Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batwoman Soldiers On
This volume collects issues 0-5 and to clear up any confusion, due to different solicits, is NOT a deluxe hardcover but a standard hardcover. Sadly.

Batwoman issue 0 is a hold over from the old DCU. The dead give away is Batman's emblem, the yellow background with bat on top that Grant Morrison made the trademark for old DCU Batman Inc. It is Batman/Bruce Wayne...
Published on June 21, 2012 by Slim Cat

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit damp
Batwoman is Kate Kane, the wealthy daughter of a retired army general, discharged from West Point Military Academy because of her homosexuality under "Don't Ask, Don't Tell", and turned to a life of vigilantism after the untimely deaths of her mother and sister.

Artist JH Williams III turns his hand to writing with co-author W Haden Blackman and the results are...
Published on July 9, 2012 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit damp, July 9, 2012
This review is from: Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Batwoman is Kate Kane, the wealthy daughter of a retired army general, discharged from West Point Military Academy because of her homosexuality under "Don't Ask, Don't Tell", and turned to a life of vigilantism after the untimely deaths of her mother and sister.

Artist JH Williams III turns his hand to writing with co-author W Haden Blackman and the results are pretty good. The book opens with an interesting introduction to Batwoman through the eyes of Batman before introducing the book's villains and plot. And here's where the book for me falls down.

Like the last Batwoman book I read, "Elegy", she is still chasing after a criminal organisation called the Religion of Crime and thrown into this mix are the were-animals where human and animal DNA are fused to create some strange looking creatures. New for this story arc is the main villain, a female murderer ghost avenging the deaths of her drowned kids and a talking skeleton called, imaginatively, Mr Bones.

The problem I have with Batwoman is not the extensive macabre and supernatural elements that go into her story but the lack of a strong nemesis. She doesn't have a Joker and the dull villains she fights aren't that well-constructed making for a weaker story overall. I mean, ghosts and talking skeletons - what is this, Scooby Doo?

As with other "New 52" titles, I take issue with DC claiming they have rebooted the franchise. It doesn't really introduce the character to a new audience so much as it assumes the reader has prior knowledge and goes from there. This book is best read after reading "Batwoman: Elegy" which explains her current relationship with her father in "Hydrology" as well as who the doll-like girl haunting her is. In fact, "Hydrology" could well be "Elegy"'s sequel.

JH Williams III's artwork is as always the highlight of the book. His imaginative layouts and stunning art lifts this book up immeasurably and makes it stand out from other comics.

Superb artwork and serviceable story aside, I'm still waiting for Batwoman to become the series it has the potential to be, it's just missing some key elements like a strong main villain and defining storyline. As it is, "Hydrology" isn't bad but it's not the masterpiece some reviewers are making it out to be, nor is it particularly the best place to start with this character. Check out "Elegy" before coming to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batwoman Soldiers On, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) (Hardcover)
This volume collects issues 0-5 and to clear up any confusion, due to different solicits, is NOT a deluxe hardcover but a standard hardcover. Sadly.

Batwoman issue 0 is a hold over from the old DCU. The dead give away is Batman's emblem, the yellow background with bat on top that Grant Morrison made the trademark for old DCU Batman Inc. It is Batman/Bruce Wayne scouting Batwoman/Kate Kane to figure out if the identity matches and if she is worthy to be one of Gotham's protectors. Almost a precursor to Greg Rucka's written and J. H. Williams drawn Batwoman: Elegy. A fanatic read and highly recommended before going into this story.

Issues 1-5 is the Hydrology arc and the intro of Batwoman into the new 52, but it picks up right where the above mentioned "Elegy" storyline finished. New readers do not fear, as all needed information is given. This is still a relatively new franchise. Kate is still at ends with her father and the tragedy that befell her sister. But a crimefighter has little time to rest in Gotham City as a watery ghost called "The Weeping Woman" is drowning children and leaving the authorities clueless. Kate also has her over eager yet not psychology ready cousin, Bette Kane, a.k.a. Flamebird, itching to go as her sidekick. Kate also has romance woes with Detective Maggie Sawyer of the G.C.P.D. And has gotten the interest of a supernatural division of the D.E.O. from an Agent Chase and Director Bones (it's a fitting name).

Let me talk about the art first as it's just too exciting. J. H. Williams III works magic on the page. His stylish and intricate layouts. His gorgeous styles. He draws a more mundane Kate Kane and then a vampiric Batwoman that haunts the criminals she engages. Also, a lot of credit to one of the best colorists in the business, Dave Stewart. Batwoman's reds are burning, her blacks deep as night, and the whiteness of her face is the palest of pales. Amy Reeder, who does the Kate sequences in issue 0 is pretty good. But when Williams is the featured artist, everyone else sharing the page looks inferior.

The story is gripping and intense. It gets away from the main focus of "The Weeping Woman" a bit too often as it juggles multiple plot threads, but this is not a frustration as each thread is entertaining and deserving of it's given time. Kate Kane lives her life. It's one of the appeals of this character. She is not too wrapped up in "the mission" to sacrifice her personal life but when she is Batwoman she is all business. She also is still relatively new to this, so there are those learning bumps that would be fatal for a lesser vigilante, but due to her military background and who she is and what she has dealt with she manages to overcome. You love to root or her.

I have no idea how much of the writing Williams does but it is a relief that a top tier illustrator knows their strength is in the art and willingly accepts the aid of a career writer. W. Haden Blackman is there to keep him honest and to tell a coherent story. That ideal was finally realized on "Batman: The Dark Knight", but sadly is still not accepted over at "Detective Comics". (I love Tony Daniels' art but the man cannot write!)

