Customer Reviews


734 Reviews
5 star:
 (491)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2,025 of 2,065 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused about What to Get? Here Are Some Answers
I bought all of the seasons separately as they first came out, and I highly recommend watching the entire television series through to the end. The five stars are for the series, NOT for the atrocious marketing.

While looking for the last piece of the series (see the end of the review), I came across some great deals (in terms of price), but was dismayed to see...
Published on August 2, 2010 by Christopher Mayo

versus
473 of 558 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't get past the terrible packaging...
What was Universal thinking...

The blu-rays may be alright, but I've never seen something that costs so much money packaged so badly. You get this big ungainly box that won't fit on most shelves, but I'm thinking "hey, I'll just take the individual season boxes out and store the big outsized box. But then you discover that you get the dvd's in these cheap...
Published on August 5, 2009 by Iona Sun


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2,025 of 2,065 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused about What to Get? Here Are Some Answers, August 2, 2010
I bought all of the seasons separately as they first came out, and I highly recommend watching the entire television series through to the end. The five stars are for the series, NOT for the atrocious marketing.

While looking for the last piece of the series (see the end of the review), I came across some great deals (in terms of price), but was dismayed to see just how confusing things have become on Amazon. This review below is meant to help you wade through the mess in the marketplace, purchase the series, and enjoy it. I originally posted it for the combined Seasons 4.0 and 4.5 set, but someone kindly suggested I post it elsewhere as well. I hope you find it helpful.

DVD CONFUSION
-------------------------------------------------------
The show is incredible. However, the whole DVD thing has been a disaster. They released it in the worst way possible (see below), Amazon compounded the problem by lumping together reviews for DIFFERENT PRODUCTS, and the DVD manufacturers seem to be changing the contents of some products. I cannot imagine how someone who is not deeply familiar with it is supposed to purchase this wonderful show. Certainly, they would hesitate to give it as a gift! Let's hope this solves your problem.

In one sentence, I can say that here is what you want to get: Seasons 1, 2.0, 2.5, 3, 4.0, 4.5, and The Plan. I have links to them below. If you get these, then you will be sure to have it all.

========================================

-Season One was released as (Battlestar Galactica - Season One) altogether with the pilot in one box.
-Season Two was released as Battlestar Galactica - Season 2.0 (Episodes 1-10) and Battlestar Galactica: Season 2.5 (Episodes 11-20) in two boxes. You can now purchase them together as Battlestar Galactica (2004): Seasons 2.0 & 2.5
-Season Three was released together in one box as Battlestar Galactica - Season Three.
-Season Four was released as Battlestar Galactica - Season 4.0 and Battlestar Galactica: Season 4.5 with the Razor episode. Those are now available together as Battlestar Galactica (2004): Season 4.0 & 4.5. Occasionally I come across things like "Battlestar Galactica: Season 4.5 - Limited Edition Gift Set (2009)." It seems like a lot of money for one part of the full season, but you get some dog tags with it, so if you are into collecting memorabilia, you might want to consider it.
-The Plan was released on its own as Battlestar Galactica: The Plan

========================================

OPTIONS FOR PURCHASING THEM ALL TOGETHER: BAD TO GOOD
-------------------------------------------------------
-Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series (with COLLECTIBLE CYLON). Not recommended. I do not own this, but according to the reviews, it is packaged poorly WITHOUT AN EPISODE LIST. That seems like a horrible idea for four seasons of a tv show. Apparently, it contains the same DVDs as the ones sold separately (explained above).
-Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series (the one in the GRAY BOX). Recommended. I do not own this. Good reviews of it so far. Packaging problems were fixed.
-Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series (with COLLECTIBLE CYLON) [BLU-RAY] or the gray box [BLU-RAY] set. Recommended. I do not own this. Seems to include some extras, but not significant. It also has an episode list, according to the reviews. It might be worth buying if you wanted to get everything together.

BOTTOM LINE:
-------------------------------------------------------
As far as I can tell from the reviews, I think there are two choices:
(1) Buy either Blu-Ray set or the DVD set in the gray box.
(2) Purchase everything separately (make sure to get all of the stuff mentioned above).

