Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Purple Popster! Prince does it like it's 1989!
Report to Commissioner Gordon on the Batman Soundtrack.
There's something well, quirky about this CD. Don't get me wrong, this ranks among one of Prince's best efforts. It's just that it sounds like he cranked this one out in three/four weeks compared to the material he spends more time on. Then again, the man eats, drinks, sleeps, dreams, and bleeds music...
Published on December 3, 2001 by Daniel J. Hamlow

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the movie, but not a classic.
Batman was Prince biggest commercial succes since his 1984 hit album Purple Rain. Album sales had flagged down eversince, despite (or perhaps on account of) his everchanging styles. Batman is an album which is greatly in service of the motion picture. Less orchestrated and with sparser instrumentation, the album sounds dark and stripped down. The rich diversity of...
Published on December 3, 2005 by C. Vogelzang


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Purple Popster! Prince does it like it's 1989!, December 3, 2001
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
Report to Commissioner Gordon on the Batman Soundtrack.
There's something well, quirky about this CD. Don't get me wrong, this ranks among one of Prince's best efforts. It's just that it sounds like he cranked this one out in three/four weeks compared to the material he spends more time on. Then again, the man eats, drinks, sleeps, dreams, and bleeds music.
In each song, he lists the lead vocal as one of the main characters from the movie: Batman, the Joker, Vicki Vale, and Bruce Wayne. There's also a character called Gemini, half of him representing good, the other half representing evil, who makes his only appearance in the ultra-kickin' track "Batdance", but it's a significant appearance.
Holy Frozen Smile! The best lead vocalist here is the Joker. "Electric Chair", "Partyman", and "Trust". The thumping bass and rough guitar on "Electric Chair" is comparable to the Joker's dark side. The latter two are just fun, reflecting the villain's playful side. I mean face it, who was the more interesting character in the movie? When the villain steals the show from the hero, there's gotta be something wrong, right? Or is it just Jack Nicholson's superiority as an actor compared to Michael Keaton? As a result, the Joker's songs are more playful, being the twisted libertine he is, while Batman's songs are more somber, brooding, and romantic (check out "Scandalous").
"The Arms Of Orion" is his second vocal collaboration with Sheena Easton and both parties got the best with this wonderful ballad.
"Lemon Crush" has a little bit of the funk reminiscent of The Time. "Scandalous" is another lovely ballad done in his falsetto voice. It has the dishonor of being played over the closing credits of the movie, at which time the stop button is pressed on the VCR or DVD.
The raucous guitar and techno beat of "Batdance" is a summary of the movie, both in movie soundbites and to some extent of some of the earlier songs, such as "The Future" and "Electric Chair". The song explodes with chaos and violence at the end until Prince himself says "Stop", ending the song abruptly. Genius of the man!
End of Report. Please call me at the Bat Cave if there are any questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark & Brooding, February 8, 2001
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
On the soundtrack to Tim Burton's blockbuster hit Batman, Prince perfectly captures the mood and theme of this dark film. The movie looks at Michael Keaton's Batman as the Dark Knight, deep, intense & brooding. The songs on the album about him reflect that mood. "The Future" opens the album on a dark, ominous note and then slides into the frantic "Electric Chair" while "The Arms Of Orion" and "Trust" follow Batman's relationship with Vicki Vale. Prince also captures the manic, crazed persona of Jack Nicholson's Joker in the funky "Partyman". The album's closer "Batdance" is menagerie of film dialogue, funky beats and sound effects that gives the listener as kaleidoscope image of the film. Even though Batman is about a film, it comes across as one of Prince's most personal albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Prince, May 14, 2002
By 
Shardovan (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
Maybe Prince should hire himself out for soundtracks. In a commercial soundtrack, there are external pressures to keep the songs short and listenable, two positive traits absent from Prince's music since "The Gold Experience." Without these influences, Prince tends to submit these massive, multi-disc monstrosities containing 10-minute songs with nonsensical lyrics and gooey, grating melodies.
Anyone who has bought one of these later albums ("Emancipation," "Crystal Ball," etc.) will appreciate the discipline apparently enforced by the conventions of a movie soundtrack. Instead of the rambling tunes that have marked Prince's later work, you get the tight, driven funk of "The Future." And instead of whatever he was doing on "Emancipation," you get the clever lyricism of "Electric Chair," and "Lemon Crush." The best song on the album, "Vicki Waiting," manages to capture a bachelor's conflict between the desire for a long-term relationship and the fear of commitment better than any other song I've ever heard. Even "Batdance," "Trust," and "Partyman," while far from original masterworks, are simply more fun to listen to than nearly anything Prince has done since.
All in all, 4 stars for an underrated album. Here's hoping that, some day, Prince returns to what made this album good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul of the Movie, March 29, 2002
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
Not to be confused with Danny Elfman's instrumental release for the same movie, this soundtrack for the first Batman, is one of the best movie soundtracks ever released. Prince created a soundtrack that moves with the movie. It is not just a compilation of songs that you hear in the background of a movie, like many soundtracks that are hastily put together. This CD is full of dialogue from the movie and from Prince's imagination. Prince put a lot of heart, soul and funk into this recording.
Songs:
THE FUTURE is the opening song that sets the stage for the dark future that The Joker has in mind for Gothem. It full of techno, synthesized sounds that are held together with Prince's rhythm guitar.
ELECTRIC CHAIR comes out with hard guitar riffs by one of the greatest guitarist in the pop/rock world.
THE ARMS OF ORION - What a pretty song. It is sung as a duet between Bruce Wayne (Prince) and Vicki Vale (Sheena Easton). It is a soft, sad love song that is held together by the beautiful piano and a string section.
PARTYMAN - What more can I say except to quote Jack, "Gentlemen, let's broaden our minds!" Everyone listening to this can picture Jack Nicholson as the Joker strutting thru the museum with his henchmen and a boombox. Very Funky.
VICKI'S WAITING - Another dance track. The song is about Batman wondering if and when he should tell Vicki Vale that he is Bruce Wayne.
TRUST - Another upbeat dance track that was used when the Joker is riding on his float in a parade through downtown Gothem.
LEMON CRUSH - Club tune. The only song I can not envision in the Batman movie. Still a good tune.
SCANDALOUS - Love or Sex? Everyone who is a Prince fan knows this is one of his songs (Insatiable, Damn U, Do Me Baby, The Beautiful Ones, and Adore) that is great for romancing with the one you love. Great Song!
BATDANCE - Great Finale. Prince starts the songs with 3 loud guitar riffs, then the Joker speaks. He weaves Michael Keaton, Kim Basinger, and Jack Nicholson into this song that incorporates all aspects of the movie.
This soundtrack has a soul of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Get the Funk Up!", April 22, 2006
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
Prince had reached in a sense, a dry spell in a very creative career when 1989 rolled around. While "Lovesexy" divides fan to this day of being his last "cutting edge" record, it also presented a commerical decline, his first LP to not go platinum in America since his earlier days.

