Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The third story is best
This book is a collection of three Batman tales. In the first, Bruce Wayne begins to get serious with a woman while the Scarecrow terrorizes Gotham. In the second, the Mad Hatter is up to his usual schemes. Finally, the third is a Batman version of the Dickens classic, "A Christmas Carol."

My favorite is the third story. The tale is woven so that it...
Published on June 26, 2005 by Corum Seth Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay
If you have read The Long Halloween and Dark Victory and loved them, don't think this going to be similar. It's a collection of somewhat mediocre unrelated stories and is a pretty slim volume. It is a quick, okay read, but I expected more.
Published 17 months ago by B. Parnin


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The third story is best, June 26, 2005
By 
Corum Seth Smith (Hendersonville, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
This book is a collection of three Batman tales. In the first, Bruce Wayne begins to get serious with a woman while the Scarecrow terrorizes Gotham. In the second, the Mad Hatter is up to his usual schemes. Finally, the third is a Batman version of the Dickens classic, "A Christmas Carol."

My favorite is the third story. The tale is woven so that it becomes obvious to Bruce that the Batman can sometimes be his own worse enemy. I just love the way a night of strange visions can change even the most uncompromising character. The thing I always loved about the whole "Scrooge" archetype is that the presence of three spirits, a mystical and supernatural event, takes back seat to an even more incredible event; the redemption of a wayward human heart. So I am a sucker for the whole "Christmas Carol" mentality.

The thing about the Mad Hatter is I believe they've taken the character a bit far; he went from a dreaming schemer to a delusional psychotic. He once was just an eccentric criminal whose sense of reality was a bit distorted; now he is a homocidal maniac. I don't, in general, like the way they write the Jervis Tetch character nowadays.

Nonetheless, the third story is good and the first one is good enough to warrant a good recommendation for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-rated Halloween trinity of Batman, July 19, 2005
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
This excellent compilation gathers up the three consecutive Halloween specials mastered by the Dynamic Duo, Jeph Loeb/Tim Sale (after these three Legends Of The Dark Knight-specials the two wrote Long Halloween).

First story features Scarecrow and rather unyielding and even too determined Batman, who scarcely sleeps at all. The story features also the possible love interest of Bruce Wayne... but it's eventually up to Alfred to discover the truth.

The second marvellous story tells the modern version of Alice in Wonderland - the teenager Barbara Gordon is kidnapped to play Alice in the monstrous, twisted world of The Mad Hatter. The tale also reveals us some new details about young Bruce Wayne's relationship with her mother. Intense, scary and emotionally touching - this is a Batman story of highest quality!

The third tale is a remake of Dickens' Christmas Carol - feverous Batman sleeps rather badly after a long night in the streets of Gotham. Bruce Wayne is depicted as a grim, joyless hermit - the commitments of Batman do not leave space for anything else. The first ghost, Thomas Wayne, tries to warn his son, but eventually Bruce encounters the three ghosts of Halloween past, present and future. In the end Bruce realizes, that the work of Bruce Wayne is equally important to the work of Batman: Bruce sets up his B.W. Foundation (with mr. Lucius Fox, his old acquintance), and even delivers some Halloween candies to local kids!

