Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's in the basket, kid?
'The tenant in room 7 is small, twisted, and very mad.' One of my favorite tag lines from a movie. This is a great, low bugdet shlock horror/comedy from the early 80's. It involves two brothers and their plot to get revenge. I hate to give anymore away, but this is a cult classic that has spawned a couple of sequels. I haven't seen them, but I have seen this one, and...
Published on July 6, 2003 by cookieman108

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'd have to see this one to believe it!
We first meet Duane Bradley as he walks down a New York City sidewalk and into a very poor excuse for a hotel to get a room. Duane is a young man with a secret, a secret he carries around with him in a large, mysterious basket. Duane is also a man on a mission. Riding along in his basket is a pathetic but very dangerous creature named Belial who is actually Duane's much...
Published on April 22, 2008 by Monty Moonlight


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's in the basket, kid?, July 6, 2003
'The tenant in room 7 is small, twisted, and very mad.' One of my favorite tag lines from a movie. This is a great, low bugdet shlock horror/comedy from the early 80's. It involves two brothers and their plot to get revenge. I hate to give anymore away, but this is a cult classic that has spawned a couple of sequels. I haven't seen them, but I have seen this one, and it's lots of fun. The story is definately interesting with its flashbacks and the actors will never win any Oscars, but they really help to make this movie. And then there's the seedy locations. Basically this type of film making is called "using what you got and making the most of it". And then there's the special effects....not over the top, but effective enough to fit nicely with the story. The stop motion animation was a little cheesy, but then that added to the fun of the movie for me. All in all, I had a great time watching this movie.

Something Weird Video (SWV) did a really great job with this DVD. I was a little disappointed that the movie was only available in full screen format, but the amount of extras included was truly amazing. I really enjoyed the piece where the director goes back and tries to locate certain locations from the movie. Great stuff, and pretty complete.

So, in closing, if you want to see a low budget, gory, horror/comedy schlockfest that was done really well, get this movie, if you've got the guts. And as an added bonus, get a glimpse of what times square used to look like before it got all cleaned up and 'disneyfied'. Not a lot of footage on this, but a chance to see how seedy and raw it used to be, with it's hookers, grindhouses, triple-X theaters, etc., compared to what it is now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BASKET CASE blu-ray info, July 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basket Case [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm giving the movie itself 5-stars (how could someone grow up in the 80s/90s and not rent it is beyond me!) but it's a great one. Henenlotter started strong and kept it going.

But the info I want to make known is that the transfer for BC is a brand new one coming from the previously-thought lost negative. Henenlotter himself has stated online at places like Facebook that he thought he'd lost it but came across it a couple years back buried in his storage. He is excited about this as BC has never truly been seen the way he intended it to look -- transfer always came from beat up prints instead of the negative and never got the true attention he'd hoped for. This blu-ray will be a milestone for fans of Henenlotter, BASKET CASE, Belial and Something Weird Video. Here's hoping the BLOOD TRILOGY turns out as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly unforgettable horror film, August 17, 2001
This review is from: Basket Case [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Basket Case," directed by Frank Henenlotter, is one of my favorite horror films of all time. It tells the story of Duane, an ordinary young man with a bizarre secret: he carries his deformed, undersized former conjoined twin around in a basket (hence the film's title).
"Basket Case" has an appealing low-budget feel to it, and Kevin Van Hentenryck is very likeable as Duane. Belial, the deformed twin, is an oddly sympathetic character. Yes, the film contains some scenes that many will find sick and depraved, but it also contains some truly haunting images. Disturbing, sometimes funny, and curiously moving, "Basket Case" is a truly unique piece of cinematic art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SICK, SICK, SICK, SICK, November 13, 2001
By 
Wil-n-Tally "bavabuff" (Tallahassee, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Basket Case is WAY out there and so sick that the mouths of those watching it fall open in disbelief. This movie was made outside of Hollywood; the sets consists of a seedy flophouse (not a Hollywood soundstage designed to look like a flophouse), a 42nd street grindhouse movie theater, and what looks like an abandoned building that is supposed to be a doctor's office. The actors and extras look like they were not saleried but worked for a chance to be on film and/or a bottle of wine. There was not much money to be spent on this movie. Instead, this horror masterpiece relied on imagination and a twisted sense of humor to make it work. The story concerns a pair of separated Simease twins. Duane, the normal (normal as in being able to walk on his own and not scare people with his looks) carries his brother around in a wicker basket. The bother looks like a big glob of putty with claws and teeth. Their goal is to exact revenge on the doctor's who separated them. There is lots of blood shed, horrendous acting by non pros, and a femme fatale with the most ridiculous hairstyle ever put on celluloid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cult horror trash classic, August 20, 2004
By 
S. D Haynie "girlranger" (carlsbad, nm United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're looking for a bit of a change-up for your Friday Night Horror Movie Parties, try this one.