NOTE:
-------------------------------------------------------
-The "Face of the Enemy" webisodes (episodes shown only online) have not been made available for purchase in any of the sets as far as I can tell. What a shame!
-Also, if anyone sees any mistakes in this review, please tell me and I will edit it. Frustratingly, the manufacturers seem to be changing the contents of some sets, so it is possible that my information has become outdated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


306 of 314 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series- Silver box set, July 20, 2010
By 
Rebecca Bonebrake (New Harmony, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First of all for those who haven't noticed the reviews that are here are for two different box sets. One set is a large silver box and the other is black and comes with a collectible cylon. This review is for the silver box set. This box set includes all of the episodes from the series and also the miniseries. It also contains Razor and The plan. The Plan is sometimes missed because it is in the same case as disk 4 of season 4. On the outside of the case there is no mention of it at all but it is there. I didn't even know it was there until I opened the case to watch disk 4. Each disk also has lots of deleted scenes, commentary, and other special behind the scenes features. This is a great series and box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


210 of 240 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional boxed set with seasons one thru four deserving between 4 to 5 stars; packaging bit more problematic for Blu-ray/DVD, July 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE BLU-RAY BOXED SET.

Seasons 1-4 deserve anywhere from 5 to 4 stars depending on the season. The extras deserve 4 stars while the packaging deserves 2 for the bigger box 1 for the cardboard sleeves.

Edit: FYI, this includes the mini-series in addition to ALL the seasons of "BG", "Razor" is included but "Caprica" and "Face of the Enemy" webisodes are not.

During its four season run "Battlestar Galatica" produced some of the best episodes for ANY television series whether it be a mainstream drama or science fiction. While some fans of the series were disappointed with the conclusion quite a bit was hinted at in previous episodes and it doesn't detract from the quality of the previous ones. The image quality varies from exceptionally good to fair but the show retains the "look" the producers wanted; some shots are meant to be not only extremely grainy but also a bit soft so you'll forgive the studio and makers for going with their artistic vision. Either way the image looks terrific but don't expect this to look like a smooth high def show designed to look slick. Detail is sharper regardless of the "look" of the show.

Audio sounds terrific throughout with an active 5.1 lossless soundtrack that highlights the level of detail that went into preparing the show.

The extras for seasons one through three are more or less the same as on the original DVDs the only new extra (aside from the new extras for season four which I'll address in a minute)to this set is the BD-Live "Battlestar Galatica Card Game". So far there isn't anything else on BD-Live (as of the release date) available but I'd also note that the season one Blu-ray and DVD as part of this boxed set includes the deleted scenes from the first season something missing if I recall correctly from the DVD (I sold mine to upgrade to the Blu-ray so can't look at it).

It appears as if most of the extras are exactly like like the previous sets with one exception the deleted scenes for the first season. I'm going to focus on the extras for the fourth season because most of the special features are ported over from the previous DVD boxed sets. We get extended episodes for "A Disquiet Follows My Soul", "Islands in a Stream of Stars" and "Daybreak" as well as 13 commentary tracks, David Eick's Video Diaries and deleted scenes for the fourth season set.There's also pip's that allow you to watch behind-the-scenes stuff while watching the show as well as an explanation of some of the jargon used by the characters on the show.

The packaging is a bit more problematic. While the big box is sturdy enough and looks extremely nice, the smaller boxes that hold each season set holds the discs in cardboard sleeves. It will increase the chance that these could get scratched and I am disappointed that Universal didn't design this set for a more traditional DVD or Blu-ray holder. The good news is that each season comes in its own compact box and they will stand up with other Blu-ray and DVDs on the shelf. I personally think it is nicer in concept than execution and wish it was designed similar to the UK boxed set coming in September but that's me.

Let's not forget the toy Cylon that's on the top of the cardboard boxed set it looks kind of cool but I haven't opened it to examine yet.

In conclusion there's good and bad with this set with the good outweighing the bad. "BG" receives a handsome looking Blu-ray transfer with great sound and some terrific extras. A terrific series where Gaius Balter redeems himself and Cavil proves to be everything we believed him to be from the first introduction of his character.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Collection Buy it, July 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have the "newer" box set (you know, the one in the picture), and as others have pointed out the packaging is no longer a concern. So now that that's out of the way, how does the set actually hold up? Very well actually, and at times admirably.

BSG was never a bright and shiny show. Visually speaking it's cinematography was every bit as dark as many of the themes the show explored. This works to great effect in keeping with the tone of the narrative itself. The only problem, if you consider it such, is that this style of photography doesn't necessarily lend itself to high defnition video. Don't get the wrong idea, BSG looks gorgeous on Blu, and at this point I refuse to watch it on any other format. Just keep in mind that the artistic goals of the shows creators was not to present the most clear and crisp visual presentation available, and you'll be happy.

