Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goofy at times, but still fun, April 20, 2005
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
Like previous reviewers have mentioned, Batman in the Fifties contains light and humourous stories that include outer space adventures. There are also stories that aren't that far out there, and do contain some of the super villians. Also, the first apperances of Batwoman, Bat-Mite, and Ace the Bathound are in here, and the first appearance of Mr. Zero (later called Mr. Freeze). Also, like all of these Batman in the ... books, they are in color, which I wasn't expecting, but pleasantly surprised by, and there are little articles between stories giving information about where some of the chracters were thought up from, and things to expand your overall Batman knowledge.

Here are the stories:

The Batmobile of the 1950's- DC 156

The Secret of Batman's Utility Belt- DC 185

True History of Batman and Superman- World's Finest 81

The 100 Batarangs of Batman- DC 244

Ace, the Bat-hound- Batman 92

The Batwoman- DC 233

Batman Meets Bat-Mite- DC 267

The Secret Life of Catwoman- Batman 62

The Man Behind the Red Hood- DC168 (a very important Joker story)

Two-Face Strikes Again- Batman 81

The Ice Crimes of Mr. Zero- Batman 121

The Batman of Tomorrow- DC 216

Batman- The Superman of Planet X- Batman 113

The Creature From the Green Lagoon- DC 252

The Interplanetary Batman- Batman 128
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman's Fifties Funnies, July 26, 2002
By 
J. Smith "JThree" (Williston, North Dakota United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
The stories included in this anthology were some of those I grew up with. Back then, kids could go to garage sales and pick up dozens of comics for a few dimes apiece. Not so today, where everything has been indexed price-wise and counter-indexed.
A good read for those of you who prefer more self-contained stories rather than today's lengthy multi-issued epics, but they were fun and at times rather silly.
The introduction is well written, and gives the reader some insight into the era. The Comics Code was in effect, which forced the company and writers to be more careful in what they put out.
The one drawback (in my humble opinion) is sometimes how embarrasing the dialogue is. I cringe a bit when I read the thought balloons between Batman and Batwoman. One wonders if the writers were conscious of that at the time.
Still, it's nice to see Bruce and Dick have a better friendship than what's coming across these days.
The artwork, some by Dick Sprang is great,and reminds me of the time when everything in the comics was indexed like the contents of Batman's utility belt where it possessed maps showing what tools went where.
A fun read. I look forward to Superman in the Fifties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but the sixties one is better..., October 3, 2004
By 
Patrick L. Burgette (Woodridge, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
This is an enjoyable book of Golden Age Batman. Here you get many great stories of classic Batman and Robin going up against some great classic villains like Joker (as The Red Hood),Catwoman,Two Face and Mr. Freeze. This time Batman and Robin get some help from Batwoman,Ace The Bathound,Batmite and even Superman. I'm more a fan of Silver Age comics,but I still liked this book and I think it will keep fans of Batman entertained almost as well as Batman in the sixties did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro Dark Knight, June 27, 2013
By 
Adam (Boise, ID, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
The 1950s Batman stories are perhaps the least collected stories in the Dark Knight's history. Only recently have the early 1950s Detective Comics stories come into print. So, I was hoping to see something knew and I did.

This ear of Bat history is pretty well maligned. It's less serious, more sci-fi and gets away from the hero's dark crimefighting roots. The 1960s TV show has more boosters than this era among serious bat aficionados.

There were a lot of stories I loved in the book. A couple took intimate looks at the operations of Batman. In Detective Comics #156, the 1940s Batmobile is demolished and Batman's leg broken. So he builds the 1950s model which screams, "Awesome!" and would be the basis for the 1960s Batmobile on the TV show. We learn about Batman's batarangs in, "The 100 Batarangs of Batman," including their secret weapon, "Batarang X." A great Batman-Superman crossover is included with, "The True History of Superman and Batman."

We meet the "Bat-hound," "The Batwoman," and "Bat-Mite." The Bat-woman was sexist but not nearly as sexist as the introduction indicated. This early version of Kathy Kane could definitely handle herself. It felt more like the writers were leaving it open to be moved by reader response and clearly readers wanted more of her.

The villains section of the book was a bit more mixed. "The Man Behind the Red Hood" was classic and the story featuring the first appearance of the character who would become Mr. Freeze was decent. The 1950s stories that saw Catwoman abandon crime and Two-Face take it up again were weak.

The Sci Fi stories were actually a treat. My favorite was "Batman: The Superman of Planet X" which had Batman transported to a world where due to gravity and atmosphere, he had the same powers on Planet X that Superman has on our world. He was brought by the Batman of Planet X who admired our Batman and modeled himself after him.

Bottom line: the 1950s were a time when Batman was fun and light. Maybe he shouldn't be as rule, but if you find it enjoyable, this was a great read, and hopefully the whole 1950s will become available to us soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman in the Fifties, June 15, 2007
By 
PhilBobEverly "bobbbythec" (Maple Grove, Mn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
My favorite Batman era even though I wasn't around in the 50's. Yes, some of it is corny and silly but I'll lay down money for this any day over the modern immoral, bloody, graphic, violent comics of today. This Batman is colorful (love Dick Sprangs work) and everything is drawn big and bold.
Batman is a decent friend and father figure and he actually acts like a hero. Batman actually smiles in some of these stories. I really like the SCI-FI approach they took in the 50's.
I would recommend this for parents who are looking for Batman comics that are safer for kids. Great Stories all though I still find Batmite somewhat
annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Batman in the Fifties: Great for Batman Fans and Great for Young Readers, September 25, 2010
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
There are not that many comic books today being published for young readers. A lot that are are silly. This book "Batman in the Fifties" is great for young readers a well as adult comic book fans.

The stories are complete and average about 7 to 9 pages long. The storiesa are simple enough for a oung reader to understand.

The stories in this book introduce "Batwoman," "Ace the Bathound," and the magical imp from the Fifth Dimension "Bat-Mite." A criticism of this book that I have is that they did not include the introductrion story of Batwoman's teenage sidekick the original "Batgirl."

These stories are better than the stories in the current Batman comics DC Comics published for young readers.

This would make a great gift for young readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Kids of All Ages, October 19, 2008
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
A fun book that chronicles a time when the Batman and Robin comics were self-contained stories, with the heroes even venturing into outer space to battle the evil-doers.

With the Comics Code Authority during this era - and a number of "controversies" surrounding the Batman character - the Dynamic Duo are assisted by new characters like Batwoman, Ace the Bat-Hound, and Bat-Mite. This volume is fantastic for kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars batman in the fifties, February 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: Batman in the '50s (Paperback)
this was a funny book.

the days of the big props

when batman and robin gets trap

or chasing a villian.

the secrets of the batarangs..love it!

or thier sci-fi adventures.

this book is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Batman in the '50s
Batman in the '50s by Various (Paperback - May 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $13.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.