Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Opinion of the Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10X
I gave this Loupe a 5-Star rating because of it's quality. This is the first Loupe I have ever owned and bought it to look at coins. When looking for coins with mint errors, some of which are very valuable to collectors, it does a great job. However, for general coin inspections, I think the magnification is higher than needed and a lower X value would probably provide...
Published on January 14, 2013 by ToddB67

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chinese fake
This must be a fake. I have used a real Bausch and Lomb eye loupe and it actually worked. Nothing is in focus and the quality screams cheap Chinese crap. Do not buy, unless you want a small paper weight....
Published 5 months ago by Drift7


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Opinion of the Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10X, January 14, 2013
By 
ToddB67 (SW OHIO, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
I gave this Loupe a 5-Star rating because of it's quality. This is the first Loupe I have ever owned and bought it to look at coins. When looking for coins with mint errors, some of which are very valuable to collectors, it does a great job. However, for general coin inspections, I think the magnification is higher than needed and a lower X value would probably provide easier focusing for most people.

My suggestion now would be to go to a Jewelry store and ask to try a few of their Loupes of different magnificatons before you buy.

Good Luck !

Todd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Packaged, March 11, 2013
By 
Mr Ken (Western Maryland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
First of all, I might suggest you consider how much you need a x10 loupe as the power is quite strong. Very nicely padded pouch and great quality loupe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chinese fake, September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
This must be a fake. I have used a real Bausch and Lomb eye loupe and it actually worked. Nothing is in focus and the quality screams cheap Chinese crap. Do not buy, unless you want a small paper weight....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, but this loupe takes a lot of patience to use, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
First, I'll make sure some terms are clear.

Focal length is the distance from the lens to the point where the image is clear.
Depth of field is how thick of an area is clear at that focal length.
Field of vision is how wide of an area you can view.

On this loupe, the focal length is very close, about 4 or 5 cm (2 inches). The depth of field is very shallow, and the field of vision is small. The lens is not clear and sharp all the way across, you will only get a good image in the very center of the lens.

And since I did not see any other reviews explicitly state it, the bigger end is what goes to your eye.The lens side should be close to the object you are viewing.

I find that it can be very hard to get enough light when trying to inspect a larger item, like something that is bigger than the diameter of the lens. It takes a lot of moving the item to properly see it and inspect it with enough light. So you have to be very patient to use this.

I personally bought this to inspect very small features of objects I've machined. Things like fit and finish of parts, how well threads were formed for very tiny holes (like M1.2 or M1.6 screw threads), whether a chamfer at a hole is sufficient, etc. This is a very tough tool to use for that because it is so hard to get a clear image of the feature I want to inspect. I think a 10X Hastings Triplet may serve my needs better, but those several times the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice and functional loup, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
This loupe is larger than most, easy to use and allows a lot of light to make viewing more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Virtually useless -- B&L no longer cares about their reputation, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
This is the first time I've ever written a negative product review. Believe me, it's deserving. This product is absolute junk. At work we use no-name loupes made in China. They are so much better than this Bausch & Lomb product, it's ridiculous. With the cheap Chinese loupe, the image is in focus across 80% of the lens diameter. With the B&L loupe, the image is in focus across 20% of the lens -- only in the center. After examining this loupe, I threw it in the garbage, which is where it belongs. If this is any indication of B&L's current quality on all of their products, they will soon be out of business. Please don't be fooled by B&L's famous name -- it means nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice product, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
Overall clear, crisp magnification but there is some distortion around the edges because of the high magnification. Comfortable to wear. Much easier to use than a hand held loupe because it frees up both hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works like its supposed to., April 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Works, no complaints about the item. I'd probably get another with higher magnification as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Loupe, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
For the price, not a bad loupe at all. I should have ordered the wire so I wouldn't have to switch around,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Good, September 11, 2014
By 
Delilah (pacific northwest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x (Health and Beauty)
It seems weird that a well known company would put their name on this loupe. The focal point is right in the center and very small. Most of the lens space is wasted. Before retirement I used this same brand to inspect tiny surface mount electronic components and it worked great. What happened?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bausch & Lomb Watchmaker Loupe, 10x
$10.69
In stock on March 5, 2015
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.