Customer Reviews


1,297 Reviews
5 star:
 (457)
4 star:
 (226)
3 star:
 (145)
2 star:
 (117)
1 star:
 (352)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BF4 is to BF3 as L4D2 is to L4D1.
Let's start by saying...I am definitely no fan of EA and almost did not buy this game because I hate the company so much, however I wanted something new to play and there is has been a major lack of AAA PC shooters over the past few months. The majority of issues people have had and are having with this game come from Nvidia users. The game was promoted with AMD tech and...
Published 14 months ago by Christopher G. Parsons

versus
243 of 316 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another unfinished (and badly broken) game
When details about the upcoming BF4 leaked out (e.g. the famous collapsing skyscraper) I was afraid that EA was putting more effort into gee-whiz visual effects rather than worrying about making the game run properly. If you've played Battlefield 3 you know it's a great game with some serious flaws, things that weren't fixed even after a long series of patches and...
Published 15 months ago by D. G. Devin


‹ Previous | 1 2130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

243 of 316 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another unfinished (and badly broken) game, November 2, 2013
This review is from: Battlefield 4 - PC (Video Game)
When details about the upcoming BF4 leaked out (e.g. the famous collapsing skyscraper) I was afraid that EA was putting more effort into gee-whiz visual effects rather than worrying about making the game run properly. If you've played Battlefield 3 you know it's a great game with some serious flaws, things that weren't fixed even after a long series of patches and updates--I was afraid BF4 would turn out the same. Well, my fears are realized.

BF4 is full of eye candy, lots of cool things happen, and it has tons of *potential*. Unfortunately the game is packed with bugs and glitches, and it crashes so often that it is extremely frustrating just trying to play. Crashes, crashes and more crashes, and different kinds of crashes depending on the game's mood or the time of day or something. Freezes, black screens, white screens, "Battlefield 4 has stopped responding" error messages from Windows, "Your game has disconnected" messages, "Your connection to the server timed out" (after five minutes?) messages, and so on and so forth--it's a festival of crashes. And it doesn't seem to matter if you have a wheezy old computer or a brand new hot rod with top notch hardware, it doesn't matter how good your computer is, the game will lag, stutter, freeze and crash again and again.

Aside from the fact that the game crashes constantly, there are elements of the design that I really dislike. Perhaps to compete with Call of Duty (which Battlefield players consider a game for kids and refer to as Computerized Online Daycare), the game developers have made BF4 downright cartoonish in many ways. Tanks race across the landscape like sports cars (and without making a sound until they've killed you, then you hear them), and infantry can run and leap like leopards even after you've shot them. Yes, you can shoot an enemy until he is almost completely dead, with only a couple of points of life left, and he can still spin around and kill you and run off laughing.

Jets can still fly in ways they cannot in the real world, just as in BF3. Helicopters can collide with trees and buildings and somehow survive (unless I'm flying them in which case they immediately explode). Armored vehicles can absorb insane amounts of damage without being destroyed, but then become stuck on a tree stump or rock. An annoying feature in BF3 was bullets seeming to follow you around corners, this was due to the shooter and his target not being in sync on the server, they both saw slightly different things. This seems to be even worse in BF4, and it is very annoying to often get shot by someone who should not even be able to see you according to what appears on your screen (but not his).

Sure, they got some things right. They restored squad chat so it is easier for players to talk to each other using gaming headsets, and they made it easier to join teammates already in the game. Commander Mode (something else missing from BF3) has also returned, and there are cool new weapons and some interesting new maps. But none of that matters if you cannot play the game because of horrible lag or because the game crashes over and over.

I assume many of these issues will be addressed in coming weeks (BF4 is less than a week old as I write this) and many of the bugs will be fixed. But the huge question Battlefield players are asking is why weren't these problems fixed before the game was released? Why does EA insist on putting an unfinished product on the market and then scrambling to correct scads of glitches that could and should have been corrected before it was offered to the public? Is it just the highly profitable Christmas sales season that prompted them to release a product that was not ready?

If you want to know if I think you should buy Battlefield 4 right now, the answer is no. Wait awhile, let them correct enough of the problems that the game is at least playable. In a few months this might be a terrific game. But as it sits today, BF4 is a disaster.

