Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Batman: The Complete Television Series (Limited Edition) [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$104.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 11, 2014
Well, this could have been a hack job and fans of the 60's Batman TV series wouldn't have minded much. We would have just been happy to have this series in any way possible.

But, I'm happy to report that Warner Brothers really spent the money and gave us fans the (mostly) definitive version of the series! It looks absolutely fantastic, and for hardcore fans of the Adam West's Batman, please read on.

Ever since this set was announced, many fans were wondering what it would contain. And while Amazon's description includes some of the details, it doesn't really get into the finer points.

Here's a list of what harcore fans of the series might care about:

1. Yes, the Batgirl presentation reel/pilot IS included! (This is the short, 10-minute film that was made to introduce the character to the network brass.). The picture quality of this film is not as good as the main series (with scratches and slightly faded color), but it looks better than what we've seen before, and it's uncut.

2. The set also includes the test reels with Adam West and Burt Ward, as well as the film of Burt doing falls/breaking boards with his hand. The picture quality of these films is quite good.

3. The two songs by Leslie Gore, and the two songs by Chad & Jeremy are where they should be in their respective episodes.

4. The episodes begin with the proper "in color" bumpers, and they conclude with the original 1960's 20th Century Fox Television logo.

5. The first episode is sans the "in color" bumper (which seems to be correct for that episode), and its weird out-of-synch sound effects during the opening credits are all there, just like they're supposed to be! (I had wondered if WB would have just used a standardized open credits sequence. I was very happy that wasn't the case!)

On a negative note, all of the original "next week's villain" previews, which had been rumored to be included, don't seem to be there after all.... We do get a few, but it's frustrating that most were not included... (Warner Home Video fumbled the ball a bit in this regard, as the previews definitely exist, and can be seen at places like YouTube.)

All in all, this is pretty much the version of the 60's series fans were hoping it would be. It looks absolutely incredible on blu-ray, and since WB got most of the little details right, most fans will be perfectly satisfied.
6464 comments| 342 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
I attended the Comic-Con panel on July 24, 2014, which featured Adam West, Julie Newmar, and Burt Ward, as well as clips from the Blu-ray release and information on extras. I can confirm that the Limited Edition Blu-Ray will include never before seen photos, a Hot Wheels Batmobile, and several featurettes on the disks. The episodes themselves look gorgeous--scratches cleaned up, colors corrected, modest sharpening done. At the split screens showing the old TV broadcast vs. the new Blu-Ray, the improvements were stunning. This will be a "must-own" for physical media. Episodes will be complete and uncut. They even showed cameos by Dick Clark, the Green Hornet and Kato, and Bill Dana as José Jimenez. Fans will not be disappointed.

UPDATE:
Here's an update on the set after actual delivery:
The Blu-ray completely lives up to the picture quality shown at Comic-Con. Colors pop off the screen, the image is sharp with no annoying noise or grain, even in dark scenes. For example, you can make out when Batman needs a shave, the natural grain in Batman's cowl, even the ragged threads of Batman's cape. For the first time, I noticed that Batman's "ears" are a different color than most of his cowl. Simply amazing.

Because the original show was not wide screen, on modern HDTVs, you can expect black bars on the side of your screen.

The seasons are individually-cased, and each season has disks that are color-coded, so you won't accidentally mix up the disks. Special features are on the last disk in the Season 3 set.

I can also confirm that the "Batgirl Pilot" is included in the special features, under the section entitled "Bat Rarities! Straight from the Vault". Also included there are Burt Ward's screen test with Adam West, Screen tests of Lyle Waggoner and Peter Deyell, and a tribute to James Blakeley, production manager on Batman and The Green Horner.

The Batgirl Pilot is not re-mastered, so the colors are faded with scratches and other defects visible.

The included Episode Guide is okay, but while it gives a short description of each episode, lists the villain, original airdate, writer and director, it doesn't list the guest star(s) for each episode. The actors playing the villains are named only the first time they make an appearance in an episode; subsequent episodes only list the villains name, which is fine unless you have to want to view a later episode and can't remember which actor is playing the villain.

