Customer Reviews


391 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (58)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, a lot of fun, truly a comic book hero...
Yes, I know, loving this movie isn't a popular opinion, but I'm going to go against the grain and speak out for this guilty pleasure of mine, particularly after seeing the 2-disc special edition dvd recently...

Batman Forever and its' very different tone from the first two, Tim Burton-driven films, was made to appeal to a far wider audience than those very dark...
Published on March 29, 2006 by Isabelle

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Look For The Bat
"Batman Forever" isn't a top-tier comic-to-screen flick. What it is, however, is the best of the three subpar sequels of the "Batman" franchise so far. It's nowhere near as dark or moody as the first two movies, primarily due to the director, Joel Schumacher. It's a different type of film more akin to the cheesy TV series with Adam West. Don't get...
Published on April 8, 2004 by K. Fontenot


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, a lot of fun, truly a comic book hero..., March 29, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes, I know, loving this movie isn't a popular opinion, but I'm going to go against the grain and speak out for this guilty pleasure of mine, particularly after seeing the 2-disc special edition dvd recently...

Batman Forever and its' very different tone from the first two, Tim Burton-driven films, was made to appeal to a far wider audience than those very dark films, while keeping the spirit of the Batman mythos intact. I believe the film accomplished this. There were plenty of bright lights, new bat-gizmos and bat-gadgets, exciting action-fight scenes, and even a young, edgy, heart-throb in Chris O'Donnell's Robin to appeal to kids without worrying their parents too much, and at the same time, Batman/Bruce Wayne's tortured psyche, duality and isolation was presented respectfully. Batman's darkness was still there, just shown more subltely, less graphically, yet no less tragically because we don't actually SEE people dying horribly left and right.

The story had substance and was a worthy addition to the Batman mythos. Backstories not previously touched upon were explored to my satisfaction, and the added deleted scenes in this version of the dvd flesh things out even further and make me wish that time restrictions on theatrical releases weren't quite so stringent.

Bob Kane, the creator of the Batman comic character, has said that of all the actors who have played Batman over the years, he thought blond Val Kilmer was the best and I agree. Kilmer is statuesque and stoic in the cowl and cape, using his eyes and lips to formidable effectiveness; his jaw and mouth are strong and perfectly suited for the confines of the costume. He moved well in it, even doing some of his own martial arts (such as in the opening sequence, at the bank). The stuntmen, when they took over for him, were well matched to his body type, effective and visually exciting. And Kilmer's Bruce Wayne is suave, debonair, totally believable as the lonely billionare turned Dark Knight, comfortable with his wealth but still compassionate and aware of others' plight, just as Bob Kane intended this character.

Also, I want to put to rest the insistance of some reviewers here that several of the actors involved with the project didn't want to be. That is nonsense; no one forced them to do the movie, and Kilmer very much wanted to do the sequel, Batman and Robin, but was under contractual obligation to do the movie The Saint. (This fact documented on IMBD). He may have driven the director to distraction with his attention to minute detail and insistance on getting everything just so, but there was no bad blood between them and Schumaker still maintains that he respects Kilmer as an actor and performer. Kilmer took the role seriously (as he does everything) and doesn't need to make any apologies for his performance. How I wish they could have worked something out so that Kilmer could have reprised the role again, rather than bringing in the forever-smirking, abominable Clooney...

My favorite character always, Alfred, was back, played by the delightful Michael Gough, who can do no wrong as far as I'm concerned. And everyone else is well-cast too.

Director Joel Schumaker offers interesting commentary in this dvd, and made a comment at the very beginning which I wish all the fans up in arms over the nipples in the costumes would take to heart: "Those people need to get out more." He also makes another point about whose codpiece is bigger...let's not take things so seriously, hmm?

Overall, this extended version and extras are well worth the higher price for anyone who enjoyed the movie or likes to know what goes on while making a film. Great extras, including shorts on costuming, scoring, special effects, stunts, and the actors/character, added to the overall positive experience. This is a lighter but no less legitimate incarnation of these characters.

