Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best action games I've ever played
I've been playing games for 20 years, and I honestly can't think of one quite as insane as Bayonetta. The character and level designs are gorgeous. The bosses are ridiculously huge, and there's lots of them. The combos and special moves are wicked and fun to pull off. And I actually liked that the soundtrack wasn't the typical heavy metal. The story is a little hard to...
Published on January 10, 2010 by John C. Brandstetter

versus
82 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unique and Over-The-Top. BUT Button-masher Beware !!!
First of all, to put this review up as a critical review, I cheated a little by giving this game 3 stars. (Please, don't burn me alive!!! I'll explain now) So, sorry fans, I'm dragging the score down a little.

Actually, this is a solid 4-star game for me. I just want to draw attentions of gamers who are on the fence and still considering about buying this game...
Published on January 16, 2010 by T. Soatthiamroong


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best action games I've ever played, January 10, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I've been playing games for 20 years, and I honestly can't think of one quite as insane as Bayonetta. The character and level designs are gorgeous. The bosses are ridiculously huge, and there's lots of them. The combos and special moves are wicked and fun to pull off. And I actually liked that the soundtrack wasn't the typical heavy metal. The story is a little hard to follow, but you can seriously skip the cut scenes and still have an amazing experience.

Now, I heard some negative things about this game before I bought it. The biggest one is that the Xbox version is far superior, allegedly. While I can't compare the two, I can honestly say I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the game. Yes, it has frequent load times. But, you know what? There's so much happening on the screen sometimes, I didn't mind the break. The graphics seemed a little low-res, but the inventive style more than made up for it. I will say, though, that if there is a sequel, I hope the PS3 port gets the development attention it deserves.

A couple other things to consider: You can beat the game on easy in 8 or 9 hours (the difficulty is set so easy means normal and normal means you'll throw your controller a lot). If you want tons of play time for your money, you may want to rent this instead. Also, I'm aware some people are saying that the game is offensive. While the female characters are hypersexual, I didn't see a huge difference between this and something like Tomb Raider.

Overall, I highly recommend this game. It's one of the most memorable I've played in a long time. The good stuff far outweighs the bad. There's a tsunami of amazing games gushing out this year, but don't overlook this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just download the patch and shut up, March 27, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Alright, I'm sorry the title was a little rude, but it's true. For all those who complain of lag and lousy graphics, just download a patch that's available as soon as you select the game after establishing a PlayStation Network connection. It makes the game go faster, the graphics shine brighter, and the game that much more fun.

BUT... having played it for 3 weeks WITHOUT the patch, I could say it's a solid game regardless. You play as a witch with an insane hairstyle who summons torture devices and demons to kill angelic enemies. Welcome to backwards land people!

I'm really hoping for a sequel, as all of the characters brought something to the fold.

Imagine a game directed by Quentin Tarantino. CONGRATULATIONS! You purchased Bayonetta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concerned about the PS3 version?, January 5, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
After reading countless of reviews on how the porting was done horribly on PS3 I was a little worried about the quality of the game on PS3. I have not played through the entire game, but overall the game looks and feels great. The graphics are crisp and looks good, people that complained about the frame rate dropping horribly during gameplay must have one hella of a TV. I run a 120hz 1080p TV and I do not notice it at all. The only issue (which I do not see it being as bad as people state) is the loading time is a little longer then the normal games that I have encountered. The most annoying thing is that when you pickup an item during mid fight you get a loading screen (displaying the item) for about 3-4 seconds. Also when you pause the game you get a delay of 2 seconds. I find it hard to believe that the 360 version is far superior to the PS3 version, it is possible that the load times are slighlty better but I do not have a 360 and would not know.

Anyways its a great game, and PS3 owners should not be afraid about the horrible reviews that people have been giving without even playing the actual game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unique and Over-The-Top. BUT Button-masher Beware !!!, January 16, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
First of all, to put this review up as a critical review, I cheated a little by giving this game 3 stars. (Please, don't burn me alive!!! I'll explain now) So, sorry fans, I'm dragging the score down a little.

