Customer Reviews


2,084 Reviews
5 star:
 (952)
4 star:
 (556)
3 star:
 (287)
2 star:
 (130)
1 star:
 (159)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


296 of 348 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Join the Navy, save the world, get the girl and have a chicken burito!
This film has for only purpose to entertain us and in this aspect it is highly succesful. The main hero is very likeable, the leading girl charming, the display of military hardware impressive, the aliens naughty (and ugly and stupid!), the scenario doesn't make much sense, the CGI effects are EXCELLENT, US Navy is the best, US government is incompetent - in one word,...
Published on April 30, 2012 by Darth Maciek

versus
85 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining film that follows the alien invader formula
I can remember as a younger father playing the Hasbro game with my kids. I also have a vague recollection of playing a version as a kid myself using a pencil and paper but that could be just dead brain cells floating around. Speaking of dead brain cells...with a movie like "Battleship" it is usually a good idea to set the bar low (pick a Michael Bay movie) and just...
Published on May 21, 2012 by M. Oleson


‹ Previous | 1 2209 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

296 of 348 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Join the Navy, save the world, get the girl and have a chicken burito!, April 30, 2012
By 
This review is from: Battleship (DVD)
This film has for only purpose to entertain us and in this aspect it is highly succesful. The main hero is very likeable, the leading girl charming, the display of military hardware impressive, the aliens naughty (and ugly and stupid!), the scenario doesn't make much sense, the CGI effects are EXCELLENT, US Navy is the best, US government is incompetent - in one word, everything is as it should be in a movie made to go nicely with your popcorn on a Friday evening. WARNING! Some SPOILERS incoming at six o'clock!

The main hero, Lt. Alex Hopper (Taylor Kitsch) is a troubled young man who after messing up a lot in his early life finally joined the US Navy and by some extraordinary miracle managed to become an officer in charge of weapons on board of USS "John Paul Jones", a very powerful destroyer of "Arleigh Burke" class. He is however poorly noted by his superiors and is generally considered as a disappointment and a failure. The unexpected alien invasion during a naval exercice will suddenly force him to take command ("Who is in charge now?" "Hopper!" "We are so dead!") and lead his men into a particularly deadly fight against a vicious and resourceful enemy.

Other than his messy life style Alex Hooper has also another "problem" - his gorgeous, sculpturally beautiful girlfriend Samantha (Brooklyn Decker). She loves him, he loves her and they are engaged to be married - but her father hates his guts and for reasons which you will have to discover yourself his agreement to their marriage actually matters...

Other characters are also important: Alex's brother, Stone Hopper (Alexander Skarsgard) who is the older, responsible and organised version of Alex; Vice-Admiral Shane (Liam Neeson), tough, impressive commander in chief of US Pacific Fleet; Japanese Navy Captain Nagata (Tadanobu Asano), commanding the Japanese destroyer "Myoko" and Lt. Colonel (Retired) Mick Canales (Gregory D. Gadson), a bitter US Army veteran who lost his both legs in one of recent American wars.

Rihanna makes her movie debut in this film, as Petty Officer Cora Raikes, a weapon specialist and crew member on board of USS "John Paul Jones", serving under Alex Hopper orders. She has a lot of screen time and she is VERY good! I was very pleasantly surprised by her acting and I am looking forward to see her in more films.

The display of modern weaponry is very impressive. 5-inch guns and 20mm Phalanx CIWS (Close-in Weapon System), "Harpoon" missiles and 324 mm torpedoes of American and Japanese destroyers are used generously and they give a great show. And once the old battleship USS "Missouri" enters in action with her 16-inch big guns, things get even better!

The aliens are very very agressive and naughty - although to be fair, they seem to avoid the colateral damage as much as possible, by sparing the obviously harmless oponents. They also try to rescue their own soldiers taken prisoner, which is something not so frequent in SF films. Other than that they are the "standard issue" aliens: ugly, hostile, technologically advanced in some fields but limited in others (they do not seem to grasp fully the concept of guided weapons) and last but not least abysmally, galactically, terminally stupid! BUT, in this film it actually is an asset, because it allows USS "Missouri" to engage the alien flagship in a way which reminds of the bloody and dramatic fight between HMS "Victory" and "Redoutable" at Trafalgar...

The scenario doesn't make much sense as for the reasons for this invasion which seems ultimately to be just a reconnaissance. The reason for the attack on Oahu island and the whole battle around it are even more ludicrous - as for the whole "saving the world" thing, let's just throw a veil of silence on it... A civilization able to send a scouting military expedition of five ships through interstellar space, can always send a second one, stronger and better prepared. So, there is a possibility of a sequel.

The CGI effects are really EXCELLENT! Alien ships and weapons are very well done, fights are very "realistic" and visually the film is a big success.

All fighting men and women of US forces (and the one lonely Japanese guy) are shown as heroes fighting to the end at the best of their capacities, engaging enemy with missiles first, handguns second and iron bars and bare fists after that, if necessary. In contrast, the US government is (of course!) completely incompetent, which is only normal, considering that it is chaired by a Secretary of Defense played by Peter MacNicol (yes, you read well!).

