Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Important Basics
Recently I decided to introduce 'grandboys' to "grandpas" train hobby first practiced 61 years ago. Modern day model railroading is not your fathers Oldsmobile. It is a whole different world for which only the very basics of soldering and 'set building' are useful now. I've used parts and pieces of 7 different books including, especially, Basic DCC Wiring For Your Model...
Published on June 1, 2012 by Leonard J. Loomis

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate to get an overview.
No book can have everything but this one has more hole than donut.

It does gives a basic overview of dcc & enough generic information to get you started. Does a fair job of comparing dc and dcc and has a lot of good hints and tips but nothing that you can't find online, in the monthly publications or on the vendor websites for dcc manufacturers. Needed more in...
Published 20 months ago by Dwayne the Luddite


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Important Basics, June 1, 2012
By 
Leonard J. Loomis (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
Recently I decided to introduce 'grandboys' to "grandpas" train hobby first practiced 61 years ago. Modern day model railroading is not your fathers Oldsmobile. It is a whole different world for which only the very basics of soldering and 'set building' are useful now. I've used parts and pieces of 7 different books including, especially, Basic DCC Wiring For Your Model Railroad. The illustrations are excellent -- large, and clear -- and very helpful for tasks requiring skills. Several different subjects are covered, perhaps not in the detail which may be eventually required; but also included are resources and reference that should lead to the buying of additional guides in this series. Having everything in one place would require a tome of several hundred pages and wouldn't cover everything. DCC is really fun and the possibilities with it are endless. But reference guides, construction/implementation care, patience and money are going to be necessary. Polsgrove has another book: DCC Projects and Applications that gives an excellent glimpse at what can be done. I'd recommend buying that one and Don Fiehmann's "The DCC Guide, How To Select And Use Your Command Control system. Having understood these, a novice or returnee is off to a flying start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific reference, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
I am new to DCC and this book is a great guide to wiring a layout. I have modeled in DC for nearly four decades and finally have made the decision to switch. I am building a new layout, rather then converting an old one. The wiring diagrams, schematics and principles are well explained and ease to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you need it !, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
GREAT ! After not model railroading for forty plus years most of what I had was "old school" . DCC was new and beyond my means. This book helped me catch up and taught me things of which I had no clue. It tells you the meaning of terms used and directions are clear, simple, and not beyond almost anyone. The pages of useing DC and DCC together is worth the price alone ! I am very happy, and would recommend it to newcommers to DCC and before investing in the wrong products !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate to get an overview., May 18, 2013
By 
Dwayne the Luddite (Christiansburg, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
No book can have everything but this one has more hole than donut.

It does gives a basic overview of dcc & enough generic information to get you started. Does a fair job of comparing dc and dcc and has a lot of good hints and tips but nothing that you can't find online, in the monthly publications or on the vendor websites for dcc manufacturers. Needed more in the way of retrofitting older dc engines with decoders, how to insulate motors from the frame & a better comparison of the various throttles out there. (That part is a tough one - it's a matter of personal preference as to how the throttle "feels" when you're using it, so I can't fault them for that too much.)

I guess part of my disappointment in the book comes from the "good ol' days" when you bought a book on model railroading and it was bigger than the magazine that published it. Also frustrating is being shown a few basic ideas & then having the book refer you to other (similarly sized & lacking???) books that are companion publications. I would much rather buy one substantial book of value than 5 pamphlets that need to be glued together to make one book.

This is a 'Cliff's Notes' edition for dcc & useful as a "Intro to DCC:101" education. I recommend you buy it used instead of new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Starting Point, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
This book is an essential starting point for anyone wanting to consider Digital Command Control (DCC) for their model train layout of any scale. A better title for it would be "Basic DCC for Your Model Railroad". It provides "exceptionally integration knowledge" on all of the DCC Components and Component Features offered by various manufacturers plus the author's experience and "watch outs" on the installation and operation of the various components.

The reviews that state the information contained in this book is available for free on the Internet are inaccurate because the "Author's Integrated DCC Perspective" contained in this book is not available on the Internet; however, each DCC System and DCC Component manufacturer offers "free" information on the devices they sell. Wikipedia has a "very basic" page on DCC plus the National Model Railroad Association (NMRA) has established DCC Standards and Recommended Practices; see their site. Additionally, the author is an Electrical Engineer who currently designs Electronic Circuits for Eagle Test Systems; most of the "Internet Free DCC Information" that I have read is very (very) basic, has errors, and the authors do not provide their credentials.

"Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad" starts with an overview of DCC followed by a logical progression of DCC system planning for a model train layout; it includes individual chapters on DCC "Track Wiring", "Boosters and Power Districts", "Turnouts and Reversing Sections", "Cab Bus Wiring", "Decoder Installation and Programing", and "Converting an Existing Layout to DCC". Mike Polsgrove outlines DCC features offered for each type of DCC Component but does not endorse any specific manufacturer's components.

An appendix is included that lists the nineteen (19) "DCC System and Component Manufacturers" with both their street and internet addresses that were in business at time of the book's publishing; all are still in business.

This integrated DCC information in this book enables anyone to plan, design, and install DCC on their model railroad. It provides all the information you need to "Plan" your DCC system. By "Plan" I mean what "DCC Components and Component Features" you want for your specific layout. You will need to gather and summarize the "Features" offered by the various DCC System and Component Manufacturers to complete your "DCC Layout Design" and enable you to purchase both your DCC System and DCC Components. A second appendix included in this book and entitled "Tools for a DCC Workshop" along with the "Wiring" information provided throughout the book plus the DCC Component Manufacturer's installation requirements of the DCC components you purchase will provide you all the information you need to install DCC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HO and N--DCC is the same for either, May 31, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Toms River, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
The book says its a 'beginners guide' and as such succeeds in what it sets out to do. For true beginners who are just starting to learn DCC it will enable them to get up and running and understand enough to enjoy the advantages of DCC.

I would point out that the book refers to 'model railroad' DCC works the same whether you are using HO scale or N scale. If your equipment is 2 rails (not 3--O scale) this book will get you going just fine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good abridged version of basics, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
As a raw beginner who is an old retired guy with no understanding of electricity or electronics, I appreciated the glossary and abundance of pictures. Like most of these kinds of manuals, it covered some things that I won’t even attempt, and I wish it covered other areas in greater detail. But I understand you can’t please every reader. This is a good book for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for everyone, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
This book is great the beginner to the expert. It is packed with detail very good follow thru on wiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good beginning for beginners., January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
I would not recommend this book for someone already very familiar with DC wiring of model railroads. You can find out everything you need to know about the basics of DCC freely on the internet if you have a good foundation. This book sticks to the basics.

However, for someone (like me) with limited knowledge of DC wiring, having just done a basic layout with unitrack, this is great. It's hardly exhaustive, but covers the basics well enough for me to actually understand what's being talked about on the internet. I really appreciated that Polsgrove *did* talk about specific brands in spots. I was leery of buying this because I didn't want to get something that only spoke in generalities. That alone bought it a star or two from me and made me feel that while basic, this book was worth the cost vs time spent trying to find freebie guides on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, January 16, 2014
By 
Lew L (SW Missouri) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring (Paperback)
Great introductory to a little more advanced book with good presentation and pictures and figures. Found it very good getting me into the basic to intermediate technology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Basic DCC Wiring for Your Model Railroad: A Beginner's Guide to Decoders, DCC Systems, and Layout Wiring
$15.95 $13.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.