One of the main appeals of this series is although it's a Bat title, Batwoman operates on her own. Yes, she was inspired by Batman and realizes it's his turf but in this series they do not team up and she does not take orders from him. She wears his sign out of respect, respects the local P.D., does not kill, and has meets to chat but is not one of his agents. I loved the fact that when Scott Snyder was revving up to do the Night of the Owls crossover and asked all the other titles creative teams to join, Williams and Blackman said, "Thanks, but no thanks. We have our own side of Gotham to explore". That trickles down into this character as well.

Great story. Great character. GREAT ART. Great series. Cannot wait to soldier on to the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroine!, July 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Starting off, I'm a fan of Wonder Woman and have been reading that Batwoman was coming around with a new twist so I decided to give the comic a read. I have not been disappointed with the decision! I love the revamp of Batwoman. She's has so much character to her now that was never expressed before. The character that is portrayed is tough and vulnerable. I love the artwork; it was stunning to look at. The artwork pops and is new and refreshing looking for a style of comic book. I can't wait for the rest of her story to continue. It was an awesome read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm hooked, November 15, 2012
By 
Leslie Ann Lewis (San Antonio, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've never been a big fan of Batwoman. She has always seemed a little flat and underdeveloped to me. So when the chance came around to give this re-boot a try, I decided to give it a go. Boy and I glad I did. This version of Batwoman is much more compelling to me. She has more warmth, more depth, and seems much more like a real person than previous incarnations. I work on the US border with Mexico, so I was familiar with the story of La Llorana as it is often told down here as a cautionary tale to keep children from wandering too far from home. The story worked on so many levels because certain elements of the stories of La Llorana echo in the life of Kate Kane.

The artwork is gorgeous and the collection is worth it for the art alone. Add to that art an excellent story with a well-developed character and you have a hit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Graphic Novel Ever, July 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) (Hardcover)
The heart in the storyline caught me by surprise. The characters were so real in their emotions that I was moved at every turn and didn't want the book to end. Loved the complicated relationships Kate Kane has, especially with herself. I don't usually like when a different writer takes over one of my favorite titles, but this New 52 Batwoman team faithfully live up to the character and story started by Greg Rucka, while putting their own outstanding stamp on it. Can't wait for the next volume to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, July 1, 2012
This review is from: Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
After many delays finally Batwoman is here, and it was well worth the wait. Fans of "Batwoman: Elegy" will not be disappointed in Kate Kane's return to the DC scene. The story effortlessly picks up after Elegy, and the art is as beautiful as ever and flows well with the more... metaphysical elements of the story.

As is the key in any Bat-comic, I love hat the story is not just about the 'case of the week' but ultimately ties to family and character. Kate's relationship with her father gets increasingly more interesting and complicated here, and I look forward to learning more about him and the shady black ops program he was involved in. Kate herself is a wonderfully flawed hero, whose evolution should be very interesting to follow in later books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `Batwoman' is a visually stunning book that challenges the comic book medium, September 27, 2012
By 
David Suiter (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) (Hardcover)
J.H. Williams III has produced the most visually dynamic book to come out of DC Comics in the last year; Batwoman has a distinctive look that pushes the graphic novel art form to new heights. The first five issues of the Batwoman series have been collected in Batwoman Volume 1 Hydrology.

On the surface `Hydrology' is the story of Batwoman's search for children who have been abducted by an urban legend, La Llorana, "The Weeping Woman". At its heart, `Hydrology' is defining who Batwoman is: an estranged daughter, a grieving sister, a proud lesbian, a brave soldier and a determined hero. Williams with co-writer W. Haden Blackman craft a story that interlocks all aspects of Batwoman and her alter ego Kate Kane into a hero unlike others in the world of fiction.

Williams' artwork sets the tone for this book. With stunning imagery that weaves its way across the page. Not confined by traditional comic paneling, Williams presents a radical change to the comic book format. The art flows across the page with brilliant layouts that tells the story in a new way.

Batwoman stands out on the page since Williams makes her costume glisten as the material has a shiny leather look that is like nothing else in the story. The heroine's costume is accentuated by her flaming red hair. It is breathtaking work that contrasts to the mysterious backgrounds that flow across the page as smoke wafts through the sky.

The color artwork of Dave Stewart is just as much a part of the story as William's art. From the bright red color of Batwoman's hair to the heroine's pale skin the colors play a huge part in defining the look of this book.

Williams and Blackman entrench Batwoman firmly into Batman's world. The supporting cast of the Batman titles move in and out of Batwoman so she exists as another hero in Gotham City that can operate separate from Batman but still be a part of his world.

Batwoman Volume 1 Hydrology defines who the mysterious Batwoman is. With artwork that challenges the perception of what comic books can be Williams and Blackman tell a compelling story full of drama and intrigue that makes this one of the best book DC Comics is currently producing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a delight!, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just finished reading this book. It's a great read. I like where the story is leading. The art work is breathtaking. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
1) Amazing book.
2) I had no idea kindle made comic books so readable! What a joy!

This was well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lived up to my expectations. Batwoman is no typical heroine. Follow Batman as he discovers Batwomen's identety and see her decidefor wich side she will fight for, plus whose live is truly in risk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52)
Batwoman Vol. 1: Hydrology (The New 52) by J. H. Williams III (Hardcover - June 13, 2012)
$22.99 $16.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.