Customer Reviews


472 Reviews
5 star:
 (388)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


241 of 247 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Info about the expired XBOX 360 code / what's included [Not a game review]
The front of the box says that Bonus Content includes Harley Quinn's Revenge and Batman: Year One, and that it has a code to download from Xbox Live that expires on March 31, 2013.

I wasn't sure if that meant all content was behind the code or that some was on the disc and some on XBox Live. I got mixed results when researching the issue. One person said they...
Published 20 months ago by Lera

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They took the fun out
I loved Arkham Asylum and I was very eager to play it's sequel - Arkham City. Too bad, they took the fun out!!!!! All the same elements are here: Great Voice acting, high production values, good game mechanics, and a dark and creepy art style that fits Batman. Yet, unlike Asylum, I stopped playing after a short time.

Which puzzled me because it shouldn't have...
Published 12 months ago by Alley McNally


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

241 of 247 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Info about the expired XBOX 360 code / what's included [Not a game review], April 24, 2013
By 
Lera (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
The front of the box says that Bonus Content includes Harley Quinn's Revenge and Batman: Year One, and that it has a code to download from Xbox Live that expires on March 31, 2013.

I wasn't sure if that meant all content was behind the code or that some was on the disc and some on XBox Live. I got mixed results when researching the issue. One person said they used the code after expiration and it still worked. Some people said they got two discs in the box and it had all the content and others said they got one disc in the box and it didn't have all the content.

So here's the breakdown:

I put in the code today, 24 April 2013, and it is indeed INVALID on Xbox Live. I have a paid Gold membership (compared to a free Silver membership) and it still didn't work.

The box contains two discs. Those who got one disc may have purchased the original game. This is the Game of the Year Edition, with the ugly red and white cover. Upon installing and starting up disc one, the game searched for me and advised me that I have Catwoman content waiting for me and to please insert the second disc to install the Catwoman Bundle Pack.

All I had to do to enable this was start the game with Disc 2 in the drive instead of Disc 1. Up came a screen offering me to install:
-Catwoman Bundle Pack
-Batman Inc. Batsuit Skin
-Challenge Map Pack
-The Arkham Bundle
-Harley Quinn's Revenge

I could install individually or select "Install All" button.

So a careful reading of the box and examination of the options seems to show that the only thing the expired Xbox Live download code was used for was the animated movie "Batman: Year One." You do NOT get that for free when you buy this game because the code expired March 31, 2013.

I hope that helps anyone out there who was wondering, as I was, what the expired code meant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Batman Game Ever, May 29, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
Let me start by saying something you know already, this game rocks. It's by far the best Batman game you can play, even better than Batman Arkham Asylum which is awesome too.

OK, what does it make this version superior over the regular one? Batman: Arkham City (GOTY) comes with 2 discs. Disc 1 is the regular version of this fantastic game, and Disc 2 allows you to install all of the DLC (Catwoman Pack, Robin Bundle Pack, Nightwing Bundle Pack, Arkham City Skins Pack, and Challenge Map Pack. Also includes Harley Quinn's Revenge new bonus content which features more than two hours of additional content, new environments, collectables, storylines and enemies) on your hard drive. You can download Batman: Year One movie with a voucher code. In other words, all of DLC are on Disc 2 that you install on your hard drive, except for the movie (voucher code).

So, if you already have the regular version and a nice friend borrows you Disc 2, you will have all of the downloadable content. On the other hand, if you have never played this game... What are you waiting for? Go for your copy now.