"Batman" which functions as part soundtrack, and part Prince album, was a bookend to a decade where Prince defined popular music. A lean, nine track record with emphasis on groove & melody. Nothing too ambitious, which in a fashion was refreshing. Ever since "Dirty Mind", each subsequent album had bigger & bigger themes musically that were executed. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but it is nice to see Prince just want to party. To that effect, "Batman", while dismissed by others, comes off as a record where Prince looks back & applies everything he learned in the decade, but without much major ambition.

From a comic book fans point of view, I thought it was interesting that he paired his own psychosis to Batman's & Joker's on cuts such as the bleak "The Future" (one of Prince's better social commentary cuts) & the elusive bombast of "Partyman". The latter features a Camille like vocal cut. Each song is divided by the characters of the film, from Bruce Wayne, to Vicki Vale, to the Joker, & of course Batman.

Other highlights are the slippery popped out funk of "Trust" with lyrics that to me, really ask an interesting question of what makes someone trust you in a relationship. The searing guitar rock of "Electric Chair" is stunning. The doe-eyed, stripped down number "Scandalous" is sleek & takes it time.

"Vicki Waiting" is cool number, very relaxed, but has a very "wanton" attitude. Lyrically & compositionally it never tries harder than it should, but it seems like it wants to do more. I like how he conveyed that in the lyric & actual music at the same time.

The final cut,"Batdance" a mash-up of film bites & other various songs from the album is mad-cap & furiously funky fun. This song is sung by a character called Gemini, a Batman/Joker composite which Prince played in the video. Some thought it was a play on his own alternative personality Camille.

The only cuts that falls completely flat, is the dreaded duet with Sheena Easton on "Arms of Orion". I normally don't say this, but this song is quite irredeemable. The melody & lyric is just too syrupy & doesn't evoke too much emotion. If it does, it feels canned. This is why "Batman" gets four stars instead of five.