So, all in all, it is a rather succesful, quite entertaining film, with lots of good special effects, lots of good fights, two well playing hot chicks (Brooklyn Decker and Rihanna), some handsome men, a very stupid scenario, quite a lot of humour, at least one very touching moment and one very VERY dearly paid chicken burito...))) I had lots of fun watching it, although I am aware of its weaknesses - and I think that if all you need is some harmless entertainment, you will like it too. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battleship......., August 28, 2012
By 
blackaciddevil (in the USA somewhere.....) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battleship (DVD)
I don't get where reviewers online are saying this movie is too loud, too predictable and generally uninspired. Not only that but they compare it to Michael Bay's Transformers film and they also say that it has absolutely nothing to do with the actual board game. Okay. How else could they have made this movie without treading ground that's already been covered? Personally, I think that Peter Berg did an excellent job with this film. Visually, I think Berg's film is a step above Bay's Transformers.

Battleship, itself, is about an international naval battleship that is Earth's last hope against a hostile alien force at sea.

Steven James Snyder of Time Magazine described the movie as "an unlikely mix of Independence Day, Pearl Harbor, Jurassic Park and The Hunt for Red October"..which, to me, is the most accurate description of this movie. That mix works for this movie.

To me, Battleship was one of the better movies out there this summer, despite what everyone else has to say about it. I'll admit, there may have been better summer movies but, as far as sci-fi goes, Battleship was a great movie. I really enjoyed it! Hopefully, it will have a better life now that it's on DVD & Blu-ray. Give it a look, you won't be disappointed. I assure you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHO'S NEXT IN CHARGE?, April 21, 2012
The film starts with a NASA announcement that they are sending signals to a nearby "Goldilocks" planet to see if there is any life. We then switch to a bar scene where Alex (Taylor Kitsch) is "celebrating" his birthday with his naval officer brother Stone (Alexander Skarsgård). He sees a young lady at the bar attempting to score a chicken burrito...which leads us to some comical events and then the opening credits.

After the credits, the film jumps some undisclosed years ahead. Alex is a full lieutenant in the navy on a ship (normally takes 8-10 years to rise that high). The girl, Samantha (Brooklyn Decker) happens to be the daughter of the Fleet Admiral (Liam Neeson). They want to get married. The admiral loathes Alex because he is a gross underachiever. Everything is fun and games until...the subplots come together. At this point we can write the rest of the script. The alien ships were akin to transformers.

I must apologize, but I enjoyed the film. The inane plot continuity issues and science was Asylum grade from beginning to end. I could be here all day writing about how absurd things were. But unlike an Asylum film, they didn't cheat us on a soundtrack which ranged from Henry Mancini to AC/DC. We had quality actors playing likable characters with some decent lines. And no one can beat WWII vets during an AC/DC music montage.

Think of the movie as "Independence Day" light with cheese. Good fun, good action, break out the popcorn and park your brain at the door.

No sex, no nudity, near F-bombs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining film that follows the alien invader formula, May 21, 2012
By 
I can remember as a younger father playing the Hasbro game with my kids. I also have a vague recollection of playing a version as a kid myself using a pencil and paper but that could be just dead brain cells floating around. Speaking of dead brain cells...with a movie like "Battleship" it is usually a good idea to set the bar low (pick a Michael Bay movie) and just relax. For me, I use the second "Transformers" movie "Revenge of the Fallen" as my standard.

Here we have some early scenes that actually aren't bad and begin to flesh out the characters. The focus is on bad boy, Alex Hopper (Taylor Kitsch) who somehow becomes a U. S. Navy officer at the insistence of his big brother, Stone (Alexander Skarsgard) who already is a Commander. Unless memory again fades, having been in the Navy myself it is unlikely that they would accept a drunken felon into their officer corps (i.e. Alex) but maybe things have changed.

While this is a minor nit not worth picking, there are so many other flawed aspects of the film, it can't be taken seriously. The good news is that the movie is wildly, if absurdly, entertaining. It is decently constructed with a beginning, middle and an end. The movie is extremely loud at times, especially when the alien visitors take offense at being threatened and launch their razor sharp ball bearing thingies. I mean, the Earthlings did invite them, right? All is well that ends well, especially when you have the mothballed (yet battle ready!) U.S.S. Missouri easily launched with a skeleton crew (pun intended).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battleship (Amazon Instant Video)
Great old fashioned fun movie. Good music, great characters. The use of old timers and WWII Battleship was just fun.
we need more movies like this one. Acting was excellent as were special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, September 3, 2012
It's the hackneyed formula plot of humankind being knocked on our butts by aliens or monsters, picking ourselves up off the mat and whipping butt. See "Independence Day" et al. This plot goes back far enough and has been employed frequently enough that it earned a brilliant parody in "Mars Attacks."

But forget that (except for the reprise of the Jim Brown fight scene - parodying the parody!). Overlook that the acting makes Keanu Reeves seem like Sir Laurence Olivier. This works, if only as a guilty pleasure.