This set is exactly what it was promised to be--the best color, the best imagery, the most complete set of the Batman TV-series ever. It's the pinnacle of what Blu-ray was meant to deliver. Gripe about the price, but it's well worth it if you love Batman and have a high-definition set. Five stars.
207207 comments| 361 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
I've read so many PRE-release reviews ranting about the price of this set. Well, if you don't like the cost, then enjoy your bootlegs and stop your b*tching, because no one's forcing you to buy it. Furthermore, if you take the time to read this....

http://www.wired.com/2014/11/batman-home-video-finally/

...you'll understand the frustrating yet compelling truth of the delay that mentions the thousands upon thousands of personal dollars a person spent in an effort to see this release. Otherwise, neither 20th nor DC/WB would have budged, and this page wouldn't exist for you brats to whine ceaselessly. Now, on to an actual review of the set.

I started with season one disc one, and from that first scene in Moldavia, I could not believe how rich, deep, and clear the colors, the sharpness of detail and the great labor taken to restore this to such high quality. Even the stock footage used in episodes appears fresh and pristine. All subsequent episodes viewed (from various seasons) maintain the same standard of exceptional color, clarity, and sharpness. A lot of love went into this set, clearly (the audio has also been meticulously restored as best as possible considering the time and original source).

As for extras, they've left no stone unturned, with each featurette possessing substance and great information as opposed to lesser offerings from other series. Adam West's memories, presented through a fantastic scrapbook as well as generous interviews, audio commentaries, etc., show his abiding appreciation for the show, and as a fan, I'm so pleased he's still around to see this set and the happiness it will bring to generations of fans.

The packaging is equally impressive, with everything well contained, the seasons housed in separate, colorful box sets, and the published materials equally accessible.

To those who produced this, thank you for the measure of love for the series and respect for the fans that you poured into this. It's been a long time coming, but it was worth the wait. To the Bat mobile!
3030 comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
As of July 24th's Comic Con - It's OFFICIAL! Here's what's included in this LIMITED EDITION 13 disc BluRay edition (with Ultra violet digital). Unfortunately, no Batman movie included (that would have been nice but the other EXTRAS do not disappoint!!)

As of this July 25th review - the studio has not yet mentioned the format (Regions available) or language support, other than English, and whether or not there will be closed captioning or subtitles. You'll have to check back on Amazon's listing for that info later. They have stated that the aspect ratio will be the original full square frame (4x3).

UPDATE: Region looks to be "Region A/1" per Amazon's detail page.

Here's the scoop:

All 120 original broadcast episodes!

Season One - Disc One:
1. HI DIDDLE RIDDLE
2. SMACK IN THE MIDDLE
3. FINE FEATHERED FINKS
4. THE PENGUIN'S A JINX
5. THE JOKER IS WILD
6. BATMAN IS RILED
7. INSTANT FREEZE
8. RATS LIKE CHEESE
9, ZELDA THE GREAT
10. A DEATH WORSE THAN FATE
11. A RIDDLE A DAY KEEPS THE RIDDLER AWAY
12. WHEN THE RAT'S AWAY THE MICE WILL PLAY

Disc Two:
13. THE THIRTEENTH HAT
14. BATMAN STANDS PAT
15. THE JOKER GOES TO SCHOOL
16. HE MEETS HIS MATCH, THE GRISLY GHOUL
17. TRUE OR FALSE FACE
18. HOLY RAT RACE
19. THE PURR-FECT CRIME
20. BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME
21. THE PENGUIN GOES STRAIGHT
22. NOT YET, HE AIN'T
23. THE RING OF WAX
24. GIVE 'EM THE AXE

Disc Three:
25. THE JOKER TRUMPS AN ACE
26. BATMAN SETS THE PACE
27. THE CURSE OF TUT
28. THE PHARAOH'S IN A RUT
29, THE BOOKWORM TURNS
30. WHILE GOTHAM CITY BURNS
31. DEATH IN SLOW MOTION
32. THE RIDDLER'S FALSE NOTION
33. FINE FINNY FIENDS
34. BATMAN MAKES THE SCENES

Season Two - Disc Four
1. SHOOT A CROOKED ARROW
2. WALK THE STRAIGHT AND NARROW
3. HOT OFF THE GRIDDLE
4. THE CAT AND THE FIDDLE
5. THE MINSTREL'S SHAKEDOWN
6. BARBECUED BATMAN?
7. THE SPELL OF TUT
8. TUT'S CASE IS SHUT
9. THE GREATEST MOTHER OF THEM ALL
10. MA PARKER
11. THE CLOCK KING'S CRAZY CRIMES
12. THE CLOCK KING GETS CROWNED