Highly recommeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kilmer is a great Batman, December 5, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Batman Forever [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I think Batman Forever is a very fun movie.It's not as good as the first Batman movie,but I liked it better than Batman Returns,which I thought was too dark and dreary.(although you have to love Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman)In Batman Forever Val Kilmer takes over the role of Bruce Wayne/Batman and does an outstanding job,although Michael Keaton is still the best Batman.Tommy Lee Jones as Two Face(formerly Gotham District Attorney Harvey Dent,who was played by Billy Dee Williams in the first Batman)and Jim Carrey as The Riddler are the films villains,and they both are very good.Nicole Kidman is very good and incredibly gorgeous as Dr.Chase Meridian,Bruce/Batman's love interest in this film.Chris O'Donnell plays Dick Grayson/Robin and isn't too bad.The special effects are excellent,and the soundtrack is good.Overall,while a lot of people might disagree with me,I really like Batman Forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman is indeed Forever..., June 25, 2007
I must tell you, for quite some time I did not like this movie. I have been a big fan of the Micheal Keaton movies, as well as the Animated Series of the 90's. This film marked Joel Schumakers first step into the Batman universe, and needless to say, it wasn't nearly as good as either of the Tim Burton films. However, as I watched this a few more times, and got past the "Its Schumaker!" I realized that even though Schumaker had made some really poor directors choices, there were not nearly as many as in his next Bat film, the one credited with single handedly ruining the franchise, Batman and Robin. Batman Forever, though riddled with campy moments, especially after the appearance of Robin, is still as a whole, a good Batman film. Val Kilmers performance as both Bruce Wayne and Batman actually surpasses Micheal Keatons, due to Val's very intense persona and tragedy stricken Bruce Wayne.

I would say that the worst part of this movie is how Schumaker portrayed the two main villians, Two-Face and the Riddler. The Riddler, who, in the comics was genius, thinking up crimes so sophisticated, he thought it only fair to leave behind riddles for the Batman to follow, was portrayed here by Jim Carrey, a lukewarm choice in my opinion. The character came off very much more like a Joker than a Riddler, and you'll see what I mean if you watch the film. Nowhere is the intelligent, calm and composed villian I expected.
Secondly (ha, a pun worthy of Schumaker) Two-Face, possibly one of the most tragic and deadly of Batman's Rogues Gallery, is portrayed marginally by Tommy Lee Jones. Now, Jones was indeed the perfect person to play this character, and it is really too bad that his performance was limited to nothing more than hired muscle for the Riddler. Schumaker made his biggest mistake there, by not only cramming two villians of large scale like these into one film, but not taking the time to really use Two Face as he should have been done.

Nonetheless, Batman still manages to pull of some very good "Bat moments" ones that you have no choice but to look at and say "Wow.", in spite of his badly portrayed nemesis's.

In short, it isn't as good as Batman(1989), but it is definitely worth the watch, because even through Schumaker's mistakes, you can still see a definite veneer of Batman, pulling through the puns and neon lights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good watch, if not as dark as the previous films, September 30, 2005
This review is from: Batman Forever (DVD)
Okay okay,. everyone agrees that Tim Burton is the master of the Gothic, when it comes to films. Just look at some of the films he has done and that's proof enough. And everyone knows that Joel Schumacher isn't, plain and simple, neither does he have the impressive back-catalogue that Sir Burton has. (the only other film I have viewed by Schumacher is "The Lost Boys", which is actually a very good film. But it was the 80s, come on.)

However, that does not deter this film from being a fantastic one. I like the way he mouled Gotham into a really cool, bright-coloured and still dark and gothic city, with amazing glowing clothes and buildings. It seems like a real party city, one you'd definitely want to swing by.

In my opinion, Val Kilmer is a far better Batman than Micheal Keaton. To be Batman, you have to have the Bruce Wayne lips, as they are the only things you can really see with the mask on. And sure, Micheal Keaton had those. But take the mask off, and he just wasn't CONVINCING as Bruce Wayne. Not at all. However, Val Kilmer portrays Bruce Wayne perfectly; smooth and suave, and gorgeously serious. And then, as he steps into the suit, he is instantly the strong, tough Batman that we know and love. George Clooney was horrifying in this role, and I haven't yet seen Christian Bale's performance, but Val Kilmer is the winner, hands-down.

The two bad guys in this outing are Two-Face (played by a demented Tommy Lee Jones) and The Riddler (played by an absolutely amazingly freaky Jim Carrey). It is extremely unusual seeing Tommy Lee Jones in a role like this. I have no idea why he took it, but I'm glad he did, as he shows Harvey Dent's split-personality monster man with a certain flair. Plus he looks fantastic in that costume.

