Customer Reviews


425 Reviews
5 star:
 (330)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-Spoiler - Great Re-Launching of a Legend
Batman: The Court of Owls V. 1 is a fantastic rebooting of Batman, and should appeal to casual as well as hard-core fans.

The story and art are both essential components of comics and graphic novels, and each is discussed in this review.

The story is engaging and very interesting. It starts with a bang, with Batman facing off against several members...
Published on June 2, 2012 by scot16897

versus
22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art, excellent presentation.. mixed feelings about the story
Batman Volume 1: The Court of Owls is a hardbound collection of the first seven issues of DC's "new 52" Batman. It briefly re-introduces the Batman family of heroes (and villains), then heads into a new story arc dealing with either a very old and unknown or a very deceptive villainous group (The Court of Owls). The story is NOT resolved by the end of this volume, however...
Published on June 20, 2012 by Ron Cole


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-Spoiler - Great Re-Launching of a Legend, June 2, 2012
By 
scot16897 "scot16897" (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Batman: The Court of Owls V. 1 is a fantastic rebooting of Batman, and should appeal to casual as well as hard-core fans.

The story and art are both essential components of comics and graphic novels, and each is discussed in this review.

The story is engaging and very interesting. It starts with a bang, with Batman facing off against several members of his Rogues Gallery, a move which draws in long time readers and for newcomers, firmly establishes Batman as a physical force. After that, the reader is immersed in Bruce Wayne's high society, and just that easily, the dual nature of the main character is established. From there, writer Scott Snyder starts up with his own new plotline, in which he turns the history of Gotham City on its head, creating an all-new threat. The Batman faces a foe who always seems one step ahead, and who is a physical match. The pacing with which Snyder develops his story is fantastic, and readers will be swept along for the ride.

Greg Capullo's artwork is truly beautiful. Capullo captures emotion and action with great ease, and his drawing is truly art. It will sound strange to make this distinction, but while I was absolutely blown away by the Batman scenes, whether action or in conversation, I was somewhat underwhelmed with the out of costume art, specifically the fact that Bruce Wayne looks almost identical to another character in the book, and Wayne's younger wards look so similar as to be drawings of a younger Bruce Wayne. Given the skill with which Capullo draws, I am sure this was intentional, but it was pretty much the only thing about the book which was anything less than spectacular.

By the end of the book, I was excited to read more, and see where else the team of Snyder and Capullo would take the characters. At the end of the day, isn't that the way such a book should be judged?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for Batman fans and comic fans alike, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'll start off by saying that this storyline is up there with The Dark Knight Returns and The Long Halloween. I had been waiting to read this for over a year now, and since I'm usually one to wait for the tpb editions to come out to read the comics of my choice, I did that with this one as well, and now I'm mad at myself for waiting so long. Scott Snyder's writing is truly excellent; he knows how to develop a complex storyline all the while getting into great character development. Batman's character in this storyline is one of my favorites of all time; it really rivals the complexity of Miller's Batman in TDKR. Greg Capullo's writing only enhances the storyline. The art is excellent and it only further immerses the reader in the story. This book makes me question my stance on The Black Mirror, as I didn't like it my first time around. Snyder is probably the best comic writer around today. I recommend this book not only to Batman fans or comic fans, I'd recommend this book to anyone. Seriously, buy it now. When you finish reading, I guarantee you'll want to run to the comic store and buy all the recent Batman issues from 8 on. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing, May 22, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Rebooting the DC Universe from the ground up (for the most part) seems like a daunting task, but for writer Scott Snyder (Detective Comics, Swamp Thing, American Vampire) it's child's play. Granted he isn't necessarily rebooting the Batman group, but building upon it in new and exciting ways. Case in point with this first collected volume of The Court of Owls, in which the Dark Knight discovers that Gotham City's past is tied to a mysterious group known as the Court of Owls, which seemingly run everything in and out of the city, and have for quite some time. Add to that a seemingly unstoppable assassin dubbed Talon and secrets involving the ancestors of Bruce Wayne, and you've got quite an intriguing and often surprising mystery on your hands. A storyline that was heavily hinted at in the Gates of Gotham mini-series (that was published before DC's whole New 52 thing happened), The Court of Owls is setting the stage for a truly epic Batman event to unfold, and it's a wonderful entry point for new readers to boot. Add to that the surprising art of veteran Greg Capullo, best known for his 90s work on Spawn. I've never been a big fan of his, but he's really honed his craft here. Some spots appear a little shaky compared to others, but this is without a doubt his best work to date. All in all, if you've never read any Batman stories or have tuned out the past few years, this is an oh so excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Batman story, June 20, 2012
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I was unsure how the Batman narrative would unfold after the release of the new 52, but I can say these first seven issues of Batman are top notch. The story revolves around Batman uncovering a mystery in the same manner that he would in other Batman stories, such as The Long Halloween and Hush. However, this story differs in its development of the background of the mysterious enemy. If you enjoyed The Long Halloween and Hush, you will love this one! The only downside, was that there happened to be four pages out of order. My guess it was a printing/publishing error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First "Classic" Batman Story Since Hush, June 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Scott Snyder is the light at the end of a dark tunnel of Batman writers. The Court of Owls starts the new run of Batman books off at a high standard, playing with everything from the very mannor in which a comic book is formatted to the way we perceive Bruce Wayne as a character, a nuance too often forgone by Batman writers. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a Well Written Batman Title, August 15, 2012
I'm probably not the first person to tell you this is good but I'm not a really big Batman fan anymore. This still is a good comic and brings a lot of things that I hope stick around with the character.

