Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent book for beginners to intermediates
I've been an ER nurse x 15 years, and I've bought several EKG books, and this is far the best. It begins with the simple basics, and gives lots of practice. I would highly recommend for anyone teaching ACLS. The software I would give only 4 stars, but it is still one of the better softwares I've seen. Make sure you have a set of calipers to use with this book.
Published on April 7, 2007 by Russell

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money
It has the look, weight, and price tag of a text book, but contains such a small amount of information it could have been a classroom handout. This book begins with a BASIC description of the "rules" for interpreting rhythms, which is a very small portion of the book. There is nothing wrong with this section, and as far as I can tell the information is accurate. The rest...
Published on January 26, 2011 by pen name


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent book for beginners to intermediates, April 7, 2007
By 
Russell (Selmer, Tunisia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I've been an ER nurse x 15 years, and I've bought several EKG books, and this is far the best. It begins with the simple basics, and gives lots of practice. I would highly recommend for anyone teaching ACLS. The software I would give only 4 stars, but it is still one of the better softwares I've seen. Make sure you have a set of calipers to use with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review Book for Nurses, December 14, 2008
By 
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book takes you step by step through the art of reading rhythm strips. In addition to the great tutorials, there are also many practice strips in the book and also on a CD-rom that comes with the book. I highly recommend the book to anyone who needs to read rhythm strips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, June 18, 2007
By 
James (Auburn, Albania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book gives many practice examples. It is perfect for a person new to ECG rhythm recognition.

After completing this book, I recommend Huzar's Basic Dysrhythmias: Interpretation and Management - Text and Pocket Reference Package (Revised Reprint). It reviews the basics, but goes much faster (with fewer practice strips) -- but more importantly it goes into much more depth. It also delves into 12-lead interpretation much more than other similarly titled books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for emergency health care providers!, February 22, 2009
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Keeping it short and sweet...this is a book that's written in a way that makes it easy to understand. Abundance of practice strips throughout the book, set in stages, makes it easy to get used to reading them. I recommend it for anyone that's going to be in the emergency setting. If I had to come up with a negative, the answers in the back on the strips that you read aren't always as accurate in measurement as they should be so don't beat yourself up too bad if you don't come up with exactly the same answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book, November 1, 2011
By 
Honeybee (Jacksonville, FL.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for one of my students who is currently in a paramedic program. Excellent reference for them, they really love it and it was for a great price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic Arrhythmias, April 11, 2007
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
The information the book puts across is good.There are a couple of issues with the rythms which have to be reviewed. It is certainly a book worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EKG book, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
excellent layout, concept & presentation; very understandable and concepts are well illustrated
one of the best EKG books, I've seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, January 26, 2011
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
It has the look, weight, and price tag of a text book, but contains such a small amount of information it could have been a classroom handout. This book begins with a BASIC description of the "rules" for interpreting rhythms, which is a very small portion of the book. There is nothing wrong with this section, and as far as I can tell the information is accurate. The rest is made up of practice strips (Lead II only, one per page), that the reader is supposed to interpret.

The reason I felt this book deserved two stars (as opposed to none), is that it came with somewhat useful flashcards for practicing rhythm identification. My recommendation is to use it if it is provided for you, but don't spend money on it. All of the information in it (and MUCH more), as well as thousands of practice strips, can be found for free on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Learning Tool!, April 15, 2009
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Basic Arrhythmias by Gail Walraven is a life saver! Not only does it address the subject of arrhythmias but it also conquers the issue of teaching and learning the complex and abstract art of reading cardiac rhythms. Basic Arrhythmias made learning the skill easy.

As a firefighter mid-way through an on-line paramedic course, I highly recommend Basic Arrhythmias to everyone in the field - especially if you are teaching yourself! I wish Gail Walraven would edit (or re-write) "Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured" by Jones and Bartlet Publishers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, January 7, 2010
By 
B. Flores "The Barndog" (Bay Harbor Islands, FL, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Helps you understand EKG rythms with an ease. Supplemental cd aids in showing a multitude heart rythms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition)
Basic Arrhythmias (6th Edition) by Gail Walraven (Paperback - June 6, 2005)
Used & New from: $12.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.