Disc Five:
13. AN EGG GROWS IN GOTHAM
14. THE YEGG FOES IN GOTHAM
15. THE DEVIL'S FINGERS
16. THE DEAD RINGERS
17. HIZZONNER THE PENGUIN
18. DIZZONER THE PENGUIN
19. GREEN ICE
20. DEEP FREEZE
21. THE IMPRACTICAL JOKER
22. THE JOKER'S PROVOKERS
23. MARSHA, QUEEN OF DIAMONDS
24. MARSHA'S SCHEME OF DIAMONDS

Disc Six:
25. COME BACK, SHAME
26. IT'S HOW YOU PLAY THE GAME
27. THE PENGUIN'S NEST
28. THE BIRD'S LAST JEST
29. THE CAT'S MEOW
30. THE BAT'S KOW TOW

Disc Seven:
31. THE PUZZLES ARE COMING
32. THE DUO IS SLUMMING
33. THE SANDMAN COMETH
34. THE CATWOMAN GOETH
35. HE CONTAMINATED COWL
36. THE MAD HATTER RUNS AFOUL
37. THE ZODIAC CRIMES
38. THE JOKER'S HARD TIMES
39. HE PENGUIN DECLINES
40. THAT DARN CATWOMAN
41. SCAT! DARN CATWOMAN
42. PENGUIN IS A GIRL'S BEST FRIEND

Disc Eight:
43. PENGUIN SETS A TREND
44. PENGUIN'S DISASTROUS END
45. BATMAN'S ANNIVERSARY
46. A RIDDLING CONTROVERSY
47. THE JOKER'S LAST LAUGH
48. THE JOKER'S EPITAPH
49. CATWOMAN GOES TO COLLEGE
50. BATMAN DISPLAYS HIS KNOWLEDGE
51. A PIECE OF THE ACTION
52. BATMAN'S SATISFACTION
53. KING TUT'S COUP
54. BATMAN'S WATERLOO

Disc Nine:
55. BLACK WIDOW STRIKES AGAIN
56. CAUGHT IN THE SPIDER'S DEN
57. POP GOES THE JOKER
58. FLOP GOES THE JOKER
59. ICE SPY
60. THE DUO DEFY

Season Three - Disc Ten:
1. ENTER BATGIRL, EXIT PENGUIN
2. RING AROUND THE RIDDLER
3. THE WAIL OF THE SIREN
4. THE SPORT OF PENGUINS
5. A HORSE OF ANOTHER COLOR
6. THE UNKINDEST TUT OF ALL
7. LOUIE, THE LILAC
8. THE OGG AND I
9. HOW TO HATCH A DINOSAUR
10. SURF'S UP! JOKER'S UNDER!

Disc Eleven:
11. THE LONDINIUM LARCENIES
12. THE FOGGIEST NOTION
13. THE BLOODY TOWER
14. CATWOMAN'S DRESSED TO KILL
15. THE OGG COUPLE
16. THE FUNNY FELINE FELONIES
17. THE JOKE'S ON CATWOMAN
18. LOUIE'S LETHAL LILAC TIME
19. NORA CLAVICLE AND THE LADIES' CRIME CLUB
20. PENGUIN'S CLEAN SWEEP
21. THE GREAT ESCAPE
22. THE GREAT TRAIN ROBBERY
23. I'LL BE A MUMMY'S UNCLE
24. THE JOKER'S FLYING SAUCER

Disc Twelve:
25. THE ENTRANCING DR. CASSANDRA
26. MINERVA, MAYHEM AND MILLIONAIRES

Disc Thirteen:
Bonus Content Disc

THE SPECIAL FEATURES - OVER 3 Hours Of ALL NEW Extras:
- Hanging with Batman - A true slice of life in the words of Adam West
- Holy Memorabilia, Batman! - A journey into the most sought after collectables through the eyes of 3 extraordinary collectors
- Batmania Born!: Building the World of Batman - Explore the art and design behind the fiction.
- Bats of the Round Table - A candid conversation with Adam West and his celebrity friends, chatting all things Batman '66.
- Inventing Batman: in the words of Adam West (episode 1 & 2) - A rare treat for the fans as Adam discusses his script notes on bringing Batman to life in the first and second episodes
- Na Na Na Batman! - Hollywood favorites stars and producers recount their favorite Batman memories

AND THERES MORE - - - - Highly Collectible Premiums:
- Hot Wheels replica Batmobile !!!!!
- The Adam West Scrapbook
- 44 Vintage Trading Cards

All of the above is INCLUDED in the LIMITED Blu Ray version. (NOTE: The word "LIMITED" in this version - not shown in any other version....hmmmmmm).