This record became a hugely popular, but caused fans to deem it as a decline in his work. But, if you want a record to just party to by Prince, "Batman" is solid enjoyable fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SIGN O'THE TIMES it ain't, but..., December 22, 2005
By 
S. J. West (Eads, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
In 1989, Warner Brothers was preparing to release Tim Burton's BATMAN. Depending on who you hear it from, either the president of Warner or the Joker himself (and huge Prince fan) Jack Nicholson reccomended that the Purple One contribute songs to the soundtrack. In the end, Prince's BATMAN soundtrack topped the album charts for six weeks and spawned 4 hit singles, a marked improvement over the critical and commercial bomb that was LOVESEXY.

The songs that The Joker/Jack Napier "sings" are probably the best. "Electric Chair" is a great hard rocker with some excellent lyrics. "Partyman" is an awesome funk workout that made the Pop Top 20 and was used to great effect in the film during the scene where the Joker and his thugs trash the Gotham Museum of Art. The pop/funk of "Trust" also appears in the film during the parade scene.

Batman/Bruce Wayne gets some good songs as well. "The Future" opens the album on a dark, spare note and uses Michael Keaton's iconic "I'm Batman" line. "Vicki Waiting" is an enjoyable straight pop song. "Scandalous" is an awesome soul ballad that features over the film's end credits. It also made the Top 5 on the R&B charts.

The Sheena Easton duet "The Arms of Orion" unfortunately falls flat. It's one of the most sappy songs Prince has written and lacks the energy of the Prince/Easton hit "U Got the Look." Surprisingly it made the Pop Top 40.

"Lemon Crush" is Prince singing from the viewpoint of Vicki Vale and features some great falsetto vocals.

The album ends with "Batdance," a pastiche of the album, film, and the '60s Batman theme. Nicholson, Keaton, and Kim Basinger all have vocal cameos as the character of Gemini (Batman-meets-The Joker) makes his only appearance. It topped the pop charts and the memorable video was a fixture on MTV.

This is not Prince's best album; that honor would fall either to PURPLE RAIN or SIGN O'THE TIMES. BATMAN, however, is a worthwhile album. Written and performed entirely by him and written to the deadline of a blockbuster feature film, it finds Prince at his best as a one man band and as a pop craftsman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Danny Elfman's score and this CD and you're all set, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
If you want the complete Batman score and soundtrack to the classic 1989 movie, then buy this CD (Batman Motion Picture Soundtrack by Prince) and also the Batman Original Motion Picture Score composed by Danny Elfman. This soundtrack by Prince is good, but not worthy of 5 stars. It's 4 stars at best. I used to have this album on vinyl back in 1989. I bought the CD back in 2007.

Here are the songs:

1. The Future
2. Electric Chair
3. The Arms Of Orion
4. Partyman
5. Vicki Waiting
6. Trust
7. Lemon Crush
8. Scandalous
9. Batdance

My favorite songs are "Partyman", "Trust", "Scandalous", and "Batdance". Jack Nicholson's laugh at the beginning of "Batdance" at the 0:07 second mark sounds exactly like one of Cesar Romero's laughs from the 1960s TV series, but I don't recall that particular Nicholson laugh being used in any scene in the movie. Romero was a trailblazing and highly influential Joker, so it's possible Nicholson was experimenting with Romero's laugh. The song "Scandalous" is played during the closing credits in the movie. I don't know, some of these Prince songs didn't quite fit the movie, yet the stuff is easy to listen to and accept.

