Customer Reviews


664 Reviews
5 star:
 (303)
4 star:
 (141)
3 star:
 (98)
2 star:
 (69)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


787 of 917 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just watched the first 5 minutes. Amazing! But a series will never happen.
I feel your pain my friends but the only way this could've become a series is if it were sold to TNT or perhaps AMC! They are the only channels showing anything bold or even remotely considered sci-fi. That would be a show called "Falling Skies", the single closest thing to sci-fi on American television. Shame.

The actual SYFY channel has completely abandoned...
Published 20 months ago by Borat's Bad Brother

versus
54 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Variable CGI, a bad script and indifferent performances make this a hard slog
It is the tenth year of the Cylon War. The Colonial Fleet is gradually being worn down by their former slaves turned enemies, the Cylons. Bill Adama, a newly-graduated pilot assigned to the battlestar Galactica, takes part in what should be a simple escort mission but turns into a major operation which could have important ramifications for the entire war...
Published 17 months ago by A. Whitehead


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

787 of 917 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just watched the first 5 minutes. Amazing! But a series will never happen., November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
I feel your pain my friends but the only way this could've become a series is if it were sold to TNT or perhaps AMC! They are the only channels showing anything bold or even remotely considered sci-fi. That would be a show called "Falling Skies", the single closest thing to sci-fi on American television. Shame.

The actual SYFY channel has completely abandoned all things science fiction. A few years ago MGM was taken over by new management and they immediately decided to cancel the following: SG:A, SG:U, the new SG-1 movie (SG: Revolution), and the new SG:A movie (SGA: Extinction).

As long as this current bunch of skin-jobs is in charge we will never get real sci-fi. Instead we get a steady diet of rediculous monster movies with horrible acting and direction. We get fed one ghost hunting show after another. We're up to 5 of those shows now right? Oh and my personal favorite - wresting. Wrestling? What the fraaaaak? I just cant wait to see steroid injected men all greased up in baby oil throwing eachother around for a buck. Yup. That qualifies as sci-fi now folks.

Unfortunately for us "real fans", we will never see a full blown BSG: B&C series. Not while those circle jerkers are in charge...!

...............UPDATE (3-20-13).................
I finally got a chance to watch this pilot/movie for the first time and mow im pipping mad! I cant believe America has given up on all things science fiction and let this one go. BSG:B&C is nothing short of spectacular. The story is compelling, with a bit of a callback to G. Baltar of the origanal series. They really know how to perfectly cast the BSG universe with the makers recasting many BSG/Caprica alumni. Us real fans will identify them immediatly. The new faces are top picks as well including the guy playing young (and dumb) Adama.

The picture quality is brutally sharp and crisp on Blu-ray disc. The audio is big and precise, as I expected, especially for those of us with surround sound systems (Definitive Technology 8.2).

The CG effects for Blood & Chrome are only rivaled in the movies! A small gripe for us computer animators - we'll instantly notice the underdeveloped dynamics programing and very quick decay rates on those effects but other than that it's all top grade stuff. I understand that the action-packed nature of the pilot/movie is to give the viewers a glimps of the kind of quality and intensity the show has to offer with following episodes. To bad that's not going to happen.