There are OTHER versions available - any extras and bonus content (if any) WILL DIFFER than what's above in the Blu Ray version.
Batman - The Complete Television Series DVD Set - 18 discs (the non-Blu ray version).
Batman - The Television Series: The Complete FIRST Season only - 5 discs.

I am so thrilled to see this is finally being released on DVD. I was a toddler when this series originally ran but caught it in re-runs. With all the legal battles, I thought the day would NEVER come so when I heard this release was in the works, I FULLY expected to pay premium for it. Having said that, I took advantage of AMAZON's Pre-Order price guarantee and ordered immediately and have already saved some bat-bucks.

Getting the Hot-wheels replica of the Bat-mobile is a nice surprise - but being able to pretend to be BatGirl again -- ahhhhhh PRICELESS!
1919 comments| 138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
Holy Batmania, bat fans! It's official! To understand the importance of this DVD set... A few years ago a number of blogs took polls and asked fans of classic TV what programs have not yet been released to DVD that fans are begging for. THE WONDER YEARS, WKRP IN CINCINNATI and BATMAN were among the top three. This year, 2014, those goldmines are being excavated from the Batcave. Of course, many of us knew it was being released on DVD not because official BATMAN (TV series) merchandise, of recent, has been released to the market, but celebrities were leaking advance word. Months before Conan O'Brien leaked word that BATMAN was finally coming out on DVD, and Warners had to confirm (but could not provide a street date at the time), Julie Newmar (CATWOMAN herself) was at the Mid-Atlantic Nostalgia Convention in Maryland in September 2013. When asked during a Q&A panel on stage why the BATMAN TV series had not yet come out on DVD, she remarked, "I wouldn't know since I don't own the property... but I can tell you that I recently recorded audio commentary for many episodes for an upcoming DVD release..." And the fans in the room shouted and cheered. (Just took that quote from the DVD of her Q&A session at the show so it's verbatim.) Many in attendance then announced what they had heard and posted on Facebook and Twitter but like anyone posting such news, it was assumed to be gossip... until Conan O'Brien helped make the announcement "official."

Adam West and Burt Ward since acknowledged participation with the DVD release (original filmed features AND audio commentary) and this set is supposed to be LOADED with bonus extras. Screen tests, audition films, bumpers and promos... you name it. Yes, the bumpers and teasers are also included!

The only question that still remains: legal holdouts always prevent certain purifications. Are all the music cues and scenes going to be intact? Remember that WKRP IN CINCINNATI years ago came out on DVD (Season One) with most of the music replaced and fans were angry. But every music cue had to be licensed and paid for... and each song licensed causes the price of the DVD release to go up. It was confirmed at the Nostalgia Convention that music will be intact including a song sung by Lesley Gore (in a Catwoman episode) which was not included in the TV reruns. The episode aired, but not the musical sequence. TV reruns, by the way, work under the original 1960s contracts and the terms of those contracts are perpetual. For DVDs, new contacts have to be signed and there's usually someone who thinks they don't have to sign unless they are being promised millions. So if you are shaking your head and questioning why the expensive price for BATMAN, remember that the more expensive the set -- the more complete, intact and uncut the series will be on DVD. It's the only way. 500 people can complain about the price, but this is a scenario where you get what you pay for. Also confirmed at the same convention (and this was all official) was the studio's insistence that rather than work with the old prints used for syndication all these years, the studio went back to the original masters (uncut masters) and did a new lab transfer to ensure the picture will be the best available anywhere. That costs money! (CBS cheapened when they released seasons 10 to 12 of HAWAII FIVE-O and they were obviously not from the original masters -- video quality was a major difference). Even TV reruns today will not have the superb picture and sound quality the DVDs will offer. Most Bat fans have stated that they don't mind paying more for a perfect set. And after all, isn't that what we want? Amazon.com also promises the lowest price so if the price lowers between now and the November release, you'll pay less when they charge your card in November and mail you your set. So ignore all the rumors, and the talk, talk, talk involving price complaints or folks "questioning" what bonus extras will and will not be in the set before it is released. All of the above is definite. It's why I bought two sets. One for myself and one for my nieces and nephews for Christmas.
4141 comments| 154 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2014
Leave it to WB and Fox The 2 laziest companies in the movie industries. Ill make it quick and simple. once you open the box and take out the Blu-rays NOT the DVD's. Put the series next to your Blu-Rays on your Shelf and this is what you will get.
view my picture.
review image
55 comments| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 11, 2014
I picked this up on release date at Costco... and after watching the bonus features have been bouncing around checking favorite episodes. I know the troubles we have in the world, I've experienced the horrible economy as my fiancee has and I know a TV series being released on BR / DVD doesn't solve these issues..... but as a ten year old when Batman first burst on the air in '66 .... this is a day I thought I'd never see and I can't express the joy in my heart, and the warm wave of nostalgia flowing through my veins. This series was such a monster event in my childhood that having this now forever makes this baby boomer unbelievably happy. If I would consider deducting any stars it would be because I feel like they artificially jacked up the price knowing that I'm not the only person who would pay anything, but then again, I don't know how expensive this was to accomplish and sales of DVDs aren't what they used to be, so I refuse to deduct for price. I also find that great care and love went into the stunning bonus features... which would off set that anyway.. If you want to return to the Batcave ... the same Bat Channel , the same Bat Time ... whenever you want..... buy now .....