Somehow Loeb is able to capture the very essence of both Bruce Wayne and Batman, and the marvellous art of Tim Sale makes this compilation a treat, not a trick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated Batman book, May 10, 2007
By 
Stephen J. Wilfong (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
All you ever hear about is Batman: Year One, The Dark Knight Returns, and The Long Halloween. This collection, TLH's predecessor, is the true essence of what Batman is all about. The visuals are a lot truer to the noir genre than any take I've seen. When you read this book, the point that really comes across is Batman's greatest asset: despite having the scariest villians in comics, Batman himself, the good guy, is the most terrifying man in Gotham City. The storytelling and artwork convey this point to a T. And as for the last story, take it for what it is meant to be, just a fun retelling of the Christmas Carol. The only thing I don't like about Loeb's writing is that it seems like every villian is always running around quoting children's literature...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Fine Stories, August 31, 2002
By 
"incurock31" (Maitland, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
Set early in Batman's career, these tales show what Gotham's worst criminals do on All Hallow's Eve.
In the first story, entitled 'Fears', Batman confronts the Scarecrow, who's destroying Gotham's power plants, then using the subsequent darkness to commit crimes.
In the second story, entitled 'Madness', Batman battles the Mad Hatter, who has captured children in his perverse version of 'Alice in Wonderland'
And in the third story ('Ghosts'), Batman confronts the ghosts of his past, present, and future. Loosely based on 'A Christmas Carol', Batman has to deal with his inner demons.
As I've said before. Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale are perfectly suited to bring us tales of the Dark Knight. These stories are very well written by Loeb, whose words mesh well with Sale's dark artwork.
The only reason this book doesnt get 5 stars is for the somewhat linear Mad Hatter story. I may be a bit biased, because the Mad Hatter is my least favorite Batman villain, but I was a little disappointed with it. The other two stories, however, are marvelous.
Overall, this book is well worth owning. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Dark, August 1, 2001
By 
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale are a match made in heaven. Any story that they write is bound to be critically acclaimed before it's even published. They create magic. The create entertainment. Batman: Haunted Knight is the series of stories that put their names on the map. While Loeb would later go on to write very well written Superman, Cable and Fantastic Four stories, it is only when he is united with Sale that his creativity and genius moves up a notch.
This book is a collection of three Halloween Specials stories. All three are set in the early days of Batman, where I would believe Loeb finds himself at ease in. Each story holds its own, but deals with a dark side of the Batman, or one might say how the dark side deals with Batman. The three stories are very self insightful where the Dark Knight finds himself contemplating to what has made him the person he is today. How his past shaped his present and what it all means for his past. The most touching of all stories are the ones that deals with his childhood and sights of his parents before their untimely tragedy that helped make the character, the most morose, guilt-stricken characters in all comicdom. You learn that's the only thing that truly makes the character tick. The great love he shared with his parents turned into the great hate he feels towards the criminal underworld. That's what Batman is all about.
Loeb and Sale are truly downright amazing in their depiction of the character. Sale has still to find himself with the character and that can be noticed in some of the awkward art that appears in some pages. His take would masterfully transcend in his next masterwork Batman: The Long Halloween. Loeb and Sale would also go on ahead to make Batman: Dark Victory for DC and the highly acclaimed Daredevil: Yellow for Marvel.
People have caught on that the duo are excellent when solo, but are dynamite when together. With them onto something, there will always be a bang in the horizon. If their magic catches on, they could be the ones reviving the now defunct Batman movie franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Batman Tales with a Halloween Theme, August 5, 2002
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
This is a collection of 3 Jeph Loeb/Tim Sale Halloween tales. Jeph and Tim are known for their magic together, and add Batman and you have instant classics. This is a great book. The 3 stories are different than each other, each tale looks at aspects of Batman's life. The Third story is a Halloween/Batman twist on Dicken's Christmas Carol, worth the book right there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "On rainy days, in particular...I miss my mother." --Bruce Wayne(and me), April 12, 2006
By 
William K. Lasley (Greensboro, N.C. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
BATMAN: HAUNTED KNIGHT is the most powerful comic I have ever read. The art is superb and will be among the best you'll ever experience. The stories are brilliant and immensely engaging. I read this book in 2003 at the age of 39 and it launched me into a new era of collecting and reading comics. I had recently lost my parents and sat in my parent's house reading HAUNTED KNIGHT just like Bruce sat in his family home reading ALICE'S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND. I cried. I loved the book and wanted more by the same team so I read THE LONG HALLOWEEN. Sadly, the later effort seemed a long, drawn-out, padded, not-very-original crime drama. BATMAN: HAUNTED KNIGHT is the distilled essence of not only the Loeb-Sale Batman, but of modern Batman comics in general, and possibly, I dare say, of the best that comics can be...period. Longer is not always better. And shorter is often, as in this case, sweeter. Don't pass this up. Comic reading experiences don't get any better than this. The BATMAN: HAUNTED KNIGHT collection is a masterwork. Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine set of stories that pave the way for "TLH" and "DV", November 7, 2009
By 
Z. Shinder (Cerritos, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
***Based on the letter from the writer at the beginning of this book, these stories occur before the publications of "Batman: The Long Halloween" and "Batman: Dark Victory", but do not have any bering on either story's plots.***