Good:
-The villains give Batman a really good fight and at a lot of times it feels like Batman is the under dog so he really has to stretch his abilities to fight this new menace. This makes the fight scenes more intense in action. The mystery is also very well done.
-The relevance of the villain to the Batman mythos is just high sprouting from the first case Bruce Wayne ever investigated as a child and even plays on a lot of the paranoia of the character when the villains are ultimately unmasked. Also the fact that this comes right on the heels of Bruce trying to streamline his efforts to help Gotham make it something that will have lasting effects.
-The side characters are well done and are greatly represented in a brillaint note when Batman is trapped by the villains and left to rot in their trap. This leads to moments of despair and shows how this tension affects all aspects of Gotham crime fighting.
-The artwork is excellent, with Greg Capullo finding some really good high notes while keeping some memorable fight scenes and visuals. Particularly the hallucinations Bruce has in the villains's trap.

Bad:
-While I like the side characters and their interactions, the feeling between Bruce and Nightwing isn't played up or when it does reach the point of issue #7, I don't really see a good reason for Bruce's action towards nightwing (he has moments of being a bastard, but Nightwing just takes it like he's still a kid.). There isn't much build up to it that wasn't 5 issue ago and their relationship wasn't that bad.

Really it's just a minor grievance in the long run although I'm looking forward to seeing how everything ultimately resolves itself, all the threads. I'd definately recommend it despite that one part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art, excellent presentation.. mixed feelings about the story, June 20, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Batman Volume 1: The Court of Owls is a hardbound collection of the first seven issues of DC's "new 52" Batman. It briefly re-introduces the Batman family of heroes (and villains), then heads into a new story arc dealing with either a very old and unknown or a very deceptive villainous group (The Court of Owls). The story is NOT resolved by the end of this volume, however - you'll just have to read the individual comics (or a future collected work) to see how it ends.

There are A LOT of things to love about this collected work. To begin with, the artwork is spectacular - I can't remember Batman's world ever looking better (or, in some cases, darker). Many of the individual storylines are riveting. The creators also did a great job of conveying Batman's emotions to the reader, especially the confusion and chaos of a certain situation (not gonna spoil that for you - you'll know when you read it). There are definitely a number of great aspects to this book.

But there are also things Batman fans may not like. The big one is the villains (The Court of Owls) - you're either going to be able to accept them and their level of power or find them unbelievably cheesy. I found them cheesy. Too overpowered and, in some respects, too much like previous villains. The New 52 Batman seems to be having his personality and identity reworked as well - there are a number of weird similarities to Tony Stark/Iron Man that pop up (again, you'll know them when you see them). Finally, too many events and plot twists occur unrealistically even for a comic book - at least for my tastes.

Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars. I can recommend this volume to Batman and comic book fans alike due to the exceptional artwork and stellar presentation, but not everyone will love the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the New 52, September 3, 2013
I've bought Batman comics for 13 years.I can honestly say that out of everything to come out of the New 52, this is the best that there is. I am only giving it 3 stars because, while it is a good story, it doesn't quite feel like Batman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A somewhat disappointing follow-up to Morrison's run, August 13, 2013
By 
S. K. Petersen (Madison, WI, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As much as I enjoyed the concept behind the Court of Owls, the New 52 has had a devastating impact on the Batman family of books. The compressed history now makes no sense and takes away the grand build up that Morrison's 7-year run on the title lead to. Moreover, Snyder, while he's a fine writer, is no Morrison when it comes to delivering the force of character of the Darknight Detective. Batman seems to go through the motions here, whereas Morrison gave more of a sense that Batman was always under control of (or at least anticipated) the events and circumstances in which he found himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collectable, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52) (Paperback)
Wow! Anyone thats a Batman fan needs one of these.Awesome for the collection looks great on self for display. Or if you want to wear mask,it is a adult size and would fit most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Batman: The Court of Owls Mask and Book Set (The New 52) (Batman: the New 52)
$24.99 $19.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.