Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great animation Blu, and a good film too....
This Blu has been screening nicely in the store as sadly no one got to see this with that joke of a theatrical release slate.

Plenty to dissect here regarding both the subtle and overlaying future of humanity themes, but in the end the positive outcomes shine through as does the awesome animation, both preserved beautifully on the Blu. This recent trend of 5.1...
Published on September 20, 2009 by Steve Kuehl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie.
I really liked it and found it enlightening and sad. Many great actors contributed their voice talent to the movie.
Published 6 months ago by Mary H. Lujan Sill


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great animation Blu, and a good film too...., September 20, 2009
This Blu has been screening nicely in the store as sadly no one got to see this with that joke of a theatrical release slate.

Plenty to dissect here regarding both the subtle and overlaying future of humanity themes, but in the end the positive outcomes shine through as does the awesome animation, both preserved beautifully on the Blu. This recent trend of 5.1 Uncompressed PCM on Blu is a nice change, and it bodes well for an action filled finale like this. The clarity, colors and style of animation look great here, and I bookmarked the last 17 minute battle scene for customers and that alone has sold itself. The supplements are a bit mismanaged and include:
* 4:45 minute making-of. Way too short for what this film took to make, and most of the other extras should have been spliced into this selection.
* 4 deleted scenes totaling 7 minutes. For what this film was they all should have been left in their respective sequences.
* 25 second quip on a storyboard to final rendering analysis on one scene.
* 2:13 minute Animatics picture in picture clip. Shows the animation changes between production levels of the escape sequence.
* 20 slides containing text and and drawing notes of initial production design.
* Pulling the Strings, 1:26 minute low grade animation clip of the director stating his reasons for making this and other films and what he hopes to accomplish.
* Crew commentary, catered to the animation followers.

The menu is eye catching and plays with some decent music. The navigation is too extensive for younger viewers and could have been made much simpler regarding the supplements (combine everything next time). This gets a 5 rating for Lionsgate on a solid picture and sound product. A PG rating with maybe a few scary moments for really young viewers, but presentable to everyone, I think. Have not had any kids run screaming to mom yet while it plays here. Hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful & Emotional, September 28, 2009
This review is from: Battle for Terra (DVD)
Seldom do animations of this quality and creative imagination also elicit thoughtful and emotional responses from the viewer. But such appears to be the case as many other reviewers have expressed similar thoughts. So! Praise to the director, writers and animation crew for an exceptionally crafted story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond in the rough, September 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was great. It was the first 3-D movie I ever went and saw. Due to the horrible job done promoting this movie not many people even saw it. Which is fine because my friend and I had the whole theater to ourselves. A private screening at a public movie theater of one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Most people won't like this movie because it makes us humans out to be the bad guys. The movie was great. Animation for being made with the money it was made for is excellent. The message great. If you are one of the ones who didn't get to see this in theaters, which I'm sure most of you reading this are aside from a few scary moments which may disturb younger viewers this movie truly is a diamond in the rough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredibly Subversive Film About Following One's Conscience!, May 6, 2009
By 
Danny G. (Baltimore, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
Battle for Terra is one of those rare films that dares to have a politically charged message: Genocide and ecocide is inexcusable under any and all circumstances; following your conscience can have an extraordinarily high price; and government is best run by civilians and not by a military dictatorship!

What is mind boggling is that a soldier is forced to kill his commanding officer and allow his brother, and only surviving family member, to die in battle in order to follow his conscience! This is truly a profound and subversive story. Too bad it is being shown on only one screen in a metropolitan area with 1 1/2 million people! It deserves being seen by a much wider audience!

This exact same subject matter of humans colonizing another world at the expense of another intelligent and benevolent species is rarely covered in science fiction on the big screen. Human beings are usually the victims of some evil alien power. It's nice to see the tables turned for once and witness human beings as the oppressors, or bad guys.

While watching Battle for Terra, I asked myself repeatedly, "What would I do in a similar situation?" I realize I will never be a soldier in a critical battle that will determine the destiny of the human race. But I'm forced to examine the power I have, no matter how small, to battle evil and injustice when given the opportunity to do so! That's the beauty of a subversive story! It makes one think!

See: Conscience: The Duty to Obey and the Duty to Disobey and The Light of Conscience: How a Simple Act Can Change Your Life

For other great Science Fiction see::Zardoz and Enemy Mine and Fantastic Planet and A.I. - Artificial Intelligence (Widescreen Two-Disc Special Edition) and Bicentennial Man and Galaxy Quest (Deluxe Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie really rocked as I expected some lame SCI-fi cartoon, July 15, 2010
I picked up the movie at the free video store shelf at Family Video. It is actually worth paying for and not a FREE movie. The story line is good and it keeps your interest Well Done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredibly Subversive Film About Following One's Conscience!, September 7, 2009
By 
Danny G. (Baltimore, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battle for Terra (DVD)
Battle for Terra is one of those rare films that dares to have a politically charged message: Genocide and ecocide is inexcusable under any and all circumstances; following your conscience can have an extraordinarily high price; and government is best run by civilians and not by a military dictatorship!