Enjoy this fantastic game, it is really amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what Games should BE, October 10, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
This game is absolutely amazing. Graphics, missions, gadgets, characters, and story are all just amazing. This is not my first game. I have played Call of duties. Assassins Creed, and etc. I can see that Arkham City has put a lot of work in this game than the rest. The story is so dramatic and detailed. Gadgets are very amazing as you use them to take your enemies down. Stealth, stealth, STEALTH !!! I didnt even know this game had stealth intill I bought it. I'm a hue fan of assassins creed, but after I saw the stealth in Arkham city, Assassins creed didn't stand out anymore. Combat, THE COMBAT IS THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS GAME !!! AZMAZIN MOVEMENT AND COMBOS! Not like any other super hero game ever!!! Just buy this game!!! GAME OF THE YEAR

Pros:
- Perfect stealth and combat system
- Amazing graphics
- Missions are never repetitive
- Loads of gamemodes to play from
- Loads of characters to play as
- Free roam experience brings the fun in Arkham
- Loads of cool gadgets that lets you decide your next move
- Lots of freedom and ways to complete your mission
- Detailing enemies
- Great dramatic campaigne

Cons:
- Okay Facial graphics
- No multiplayer ( Totally Fine )
- Can't use Nightwing or Robin in campaign, only in game modes.
- Long missions
- A few confusing missions ( No Biggy)
Thankyou for reading and have a great time playing this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for gamers with problems, August 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
These discs are perfect for gamers whom are having problems with their 360's connecting to the internet. I've been wanting to play all the side missions with Catwoman, Nightwing, Robin, and etc. Definitely worth the buy and every single cent charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight Breaks Every Bone In Your Body, August 6, 2012
By 
Greg (SEATTLE, WA, US) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
It's been a Batman kind of... well, decade, at this point.

Arkham City is, in every way, a great follow up and worthy successor to the kick-ass Arkham Asylum. There are some notable differences but, if you liked the previous installment, I can't for the life of me imagine why you wouldn't like this one.

The driving force behind this game, as the last, is the story. And boy-oh-boy, is it a doozy. We open with Bruce Wayne protesting the opening and operation of Arkham City: a super-prison that covers several city blocks and holds ALL of the crooks and criminals and crazies in Gotham. Hugo Strange, a psychiatrist in charge of running Arkham City and our main villain, chucks Bruce Wayne in jail, because courts and due-process are not a thing in Gotham, apparently. Once inside, Bruce becomes Batman, does some sluething and winds up face to face with the Joker (no surprise there). But the Joker's quite ill, it turns out! Poisoned by his overdose of Titan at the close of Arkham Asylum! And his plan to cure himself is... well, awful, and exactly the type of thing you'd expect the Joker to come up with. Batman then proceeds to fly among rooftops and punch people in the neck until all the problems are solved... well, mostly... actually, not really at all. This is a dark game, even by Batman standards: it's not morbid or emo, but the stakes are very high and you could argue that the Dark Knight isn't handling the situation too well. Too much is stacked against him and we have to wonder if he'll come out all right. It's a pretty gripping tale that takes some unexpected twists. It's a sprawling story as well, that covers a lot of ground and introduces an vast array of Batman villains (some obligatory, some really unexpected) but in a smart, clever sort of way. Nothing feels overly padded or awkwardly shoved in. It's a clever plot that gets from one point to the next in a really organic way.

And, once again, Mark Hamill's Joker steals the show. Serioulsy, does he get awards for this? Because he deserves some sort of recognition aside from me saying nice things in Amazon revies no one will ever read. It's an excellent group of voice-actors and he outshines them all.

Of course, all of that wouldn't matter if the gameplay sucked; and I'm happy to say that it doesn't suck in the least. It's the same blend of battle-royale combat, stealthy hunting and detectiving from the first. Everything's been smoothed out and the animations have been blended much better, but it's not worlds apart. I will say that the multi-foe combat moves a lot faster; the animations have been sped up and, if you time it right, the Batman can take down two or three enemies at a time. As I've said before, it's the ultimate easy-to-learn-hard-to-master experience: you can just mash that punch button and (maybe) come out okay. But the best will blend gadgets and free-flowing beatdowns to deliver the ultimate ass-kicking to ten, twenty, thirty guys at a time. Ditto the stealth sections, when it's time to take down a team of lunatics with guns. Those who take the time to learn all of batmans tools and tricks will be able to clear a room in seconds without breaking a sweat. It's a super-fun, super-satisfying experience.

