar's, it's gotten worse over time, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
In his essay in the back of this year's annual, Russell Carlton posits that by having to write about analysis every day, it's made the product weaker. You can't write new, cutting edge analysis on a regular basis. You've got to come up with a hypothesis, gather data and then test it. Or for those articles that are less quantitatively based, it's nigh impossible to write a fresh piece everyday (Gary Huckabay, Joe Sheehan and Steven Goldman did an awesome job with their daily writing, but even the three of them had their usual topics that they hit over and over again).

BP burst upon the scene in 1996. I discovered them in 1999 when Rob Neyer touted them in his ESPN column. Absolute intellectual and analytical heavyweights wrote for the annual and the website over the years: Gary Huckabay, Joe Sheehan, Christina Kharl, Nate Silver, Steven Goldman, Jay Jaffe, Kevin Goldstein, Voros McCraken, Will Carrol, Keith Law, Jonah Keri, Rany Jazzeryelli (I never spell his name correctly) and a host of others. Sadly, they have all moved on to other things (the brain drain was especially strong over the last 2 1/2 years).

The first 10 annuals had new essays with all kinds of different findings and theories. The essays disappeared (they are back, but alas, there are only 2 of them). The player comments have grown shorter, less biting and less analytic. The team essays were usually stellar, but now they have been diminished as well (they are much shorter and basically a summary of what happened in 2012).

BP was small and had a hard-core, very bright readership that watched a lot of baseball. As they've grown, their best people moved on to try on new things and make more money. They had every right to, and it is ridiculous to think that those giants would be easily replaced. Readership has expanded, and BP focuses more and more on fantasy every year (which is fine, but some fantasy players watch very little baseball). They used to be baseball outsiders, but because of their great insight and analysis, they became baseball insiders. And then they grew less snarky and less analytical. The business model of BP has been a success, but the product has suffered. It's a real shame.

The annual is still good, and probably better than almost everything else on the market, and I'll probably continue to buy their products. Until something else comes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLAY BALL!!!!, February 24, 2013
By 
Mike P. "mikep007" (Reynoldsburg, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
As an avid baseball fan and rotissierie player (22 years now), this is my all time favorite book. It's the only thing I actually pre-order every year, religiously. I also prefer it in paperback, despite the fact all my other books are in Kindle form -- it's simply that kind of book.

If you don't know, this is a statistician's bible: it contains several articles on the state of statistical analysis then presents each team and over 2,2100 individual players. Each team section contains a few pages analyzing the team's performance and potential for 2013, and the players are divided alphabetcally by hitter and pitchers -- the last of the team section summarizes the manager's performance and includes minor league names and commentary as well. Each of the player section analyzes performance and offers predictions based on statistical analysis. Here's the best part: the text accompanying each player's stats is witty, insightful and just plain fun -- it's not dry but instead a good source of witty humor and observation from a qualitative perspective.

First, from the rotissiere baseball player perspective, it's a must have. But be clear: it's not a replacement for all your spreadsheets or online data. It augments it. Your spreadsheets will tell you so-and-so is in for a big season and this statiscal tome will tell you not to get too excited. I've often found this book's predictions to be noticeably lower than other sources, but it's all because of the nature of statistical analysis. The best value for roto owners is that you can use it to doublecheck your draft strategy and check to see if you really like the players you think you do! I bring it to the draft and throw out the funniest sarcastic lines from the book.

Second, any baseball fan will enjoy the articles and player notes -- while it's definately heavy on the math and prediction, the articles, team descriptions and player analysis are completely worthwhile, even if you don't give a whit about stats.

Play Ball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read - But get physical copy, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had the Kindle version delivered to me yesterday. Very good information about each ballplayer and the stats behind the rankings. However, the statistics cannot be digested on a Kindle. Team stats are too small to view and individual player stats are spread throughout several page turns, making it necessary to go back and forth to identify the column that is being viewed.

The book itself is worth getting, just make sure you spend the extra money and get the physical copy. Save your Kindle for other great baseball reads like Moneyball and the Bullpen Gospels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love going over this annual publication!, March 6, 2013
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
Each year, these days, I start the baseball season with several volumes that come out each year. And this is one of those. One of the cool things about this book is its projections about performances of players in the coming baseball season. And it is fun after the season is done to check out how well the volume's projections turned out!

PECOTA represents the projection. One of the fascinating elements of this book is the prediction as to what kind of year a player will have: breakout, improve, collapse, and attrition.

The Washington Nationals are an interesting team to consider. A lot of young players. Can they do well this year as they did last? This book is bullish on the team for 2013. Bryan Harper? The projection is a season rather like last year. I wonder if this might not be a year where he significantly improves. So, too, Ryan Zimmerman. The third baseman's projection is similar to his performance in 2012. Finally, Stephen Strasburg. As with the other two, a season rather similar to 2012.

My personal favorite team is the Chicago White Sox. What about them? Adam Dunn, two years ago, had one of the most horrifically bad seasons around. Last year, he "improved" to hit .204, although his power figures and RBIs increased dramatically. Projections? A .222 batting average, 30 home runs, and 88 RBIs. Not bad, but a crummy batting average. Paul Konerko has been amazingly consistent over the years. The prediction is a slight decline but--overall--another solid year. A pitcher, Chris Sale, seemed very promising last year. The proje4ctions are modest, though: 9-5 record, with a solid ERA of 3.05.

The last part of the book identifies the top 101 prospects, from # 1 (Jurickson Profar) to # 101 (Delino DeShields Jr.).

As always, a lot of fun, even when I'm not so sure about the projections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another home run!, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
The Prospectus never disappoints, and this year continues its Maddux-like dominance in the world of baseball annuals. It is a fun read, I use it for help in my fantasy league, and I consult it almost daily during the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always get BP, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
Great source for fantasy baseball or real baseball. In depth stats as well as thoughtful write ups for more players than you would ever imagine. I've heard from others that it's difficult to understand the stats, and that they don't always jive with the write-ups ... but the numbers and the writing are done separately giving a different perspective and allowing you to see where a player's value truly lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars must-have for baseball fans, August 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baseball Prospectus 2013 (Paperback)
The writing in the recent editions is less interesting than it was 4-5 years ago when I started reading and studying these. This is a must-have for any baseball fan including any fantasy baseball fan. This will help identify players who are going to regress or breakout. It's a fun and interesting way to see why your team really did what it did, instead of just thinking that so and so really "inspired" the team. The stats are interesting and the narrative is good and insightful and humorous. The writing has lost a bit of an edge lately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Baseball Prospectus 2013
Baseball Prospectus 2013 by Baseball Prospectus (Paperback - February 1, 2013)
$24.95 $16.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.