This exact same subject matter of humans colonizing another world at the expense of another intelligent and benevolent species is rarely covered in science fiction on the big screen. Human beings are usually the victims of some evil alien power. It's nice to see the tables turned for once and witness human beings as the oppressors, or bad guys.

This is truly a profound and subversive story. Too bad it was shown on only one screen in a metropolitan area with 1 1/2 million people! It deserves to have been seen by a much wider audience!

While watching Battle for Terra, I asked myself repeatedly, "What would I do in a similar situation?" I realize I will never be a soldier in a critical battle that will determine the destiny of the human race. But I'm forced to examine the power I have, no matter how small, to battle evil and injustice when given the opportunity to do so! That's the beauty of a subversive story! It makes you think!

See: Conscience: The Duty to Obey and the Duty to Disobey and The Light of Conscience: How a Simple Act Can Change Your Life

For other great Science Fiction see::Zardoz and Enemy Mine and Fantastic Planet and A.I. - Artificial Intelligence (Widescreen Two-Disc Special Edition) and Bicentennial Man and Galaxy Quest (Deluxe Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, January 27, 2014
This review is from: Battle For Terra (Amazon Instant Video)
Good movie, standard fare for man destroys planet because of his self destructive tendencies and just needs to learn how to just get along with others...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST ANIMATED FILMS EVER MADE 9.5 OUT OF 10, March 14, 2010
This review is from: Battle for Terra (DVD)
I had heard some things about Battle For Terra, but I wasn't too sure of what I was getting into. I got a lot more than what I expected, and experienced one of the ten best animated films I've ever seen. This film was absolutely incredible in every way imaginable. It was thrilling, emotionally-driven, and it has something meaningful and insightful to say. This film is simply superb and breath-taking, and almost perfect.
WHAT IT'S ABOUT: Terra is a peaceful planet that the humans are looking to colonize after they destroyed their previous home planets Earth, Mars, and Venus through war. At first the Terrians think the humans and their spacecrafts are gods, and many allow themselves to be taken. The main character Mala is trying to find her father who was taken by the humans, and when she tries to get taken herself, she ends up causing one of the spacecrafts to crash. She ends up rescuing the pilot named Jim and taking him back to her home along with his robot Giddy. She ends up having to construct a special tent for oxygen so he can breathe, and after she rescues him again when he tries to escape, she makes a deal with him to help him fix his ship and he'll take her to her father. From then on, things go awry and then it becomes all out war between the humans and Terrians, and it is up to Jim to fix all of this and save both the Terrians and the humans from extinction.
MUSIC: The musical score is fantastic and fits everything to a tee. It could be both calming and then erupt with a fantastic orchestral score whenever the occasion called for it.
ACTING: Though there were some moments of corny dialogue, the voice-acting is terrific. I was surprised by some of the names they managed to get for this film (Danny Glover, Dennis Quaid, etc.) despite its small budget. Thankfully there were no annoying characters and every actor seemed to know what they were doing.
ACTION: Before George Lucas made the crappy Star Wars: The Clone Wars animated film he should have taken notes from Battle For Terra (It originally debuted at a film festival in 2007, a year before Clone Wars). This film has enough action scenes to satisfy any fan of sci-fi action flicks. They were thrilling, explosive, and really cool. However, it's not the action that makes all of this film, it's the story and the amazingly intense moral situations (Who will you choose to save?) and I'd have to say this is one of those films that really pushes its rating. This is probably one of the hardest PG-rated films I've ever seen and pushes dangerously close to PG-13 at times because of its violence. This film was a very intense and thought-provoking experience that really gets you to think about many things. Overall, it was never boring.
OVERALL: This film is a must-have if you love animated films. This film is insightful and smart about its messages and questions how far you can push your morals. A film that slipped under the radar and was lambasted by moronic critics who don't seem to understand complexity when its sitting right in front of them. This film is simply amazing and a masterpiece of animated cinema that is not to be missed.
THE GOOD: Great story, good acting, superb action scenes, thoughtful messages, great looking animation, and it does a good job about making you think.
THE BAD: Some corny dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-Have for Thinking Sci-Fi and CGI Fans!, September 28, 2009
Battle for TerraBattle for Terra [Blu-ray]

I have seen proof positive that the kind of movies I want to see and support are actually being made. Buy or rent a copy of Battle for Terra. It's totally worth the good karma points. We need to demonstrate there's a market for these folks.

Battle for Terra has been directed and written by Aristomenis Tsirbas. Evan Spiliotopolous is the screenwriter. Well done. May the Blu-ray and DVD sales make up for what didn't happen in the box office.