UPDATE

BF4 has been out three months and there has been some improvement although many serious issues remain after several patches from EA. The game doesn't crash nearly as often (but it still crashes). Lag and stuttering have been reduced too although not eliminated. The audio no longer suddenly disappears on certain maps. However many core problems remain, e.g. what you see and what your opponent sees not being in sync, leading to many outraged comments by players about being "shot around corners". Of course EA (and this game's developer, DICE) couldn't fix a sandwich without breaking the whole kitchen, and every patch has fixed some things while breaking others. There was a bug where players you had clearly shot still showed 100% health when they spun around and killed you. Now, they instead show 0% health, making it look as if you were just killed by a dead player (leading to much yelling and screaming in the game's text chat). There has been so much angry commentary from disappointed Battlefield players that it got the attention of the mainstream media leading to EA's stock price taking a hit. EA has also ordered DICE to suspend work on expansion packs for BF4 and get all their programmers working on fixing bugs, but there are so many bugs, and I wonder if some of them really cannot be fixed because the basic structure of the game contains hopeless flaws. EA has actually been issuing refunds to some purchasers of BF4 provided they hadn't played many hours (many of them could not play at all).

So, while BF4 has been partially repaired it is still a coin toss if you will find it an enjoyable game or an experience more irritating then entertaining. I know several people with new fire-breathing gaming computers who have just as much trouble running BF4 as those of us using less powerful machines. So be warned; while BF4 is terrific when it is working and shows huge potential, it is still a buggy and annoying product needing a lot of work. If you haven't bought it yet you are probably better off waiting awhile to see how far the repair work gets (and how much EA drops the price) because Battlefield 4 still has some serious problems.

ONE YEAR LATER

There have been several big fixes applied to BF4 over the past year, and they have successfully repaired many of the bugs which plagued this game at release. However, in true DICE/EA fashion each patch has brought new problems, fixing some things but breaking others. I was getting few crashes lately but an Origin update last week resulted in a wave of new "Battlefield 4 has stopped responding" messages as well as black-screen crashes such as I had not seen in ages. Before anyone else says I need a better computer, this past summer I had a hotrod gaming computer built--Cooler Master, Asus, EVGA, Corsair -- all good stuff capable of running BF4 without breaking a sweat. Yes, some issues disappeared with all this computing horsepower available. But many problems continued because they are built into the game, e.g. the clunky "netcode" which means your shots might register on your opponent, or they might not. Enemies still appear to pop out of thin air seemingly shooting at you before you can even see them, grenades still occasionally vanish even though you watched them fly through the air and hit the ground at your opponent's feet, tanks still slide silently up behind you without making a sound and so on and so forth. One positive development is the Fair Fight anti-cheat service which seems to be making using hacks riskier than before, although of course many folks still try. Yet even here EA's policies have a negative effect, and they're giving out one-week suspensions as warnings rather than permanently banning players identified as hack users.

BF4 remains an impressive game with gorgeous graphics and some interesting game play but also a host of really irritating flaws and poor design decisions. This game could have been so much better, but it was released long before it was ready and EA has been scrambling ever since to apply patch after patch trying to make it work. It's certainly better than it was at first, but it's still got significant problems. I regularly play with quite a few serious gamers and all of them swear they will not pre-order any further titles in the Battlefield series--they will wait and buy any new versions only when they have been proven to work. DICE/EA has really alienated much of the Battlefield player community with BF4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge let down, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Battlefield 4 has had a very rocky launch and it was clearly not ready. Servers constantly crash and when this happens you lose all your progress in that current match. The reason for this is because your stats do not update until the end of the match, so if a server crashes everything just goes into deep space and are lost forever. They need to seriously fix this by having your stats update during a match and not just the end. Your game will also crash at random times and mostly during map changes, even if you have the most up to date drivers. On top of this there has been lag spikes so bad you can't even move your soldier or spawn. The sound cuts out on many maps like Lancang Dam, i assume they never tested this map because they would have noticed this immediately. Most of the maps are lackluster in general. Paracel Storm is the only map that stood out as being awesome. A storm rolls in, waves start crashing and the weather is intense. You have to play this map to really feel how awesome it is.

After playing Battlefield 3 for hundreds of hours i can safely say Battlefield 4 is no big jump. The engine looks the same, physics are the same. Being able to see a live feed of where you spawn is a nice touch. Levolution is cool the first time you see it, but quickly turns into a cheap gimmick that you will probably not even notice again. There are new maps and vehicles, but honestly it feels more like a DLC. The price is steep if you want Battlefield 4 and premium which will set you back $110 before taxes. For a game that feels like a DLC or a beta because of all the launch issues... you are paying way too much.