I will forever be se stunned at how something this amazing will never get off the ground. We have screwed ourselves out of truly brilliant story telling. Again. I was hoping for Bryan Singer's BSG movie to get going but I suspect after he sees this he might give up on it. Blood & Chrome is just that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Backstory : Bill Adama & the First Cylon War, December 23, 2012
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
The Time: The first Cylon War. The Place: Battlestar Galactica. Ensin Bill Adama is a young man right out of Viper Training, and sent on his first mission. Of course its top secret, and of course the fate of the war hangs on it, and of course he fracks a beautiful woman. Altho you can watch it bit by bit on line, it'll be far more fun to own the DVD, since the extra scenes often made Battlestar Galactica DVDs far more interesting, and complete. Also producer/developer/writer Ron's video commentary could be used for a college class in creative writing, since he's always revealing more than just dropped scenes and insider banter, but insights into his creative process. As for the film itself, its impressive. The computer graphics are along the line of PROMETHEUS. THe camerawork include a lot of bright lights shining into the lense, for realistic atmosphere, as well as outrageous futuristic technology. From the first moments of a viper battle, thru the latest technology inside the Battlestar, the residue of Battlestars in a battlefield in space, right up to the creepiest cylon creature yet, the film is a visual feast. But I deducted a star because as fun as this movie is, its far more eye candy orienated, than anything from the 2000 Battlestar series. BLOOD AND CHROME is a film with chills and thrills, but lacking the dramatic interplay, and philosophical overtones . This film contained three characters, with a couple of other people giving a few lines. Since no one believes that SYFY will pick up the option to turn this into a series, its hard to tell if "BLOOD AND CHROME" might have developed more character orienated scripts during season one. I've watched the film twice now, and BLOOD AND CHROME lacks the sophistication of Battlestar Galactica. Its that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frakking awesome!, November 10, 2012
I'm ordering this already based just on the first two web episodes that just came out. Everything is just so... Galactica... the young Adama is perfect, the look, the music, the effects, the story so far....frakking loving it! My biggest hope is this does so well they do a new series. Please Mr. SyFy channel - make this into a full series now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Variable CGI, a bad script and indifferent performances make this a hard slog, February 2, 2013
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is the tenth year of the Cylon War. The Colonial Fleet is gradually being worn down by their former slaves turned enemies, the Cylons. Bill Adama, a newly-graduated pilot assigned to the battlestar Galactica, takes part in what should be a simple escort mission but turns into a major operation which could have important ramifications for the entire war.

Blood and Chrome started life as a proposed full spin-off series of the new(er) Battlestar Galactica. The first spin-off, Caprica, had been a failure and was cancelled after one season. Popular opinion has it that the show was too talky, too cerebral and simply too dull, having moved away from the dogfights and political infighting that made the original series so compelling. For this second spin-off, the proposal was to make a balls-to-the-wall action show, a Top Gun in space with Vipers and Cylons. Setting the show during the First Cylon War would also allow the show to resolve some storylines from Caprica - which took place about sixteen years earlier - and foreshadow some of the events of BSG itself (which starts about forty-two years later).

In the event, it never happened. Blood and Chrome - the proposed pilot episode of the spin-off - was not picked up and, unless the imminent DVD/Blu-Ray release sells like gangbusters, will not be in the future. As it stands, it is left behind as a curiosity and, it has to be said, not a particularly compelling one.

Blood and Chrome was not filmed in the traditional manner. With the existing (massive and expensive-to-maintain) Galactica sets all destroyed at the end of filming, the producers were forced to rely on greenscreens and digital scans to reproduce the original sets. In fact, they were able to adjust the sets to reflect the fact that it's forty years earlier, with less-advanced technology available. The same 'bones' of the original structures are there, but the detailing is different. This works quite well, giving the sense that this is the same ship at a different point in its lifespan. The quality of the greenscreen sets is rather variable, with most of them falling into the 'somewhat fake but you don't notice after a while' category. Some of them are pretty good: the CIC set is surprisingly well-done, though the fact that it's quite a dark set helps. On the other hand, scenes on the ice planet and inside the abandoned facility there are blatantly fake. There's also rather too much lens flare going on in the CGI scenes, which gets distracting after a while.

Other CGI is reasonable, though the decision was made to use very fast cuts. This meant both an insane number of CGI shots (this 120-minute TV movie has more than 1,800 shots, compared to 1,488 for the three-and-a-half hour cinematic film The Return of the King) and almost no time to appreciate them. Whilst the original show was guilty of fast-paced cutting at times which made it difficult to follow what was going on, Blood and Chrome takes this to a new level. The confrontation between the Colonial heavy cruiser Osiris and a Cylon basestar should be a tense, epic moment, but instead turns into a confusing melee of badly-cut CGI shots and explosions. Given that Blood and Chrome has resources available to it that Ronald Moore and his team would have killed to have on the original BSG pilot a decade ago, it's a shame to see them wasted in such a fashion.