Actually, this is a solid 4-star game for me. I just want to draw attentions of gamers who are on the fence and still considering about buying this game with an analytical point of view.

Let's start,

GAMEPLAY
Light: The game is everything you'd expected from the creator of Devil May Cry. Fast paced, over-the-top, cool heroine with attitude, cool guns and melee weapons, crazy combos and evasive moves. Combats are satisfying as hell.
The 2-button-attack system makes it simple to do combos. You can either get away with a couple of combos or go crazy and be the martial arts master. A lot of unlockables give the game a good replay value.

Dark: Yeah, it's everything you'd expected from the creator of DMC all right, including the difficulty. Remember that DMC3's difficulty had to be dropped down when they released the special edition, according to complaints from fans. This game is not exactly Ninja Gaiden or Demon's Souls, but it can be punishing at times.

- You can't button-mash your way through the game. Your attacks don't really have a powerful impact or knock-back effect, so enemies counter you all the time. That makes remembering the sets of moves and plan how to execute them in the right moment important.

- Dodging is crucial to your survival, maybe a little too much since you don't have any blocking move. Screw up your dodge once, and the consequence is severe. Health bar can be drained half by one set of 3-hit combo from an enemy.
If you don't hunt down the item that extends your health bar, you'd better excel at dodging. And health recovery items are scarce too.

- Boss battles may need quite specific tactics. You will die and die and die again, get frustrated, curse, cry for your mommy, until you figure out how to fight. If you can endure the gaming-induced anger and frustration, you'll be okay.

- They don't let you customize the button config. I don't understand why. How hard is that? It's an action game. Players should be able to set up the control scheme according to their preferences.

- Check points don't really have very good consistency. Sometimes they are too far apart and it forced you to suffer hordes of enemies and die easily at the boss.

- Loading time of a PS3 version is a little too much. Normally I don't really care, but this one is getting on my nerve quite a bit. The game takes some considerable loading time even when you open up the pause menu or pick up an item. It's not very long each time, but they add up to an annoying amount. I heard that a 360 version doesn't have this issue, so if you also have a 360, I recommend that one.

STORY & CINEMATIC
Light: Story doesn't make much sense at first. But as the game progresses, it will unfold and you'll understand more and more. There are some cool cinematic cut-scenes. Actors' performances are over-the-top, but since the story doesn't take itself too seriously, that turn out to be quite hilarious and fit for the game atmosphere.

Dark: Story doesn't give you any 'wow' moment, just a typical Light VS Dark stuff. And it looks like the developer didn't finish all the cut-scenes in time. They put in a lot of film-strip animatics with just character poses and voice-overs where there should be fully animated cut-scenes. Doing so gave a weird result, consistency wise.

- The overly-sexualized characteristic of this game might pluck some feminists' nerves. With the amount of butt, crotch, and boobs shots in this game, it's too much to be sexy. While I myself found it hilarious and I'm willing to bet that those animators must have done their serious research from porno and strip club, feminists with no sense of humor would find this game greatly offensive (since, to them, everything that guys think sexy is objectifying women)

VISUALS & SOUNDS
Light: Character designs are good, very unique. They cleverly made angels look threatening and ugly while they still look like angels. Environments and props are intricate. Effects are lush and abundance. I'm not gonna go deep about models and textures since I'm playing this game on a very old TV. Soundtrack is a little bit on the weird side. They pick 'Fly Me to The Moon' and pop-jazz mix songs for battle BGMs. They go well with the atmosphere of the game though.

Dark: Yes, effects are lush and abundance. But that turns into the downside as well. With all the razzle-dazzle going on the screen at the same time, dodging the attacks of 3 or 4 enemies becomes deadly. Effects can be very distracting and lead you to cheap death. Many times my mind just went blank and helplessly keep mashing the buttons just because I was overwhelmed by the visuals. Oftentimes after the fight ended, I had no idea what the hell I just did.