Now onto Amazon's so called battlepack bonus code that should have been delivered to those who pre ordered. I have contacted customer support 4 times at the time of writing this because i never received my battlepack. It seems like many others did not as well after reading threw reviews and discussions. Every time i contact them they give me a different response, they tell me wait 24 hours... then 48 hours... then 72 hours. I even had a customer service rep promise me it would be in my inbox by the end of the day, of course this never happened. They are completely clueless. Well here is the thing, the store page says it will be delivered after 48 hours and mostly everyone is still waiting. There is no announcement on the store page explaining what the delay is, they just keep us in the dark. Some have reported that some customer service reps will generate you a key and email it to you, but this is not the case for everyone. The whole thing with this battlepack bonus code is a complete mess.

On the bright side, when the servers aren't crashing or lagging, Battlefield 4 runs silky smooth on ultra and 95 FOV. My specs: FX 8320 CPU, AMD 7850 video card, M5A97 R2.0 motherboard, 8GB of 1600 ram, sata 3 HDD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT ignore the warning, do NOT buy this game, November 13, 2013
I have loved Battlefield games since Battlefield 1942. I have played nearly every entry in the series to the point bordering obsession. Although Battlefield 3 had some flaws, I ignored them and enjoyed an overall good experience. Battlefield 4 was promised to be everything Battlefield 3 was supposed to be and more. Keep in mind when reading this that I am not the most proficient PC gamer, so my opinions are based on the perspective of a casual gamer/computer user. Also, the computer I am using is an Alienware M14, made within the last six months and built to the max specs available (so yeah, it exceeds the recommended hardware for the game).

Honestly, I can't tell you about the PC version game. I purchased the console (Xbox 360) version based on peer pressure from friends at work. I played for a few days with them before I got so frustrated with the limited console functions and control style that I traded in my copy for the PC version. That was when everything went downhill.

Veterans of Battlefield 3 know that this game uses Battlelog, an unnecessary website used to track data that should be available within the game. I honestly think this is EA's terrible attempt to create a social media hub. Unfortunately, EA is not in the social media business, so this website sucks. To make matters worse, the game also requires the use of Origin. Origin is like EA's version of Steam, except the program is absolutely terrible. My Battlefield 4 woes began with me trying to install the game. The games install begins with an infinite loop of crashes as the disc attempts to install Origin. The problem is, I already have Origin installed, so this terrible program can't figure out how to install from the disc. EA's tech website recommendation was to input the code found in the package and download the game over the internet via Origin (keep in mind, I am holding 3 install DVD's as I am reading this). I finally get the game to install by uninstalling Origin and reinstalling it.

After an hour on installing the game and subsequently updating it, I am ready to play. I open Origin and select BF4, which brings me to the Battlelog and requires a plug in. The problem is that the plug in does not work. To sum up an hour and a half of troubleshooting, here is what I found: the plug in is not compatible with IE11, Firefox or Chrome. The recommendations to fix this are a variety of security setting changes, reinstalling the game and power setting changes. In the end, I finally found the right combination of settings to make the plug in work. When I launch the game from Battlelog, the game initializes, opens Origin, then just when you think it's about to open, the game crashes. It's been 2 effing days scouring forums and tech sites, and I still have yet to play this game. Totally unacceptable.

To summarize this rant, this game is unfinished. EA has to fix all of these stupid issues and deliver the game as promised. PC gamers pride themselves on being able to manipulate their systems to get software to work. As customers, we shouldn't have to do this. The gamer should be able to start the install program, click on or two windows, and the application should be able to take care of everything else. Then, the game should launch with one double click, and not require superfluous launch programs. EA is too busy counting the money made of this game, and is not doing anything to fix it. The only weapon we the gamers have is NOT purchasing this game. Please, do NOT buy this game until it is fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How did this get past Quality Assurance?, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was really excited to get my hands on this when it first came out, but quickly found myself somewhat disappointed in a number of areas.

If you're looking for any story in a single player campaign, look elsewhere. I quite literally stabbed my way through the hardest setting of the campaign in 5 hours the day the game launched with little problem. Since then, single player stability has been rocky at best, or so the forums and patch notes tell me. Though who plays Battlefield for the campaign other than to unlock the six extra guns and a handful of other things?