It's got more plot clichés than Jennifer Aniston has had heartbreaks, but it still gets your adrenaline going, partly due to a decent soundtrack. If you're down from watching one government screw-up after another, strap it on and watch your navy kick some serious alien tail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I think Liam Neeson owed someone a favor, or lost a bet, September 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battleship (Amazon Instant Video)
I know this review is going to get hounded, but if it saves even one person from losing 2 hours of their precious existence that they'll never get back, then I can still walk this Earth with dignity.
It really is that bad, and I have a high threshold for pain when it comes to bad movies. I love science fiction and fantasy pieces, so my ability to suspend reality and enjoy: a less than average, low-budget, lone-hero saves the galaxy, all medieval maidens are beautiful, barbarians with 80's hairstyles cinematic turds is highly developed. Take some Immodium and pinch this one off as fast as you can if you find yourself unable to pass it up.
The acting is so forced and that's simply unforgivable for the likes of Neeson and Skaarsgard. They have both been in great projects that were the kryptonite to this one.
The special effects are one of two redeeming qualities, and I suspect this is where the majority of the budget was thrown.
The story and character development was rushed even with an extra half-hour of filming (compared to standard 90 minute film). And then some scenes (e.g. the soccer game) were painfully overextended making you wonder what was so important about it, other than face-time for particular actors and actresses (Rihanna operating Fire Control).
The other redeeming quality is that this movie definitely pays homage to our veterans who served in Pearl Harbor and does it well. I refuse to post spoilers for those of you who are not convinced to give this film a 'wide berth' based on such a fanatical review. Hell, I usually avoid reviews like this one and am still tempted to take it down. It really is a train wreck ladies and gentlemen. Probably makes a great gag gift for the company party though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally....another alien invasion movie...keep them comming.., August 27, 2012
This review is from: Battleship (DVD)
The movie started with some intensity...and then we lose a bit of time for the
film to introduce you to all involved...and then the action starts and does'nt
let you go till the end like any good movie would. I did enjoy this movie...dont
look too hard and you might also enjoy it.
If you like alien invasion films...classic or new...you should enjoy this one
also.
A keeper ...saw it on my computer...and now will purchase the Blue Ray ...of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incompetence all around, September 3, 2013
By 
This review is from: Battleship (DVD)
Warning - Spoilers will follow

The movie starts off with a decent enough premise - a bunch of common sense lacking eggheads sending out a message to a planet with the potential for intelligent life, without stopping to consider the consequences.

We then switch to a completely useless scene where we meet our hero, a loser attempting to steal a chicken burrito from a convenience store. Said loser is then forced to enlist in the Navy by his older brother (who would have made for a better lead) and, miraculously, is an officer in the chain of command next we see him. (To be an officer, he would have had to go through the Naval Academy, or, having enlisted, gone through Officer Training School.) He then goes through the rest of the movie trying to channel is inner Kirk.

The aliens are little better. They manage to fly light years to Earth, and then have their communications ship get destroyed when hitting a satellite on their final approach. So their goal is to re-establish communications with their home world, but we do not learn this right away. First, we are left guessing at what motivates the invaders. After all, they only fire upon ships that first fired upon them. (But then they we learn that they somehow cannot "see" the ships that are not actually firing upon them - which of course is all lead up to the scene in which they are actually "playing" Battleship with the aliens by anticipating blind shots and calling out "hit" or "miss".) We find out that the conflict is not a simple misunderstanding when the main character has some sort of mind meld with an alien they just happen to find floating in the sea. He sees a vision of them conducting an all out invasion, when he looks into the aliens lizard like eyes (which is how we learn they don't like bright light, but still gives no insight as to why they cannot "see" anything not presenting an immediate threat).

Back to their goal of getting communications established with their home world. Why is this such a concern for either side? Obviously, the aliens already know where the Earth is. Are they not able to send more ships without the advance scouts (if that's what they are) reporting back first? And why do the main characters think that the threat is ended if the aliens cannot transfer their message? It's not like this was a random encounter. They followed the instructions given them in the beginning of the movie. Given such a situation, you cannot assume that following waves are not forthcoming.

In the end, though it has some interesting action sequences, this movie requires a much greater suspension of disbelief than virtually all big budget alien invasion movies that have come before it. Any alien invasion movie that doesn't have the enemy simply bombard the planet from space requires suspension of disbelief, but this one simply has too many elements that are just not well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, so very very funny, September 16, 2014
I recognize that this movie attracted scathing critical disregard, but I've watched it twice and I'm absolutely convinced it's both hilarious and brilliant. Yes, the "bookends" with Taylor Kitsch and the burrito were slow and pointless. Get past those. Heck, this is a DVD, just skip to the next chapter, you will miss nothing. The chemistry between Kitsch and Tadanobu Asano was great. The mounting insanity of the plot, culminating the involvement of the "Mighty Mo" was hilarious. The tactical maneuver that gives Kitsch victory in the last battle on the basis of his misunderstanding of "The Art of War" could have appeared in any Looney Tunes cartoon. The effects feel real, the enemies are menacing and yet portrayed with intelligence. For those who say that PG-13 is the death of the action movie, I counter "see Battleship."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2209 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Battleship
Battleship by Peter Berg
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.