But Jim Carrey. Just wow. He is the most entertaining baddie I have ever seen in any movie, and that is a fact. His portrayal of Edward Nygma and his alter-ego is so hilariously silly and disturbing all at the same time, you sometimes wonder if he could possibly be two different people in the one body! He is an absolute joy to watch.

Nicole Kidman is suitably sexy as Chase Meridian, and does a good job as the girl. There's is nothing oustanding about her performance, but she is enjoyable to watch.

And Chris O'Donnell is extremely likeable in his role as the young cheeky orphan Dick Grayson, who becomes Robin, Batman's side-kick. The circus scene is one of the most dramatic and tragic scenes in the film, and is amazing to watch.

Plus, the songs in the credits are absolutely AMAZING. Two of my favourite songs of all-time now, "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me" by U2 and "Kiss From A Rose" by Seal are two gorgeously authentic songs. Amazing.

This film is absolutely fantastic. I seriously recommend it, it is in my opinion the best one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '60s BATMAN Re-interpreted for the '90s, May 14, 2010
This review is from: Batman Forever [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A lot of Bat-fans give this movie flack for being a throw-back to the campy Adam West TV show, but a movie shouldn't be judged for what it isn't, but how well it achieves what it is trying to do. And this one delivers.

First thing noticed is the fast-paced directing, with quick, action-oriented editing that reminds one of the early Bond films. The action is relentless, and the movie is never boring. It reminds me of Guy Hamilton's short-cut plot developments in "Force 10 from Navarone".

At the same time, the viewer will notice that Gotham is no longer mono-chromatic, but a bright, vibrant city with expansive, monolithic architecture that disturbingly dwarfs the inhabitants, much like Stalin's Russian architecture in the '50s. Yet, the lights tend to highlight the shadows. The dizzying, elevated roadways and balconies are spectacular and a little frightening at the same time, like the landscape of a claustrophobic dream.

One instantly notes that Danny Elfman's great score is no longer used. However, the new soundtrack does just as well for this fresh take on Batman, with surrealistic, disonant notes and a Wagnerian grandeur. Supporting the great sets and costumes, it makes for a terrific, "Wizard of Oz" type experience.

And objectively speaking, the character development, depth and interaction are far better than in the previous 2 outings. There's quite a bit going on here and the cast does a great job of making it all seem believable in spite of the outlandish goings ons.

If you gotta pay homage to the goofier '50s and '60s comics, this is the way to do it. Obviously, some would rather that such developments were kept out of the movies, but it is hard to ignore how the Batman comics had been for a quarter of a century. And I really can't think of a gritty, "realistic" way to introduce a silly character like Robin.

That being said, one problem with this movie is the inclusion of 2-Face. In the '60s, this character never made an appearance in comics or TV as it was felt that he was too grim for the campy, child-friendly dreck that the Dark Knight had become by then. Yet, this movie used him as just another zany villain like the Riddler, and any true fan would find this treatment of this most tragic of Batman villains unforgiveable. I almost docked this movie one star for this, but I've left it to counter some of the unfair bashing it gets by fanboys simply for reminding them of a period in Batman's history that most would rather forget. And Carrey's Riddler was disturbingly, aggressively bizarre. In fact, his performance was almost as good as Frank Gorshin's from the TV show, the only villain from the old series to actually project a sense of sneering, sardonic menace.