That leaves the writing and acting to back up the effects and, unfortunately, neither are very accomplished. There's some attempts at characterisation which should be a lot stronger than it is, since the show really only has to focus on Adama, his co-pilot Coker and their civilian passenger Becca for most of its length. Instead it's all a bit half-hearted and actors Luke Pasqualino, Ben Cotton and Lili Bordan seem uninspired by the material, which is cliched and trite. A few attempts to lampshade the macho pilot genre of action films and series fall flat (as the show immediately employs many of those tropes with no sense of irony or intelligence). Later in the movie there is an attempt to discuss the rights and wrongs of the war and its immense bodycount, but it's all rather tepid compared to the issues that the original BSG raised on a regular basis. There's also a cameo appearance by a BSG regular which helps place the TV movie a bit better in the timeline, but even this misfires as it causes confusion with the flashback scenes in the BSG TV movie Razor, which supposedly happens two years after Blood and Chrome.

What we are left with, then, is a confusing morass of explosions, a ton of CGI (some impressive, most not), some cliched writing and indifferent performances, with occasional bursts of effort. What Blood and Chrome does prove, conclusively, is that BSG is at its heart about compelling characters, ethical conflicts and difficult-to-answer questions. Removing the ambiguity in favour of explosions and space dogfights clearly does not work. However, given that in a few years (when technology has improved a bit more) a lot more shows may be made this way, it's certainly worth watching as a hint of the future of TV production.

Blood and Chrome (**˝) will be available on 19 February.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as BSG, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not nearly as engrossing as BSG. The writing, the acting, and the character development are all lacking. Entertaining? sure, but not even close to the depth of BSG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steve's Review, April 3, 2013
By 
Steven Epley (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
To be honest I was really disappointed and not by the story itself which is really good. It was too short and left too much out, it didn't even cover the climactic battle with the Cylons that it was building towards. The intent was good but the follow through was really weak. I recommend this as a rental or streaming but not to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Another Action Movie, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What made BSG special was the element of realism. Sure, it was sci-fi. It was action. But the people felt real. The reacted like real people might. Blood & Chrome was just a cliche movie with cliche scenes and lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There wasn't much more on the movie than there was on youtube., February 23, 2013
By 
John H Stover III (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not enough cyclons and I couldn't identify with the characters. It was a boring prequel. No more back story than we already knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was VERY DISAPPOINTED, November 30, 2013
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
As a prequel to BSG, the plot had merit, but the way it was carried out left a bit to be desired.

One thing I can't stand in a story is a "stupid hero". I thought the character of young Bill Adama was a much too cocky know-it-all, for someone fresh out of an academy, entering a war that's been ongoing for 10 years. He also had a seemed to lack an appreciation for the people who had been fighting it. The writers should've done some research here, because in real life, youngsters like that are put in their place VERY quickly by the more experienced veterans. I found it very hard to like him.

He did some smart things, beyond what one would expect of a rookie pilot (unrealistic), but he also acted inexplicably stupid at times, which I also found unrealistic. I also found bossing around his co-pilot, who was senior to him in rank and experience, was also a bit of a stretch. As I said, the plot had merit, but if Adama was portrayed differently, it might have been a better story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad, November 10, 2013
By 
R. N. Beasley "rnb65" (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was just plain bad. That story was poorly written and totally predictable. The acting was terrible. There was no resemblance whatsoever to the realistically gritty look and feel of the BSG series and previous spin-off movies. The special effects were over the top to the point of looking more like a video game than a movie. They trotted out every scifi and action adventure cliche they could come up with. Even the garbage compactor monster from Star Wars had a cameo role. Just unbelievably bad and did nothing to contribute anything meaningful to the reimagined BSG universe. I love the BSG series and really wish I could find something positive to say about BSG: B&C, but there is none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome (Unrated Edition)
$14.98 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.