In the making of segment, the Tsirbas explained that he intended for this to be an "invasion" movie. Humans are the invaders this time around. Spiliotopolous also points out that an animation like this is adult fare. Countries such as Japan and France can create animation for grownups, but in the US, audiences are still slow to catch on.

As a person of color, I usually identify with aliens in science fiction. I watch movies expecting the aliens to get the short end of the stick just like human, so-called "minority" groups.

I observed the pale-skinned, three-fingered, tadpole people glide through the first few minutes of the movie. I call them tadpole people because they had the same kind of vestigial tail without fins. They literally float-swam through their atmosphere which incidentally was poisonous to humans. The Terrans were cute in the sense that E.T. and the Muppets are cute which helps with viewer empathy. Big eyes never fail. At first, the majority of the Terran population revered the invading humans as gods. Terran Elders seemed to have a different opinion of the happenings but they refused to share what they knew with their own people. The plot thickened.

Mala was the fiesty Terran heroine who rescued a human, Jim Stanton, in order to save her own captured father. By the time, we got this part, I'd been thinking this could be Pocahontas meets John Smith 2009 times worse. With his square chin and close-shaved head, Jim Stanton looked like a Space Marine posterboy with a designer eyebrow cut. (Stanton, incidentally, reminded Her Tangh-i-ness of Richard Corben's Den. Visually. Not actually.) Jim Stanton's character arc required him to move from seeing the Terrans as potential hostiles to sacrificing his life for their welfare. Mala lost her own father but successfully defended her home planet from the crippled generation ship populated by desperate humans. It turned out the Terrans once had a warlike period but banished the evidence to the outer regions of the planet and certain underground facilities.

When I noticed the Black human President voiced by Danny Glover, I think I relaxed a tiny bit. The film's antagonist, a suitably hawkish General Hemmer leads a coup against the President in order to ensure survival of the human race. Hemmer intends to terraform the planet and write off the intelligent Terran population as collateral damage. Humans will once again have a home despite the lethal cost to another species. If Hemmer had said, "Stay the course," to Jim Stanton, we could have substituted Hemmer for any number of recent political figures.

I expected Jim Stanton and Mala to save the day, but I didn't expect the hero to die in order to make things right. This is where I really appreciated the risk taken by the director and writers. Sacrifice usually falls in standard movie fare upon some hapless sidekick (often a person of color) whose death clears the path to resolution between the warring parties. The hero strides into the sunset with the heroine on his arm and credits roll.

But it didn't go down like that in Battle for Terra. Jim Stanton takes out Hemmer and everyone else aboard the terraformer in order to put a stop to the madness. Can we say deep? After his suicide run, the Terrans opt to share their world with humans who are confined to a dome where oxygen-producing foliage can allow them to peacefully co-exist. Mala and Stanton's younger brother share a feel-good moment.

Even as much as I'm down for Spock and Uhura, I cringed at the thought of an interspecies romance but Battle for Terra didn't go there either. Thank the Force. Jim Stanton got a statue dedicated to his memory. Mala glided into the sunset piloting her own ship accompanied by a love interest of her own kind. And the Black President survived.

I can totally understand why parents might be loathe to answer questions from their little ones after watching. Why there's that disturbing near-death scene of all those cute tadpole people. And who really wants to own up to the predatorial nature of the human species?

Thinking parents who want to raise the next generation of staunch Pro-Alienists like Her Tangh-i-ness cogitate, then teleport, but don't walk to get a copy of Battle for Terra.

Peace,

Her Tangh-i-ness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredibly Subversive Film About Following One's Conscience!, September 7, 2009
By 
Danny G. (Baltimore, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
Battle for Terra is one of those rare films that dares to have a politically charged message: Genocide and ecocide is inexcusable under any and all circumstances; following your conscience can have an extraordinarily high price; and government is best run by civilians and not by a military dictatorship!

This exact same subject matter of humans colonizing another world at the expense of another intelligent and benevolent species is rarely covered in science fiction on the big screen. Human beings are usually the victims of some evil alien power. It's nice to see the tables turned for once and witness human beings as the oppressors, or bad guys.

This is truly a profound and subversive story. Too bad it was shown on only one screen in a metropolitan area with 1 1/2 million people! It deserves to have been seen by a much wider audience!

While watching Battle for Terra, I asked myself repeatedly, "What would I do in a similar situation?" I realize I will never be a soldier in a critical battle that will determine the destiny of the human race. But I'm forced to examine the power I have, no matter how small, to battle evil and injustice when given the opportunity to do so! That's the beauty of a subversive story! It makes you think!

See: Conscience: The Duty to Obey and the Duty to Disobey and The Light of Conscience: How a Simple Act Can Change Your Life

For other great Science Fiction see::Zardoz and Enemy Mine and Fantastic Planet and A.I. - Artificial Intelligence (Widescreen Two-Disc Special Edition) and Bicentennial Man and Galaxy Quest (Deluxe Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Battle For Terra
Battle For Terra by Aristomenis Tsirbas
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.