Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game don't bother buying though..
I bought this game launch day and bought Northern Strike Expansion Pack back when Ea Origin was once called EA Link. Sadly, this game is barely alive. There are currently 7 exact servers alive on patch 1.51 (current). The servers are populated with people playing it. I wish EA would make this game free like they did with BF 1942 on Origin. I would help the 2142 become...
Published 8 months ago by L. Drexler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA is ending online support, which will make playing the game impossible.
As per EA's own announcements:
[...]
[...]

The online component to the game is to be shut down at the end of June 30, 2014.
I'm pretty sure the game will not work afterwards since to start playing requires a login.
Buy the game at your own peril.
Published 3 months ago by relaxin


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game don't bother buying though.., December 14, 2013
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
I bought this game launch day and bought Northern Strike Expansion Pack back when Ea Origin was once called EA Link. Sadly, this game is barely alive. There are currently 7 exact servers alive on patch 1.51 (current). The servers are populated with people playing it. I wish EA would make this game free like they did with BF 1942 on Origin. I would help the 2142 become populated again.

This game is great. The classes are solid, loved the field upgrade points, VOIP, Commander mode, POD dropping, TITAN mode, ACTUAL Loading Music, maps having brief lore between PAC and EU, NO BLUE AND ORANGE pics. DICE teased a BF 2143 easter egg in BF3. I thought BF4 was gonna be BF 2143 :(

I would recommend this game, but it only has 7 servers. or wait longer for it to be free (hopefully).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game that does not get enough love, April 5, 2014
By 
TE5LA (Conway, AR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
Having played the pre-release demo of the original Battlefield 1942 game, I can say I've been around PC gaming for some time. I believe BF2142 to be a better game than its current player base would indicate. I operate a dedicated server for the game and although it doesn't get a lot of players, I have bots running so there's always action. The bots in this game are not as brain-dead as in most games. For instance, they will actually respond to your radio calls like if you say "I need a pickup", a nearby bot-driven vehicle might respond with "That ain't gonna' happen!".

The game, being older now, runs great on even low-end systems. I run Windows 7 64-bit and have had no issues with compatibility. The only thing I've noticed, and it's a small inconvenience, is that the first time I try to join a server online, it always says "Disconnected with the server" and you have to join again. The second time, it always connects. Odd thing.

Servers with bots can run only 16 players total, including the bots, but other game modes allow up to 64 players. There are vehicles like buggies, tanks, and helicopters to be operated. There is a game mode called Titan where each team tries to destroy the other's floating space station by capturing missile sites are directly assaulting the Titan by landing on it via aircraft or being launched up to it from a vehicle.

The weaponry is nice and each class has a special ability like healing or supplying ammo. The graphics are really quite good for a game of this age especially if you turn everything up to max. You might want to add a line to your "Target" section in the games launch shortcut to adjust to newer monitors. For instance, if you have a 1080p widescreen monitor, add the following (after a space) to the end of the target line in the shortcut's properties:

+menu 1 +fullscreen 1 +szx 1920 +szy 1080

This will give you full widescreen and native resolution for your monitor.

If you decide to grab this game, look for my dedicated server "Battles With Bots".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun For $0.99, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
Battlefield 2142 uses Gamespy for its multiplayer, whose services will shut down by the end of May 2014 so there's no better time to try this game's multiplayer. Probably why its price went so low? I doubt EA will do anything to update the game so multiplayer can still be played afterward. In any case, there are only a handful of player run servers still available for the game and the graphics hold up well. When loading the game, players are required to log in with their EA account, which is not the same as their Origin account.

Gameplay is pretty fun, and plays like all Battlefield titles. I think the only thing some players will have trouble getting used to is limited sprint, and will need to get accustomed to choosing spawn points in order to get into combat quickly if they haven't played pre-Bad Company Battlefield titles. There's a game adviser while playing, but it didn't really explain much when it came to the game's Titan mode (no the mechs aren't the Titans like Titanfall).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Game use to be great!, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
I use to play this game back in the day for hours. It was really great for it's time.
After playing the newer BF games you will loose interest fast. For one there isn't many servers available to play on anymore. As of 02/13/2014, I only saw about 5 servers available.

I really do hope they make room for a newer version of this game. This game was on sale for $2.99 on Amazon, so I decided to jump on it and give it a go again. Even if I only get a few hours in, it would be worth it.

(there are some tweaks to get the game to run in 1080 / widescreen, just google it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, shining example of the Battlefield series., February 13, 2014
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
This game is absolutely AMAZING! I personally thought it was way ahead of its time. The only negative thing to say about it is that there aren't many servers left to play on. But the game itself is a classic and I'm confident that people will continue to play it, even if only on a handful of servers. I have a feeling it will go free one day like BF1942 did (for a limited time) and that will boost the playerbase again.

REALLY fun game modes like Titan. The mechs are cool. The weapons are cool. Can't say it enough how great the game is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regarding the GameSpy shutdown, April 10, 2014
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
GameSpy was used as an EXTERNAL tool for this game. When GameSpy shuts down, this game will still function normally.

As for my review on this game, I have played over 500 hours on it. It is my favorite Battlefield of them all. It brings back the old style of playing which was not reliant on constant bombardment of achievements. It rewarded team play, and tactical play. The game is fairly balanced. The giant maps give way for vehicle warfare and the smaller maps where excellent for infantry combat. Overall this game has been a fantastic experience for me, and hopefully it will be free so that the player base can grow again. If you are living in the United States one server still plays titan mode with 48 players. It still gets full with old and new players a like. So you wont be missing any action or fun if you were to buy this game. $1.00 is a very good price for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game! Five servers, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
Its a fantastic game, the only problem is the lack of servers. There are more fingers on my hands than total number servers in the game. Met my expectations of being amazing, i just want more servers. I mean whats a game if theres no way to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EA is ending online support, which will make playing the game impossible., May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
As per EA's own announcements:
[...]
[...]

The online component to the game is to be shut down at the end of June 30, 2014.
I'm pretty sure the game will not work afterwards since to start playing requires a login.
Buy the game at your own peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just bought it to find out that online support will be dropped at the end of the next month., May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
Just bought it to find out that online support will be dropped at the end of the next month. June 30th, 2014 -- Online Services Shutdown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no way to download?, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 2142 Deluxe Edition [Instant Access] (Software Download)
I bought this a while ago and I have not been able to figure out how to download the game to actually play it. I downloaded the downloader but it does nothing when clicked on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.