My fav Batman movie is "Dark Knight"(great representation of the best modern comics), 2nd is "Batman" with Keaton(atmospheric take on original, film noir '30s comics), and this one reviewed is my 3rd favorite(for successfully balancing the darker aspects of the modern comics while paying homage to the camp years). You see, I don't demand that they make the same movie over and over again. I'm capable of opening my mind and enjoying the different versions for the various kinds of experiences they offer. Those that don't do the same are missing out on a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Look For The Bat, April 8, 2004
This review is from: Batman Forever (DVD)
"Batman Forever" isn't a top-tier comic-to-screen flick. What it is, however, is the best of the three subpar sequels of the "Batman" franchise so far. It's nowhere near as dark or moody as the first two movies, primarily due to the director, Joel Schumacher. It's a different type of film more akin to the cheesy TV series with Adam West. Don't get me wrong, it's still a fairly serious movie, but the mood of the film, from costumes to Gotham City, is more lighthearted than the first two films.
Val Kilmer has been knocked often for playing "Batman." Honestly, I think he does a fine job. Expectations weren't as high for Michael Keaton, and when he pulled off the "Batman" character with style, audiences were blown away. Kilmer was merely considered too average. Playing Bruce Wayne wasn't considered much of a stretch for him, but he more than sufficed.
The story runs along at a fairly decent pace. We're given the origins of "Robin," "Riddler," and "Two-Face." Once again, "Batman" has to fight two baddies at once, which is my largest complaint with all of the "Bat" sequels. Why do we need more than one villain in order to make a story interesting? As far as I'm concerned, there was no need for the "Two-Face" character. He was boring, out of place, and simply used to usher in the appearance of "Robin."
The "Riddler" character was fun. A little over-the-top, but not annoying, Jim Carrey did a good job. I was actually worried about him going too far with the character.
The rest of the cast is boring. The story is moderate, and the visuals are nice to look at, but that's all. Once again, effects have replaced the plot in order to drag in the largest demographic possible.
In closing, "Batman Forever" is eye candy. It's cool to look at and fun to watch, but when all is said and done, you've witnessed a marketing tool to push toy and t-shirt sales. It's the best of the worst, so lets hope that a new sequel comes soon that will do the "Batman" franchise justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Batman Forever? Not anymore., August 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Batman Forever (DVD)
The Batman series entered its third addition to the series. And I have to admit it has some very plus moments, but it has so very few. I don't believe that Val Kilmer was the source of the problem here. I believe the burdon should be with Joel Schumacher and the script writers. The movie will undoubtably appeal to a younger audiance for the next couple of year's. But that is as far as it will ever go. It will be as forgotten as the last Chevy Chase movie. Batman and Batman Returns are both timeless masterpieces of modern film.The problem ( wich started with this very movie ) is that the series became way too campy. This reflects the very first Batman movie with Adam West. Though, that was far more entertaining because it was very good natured.This is a combination of goth and futuristic apocalypse. The outcome is a below average waste of a moviegoer's time. Tommy Lee Jones is extremely talented. But his talent is misused here. The same goes for Jim Carrey. His timing and actions are so crisp, yet the dialogue he is given falls short. Now I am not out to insult any body who enjoys this movie. I'm glad you do. Its just that, in my opinion, the first two work on such higher levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Batman!, May 27, 2005
By 
perfecto (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman Forever (DVD)
I know I'm one of the few to say this, but to me...this was the best Batman movie and I'll tell you why. First, I'll give a short account of the story. Batman is out to save Gotham City from 2 villains now, Two-Face and the Riddler. A new psychologist is in town, and of course falls for Batman, and Robin is introduced in the Batman series...the story ensues.

I have to say, I really enjoyed this movie. I experienced what I could say was somewhat of a guilty pleasure. This was largely due to the acting and the introduction of 2 of my favourite villains in the Batman comic series. Val Kilmer is a talented but often misused actor in Hollywood. Given certain roles, he really shines and I thought he made a wonderful Batman. I liked the first 2 Batman movies as well, but the main problem I had was that Michael Keaton did not look the part of a vigilante caped crusader kicking a$$ in the streets of Gotham and protecting the people. Kilmer looks much more cooler and pulls of Batman very well. Another thing I liked about Kilmer was he played Batman as a tormented man, a man haunted by his past. That is after all why he chose to be Batman, to use the bat as a symbol to fight crime. I thought this was a good angle for Bruce Wayne/Batman.

After Jack Nicholson so superbly defined Joker in Batman...he brought Batman villains to a whole new level. And here, we have Tommy Lee Jones as Two-Face and Jim Carrey as Riddler. I thought they were both very fun to watch. Tommy Lee Jones was obviously having a great time playing his character. This is after all a comic book movie, and he outdoes himself with all the over-the-top acting as well as that evil laugh. Fantastic! And Jim Carrey basically plays himself. That whole wacky persona he gives Riddler goes very well and the things he says and does brings a smile to me everytime. Chris O'Donnell plays the role of a rebellious teen quite well and manages to pull off Robin with as much enthusiasm as anyone could have. Nicole Kidman (her pre-Oscar days) brings a lot of sexiness and female power to her role of Dr. Chase Meridien. The first time I watched this movie, I was 13 and I remember I had a crush on her for days.