I have to add that the episodes look spectacular and unlike other older shows where sets and pieces of art look stupid in the glare of HD ... it only serves to make the spectacle of this show more delicious. And the guest stars are a veritable whose who of acting legends .... all shamelessly hamming it up , chewing scenery, and enjoying themselves far more than they likely ever did in more "serious" acting gigs... and it shows this is so much fun!!!!
44 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
This review is for the Blu-ray Batman Limited Edition set. I won't spend a lot of time reviewing the show itself because most people reading this are familiar with the show. If you want the best quality ever likely to be available on home video, then the Blu-ray Limited Edition is it. As this is the only announced Blu-ray release of the 1966-69 Batman series, any true fan of this series - however worried about the price - should just bite the bullet and buy it! The image clarity is nothing short of amazing. The colors are vibrant and in HD, you can see details and even the textures of the fabrics in the costumes. Unless you have watched these discs, it is safe to say you have never seen this show looking this good. When I watched this series as a child, it was on a 19-inch B/W TV. Seeing Batman in HD is the way it was meant to be watched. Okay, I think I've made that point.

There are 13 Blu-ray discs in the set itself, and are at most 95,000 of these sets made. 12-discs contain all 120-episodes of the 3-seasons of the show. The last disc contains special features.

Special Features are:

- Holy Memorabilia Batman! - A fun and fascinating look at a couple of huge collections of Batman memorabilia, and at a man who builds 1966 Batmobiles as his vocation.

- Hanging with Batman (A look at Batman in Adam West's own words.)

- Batmania Born - Building the World of Batman

- Bats of the Round Table - A round table discussion of Batman with Adam West, Kevin Smith, Phil Morris, Ralph Garman, and Jim Lee.

- Inventing Batman in the Words of Adam West (The first 2-episode story with video commentary by Adam West.)

- Na Na Na Batman! - a tribute to the theme song. (enough said.)

- Bat Rarities!: Straight from the Vault (Includes the Batgirl pilot, Burt Ward's screen test with Adam West, screen test of Lyle Waggoner and Peter Deyell (who were also up for the roles of Batman and Robin), and a tribute to editor James Blakeley.

The set also includes an episode guide, The Adam West Scrapbook, a diecast Batmobile by Hotwheels, a repro set of 44 trading cards, and the box plays part of the Batman theme when a button is pressed.

Now, a few words about the show itself. For those who didn't grow up watching this series, it is a comedy done in such a way that younger children took it seriously, but which adults can laugh at the deliberate absurdities. I also like the Tim Burton films and the Dark Knight films. For me, they are each separate entities existing in their own worlds. As such, they shouldn't be judged against one another. Is this Batman series silly? Yes, but so what? It's supposed to be.

I hope someone finds this helpful.

-----

Update: November 22, 2014

Holy Blu-ray, Batman! I have learned since I wrote my original review that this series will be available as an "unlimited" set on Blu-ray. Depending on how prices compare when it is available, the Limited Edition may still be good (or better) deal. The "unlimited" set has 13-discs (the same as the Limited Edition), but leaves out the scrapbook, batmobile, and trading card set.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00PVBCSNA

This set is scheduled for release in Canada on December 16, 2014, but the release date is not specified for the United States.