It's gory. It's got really cheesy 80's special effects. The actors ALL have bad hair.

However, it is an interesting idea. The two brothers are clearly deeply connected to each other (or, at least they were...). The emotional conflict between the two (particularly the more "able" brother's desire to date) is intense and understandable.

There were moments in this movie that were so funny (that I don't think were meant to be) that my husband and I just laughed and laughed. Some of the characters are over the top. There were some scenes (particularly the really bad stop-animation scenes) that made me wince in their low quality. I'm sure it was superb film quality at the time; but, now it's really bad.

Overall, it's one of those films that you probably should watch. Get a friend who won't hate you when it's over, come to an agreement that this is intentionally quite trashy, and have fun watching a truly original, truly bizarre flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sibling Rivalry..., August 3, 2006
Duane Bradley (Kevin Van Hentenryck) checks into the hotel Broslin in NYC w/ his incredibly deformed, psychic, and psychotic brother, Belial. Together, they plan on hunting down and killing the quacks who surgically separated them years earlier. This is done in gorey detail, with splashes of hysterical humor tossed in! I especially enjoyed the demise of Dr. Kutter (check out her identical twin nurses). Actually, this movie is about the love between two brothers and the jealousy / anger that develops when one of them falls in love. There is a certain warmth beneath all that goo! Along the way, we are treated to many scenes of mutilation and depravity, as only Frank Henenlotter can deliver (The last 15 minutes or so are downright disturbing)! I think BASKET CASE is a classic, and recommend it to anyone w/ a taste for the outrageous and bizarre...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MINISCULE BUDGET, THE MAIN POINT OF THIS REVIEW IS TO LET YOU THE READER KNOW A DREAM WAS ACCOMPLISHED............, August 15, 2006
People will say Basketcase sucks. That is what makes it great.Director Frank Henenlotter brilliantly directed this horror shlock gore fest. Henenlotter made the most of this films miniscule budget. Actors Kevin Van Hentenryck and Terri Susan Smith are incredible in their performances. Beverly Bonner played a prostitute, but her charachters performance and credability in this movie were incredible. Basketcase was done with alot of guts and a belief that it could be a success. Henenlotter was correct, this movie is known all over the world, and has made a fortune. Basketcase does have very bad (cheap) special effects especially the stop motion scenes of Belial, Duanes mutated twin. This movie does supply emotion, and is very touching at the end. Gus Russo supplys the soundtrack for this movie. When you see the end of Basketcase, Gus Russos music blends in beautifully with the scene and makes this scene very sad. If you the viewer of this movie are expecting "Freddy vs. Jason" effects your not even getting a microcosim of Freddy effects. This is a great grade c movie made during the age of gore 1978-1983. Alot of effort went into Basketcase as with most gore movies of this era, just try to have some imagination when watching Basketcase, so the special effects are not of "Star Wars episode III". I got news for you the reader, George Lucas himself along with alot of big time hollywood directors probably like basketcase for Henenlotters creativity and his belief in basketcase. The extras on this dvd are plentiful and the video short "in search of the Hotel Broslin" explains alot about Basketcase and is really a facinating look into this outrageous bizarre movie. The last 15 minutes of this film make this a heart warming classic. This film is not in widescreen like I wish it would have been, but the digital transfer of this film is done splendidly, the picture is really clean. Dont be so harsh on ripping this movie, look at it this way, Frank Henenlotter and his crew actually put in an incredible effort into making this movie.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...very small, very twisted, and very mad..., July 27, 2000
By 
linus (the land of wind and ghosts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basket Case (DVD)
The ads for this cult classic proudly displayed Rex Reed's quote ("The sickest movie I've ever seen"). It's a horror-comedy about Duane Bradley (Kevin VanHentenryck), a soft-spoken, mild-mannered young man who takes his little brother Belial to New York City. What's sick about that? Well, Belial is Duane's deformed, telepathically bonded Siamese twin, who lives in a wicker basket and looks like a snaggle-toothed hamburger patty. The brothers hole up in a dingy hotel (Hotel Broslin!) and track down the three doctors who surgically separated them. Laughable stop-motion animation, explicit gore, and an extremely bad-taste sex scene push this $35,000 first feature by Frank Henenlotter off limits to all but the most decadent viewers, which means people like me and YOU, if you've read this far. Vile fun if you're in the right mood and company; this isn't the kind of movie you take home to meet your mom. Followed by two progressively cretinous sequels, also by Henenlotter. Stick with this movie, "Brain Damage," and "Frankenhooker."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's in the basket? A must-own cult classic, November 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Basket Case [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Having owned the 20the anniversary DVD since it's release, I was a little weary of this on blu-ray. After all, a 16mm 1:33.1 shoestring-budget film shot almost 30 years ago, would be a hard-sell on high-def. But boy, I am glad I caved.