- You'll also fight with camera quite a bit. Mostly it does a decent job, but it twists into weird and undesirable angles at times and big enemies can completely block the view of your character. In those epic boss fights, they were so epic that your character sometimes shrunk down to about no bigger than half an inch. Playing this game for a long time can make your eyes filled with tears, but not of joy.

IN CONCLUSION
Despite some rough edges, it's good-looking, fun to play, and has a good replay value. Critics giving it 5-star or 40 out of 40 maybe a bit of a stretch. Nevertheless, the game is worth its full price, especially for Devil May Cry fans.

Button-masher and casual gamer beware, by the way. Under the sexy guise, Bayonetta is a younger sister of Ninja Gaiden, and she's a real feisty one. You're not gonna pass this game with one hand on something else. If you can't satisfy her, she'll punish you hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After Sony patch review, February 14, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I purchased Bayonetta after the patch became available so I can't really compare with the unpatched version, but I can tell you this; loading is only noticeable during the beginning of the stage, or when skipping scenes. Overall, the game didn't suffer any framerate issues during my whole "normal difficulty" gameplay. This may be due to my 500GB 7200rpm Hard drive that also helped speed up the loading, but my experience with the game was fun, fast and epic.

GRAPHICS:
I have no complaints with the graphics although I read that the 360 version is much sharper, it didn't detract me from enjoying the game or cause me to die because of any graphical glitches reported; if I die is probably skill related. Background color seems lacking, but this is probably due to the fact that Bayonetta fights multiple/huge Angels which makes it easier to identify them for combos.

GAME MECHANICS:
If you've played Devil May Cry then you pretty much know how Bayonetta plays. Battle is fast paced with epic boss battles that can take minutes to defeat, and will get better and bigger the farther you get in the game. Battles will take you from the ground, air, water, and even space just to name a few. Weapons can be equipped on both hands and feet from guns, whips, katana, to claws etc. and can keep two weapon group setup so you can switch between them during battle for different combo effects. Also besides weapons, you can equip accessories, costumes, create/concoct items, and assign consumables so you can use them on the fly without interruption. Shooting galleries follows each chapter allowing you to trade points on items that can enhance/support your HP/MP for the next level. Items can be bought at the "Gates of Hell" bar accessible through a red portal you'll find in each chapter. If you want a challenge, just start in "Normal" or if you want to take your time and accumulate special items you can start in "very easy" or "easy", "Hard" is unlocked after "Normal" is completed.

MUSIC:
Well shes no Dante so don't expect any metal soundtrack during battle but in a good way. Personally the music in the game is perfect for Bayonetta since it fits her personality. Never once did I think that the music didn't fit the situation Bayonetta was in. The way she moves and the music accompanying her (i.e. Fly me to the Moon remix/Mysterious Destiny) is right for her... and since shes fighting Angels you can pretty much expect choir/orchestral soundtrack during boss battles.

STORY:
Well story wise... its nothing revolutionary but not bad either since I can tell you the whole story in a good three to four sentences... so its best not to say it. Just accept it to what it is. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bayonetta is Awesome, December 6, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
A year ago I saw the trailer and demo for Bayonetta and I knew it was I game I wanted to have. Unfortunately, there were too many other great games coming out around the same time that I couldn't fit Bayonetta into my budget. It's now a year later, and I finally got it. After a few minutes in I was hooked, and a few hours later I was in love with the game. I shouldn't have waited so long to get this. I would gladly pay Sega $50 today for it, but it's outdated software now, so what can I do?

If your planning on getting this you should be aware that it's probly not a game for a family household that's very religious. Also there isn't any deep sexual content, but some fighting moves and language may be too seductive for younger gamers.

This can be set to easy for rookie players, but normal definetly puts a challenge on tougher gamers. Maybe not Ninja Gaiden hard but pretty close.

I went with the PS3 version, and I can't complain about the loading times.

Overall, I'm having a blast with this game, and I believe you would too, if your into awesome beat-em-ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sega knows how to make action games., March 17, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Who woulda thought killing angels would be this fun? For a long time i wanted to give Bayonetta a try seeing how it plays like the Devil May Cry series and i'm kicking myself for not getting this sooner. I love this game and see myself playing this as much or more than one of my Favorite action games of all time DMC3.