Multiplayer, where the franchise has shined in the past, is some of the most hit and miss gameplay I have ever experienced in a game. Battlefield 4 has been plagued by continual issues since it's release, and as of writing this (2-11-2014), most patches are one step forward, two steps back in terms of what they fix. They have literally released patches that suggest you disable SLI for people with two graphics cards because it causes the terrain to enter a seizure-inducing flash (thankfully fixed about a week or two later, but who the heck releases a patch that does that?).

Expect to be killed unfairly. Through walls. Behind solid objects. Expect to be killed without so much as any bullets ever being shown fired in your general vicinity. Expect to be killed repeatedly inside your base if your team is pushed back that far, because the level designers lacked the foresight to make bases defensible. Expect to see a lot of Galil ACE weapons.

If you attempt to stab someone with a knife takedown, say your prayers beforehand because there is no way of knowing if that sniper actually has his back towards you, even though your game client shows him as completely oblivious. People will kill you with their back turned. People will kill you and then show up as having 0 health, even after taking several shotgun blasts to the face and chest. They will walk off like nothing happened.

Do not fly. Ever. If you must fly, use the scout chopper. If you use the scout chopper, do not take off without two engineers to repair you. Be prepared to be made into swiss cheese by the mobile antiaircraft tank sitting in the enemy spawn that no one can engage. Suddenly, active radar missiles. Active radar missiles everywhere. They will find you. They will kill you.

Now this isn't to say that the game hasn't improved. It has, somewhat. But there are still such glaring issues that I still find myself wondering why exactly it is I play it. The graphics look a little better, but who spends their time staring at the walls and simple grass textures? No one. Everyone plays this game to shoot each other, and even that's kind of on thin ice and could go either way with every new patch.

2 stars for it at least launching semi-regularly without crashing.

Update Feb. 14, 2014: They released a patch yesterday, which, among the various bug fixes, includes a line about fixing sound issues for the Team Deathmatch game mode in which you would join a game and not have any sound until the round ended. However, the patch only seems to have changed the nature of the bug, from no sound on join to sound only being available when both teams have under 100 tickets toward their win. After 100 tickets, it plays the game over sound effects and all gunfire and explosions go away. This is essentially how patching works in this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


223 of 303 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless on PC if you value your time, November 1, 2013
Don't spend you money on the PC version yet. Instead visit the EA forums and look at threads 95 pages deep since the launch filled with windows error log dumps. The battlelog errors are very generic (something went wrong) and hundreds of people are clueless as to why the client gracefully (not total crash) leaves the game and shuts down.

Launch day was fine.

Wednesday Thursday and Friday (Today) consisted of about 4 hours of gameplay combined, across 30 games, with only TWO actually finishing. The rest ended in:
- Client freeze with repeating audio
- Server no longer exists (what?)
- Disconnected from server
- Something went wrong

The last 10 games have all been "something went wrong"

My Specs

16GB RAM
Intel i5-3550
MSI 660ti 3GB

I just left a review on the 660ti so you can verify I do own it, since there are paid EA employees leaving comments on reviews claiming we are lying about our specs. I am waiting to post this until I get the email saying the review of my GPU was posted.

Let me tell you, the worst part about 30 games not finishing, hours wasted trying to self-diagnose the issues, and getting the run around with tech support - is that the stats from a match are lost when either the client or the server crash. So I have nothing to show for the last 3 days, not a single unlock. If the progression stuck this wouldn't be half bad, as myself and the other thousands of people complaining on forums will note that you actually can play for a good 20 minutes. Contrast that to call of duty matches and that is a reasonable period of gameplay. In that case who cares about seeing the "Game over" screen - just let us keep our progression and I will gladly rejoin.

And finally, if you want to roll the "Dice" do not buy from Amazon. Because you can at least initiate a chargeback from EA when you realize Oh Crap, this really is terrible.
You don't want to do that with a product purchased from Amazon directly (digital download) because you will most likely be suspended.

PS I'm trying EA support chat a second time as I write this, otherwise tomorrow I am calling bank of america to issue a chargeback because the goods delivered are 100% different than what I tried to purchase (Paid for a game that runs, was provided with a game that does not run).

R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 100 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars could have been great., November 2, 2013
DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, WAIT 2 MONTHS. There are so many bugs, the beta didn't do anything to help and from what i can see this game is months away from being ready, here are some of the problems...

