Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars basic but fabulous!
I bought this book as a gift for my daughter who was interested in learning Asian cooking. Knowing very little about the food, this was a perfect introduction. We have both started using it and found it to be very informative and easy to understand. The recipes cover all regions (from India to Japan and China to Vietnamese and Thai)so you are able to try out many...
Published on July 9, 2007 by anonymous

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Asian cooking, but irritating and inaccurate
I own the French version of this. It's got a lovely layout (the detailed presentation of ingredients is quite nice), and a handy organisation with pictures. The recipes are straightforward, and it serves as a good introduction to Asian cooking. For anyone really interested in authentic cooking, though, I'd get something else: the recipes are sometimes outright weird (the...
Published on February 5, 2011 by Aliette De Bodard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars basic but fabulous!, July 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for my daughter who was interested in learning Asian cooking. Knowing very little about the food, this was a perfect introduction. We have both started using it and found it to be very informative and easy to understand. The recipes cover all regions (from India to Japan and China to Vietnamese and Thai)so you are able to try out many different types of Asian cuisine in one handy book. Photos of ingredients and finished dishes are provided for each recipe. But this book is more than recipes! Half the book is devoted to the ingredients: the basics, what you should have on hand, what you should try, what is expensive and not for everyone, etc. There is a basic shopping list of ingredients and we found this very helpful when visiting our international grocery! Even if you are not a fan of Asian food, if you love to cook this is a great book to learn new ingredients, tastes, and styles. Lovely book, great gift, and great resource for any chef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Asian cooking, but irritating and inaccurate, February 5, 2011
This review is from: Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen (Paperback)
I own the French version of this. It's got a lovely layout (the detailed presentation of ingredients is quite nice), and a handy organisation with pictures. The recipes are straightforward, and it serves as a good introduction to Asian cooking. For anyone really interested in authentic cooking, though, I'd get something else: the recipes are sometimes outright weird (the fried rolls are made with wonton squares instead of rice sheets, for instance), and their contents seem to be more suitable for goi cuon, the non-fried salad rolls), and there's a whole tone of "mystical/philosophical" about the presentation of Asian cooking that can get really annoying (it might be fine for Westerners, but as a half-Vietnamese I don't particularly feel like being patronised in such a clichéd way).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but always Flavorful Recipes, December 30, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen (Paperback)
This is my go to book for Asian cooking. The recipes are always easy to follow, fairly simple to put together and always delicious. It has a great section on the various key ingredients and spices used in Asian cooking and the helpful hints sprinkled throughout the book are really helpful. I have a large library of Asian and Middle Eastern cooking books, but when I want something that I can really count on for dinner, I reach for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good cooking series overall, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen (Paperback)
I love the Basic Cooking series, and Basic Asian has some good recipes. Ingredients are a little hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook!, December 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen (Paperback)
I really like this cookbook!There are several recipes I'm gonna have to make.This cookbook is very informative and helpful.The cookbook arrived quickly and in very good condition for a used book.Im very happy with this purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen (Paperback)
excellent book. I really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen
Basic Asian: Everything You Need for Yin and Yang in the Kitchen by Cornelia Schinharl (Paperback - April 1, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.