Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Antenna Theory Primer and Reference
This is a perfect book for those just getting started in antenna fabrication and design. Loaded with Figures.

Written on an 8th grade reading level, it contains the basic 468/f for dipoles, how to match impeadance to many different types antennas, transmission line do's and don't's, figuring heighth above ground, how to gamma match, computing SWR, using and...
Published on March 19, 2009 by Dennis Miller

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for total beginners
I'm not going to say that this book is either "good" or "bad." Rather, I'm going to tell you that the author did not explain things thoroughly enough for people who are new to antennas and electronics altogether. If you are already familiar with technical aspects of how radios and other electronics work (to a pretty good degree), you'll probably be fine with the book...
Published on November 1, 2011 by UsedToLoveH.E.R.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Antenna Theory Primer and Reference, March 19, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
This is a perfect book for those just getting started in antenna fabrication and design. Loaded with Figures.

Written on an 8th grade reading level, it contains the basic 468/f for dipoles, how to match impeadance to many different types antennas, transmission line do's and don't's, figuring heighth above ground, how to gamma match, computing SWR, using and figuring decibels on Windows Scientific Calculator... so much more.

This book is easy enough to read that my 10yr old found the 462/f for large diameter elements and cut a ground plane for 10m from a piece of toprail from a chain link fence. We now run a beacon on 28.2565 on that antenna.

If you can comprehend the Technician book, this book is on the same level.

Also, it's perfect for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for any ham and for any junior engineer beginning work in the antenna area. Mr. Hallas unifies the discussion of antennas by using ENZEC to simulate the various antenna types. It is not an antenna textbook that uses vector potentials etc. By combining physical insight in combination with the ENZEC simulations to verify the insight, the whole field is made comprehensible. This is also done in a readable and concise style. Finally, I would mention that Mr. Halas' years of experience show up in many comments in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for an introduction to antenna design and theory, April 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
While not an 'in depth' or advanced look at antennas, it more than covers the basics of how antennas work, covers designs of different antennas for different frequencies, and the math involved in antenna design. Especially useful for new amateur radio operators who are looking for alternatives to the over priced commercial antennas available. Found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but..., March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
This was a good introduction to antennas. I'm not a total beginner, as I have a basic understanding of electromagnetism and related concepts. This did help quite a bit to understand relationships between antenna height above ground and radiation patterns, etc. The section on types of matches to use with yagi antyennas was especially useful.

However, I felt the book should have been written a a stand-alone book, rather than relying upon (and to some extent, advertising) antenna design software.

I read about half of the book, focusing on the basic concepts and later, designs that most closely apply to my planned applications. It left me feeling like I couldn't easily analyze antenna designs without purchasing the recommended software. So, 4 stars for teaching me quite a bit. But in order to get a full five stars, it should have been written to stand on it's own, omitting the chapter dedicated to the software. I just hate buying a book only to learn that I have to buy software in order to make full use of an entire chapter.

Still I would definitely recommend this book to anyone wanting to understand the basic concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antenna Design, August 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
This book is on basic antenna designs. A must for beginner or intermediate radio enthusiasts. If you are thinking of shortwave or any radio listening as a hobby, this is a great starters instrucion book. If you don't have a well planned antenna set up, no matter how good the electronics, you will get poor or no acceptable reception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for total beginners, November 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
I'm not going to say that this book is either "good" or "bad." Rather, I'm going to tell you that the author did not explain things thoroughly enough for people who are new to antennas and electronics altogether. If you are already familiar with technical aspects of how radios and other electronics work (to a pretty good degree), you'll probably be fine with the book. Otherwise, you're going to struggle.

The book simply does not go into enough detail to explain concepts like impedance thoroughly enough for total beginners. The only issue is that the title of this book is a bit misleading and would likely attract newbies.

This is coming from a guy who is currently getting nearly 100% in my electrical and electronics class, has a background of about a year and a half of electrical study now, and wants to be an electrician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Antennas, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
Oh boy where to begin... ARRL Basic? Antennas. Loved the book, I got out of it just what I wanted and that was the Formulas for making wire antennas and understanding Balanced and unbalanced antennas. Do I understand Impedance now, nope. But at least now I know what questions to ask other Hams that can help me. So as I learn more of my hobby I am sure this book will be of great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read primer for the new Ham, December 4, 2012
By 
Wayne A. Stanfill Jr. "cowdog64" (Scottsdale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
On antenna understanding. When I was a new ham, I wanted to try out some of my own ideas on building antennas. Im glad I bought this book first. kept me from making a bunch of mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should remove the word Design in Title, February 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
If you are looking for a book to discuss antennas, this book is fine. If you are looking for a book to provide the basics to learn how to design an antenna, don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Technical Read, July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Antennas (Paperback)
Takes you into the theory of basic to advanced antenna design. Everything I needed to design and build my on Ham antennas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Basic Antennas
Basic Antennas by Joel R. Hallas (Paperback - February 28, 2009)
$29.95 $24.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.