1. Net code-- you will get shot around corners.(even if enemy can see you he will be able to kill you sometimes)

2. Lag-- the game is very laggy and has a lot of rubber banding problems

3. Kill screen glitches out.

4. At least 3 of the maps has audio problems where the audio cuts out for 5-7 seconds, very annoying.

5. Crashes-- every server crashes in this game, 99% of the time the server will crash and you loose all of your point, awards etc.

6. No queue you can not join queue which makes it annoying if you have a favorite server that is currently full at the time that you wish to join.

If they can fix these problems, BF4 will be a fantastic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 133 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Ready for Release - Constant Crashing, Doesn't Start, Sound cuts out, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As you can see in the battlelog forums thousands of people are having problems with this game. Just getting it to start can take 3 attempts. On some maps the sounds cuts out - not just for some people but for all of us (talking on TS). EA DICE have released an unfinished game. All the MP servers randomly restart so you lose any progress too. Once you can get the game to run the game has serious stuttering and latency issues. You can be hit by bullets shot a few seconds before after you run for cover. It's that bad. Extremely disappointing. Lots of issues with "battlefield 4 stopped responding". This game hasn't been tested properly before release and is not suitable for a retail release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 100 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable, constant crashing, they are stealing your money with this game., November 3, 2013
This review is from: Battlefield 4 - PC (Video Game)
This would be a great game if not for all the game ending bugs. These are not small things that happen on certain systems. All the bugs that are being experienced were WELL known by the publisher before release, yet nothing was done to fix them and the game is still sold for $60. This is ridiculous. It is this greed and obvious disdain for their customers that is giving gamers such bad feelings towards the gaming industry. If you can steal this game, I suggest you do it. Don't buy it, EA is stealing your money and giving you a pile of ****.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished, buggy mess., November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't waste your time buying this now as it's completely unplayable. After getting thoroughly frustrated with the constant server and client crashes in multiplayer I gave up thought i'd give the campaign a go. Unfortunately that crashes frequently also so now i'm just going to leave it a few weeks and see if they fix it.

The most infuriating part of all this is that the Beta ran just fine after the first few days. God only knows how they managed to stuff up the final release!

After the debacle with simcity you might have thought EA would learn their lesson but apparently not....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BF4 is to BF3 as L4D2 is to L4D1., November 8, 2013
Let's start by saying...I am definitely no fan of EA and almost did not buy this game because I hate the company so much, however I wanted something new to play and there is has been a major lack of AAA PC shooters over the past few months. The majority of issues people have had and are having with this game come from Nvidia users. The game was promoted with AMD tech and it definitely shows. I have two Gigabyte HD7950's and haven't had any issues minus a few server crashes which are unrelated to my machine. I generally get 60-70 fps with everything on Ultra and AA on low at 1080p.

While I do think it is unfair and have been in the same situation when games say, "Nvidia, the way it's meant to be played", the game is still totally playable using most AMD GPU's and now that it's been out for a week most of the other issues have been resolved, it seems this time around DICE is doing more than they did with BF3 in terms of bug fixing. My friend has a somewhat older Nvidia card (sorry don't know the model because I'm not as familiar with Nvidia) and could barely run the game at launch, now the game runs great for him now. This is why every PC game needs a demo so people can see if it actually runs on their machine.

The biggest issues at launch for me were server-side. It was rare that you would see a server successfully play an entire match and then change maps without crashing. After a couple patches though, servers seem a whole lot better. I've found a few that I rarely have any hiccups with, but the game still suffers from the occasional rubber-banding but it seems to get better with every patch.

I only got to Rank 22 with BF3 and so far I'm at 25 with BF4 and have not yet got sick of the game. BF4 is to BF3 as L4D2 is to L4D1. People like myself were angry about L4D2 coming so soon because I was still enjoying L4D1, but once I saw the improvements they had made I realized it was overall just a better game, same goes for BF3 and BF4.

Really this game is not as bad as Amazon reviews are making it out to be, there were obviously some glaring issues at launch and EA is a horrible company but I've managed to put that aside and enjoy the game for what it is...a glorious technical accomplishment.

Oh and there's a single player campaign that surprisingly isn't that bad.

i7 3770k @ 4.3ghz
16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3
2x Gigabyte HD7950 3gb in crossfire mode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Battlefield 4 - PC
Battlefield 4 - PC by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista)
$19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.