Happy bat-viewing and bat-shopping!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
After a nearly interminable wait, the late '60s classic, Batman: The Complete Series (starring Adam West and Burt Ward) is finally out TODAY on DVD and Blu-ray. Got my Blu-ray edition today and once I played it on my Blu-ray I must say I loved it. The colors are solid and the transfer was beautifully done as the remastering has restored the series with an eye-popping panache. The episodes seem to be uncut running at 25 minutes. Along with every episode from the series, there are vintage screen tests, photo scrap books, trading cards, and a Hot Wheels Batmobile replica. So they did it right! I have to say that Warner's Limited Edition packaging and swag are outstanding. This glossy and brightly-colored box is just gorgeous. The front is actually a magnetic lid with sturdy flaps that open left and right. Inside is a velvet liner with slots that hold the physical contents. Included on the right-hand side is a 4-inch long Hot Wheels replica of the Batmobile in its own plastic box. There are no moving parts other than the wheels, but it's still pretty awesome and nicely detailed. You also get a package of Batman collector's cards. There are 44 in all, and they reproduce a selection of images from vintage 1966 Topps collector's cards. This isn't a complete reproduction set - Topps produced black, red and blue-Bat sets totaling over 100 cards back in the day - but the 44 cards you do get here include some of the most classic art images. Then on the left side of the package is a larger slot that holds three full-season Digipacks plus an Episode Guide booklet (that offers a breakdown of the episodes on each disc with original airdates, plot synopsis, etc, and a list of the extras). Finally, there's The Adam West Scrapbook, which is a small hardcover book featuring rare photos and notes from West. On the inside of each lid flap, you'll find some familiar text - think ZOK! SWISH! POW! - in glossy black lettering on a matte black background. On each end of the box, there's a classic image of Batman and Robin scaling up the sides via Batrope. On the right side, there's even a little button you can press that plays a few seconds of the show's iconic Nelson Riddle theme song. Very nice. Finally, the set also includes a paper insert with a code that grants access to UltraViolet digital copy versions of all 120 episodes - another nice touch. This limited set is definitely a must, you will not be disappointed!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
Beware - 2 cuts found! Yes these episodes ARE gorgeously remastered to superb quality, BUT... I have found two unrectified syndication cuts as of this writing.

Cut #1 - On the opening scene of episode 1 (Hi Diddile Riddle), while the camera pans over the Gotham World's Fair, there should be introductory dialog by series narrator William Dozier. I have this narration on my video tape copy I made back in the late 70's/early 80's from my local TV channel running it. Let me be clear, no scenes are cut, the dialog is just absent from the scene. This first vanished when new syndication prints were struck during the release of the first Michael Keaton Batman movie. At that time, the narration for the opening of episode two (the recap of the nght before) also vanished. You just saw a series of stills with no explanation. This was restored for later syndication (TVLand had it, MeTV currently has it) and it IS here on this DVD release.

Cut #2 is to be found on the first episode of season two (Shoot a Crooked Arrow). At the story's concluding cliffhanger, the scene fades out and then fades back in to a 20-30 second segment in which the narrator announces that beginning tomorrow night, Batman will begin unveiling his new arsenal of Bat weapons. The video accompanying this narration is comprised of scenes of the Batboat, Batcycle and Batcopter (which I believe were lifted from that summer's feature film). I also have this on tape from their 70's/80's airing.

You already have been told that the "next week" slides with Dozier's narration have been omitted, but what I find strange is that while one of them remains intact on the prints that MeTV runs, it is absent from this DVD release. The second season episode "Ma Parker" contains this preview announcing the unknown-to-fans-at-that-time villain Clock King will be Batman's next adversary. Okay, all this is minor, BUT... it is major enough for me to return my purchase of the deluxe Blue-Ray collector's edition. I will instead buy the much lower priced red-ray DVD versions a season at a time. Sorry Warner Bros, but a Collector's Edition must be PERFECT to truly be a Collector's Edition, else it's not worth the hefty higher price. Maybe someone can set up a website whereby fans can upload these missing end slides? I have 3 or 4 of them somewhere on my old tapes, including the longer one announcing the beginning of the second three parter (Penguin Is a Girl's Best Friend). So c'mon fans; let's unite to help out and make the Batman release that SHOULD be - the one the anal retentive fans (like myself) deserve!

P.S. - Of course there might be more cuts - I haven't watched every episode yet. I just looked for what I knew to be current cuts in the MeTV prints. Good news is one cut WAS restored. There's a short dialog scene missing on MeTV's print of Marsha, Queen of Diamonds that is now intact on the release DVD.
148148 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse