Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you need
I was cautious selecting this title- the other reviews weren't too helpful, but I am so glad I chose this specific publication. I barely passed high school math and have all the usual math baggage associated with years of miserable stress and failure (add to that a father who was a professor of applied mathematics and mix in some exceptionally clever siblings). Now as a...
Published on July 8, 2009 by SMF Joubert

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies was not quite what I expected when I bought it. It has very brief explanations and too few practice problems for many of the topics it goes over. In my opinion, even for a refresher, I thought it could use a little more. If I could go back I would have preferred to buy a different workbook, please let me know if any of you...
Published 21 months ago by Ghostwriter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you need, July 8, 2009
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
I was cautious selecting this title- the other reviews weren't too helpful, but I am so glad I chose this specific publication. I barely passed high school math and have all the usual math baggage associated with years of miserable stress and failure (add to that a father who was a professor of applied mathematics and mix in some exceptionally clever siblings). Now as a 34 year old, I wanted to see if I could use the logic skills I acquired as an adult and dabble in some vacation time algebra. I didn't want to study math in the sense of grasping long explanations, I wanted to see if I could do the math. I knew I would need explanations if I wanted to work out the sums, so I wasn't sure which book to choose- the study book or the workbook. The workbook provided me with exactly what I needed. Brief, but thorough explanations with examples and several questions of each type to work out. Even the answer section has step-by-step explanations and it was impossible not to get your head wrapped around the solutions. I could solve each and every problem without any assistance. I never used a calculator and loved revising things like long division and precentages. What impressed me most by the end of the book was how neatly the different sections (and principles)fitted together to form an entirely unintimidating whole. It alsmot seemed as beautiful as I secretly thought it should. I could now see why I failed math at school,and confirmed what I always suspected: everybody can follow the rules, and you don't have to be smart to do so. My deepest thanks to the author for this excellent work- it won't be a stretch to say that you have made the world a better place with this humble contribution. Thanks to the publishers too, for this meaningful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars refresher, February 5, 2009
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
If you only need a refresher and simple, understandable explanations- this book is perfect. I haven't formally done any of this for over 20 years- but this was very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great biik, November 23, 2008
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
This book has a lot of good information for the beginer who wants to understand Pre algebra it tells you step by step and is easy to read and understand I highly recommend this book to any one who needs help in algebra or is needing to review and learn their algebra skills again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook, January 29, 2011
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
`Basic Maths and Pre-Algebra Workbook for Dummies' is the accompanying workbook to the main dummies textbook of the same name. It is in a slightly larger format than the main book and is printed on much inferior paper, but the information inside is great. In some respects you don't need the main book to get the most from this workbook. Each chapter introduces the key concepts, shows you how to do the equations, then proceeds to provide some problems for you to solve, before giving the answers at the end of the chapter. You can get a great deal from this book alone and the main `Basic Maths and Pre-Algebra for Dummies' book only provides the same information but fleshes it out and goes into greater depth. If you're goal is to brush up on existing skills then you can quite easily buy this book on it's own. If it's to gain a fuller knowledge of math or if you're starting from scratch, then using both books is probably the better option. This follows the typical `dummies' format, and if you have read any other of the dummies book you'll know what to expect. There is the slightly tongue in cheek text delivery, clear icons and obligatory part of tens at the back. As I noted on my review for the main book, I worked my way through this, accompanied with the main book that goes with it, and my math skills increased incredibly. I realised I knew a lot of this information from school, but this book gave me the confidence to use it and it refreshed my memory about how certain equations are done. This is a good book to get some math practise and a great place to turn if you want to beat those maths demons.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars workbook only, please!, April 6, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought the bundle of Basic Math and Pre-Algebra For Dummies plus the workbook. I started out trying to use them both but very quickly disregarded the book and worked only with the workbook. I figured I would reference the main book if I had any problems but ended up never using it at all. I have yet to receive my copy of Algebra for Dummies so I can't say that it doesn't pick up were this one leaves off, but I'm a little disappointed to see it's not by the same author.

Update 2014:

When I bought this book, it was because I was about to take a non-credit (as in, not actually college level) math class at the local community college and I wanted to catch up as I hadn't taken a math class since 8th grade and hadn't done well in one since 6th. I figured math wasn't really for me, and I was more of a creative type (or something). Obviously, I wasn't planning on taking any more math classes than I absolutely had to but this book gave me such a nice start that I got almost addicted to solving math problems. It set me up perfectly for that class, and the class after that, and the class after that, and ... I decided to keep taking math classes up through differential equations at the community college and now I'm at a university studying computer engineering. I recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with math - even at somewhat higher levels. It's not a waste of time to start from the beginning and figure out where the little holes in your education are, the holes that have been letting the newer things fall through and out your head and make you think you hate math. You don't hate it, I promise. If you can read, you can do math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good review, June 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book for one of my host brothers, who is going to take Algebra I and needs some good brush up on basic stuff. This book really has everything you need to know to have a strong foundation for Algebra I. What also pleases me about this book is that the last chapter deals with stuff actually coming from Algebra I. So this book is not only a "basic-math" refresher but also a Algebra I introducer! Oh... did I mention that the language is also really simple and understandable?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Helpful, September 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
When I order this book I was hoping to find a way to figure out math as I prepare for my nursing entrance exam, and I got what I ordered this has been very helpful to someone who has been out of school since '79 I have already conquered the dreaded fractions, I would recommend this book to anyone needing a refresher on math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars math for dummies, January 6, 2009
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
I loved it and it was very helpful I wish it had more algebra in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Problem, June 9, 2009
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
I feel the workbook is a lot of help.

I feel the operation signs: could have been in a larger type size. It would be easy to misinterpret the division and addition signs if you weren't working in good light, and your eyesight wasn't 20/20. Otherwise I like and recommend the book.

I'm going to get a magnifying glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book helped me get into nursing school!, October 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies (Paperback)
After always struggling with math, and not being able to pass the lpn entrance exam, i purchased this book. IT WAS AMAZING! I LEARNED MORE FROM THIS BOOK THEN 4 YRS OF HIGH SCHOOL MATH! i would recommend any potential nursing student to buy this book to refresh their basic math skills. i also found it helpful to buy another book called review guide for lpn/lvn entrance exam also on amazon. it has test questjons that are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies
Basic Math and Pre-Algebra Workbook For Dummies by Mark Zegarelli (Paperback - September 2, 2008)
Used & New from: $3.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.