What these vagaries mean in real world terms is that video quality will range from jaw droppingly-crisp to painfully muddled. This variance is visible from season to season, episode to episode, and even from scene to scene in any given episode. Is this a bad thing? Hardly. I've watched all of the broadcast episodes, most in HD, and all of the dvds(by the way the season one dvds look phenomenal), and there is a noticeable up tick in clarity on every single episode. In short this is the best version of BSG that you will ever see, it looks the way it is intended to look ... period.

If you're familiar with Universal's "U-control" interface, then you know what you're getting with this set. I'm not a big fan of U-control, but the layout of the menus is very clean, easy to navigate and understand, and minimalist. If you pause a disc a Universal screen saver will appear on screen, which is actually a nice touch, although as is the case with all java-enabled blu ray discs stopping playback means you will have to search for your resume point (java people get on this already, very annoying).

This set includes all of the same bonus features as the DVD box sets. That said, some of the commentaries leave something to be desired. I was never a fan of the podcast commentaries while the show was on the air. I've always felt that they lacked, some more than others, the kind of in depth analysis that commentaries recorded after the on-air run of a show possess. Still, there is more good here than bad, but it would've been nice to see some new commentaries recorded specifically for the full series set. Who knows, with BD-live functionality maybe someone will finally put it to good use and we'll see some new commentary tracks down the road.

All in all this set is going to be tough to beat. It has every single episode accurately presented in HD, many special features that will occupy days (weeks?) of your life if you so choose, and it all comes in a sensible easy-to-store box that doesn't look garish and won't damage your discs. I waited for a long time to pick up this box set, and I'm even more pleased with it than I anticipated. This is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


353 of 411 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as I expected..., July 28, 2009
By 
K. Kanitz (Upper Midwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The complete series box set is a *big* box, not something that will fit easily on a shelf. The box is quite sturdy, with each season's discs packaged in their own sleeve (four in all). These sleeves are cardboard with flip up covers; inside, the discs are nested in a folded cardboard separator.

Some have claimed that this set would include the movie "Caprica", but it is *not* included. The 25 DVDs in this set are the same DVDs available in the 6 season sets (1, 2.0, 2.5, 3, 4.0, 4.5).

The series was produced in HD, which means a wide-screen presentation; however, it was deliberately shot with a grainy look to give it a 'gritty' film quality.

Why get this collection instead of the six season sets? You get a neat Cylon Centurion figurine (and it's good sized!), but no booklet, a huge box, and inferior internal packaging. I bought the series this way mainly because it was (slightly) cheaper than purchasing the six season sets individually; nevertheless, I'm experiencing a bit of buyer's remorse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here's an Episode List, May 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This boxed set has been rightly disparaged for the complete lack of an episode list. For your convenience here it is. This is for the blu-ray version, I have no idea if the dvd's are the same.

S1 D1
The Miniseries

S1 D2
33
Water
Bastille Day
Act of Contrition
You Can't Go Home Again

S1 D3
Litmus
Six Degrees of Separation
Flesh and Bone
Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down
The Hand of God

S1 D4
Colonial Day
Kobol's Last Gleaming 1 & 2

S2 D1
Scattered
Valley of Darkness
Fragged
Resistance
The Farm

S2 D2
Home 1 & 2
Final Cut
Flight of the Phoenix
Pegasus

S2 D3
Pegasus (extended cut)
Resurrection Ship 1 & 2
Epiphanies

S2 D4
Black Market
Scar
Sacrifice
The Captain's Hand

S2 D5
Downloaded
Lay Down Your Burdens 1 & 2

S3 D1
Occupation
Precipice
Exodus 1 & 2
Collaborators

S3 D2
Torn
A Measure of Salvation
Hero
Unfinished Business

S3 D3
Unfinished Business (extended cut)
The Passage
The Eye of Jupiter
Rapture

S3 D4
Taking a Break From All Your Worries
The Woman King
A Day in the Life
Maelstrom

S3 D5
The Son Also Rises
Crossroads 1 & 2

S4.0 D1
He That Believeth in Me
Six of One
The Ties That Bind
Escape Velocity
The Road Less Traveled

S4.0 D2
Faith
Guess Who's Coming to Dinner
Sine Qua Non
The Hub
Revelation

S4.5 D1
Sometimes a Great Notion
A Disquiet Follows My Soul
A Disquiet Follows My Soul (extended cut)
The Oath
Blood on the Scales

S4.5 D2
No Exit
Deadlock
Someone to Watch Over Me
Islanded in a Sea of Stars
Islanded in a Sea of Stars (extended cut)

S4.5 D3
Daybreak 1, 2 & 3
Daybreak (extended cut)

And, on a disc by itself, the movie "Razor"

You're welcome :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


473 of 558 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't get past the terrible packaging..., August 5, 2009
By 
Iona Sun (Detroit, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
What was Universal thinking...