There's also the addition of open-world exploration. Batman's cape and grapple hook have been improved and let him, for the most part, fly from one end of the modeslty sized Arkham City to the next. The design of the city is pretty unique; it's a well laid out area with its own unique feel. There's a TON of detail, with lots of ledges and corners and alleys to hide in. I would have prefered a more palatable shift in neighborhood as you travel from one super-criminal's turf to the next: everything is coated in the same grime and it makes Arkham City a touch monotone. Not that more color is the answer, we all know what happens when you paint pastels on batman. But... just, something to keep, say, the docks looking different from the area around the courthouse, you know? It's hard to think of what, because it's all so detailed already but... lighting? I don't know, I got nothin.

Anyway, what makes Arkham City stand out from Arkham Asylum is the shear weight of content: 400+ riddler challenges, a dozen or so side-missions giving storylines to some of the more colorful Batman villains, easter-eggs, hidden secrets, audio tapes, 3d-models, concept art, offline challenges for points. You could probably spend 40 - 60 hours tracking it all down. And this is even before the GOTY content...

But, yeah, about that... The big additions are the Catwoman DLC and the expansion: Harley Quinn's Revenge. Neither of which is that robust or all that exciting. Fun, but not too much fun. The Catwoman subplot weaves in and behind Batman's main story; it's neat to see what she's up to, but it's brief and doesn't really fill in any gaps that need filling in. It is fun to play as Catwoman, who has a much faster, much more effiecient fighting style. You get access to her at anytime after the main story and in the additional challenge maps, which is pretty cool. But it's not a necessary companion; you'd be fine without it. Ditto Harley's Revenge: it's a pretty brief addition to the end of the story, where Harley Quinn has herself locked up tight in the steel mill with some kidnapped cops. There's a few good fights, a couple of good stealth moments, and you get to play as both Batman and Robin at different points in the story. But it's very, very short and mostly forgettable. It felt mostly like it was there to set up a couple of things to be used in the third game.

Oh, and there will be a third game: there are far too many hints and moments of foreshadowing scattered throughout Arkham City. Google the ScareCrow easter egg, if you don't believe me.

All in all, I guess I would have to recommend the GOTY edition over the standard, simply because it's more of a good thing. There's enough extra stuff to be worth it (different batman skins, the ability to play as Robin/nightwing/catwoman in the extra challenges, a copy of Batman: Year One [if you're into that]) and it all comes neatly on one disk. You need a fair amount of memory to hold it all (1.2 G, I believe) but it's pretty much worth it. Like I said, it's just more of a good thing.

Not a lot more, nothing mindblowing, but a solid addition to one of the finest games of the past few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would play "Arkham" games forever..., March 24, 2013
By 
W. J. Willig (MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
I just finished Arkham Asylum last month, and I couldn't wait to play Arkham City. I'm not one to get really into video games and play them for long periods of time, but I like superheroes and used to read comics a lot, so I decided to give Batman a try. It didn't hurt that the game had received so much praise.

It is a masterpiece. I can't quite decide whether I liked Asylum or City better, but I can't get enough of either of them. I love the controls, graphics, gripping story, dedication to the comic characters and plots, and amount of detail that went into every second of this amazing game. You begin to feel like you are Batman as you lose yourself in grappling through the city, thwarting bad guys and solving (sometimes very tricky) riddles. It was fun playing as Catwoman too. She has her own feel while still keeping the controls consistent.

I could go on and on - you have to play this game. It DESERVES the title Game of the Year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son loves it, December 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
My 30 year old handicapped son loves this game. Keeps him occupied for hours. Very challenging for him but that's a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game Of The FRICKIN Year!!, May 29, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
For those of you who waited,like me, for the price to drop NOW is your chance to strike!!
The game sells for 49.99, but you get the DLC that has been released for the original on the disc 2! plus the New DLC(fans should know what I'm talking about
I've heard so many POSITIVE reviews for this game and for some damn reason I waited...and it was worth it!

