Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now DOTD

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Unbeatable customer service, and we usually ship the same or next day. Over one million satisfied customers!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Battle for Our Minds: Western Elites and the Terror Threat Hardcover – March 6, 2012

19 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
$2.14 $0.01

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Dr. Michael Widlanski is a specialist in Arab politics and communication whose doctorate dealt with the Palestinian broadcast media. He is a former reporter, correspondent and editor, respectively, at The New York Times, The Cox Newspapers-Atlanta Constitution, and The Jerusalem Post. He has also served as a special advisor to Israeli delegations to peace talks in 1991-1992 and as Strategic Affairs Advisor to the Ministry of Public Security, editing secret PLO Archives captured in Jerusalem.

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Threshold Editions; First Edition edition (March 6, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451659032
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451659030
  • Product Dimensions: 6.1 x 1.1 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #141,305 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Michael Widlanski is the author of Battle for Our Minds: Western Elites and the Terror Threat, just published by Simon & Schuster /Threshold.

Michael Widlanski has an unusual background, combining the field experience of the reporter and security official with the intense academic research of a scholar.

Born in New York, Dr. Widlanski holds three degrees from Columbia University, the American University in Cairo and Bar Ilan University. He has served as an advisor to Israeli negotiating teams and as Strategic Affairs Advisor for Israel's Ministry of Public Security.

Dr. Widlanski edited the PLO's captured Orient House archives showing secret PLO and Hamas activities. He taught Middle East politics and communication at Hebrew University for two decades, was a visiting professor at Washington University in St. Louis, teaching also at the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency, and research fellow at the Shalem Center.

Widlanski, who is fluent in Hebrew and several dialgects of Arabic, has written for The New York Times, The Daily News, The New York Post, Ha'aretz, The Jerusalem Post, National Review, and The New Republic, and he has been a reporter for Israel Television and Israeli Army Radio. He now teaches at Bar Ilan University.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful By Yetti Sinnreich on March 6, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Dr. Widlanski has done a masterful job of making his case that Islamic terrorism has succeeded against the West due to the knowing and unknowing help it has received by the "Western Elite." By Western Elite he refers to the academics, media, and government officials who have helped the Islamist terrorists' cause. Dr. Widlanski is not afraid to name names. This is a startling expose of complicity! The book provides the proof to back his assertions.
Dr. Widlanski in a refreshing departure from most finger pointers, offers not only accusations, but also the solution on how we can meet the challenge of terrorism head on and win. He skillfully redirects the conversation to challenge us to do just that before it is too late. Dr. Widlanski's wealth of experience and credentials combine with a thoroughly engaging style to provide us with a well-researched, well written book. This book is an essential read with a real plan for winning the struggle against Islamic terrorism.
It is clear that Widlanski is a real scholar of Islam and of counter-terror affairs. He takes a realistic and not an alarmist view of Islam. He does not paint all Muslims and Arabs as terrorists. However, he is much tougher on Westerners; that is the media pundits, professors and intelligence officials who often know little about their suposed fields of expertise. He does not suffer fools easily, especially those who pose as experts. Though Widlanski takes a very critical view of Western elites, he is not a pessimist, but rather an optimist who shows that the West can defeat Arab-Islamic terror. That is the positive message he leaves the reader.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Shalom Freedman HALL OF FAME on March 9, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Widlanski makes a strong case here for the idea that Western elites, both in the academic world and in the media have blunted and damaged the war against Terror by refusing to clearly call a spade, a spade. He shows the bias of the NY Times , CNN, National Public Radio and others who have not been direct and clear in defining the Islamist threat to the well- being of Western societies. He says that the threat to the West has been underestimated by the Liberal Left elite of Western societies. As someone whose knowledge of Arabic sources is extensive he brings evidence others have ignored to substantiate his claims.He suggests too that the whole hesitation of the West led to Osama Bin Laden's remaining at large long enough to inspire a whole set of new terror networks. All in all he indicates that the dangers to the West are far greater than our normally stated in the media and in the academic world. He makes a convincing case that far more must and should be done in exposing the real nature of Islamist terror, and its support groups.
This is a first - rate study by one who really knows the territory covered.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Robert M. Burnat on March 19, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Battle For Our Minds rips apart the NY Times,CNN, the CIA and US Presidents and many more supported by indisputable facts so well the footnoted. Hopefully this book will be a wakeup call to the American government and the media. Michael Widlanski's background makes him the perfect person to write such a book, a must read for an caring American.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Fred on April 9, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
With political correctness having captured our Main Stream Media, our academic institutions, and our government agencies such as the CIA and the military, our nation is once again leaving itself open and vulnerable to a future devastating attack that could make 9/11 look like a cakewalk. Michael Widlanski in his Battle For Our Minds gives a hard hitting, no punches pulled indictment of the opinion shapers who unwittingly are playing the part of a Fifth Column. He backs up his indictments of the CNN's Peter Arnetts, New York Times' Tom Friedmans, CIA's Michael Scheuers, Columbia University's Edward Saids, and there ilk, who have distorted and misinterpreted events and facts to allow our leaders to make faulty decisions and increase the dangers that are being perpretrated by Radical Islam. He backs his finger pointing with seventy-six pages of notes which allows the reader to do his own checking and drawing his own conclusions. This book is a breath of fresh air that hopefully will ventilate the chambers of our decision makers. It is a must read for everyone who is concerned about the impending tsunami posed by the heirs of the Osama bin Ladens of the world. Widlanski's scholorship in this important work should serve as a text book for every course given on the subject of terrorism in the 21st century, and serve as required reading in the halls of Congress, the Pentagon, the State Dept. and the editorial rooms of our media. With Iran on the cusp of obtaining a WMD, time is short and Widlanski is sounding the warning bell.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Arben on June 21, 2015
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
In BATTLE FOR OUR MINDS, Dr. Micheal Widlanski pulls back the curtain on some of the highest profile personalities in academia and the media.Reporting from the front line of events, his riveting insights shatter accepted narratives with hard hitting facts.
From Columbia's Edward Said to the New York Times' Thomas Friedman, Widlanski exposes the agendas of the Who's Who of talking heads in the Middle East war of words. After reading this book, Brian Williams and Dan Rather come off looking like choir boys.
In the tradition of Woodward and Bernstein, some of the best investigative reporting I've read in a long time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: political communication