The blu-rays may be alright, but I've never seen something that costs so much money packaged so badly. You get this big ungainly box that won't fit on most shelves, but I'm thinking "hey, I'll just take the individual season boxes out and store the big outsized box. But then you discover that you get the dvd's in these cheap cardboard boxes that are in loose sleeves... and there's no booklet of any kind with it. I could live without the booklet except THERE'S NO EPISODE LIST. ANYWHERE! What if you want to watch a particular episode. You'll have to remember or guess what disc it's on... for all four seasons. And there's no list of extras, either. Are there extras? Where are they? Does anyone know?

I think this is the most negative review I've ever written, but I feel like I've been suckered. This set costs a lot of money, and to get so cheap on the packaging is just condescending. I've have to think long and hard about ever buying another box set from Universal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Packaging, Even for Current Owners!, February 12, 2010
By 
R. Tordsen (Sioux Falls, SD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally! repackaged re-issue of "Battlestar Galactica (2004): The Complete Series" This version of The Complete Series also includes the unrated, extended feature-length movie, "Battlestar Galactica: The Plan." the DVD will be in "Slim Snap Cases with an Outer Box" and the high-def Blu-ray version will be "Digipaks with an Outer Box".

I know a lot of fans were very disappointed and upset that the Complete series box set was bulky and the season boxes were cheap materials. Also the fact the complete series was not "complete" as it did not include the last two hour movie. Universal has made it a point to re-release the complete series on DVD and Blu-Ray to correct both these issues.

I myself own the first Bulky "complete series" box set and I didn't mind it, although I agree it would have been nice to fit on my shelf. So when I heard it was to be re-packaged, I was a bit irritated that I may have to re-purchase the set to get better packaging.

if you check on [...] both sites have information on how current consumers can Mail in their information and have the new packaging sent to them for free! I just mailed my information. any consumers who currently own "the complete series" can receive this new packaging. Anyone who sees this review I encourage to take this offer, especially if you don't like the current packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE PACKAGING BEFORE YOU WATCH, September 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There has been a lot said already about the dreadful packaging for this box set. mostly about the size. It is big, but here are the real problems you should know BEFORE you start watching. I assume like me you will watch the episodes in order. The fist mistake they made was the 4 accordian style boxes that house each season. The discs are so tightly packed, with no expansion room, that you will have no choice but to jam your fingers in, pinch the disc and try to pull it out. This will leave fingerprints on the readable side of the disc. Keep a cloth handy that is used for cleaning eye glasses, and wrap it around your fingers before trying to remove a disc. Check & wipe the disc before playing.

The 2nd mistake was NOT including a slip sheet showing what is on each disc. The back of the box gives 'some' indication, but doesn't say where things are. Therefore - go online and print an episode guide, there are lots available, and make your own notes as you go. I also will assume like me, you would watch any of the extended, unaired episodes rather that the broadcast version. Make note - Season 2, disc 2 ends with "Pegasus" - don't watch it like I did, because disc 3 starts with the extended unaired version of "Pegasus" and you won't know this from the packaging. Also in Season 3, disc 2 ends with "Unfinished Business" - don't watch it because disc 3 opens with the extended unaired version. Finally, Season 4, disc 3, the last one - the menu shows 3 'episodes' - 1st- Daybreak part 1, 2nd-Daybreak parts 2&3, and 3rd-Daybreak extended unaired. Maybe I'm a dolt, but it appeared to me the extended unaired covered parts 2&3 - so I watched the broadcast version of part 1, then chose the extended unaired option for 2&3 - WRONG. That option covers ALL 3 PARTS. So I watched the first part all over again, minutes after just completing it. A few more words on the menu could have better defined the content, or better still, that simple slip sheet explaining what's on each disc.

These mistakes are just plain dumb for a major release such as this. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-release offers new packaging, fixes major complaints, July 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This version of the Complete Series on Blu-ray has addressed the packaging complaints that so many people have posted for the item. The box contains each season packaged individually in a tri-fold jewel case. Each jewel case lists the discs and episodes to be found on each disc. IMO this is a high-quality packaging for the product, and it seems like Universal listened to customer complaints and addressed the problems.

I highly recommend this product, it has a coveted space on my bookshelf and I look forward to many years of pleasure from watching this incredible series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Edward James Olmos (Blu-ray - 2010)
$299.98 $128.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.