Batman wiping the blood from his nose on the cover just shows how hard he worked to earn those 10/10
Long live THE DARK KNIGHT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Value for Budget Gamers, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
I played Batman: Arkham City 2 years ago shortly after it came out by renting it and enjoyed it very much. Recently I decided to purchase this to get to play it again and try the extra content. Much of my rating comes from a frugal gamer's perspective of buying the GOTY edition on sale for $15.

First off, for those of you who have not played any of the Batman: Arkham titles, this game's story is amazing and standalone enough to where you can get the idea of what happened in Arkham Asylum (the first title) even if you did not previously play it. For those who did play Arkham Asylum, this game is on a much larger scale, giving access to a wider play area than its predecessor. There is a bigger representation of central characters and villains, such as Catwoman, Two-Face, Penguin, and many others. In addition, there are numerous side missions that can be accessed throughout the game that help add to the enjoyment value of the game, give you bonus abilities, and interact with other villains not part of the main story. Another plus is a bigger role of the Riddler in this game, who has hostages in elaborate death traps that he provides locations to after completing enough riddles so you can attempt to solve the rooms and save the hostages.

Gameplay wise, the combat and predator systems are simple, yet challenging. Most encounters involve either unarmed "beat-em up" combat using a variety of attacks, counters, gadgets and special abilities against large numbers of inmates, or sneak-around takedowns of armed thugs, allowing you to do things like jump through glass, out of vents, around corners, etc. to surprise and take down the bad guys in a silent or high profile manner, even allowing you to use gadgets to harass, frighten, distract or knock them out. Inmates respond to your actions, sometimes to the point of becoming completely terrified. Paired with using various gadgets to solve puzzles, analyze crime scenes, and traverse through the city, it definitely feels like playing Batman the entire time you are playing the game.

The extra content is easily accessed by putting Disc 2 in the drive and installing everything. This gives you access to:

- Catwoman missions: Several times during the main story, you will switch over to controlling Catwoman for her part in the story. After the main story is over, you are able to switch between her and Batman freely.
- Harley Quinn's Revenge: A 30-60 minute extension of the story that allows you to play as Robin for a majority of the time.
- Extra challenge maps: More predator and combat challenges in places like Wayne Manor, the Batcave, Joker's Funhouse (which is timed and an endurance map), and even a side-scrolling combat challenge on a train.
- Extra costumes: more novelty, but there if you want to switch up Batman's appearance (after beating the game once). Others are available for other characters.
- Extra playable characters in challenge mode: You get access to Catwoman, Robin, and Nightwing in the "Riddler's Revenge" challenge maps. Each one has unique gadgets and abilities to let you mix up your approaches to individual challenge maps.

Overall, from the perspective of a budget gamer, this game is very worth buying at $15-$20. It provides a long and epic story line with updated yet very well portrayed versions of staple Batman characters. The systems for taking on thugs definitely pulls off having a Batman feel which is enhanced by the gadgets you use, and the extra content will add on several hours of gameplay. I cannot say for those who buy games with financial scrutiny that it would have been worth paying $60 at release and then buying the DLC separately, but for this price, it is a must-buy for anyone who enjoys action/adventure games and is a Batman fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arkham City, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) (Video Game)
Very good game. Frankly the game of the year edition did not add much for me. Catwoman is a decent addition, but nothing to write home about. The Harley Quinn section was an OK add-on, but it required you to play as Robin. Robin, Nightwing, and Catwoman all have slightly different attacks and equipment. But worse, they have different timing. Most of them are faster than Batman, but do a little less damage. Since the "brawler" rules of the game are all about timing your attacks so that you can switch back and forth between large groups of enemies, while blocking when necessary, having a timing shift right at the end of the game REALLY throws you off. And not in a good "This is different" sort of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition)
Batman: Arkham City (Game of the Year Edition) by Warner Home Video - Games (Xbox 360)
$19.99 $12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.