"Batman: Haunted Knight" is a collection of three stories set on Halloween (apparently the perfect holiday for Batman and his Rogues Gallery) that pay respective tributes to the Scarecrow, the Mad Hatter, and the Penguin (primarily, with backup from Poison Ivy and the Joker).
The first story belongs to the Scarecrow and details the involvement of a new woman in the day-life of Bruce Wayne; however, beyond the influences of the Scarecrow's fear toxin, this woman has an allure for Bruce that has him prepared to give up being Batman - but she is not what she seems. Also, while Bruce deals with this personal dilemma, Captain Gordon is kidnapped by the Scarecrow; will Bruce answer the call?
The second story belongs to the Mad Hatter and details how this villain's theme plays into an aspect of Bruce's childhood; additionally, James Gordon's niece Barbara is visiting from Chicago and after a fight with her Uncle about trick-or-treating in Gotham, runs away and finds herself in the clutches of the Haberdashic-villain (re-imagined here as a possible child molester, though this is a contended point). The story also introduces Dr. Leslie Thompkins (in a cameo anyway) into Loeb and Sale's Batman series.
The third and final story belongs primarily to the Penguin and is based on Charles Dicken's "A Christmas Carol", revealing a sole failing in Bruce's divided life that he would do well to change.
Each of these stories in for the most part a study of the dualistic life of Bruce Wayne and Batman and how in some form or another he deals with - not just crime - but his life away from Batman; a rather hollow and meaningless life at that. These are good stories, but remember: they don't influence the plots of either TLH or DV, so they are not essential to add to your collection, but they make for good reads nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman + Halloween = Good Readin', October 9, 1999
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
This TPB collects the 3 Legends of the Dark Knight Halloween Specials, and is not a bad compilation at all. The first story appears to be simple Scarecrow tale, but looks are decieving. It's more about the incredible differences between Bruce Wayne and Batman. The second tale, a Mad Hatter story, is pretty basic; nothing special about it. Its average-ness is what caused the book to earn 4 stars rather than 5. But Loeb and Sale make up for it with the 3rd story, a 'Christmas Carol' knock-off that you have to read to believe. Sale's artwork is absolutely gorgeous in all 3 tales. My reccomendation is to buy the 'Batman: Long Halloween' TPB first. If you like it, then buy Haunted Knight, they are by the same people and in the same vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly dark and haunting Batman graphic novel, August 4, 2009
This review is from: Batman: Haunted Knight (Paperback)
Batman Haunted Knight is a 3-part graphic novel that was originally released as a 3-issue Batman halloween special by the great Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale.
Part One takes you to a time in Gotham City where once again, the Scarecrow has escaped from Arkham, knocking out power on select sections of Gotham, terrorising them. Part Two shows Jervis Tetch (A.K.A the Mad Hatter) kidnapping Gothams runaways, among them, Jim Gordons daughter.
Part Three Shows Bruce Waynes struggle with himself and the penguin.
Loeb and Sale did an incredible job of fitting classic literature with this Novel, Part One was original, but Part two was inspired by Lewis Carrols`; Alice in Wonderland, and Part Three was inspired by Charles Dickens; A Christmas Carol.
Although this entry in the collection may not be quite as good as Loeb and Sales other works, (The Long Halloween, Dark Victory) it still is very enjoyable.
You can tell that the art is done slightly better then in Long Halloween, with more attention to detail.
Loeb and Sale do a great job of portraying the villains, the Mad Hatter is truly insane, Scarecrow is even MORE insane, the Joker is throwing out his jokes as usual, although you only get to see him in one small part.
Overall it is a short read but very well done.
I highly recommend this to graphic novel readers or any Batman fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Batman: Haunted Knight
Batman: Haunted Knight by Jeph Loeb (Paperback - September 1, 1996)
$17.99 $10.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.