A young man and his deformed Siamese twin, separated at birth, check into a seedy 42dn Street hotel. They soon plot their revenge against the doctors who separated them. All the while causing some other mayhem at the hotel. This a fun, trashy and gory flick. Made back in the glory of days of true grindhouse cinema, when old 42nd Street was 42nd Street, sleazy, rundown, porno theaters, etc, before the Disneyification. An accurate representation of that era in NYC's history.

Lots of bloodshed in this one, gorehounds take note.(POSSIBLE SPOILERS) A man ripped in half, a woman with scalpels in her bloody face are just a taste of what we get. Again, that wonderful ultra-sleazy atmosphere and feel. Pure guerrilla film-making at it's finest. Lots of good laughs as well,unintentional, well, yes, but that's all the fun of it. It's too bad they don't make them like this anymore.

The blu-ray picture is as good as it's ever going to be. Fully restored to it's OAR of 1:33.1(when it was blown to 1.85, a lot of info was missing)and remastered from it's original 16mm negative, natural film grain abounds. Picture looks cleaner and more watchable than ever. Some blue scratches pop up occasionally, but they did on the DVD as well. Audio is the original mono track, so purists will be pleased. Very clear sound.

Extra wise, we get a new intro by the director, the man himself, the great Frank Henenlotter. For two minutes, he explains why he did this for blu-ray and the long process of doing so. Very nice. Up next, we get the audio commentary lifted from the DVD. Very fun track as Frank and co. reflect on making this movie, it's reception, legacy and many troubles. They even mention how the great Joe Bob Briggs saved this film from being permanently butchered at the idiotic request of the long-defunct Analysis Releasing. Next of course, is the 15-minute feature In Search of the Hotel Broslin. Frank and a friend go to the locations they filmed, including the club they filmed some scenes in. Very interesting and informative. A very nice
gallery of outtakes and behind the scenes footage follows. Brief at 5 minutes, but def worth a look. TV spots, trailers, radio spots and still gallery of art are the other features. Now, the blu-ray is missing two extras from the DVD: a radio interview with Terri Susan Smith and a segment showing clips from Beverly Bonner's old TV show,"Laugh Track". Not a big deal. I will hang onto the DVD as well.

This is a must-see/own for horror/cult/grindhouse and of course a must-own for fans and Frank Henenlotter fans. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could somebody like myself NOT give this five stars???, June 26, 2009
Although its a brilliant, humorous, gory and entertaining horror movie, "Basket Case" is a movie that's probably not for everybody. For those seeking a big-budget, two-and-a-half-hour psychological affair with more twists and turns than your brain has room for, this is NOT for you.

HOWEVER!!!
If you want a low-budget, high-quality cheap-thrill of a comedy-horror crossover, "Basket Case" will become your new beloved Friday night splatter-fest. The plot has been retold in other reviews, so I won't get to that. However, I WILL pinpoint the highlights of this movie in hopes that they will inspire you to go check it out:

- Lots of blood and gore. You can tell how cheap the special effects are, but that's part of what makes them so great!
- Lots of cheap laughs/jokes, etc.. At one point, Duane and the nice lady across the hall from him, forget her name, go to a bar and have a little too much booze. Drunken hilarity ensured!
- Colorful and imaginative characters. There's a budding romance between Duane and the girl that works at a doctor's office he visits at one point. This adds a nice touch throughout the movie.
- Brotherly relations. Throughout the movie, we also see some develeopment between Duane and his severed brother, Belial. This actually adds depth to the movie and makes it even more interesting.
- Shocking ending. I won't give away what happens, but after you watch this movie, just know that there's a sequel so anything that may happen to Duane or Belial isn't permanent. (THANK GOD!)

In conclusion, "Basket Case" is a low-budget comedy-horror crossover full of cheap laughs, heavy gore, some brilliant character development and an ending that ensures a dynamic sequel! Pick this up for your rainy Friday night, kick back and enjoy the madness! Thanks for the time, and peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Basket Case [Blu-ray]
Basket Case [Blu-ray] by Frank Henenlotter (Blu-ray - 2011)
$17.97 $9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.