Much has been said about director Joel Schumacher's take on this movie and while it is definitely different from Burton's style of directing, I thought it was really good. Heck, Tim Burton was co-producer so I guess he was okay with it as well. Where Burton's Batman was darker and more gothic, Schumacher's is an attack on your sensors. A no holds barred splash of colors and sounds without being annoying or irritating and I thoroughly enjoyed that.

Finally I just want to say that, this is a very entertaining movie to watch. Just sit back and enjoy it for what it is, don't over-analyze it...I mean, it's a comic book movie after all, and things are supposed to be over-the-top and crazy at times. That's why it's fun to watch. A little known fact, this movie is actually the 2nd highest grossing Batman in the U.S. and worldwide for that matter, after the first Batman. So, believe me...this is far from terrible, and as I said...it's the best Batman for me. Hope you found my review helpful and if you haven't watched this movie, please do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Dark Knight Is All Right, November 2, 2001
This review is from: Batman Forever [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Batman Forever is easily the best entry in the series next to the original. It's obvious a lot different in tone compared to Tim Burton's original vision, but director Joel Schumacher takes it and makes it his own. The result is an astonishing gorgeous looking film. The plot centers around Batman/Bruce Wayne taking in a young charge named Dick Grayson, whose family was killed by evil villain Two Face(Tommy Lee Jones). Before you know it, Two Face has teamed up with a nutcase named Edward Nygma(Jim Carrey)who transforms himself into The Riddler, who has concocted a machine that'll take the life out of people. Far fetched?. Yes indeed. Dick Grayson finds out Bruce's true identity and wants to become part of the team. Val Kilmer is a decent Batman. He definitley looks more the part than Michael Keaton. He was a worthy choice. Jim Carrey does what Jim Carrey does best. He's manic and all over the place. The best, however, is Tommy Lee Jones. He really brings his nasty character to full, colorful life. Chris 'O' Donnell and Nicole Kidman are both equally plain and not interesting. Schumacher throws in gadget after gadget and colorful scene after colorful scene. It was a nice change of pace from Burton's gloomy Gotham City. All in all, this is one rip snorting, splashy, comic book adventure that's destined to please fans!. This film is colorful fun. A welcome break from the doom and gloom of the previous two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent fun and 10 times better than Batman & Robin, January 17, 2005
By 
Jim "Pimmy" (LINDENHURST, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Forever (DVD)
I wonder what Tim Burton would've done with this movie. The script probably would've been a lot better for one. Plus if he had Jim Carrey and Tommy Lee Jones as Riddler and Two Face. I highly doubt he would've had them acting like villains from the 60's tv show. Plus Batman is cooler and more mysterious without Robin. So if they have a new trilogy after Batman Begins they should never bring Robin and Batgirl into the picture. Val Kilmer gets more of a chance to prove himself as Batman than George Clooney did though.

Val Kilmer plays Bruce Wayne as a man fighting his inner-demons who has flaschbacks of his past. Scenes like him having flashbacks of falling into a cave with bats is where the movie works the most. Plus he doesn't have bad chemestry with Nicole Kidman either. They're laidback in their roles when everyone else is hopping all over the place acting goofy. So their scenes together are refreshing and almost sorta engaging. This movie is a step in the wrong direction after Burton's films. Still it's fun and harmless and didn't kill the trilogy like Batman & Robin did. Hell it's a masterpiece compared to Batman & Robin.

Joel Schumacher was just wrong to do Batman though. I mean instead of worrying about having a good script he worried more about how to get a good shot of Batman's [...]. If he did another one, he'd probably start having close-ups of Alfred's [...] or Commisioner Gordan's. Focusing on shots of the super heroes [...] isn't exactly giving a comic the kind of respect it deserves. I mean you don't see Sam Raimi focusing on how Tobey Maguire's ass looks in the Spiderman costume. He treats the movies with respect and won't film a movie until he's 100% sure he has a good story to tell. So Joel Schumacher could've learned a lot from Sam Raimi on how to make a super hero movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Batman Forever [Blu-ray]
Batman Forever [Blu-ray] by Joel Schumacher (Blu-ray - 2010)
$14.97 $11.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.