Just for the record, I like the 1989 Batman movie WAY better than The Dark Knight (2008). The Joker in The Dark Knight, played by Heath Ledger, just wasn't The Joker at all. Instead, it was just some psychopath who was wearing clown makeup. He wasn't funny, he was way too serious (hey, Heath - why so serious?), and above all, Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy in general was just waaaaaaay too serious, thus not permitting The Joker to use the classic Joker gadgets like a hand buzzer and squirting lapel flower. Nolan sucked all the fun out of Batman with his Law & Order/NYPD Blue/CSI feel to the movies. He created such real world settings, yet we have Batman and Rachel Dawes falling 25 stories from a building and not getting killed (in fact, not even injured), we have Harvey Dent walking around with half a face, we have Harvey Dent flipping over a car and not getting injured or killed, we have a horse that breathes fire, we have a mask that has bats flying out of it, I can go on and on and on. The plot holes in all three movies are numerous. Another thing - all I see in these movies are tons of cops, tons of cop cars, cops in riot gear, and SWAT teams galore. If I want to see this kind of stuff, all I have to do is turn on the news, like CNN for example, or watch the above mentioned shows. Basically these movies are crime dramas that happen to include a guy called Batman, which makes a guy who dresses up as a bat look ridiculous and totally out of place. Tim Burton, the director of Batman (1989) and Batman Returns (1992) got it right. His movies were true comic book movies with a comic book feel to them, thus requiring the audience to suspend disbelief. If I see a guy on the screen who dresses up as a bat, I know it's not something in real life, it's something from a comic book movie. If I see somebody in everyday reality dressed as Batman, I can assure you it's only in late October or on the day of a comic book convention. Every time I watch the 2008 movie and then immediately watch the 1989 right after, I always say to myself while I'm watching the 1989 movie, "Now THIS is a Batman movie. Now THIS is The Joker. Now THIS is Gotham City." If I'm going to watch a Batman movie, the movie should allow me to escape reality and entertain me for a couple of hours, not remind me of reality and above all, totally mirror everyday society and take itself so seriously. These are just some of the reasons why Burton's movies are better than Nolan's movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Purple Pop, Batman!, November 28, 2001
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
OK, Commissioner Gordon--here's my report on Prince's 11th album, a.k.a. the Batman Soundtrack.
Thers is something well, quirky about this CD. Don't get me wrong, this ranks among one of Prince's best efforts. It's just that it sounds like he cranked this one out in three/four weeks compared to the material he spends more time on. The Batman soundtrack is still worthy.
In each song, he lists the lead vocal as one of the main characters from the movie: Batman, the Joker, Vicki Vale, and Bruce Wayne. There's also a character called Gemini, half of him representing good, the other half representing evil, who makes his only appearance in (...) "Batdance", but it's a significant appearance.
Holy Frozen Smile! The best lead vocalist here is the Joker. "Electric Chair", "Partyman", and "Trust". The thumping bass and rough guitar on "Electric Chair" is comparable to the Joker's dark side. The latter two are just fun, reflecting the villain's playful side. I mean face it, who was the more interesting character in the movie? When the villain steals the show from the hero, there's gotta be something wrong, right? Or is it just Jack Nicholson's superiority as an actor compared to Michael Keaton?
"The Arms Of Orion" is his second vocal collaboration with Sheena Easton and both parties got the best with this wonderful ballad.
"Lemon Crush" has a little bit of the funk reminiscent of The Time. "Scandalous" is another lovely ballad done in his falsetto voice. It has the dishonor of being played over the closing credits of the movie, at which time the stop button is pressed on the VCR or DVD.
The raucous guitar and techno beat of "Batdance" is a summary of the movie, both in movie soundbites and to some extent of some of the earlier songs, such as "The Future" and "Electric Chair". The song explodes with chaos and violence at the end until Prince himself says "Stop", ending the song abruptly. Genius of the man!
Well, back to the Bat... er Review Cave. End of Report.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince and Batman?, May 2, 2005
By 
Jon Marin "Jon" (Elmwood Park, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
Prince puzzled a lot of his fans when he decided to compose the soundtrack to Batman. Michael Jackson was initially tapped to do the soundtrack, but Prince got the job thanks to his fan Jack Nicholson. From beginning to end the album rocks. The first track "The Future" is dark and has a mean beat. And from there on you feel like your in a nightclub in Gotham City. The songs fit perfectly with the film and it's scenes. To make the music more revelant to the film, Prince was clever enough to use voice samples from the film. The highlight of the album however is the slow jam "Scandalous" that, to me, is underrated among Prince's ballads. Prince went on to compose the soundtrack to Spike Lee's 1996 film "Girl 6" and further proved his staying power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UNDERRATED!, February 25, 2000
This review is from: Batman (Audio CD)
Since there was a lot of exposure to the movie, Prince didn't get a lot of deserved props on this soundtrack since Danny Elfman did the score to the 1990 film. Yet he brings a lot of flavor to the table. "Partyman" and "Batdance" were the promoted singles but check out "Trust" and "Vicki Waiting". Very funky cuts! "Scandalous" definately goes into the 2nd set of Greatest Hits CD if Prince should ever release one from his releases from 1990-2000. This probably will not interest you if you were on the Prince bandwagon(1999, Around the world in a day, Parade), but the REAL Prince fans(and you know who you are)will appreciate this one. Take a chance and check otu the samples that Amazon has provided. You won't be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Batman
Batman by Batman (Related Recordings) (Audio CD)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.