My only gripe about this game is the default music. It gets on my nerves having to play through some parts over and over due to death and listening to it. Thank god there is an option to play music off your HDD instead of listening to the default music. This is my favorite aspect of this game and thats not all.

Combos are fun to pull off but if you don't want to remember combos you can just button mash til your hearts desire and occasionally hitting dodge. Either way everything looks so fluid and smooth especially when you unlock all techniques.

Graphically solid. Some of the angelic stages look beautiful and big boss battles Absolutely amazing.

Tons and tons of replayability in this game. There is a ton of accessories to unlock which all give Bayonetta certain abilities like blocking incoming attacks or instantly going into witchtime without having to use the dodge button. And of course they cost alot so this gives you alot to work for if you choose to play through the game again.

Great game, Great character, Great animations and humor involved. Get this game. It is the most fun you will have with a button mashing action game not named God of War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!!, November 24, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Ok I'll start saying that I'm a girl... And I find this game really interesting... I saw some other reviews saying that this game is too long.. the story is silly and confusing.... Come on!!!! It is supposed to be like that, it's different, it takes you to another world that I have never seen, and I consider myself as a good gamer. I had every kind of video games since I was 6!! I loved that the game is long, so it keeps me interested. I saw that some people like to finnish the game in 2 days... What's fun about that?? You buy, and 2 days you're done, no fun... If a good game takes me 2 months to finnish it, Great!! But well, that's my opinion, I like to have fun with video games, My husband thinks the same... We play it toguether and kind of compete against each other, and when we're home from work, and we just wanna escape from the real world and have fun, that game is perfect!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a woman!!!, August 24, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The game is just a jewel.
For those who are looking for fan service, youve got it here. The story is pretty interesting.
The moves are just amazing, she's got many combos, abilities and magical powers.
The design of the game is really appreciated. The character is pretty funny and lovable.

People who likes anime, specially men, must own this game in their collection.

I only regret the game for PS3 is not the same as Xbox 360, It seems the game was designed originally to the Xbox 360 and then it was ported to PS3. This caused the graphics looks poor in the PS3 console.

I recommend to buy this game for Xbox if you have the console. In other case, you can try it in the PS3, but youre warned about the graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not just about a sexy witch, June 28, 2010
By 
Tiffany (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This review is for PS3 version of Bayonetta. Myself have the PS3 version and I played my friend's XBox version too. Yes the PS3 loading time is driving me nuts but you can install game data now to PS3, so it isn't that bad anymore.

I read many reviews saying "this game's purpose is only to show a sexy woman beating bad guys," or "this game is way too easy," blah blah blah. Honestly, I bought this game when it first came out in US and I am still playing it!

First of all, if you like Devil May Cry, get this game! It's produced by the same director and everything you see in DMC pretty much appears in Bayonetta.
Second, this is a fast-pace game. Yes you basically have almost all the moves at the beginning, but look at the move lists - do your worst to memorize them! Not to mention that each weapons combination can create new moves that are not on the list at all. You have to really spend time to explore the game. In Very Easy/Easy levels, you get through the game pretty quickly and easily; but if you start the Normal difficulty and you will see why we need Easy level to learn the moves. Dodging is very crucial in this game; you must master dodging in the early difficulty 'cause once you get to Hard or Climax you don't have Witch Time anymore! And that will make this game very difficult! If you get hit in anytime, you might get kill in seconds and don't even have time to re-attack.

Story plot wise, it's not really an amazing story. But it doesn't really matter to me (lol) All the fun I have playing it make up the lack of storyline. But the plot is like a comedy movie, very cute and funny!

Character design: oh yeah Bayonetta...*heart* I am in love with her even I am a woman...I mean I am straight too but whatever~(LOL) Everyone else blends in just fine to light up the whole game.

Overall it's definitely a game to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bayonetta - Playstation 3
Bayonetta - Playstation 3 by Sega Of America, Inc. (PlayStation 3)
$29.99 $20.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.