Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The REAL First Season Finally Comes to DVD
I watched this show from the second episode on when it aired on NBC. I'd missed the pilot for a reason I can't recall, but I enjoyed the show. It was fun with a pretty good cast. Then, because it had ranked 50th in the Nielsen ratings, NBC pulled the plug. Almost two years later, it was finally announced that the show was picked up by another network. It was never...
Published on November 27, 2007 by Sean Pasek

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally the real thing
Unlike the earlier mis-titled "Season 1" DVD that was released in the US a couple of years ago, this Australian import actually contains all the episodes from the real first season of Baywatch when it was an NBC network series. There's no Pamela Anderson or Alexandra Paul. Instead we have former Miss USA Shawn Weatherly, the beautiful Holly Gagnier, and the show's...
Published on May 15, 2007 by tepp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The REAL First Season Finally Comes to DVD, November 27, 2007
By 
Sean Pasek (Escondido, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
I watched this show from the second episode on when it aired on NBC. I'd missed the pilot for a reason I can't recall, but I enjoyed the show. It was fun with a pretty good cast. Then, because it had ranked 50th in the Nielsen ratings, NBC pulled the plug. Almost two years later, it was finally announced that the show was picked up by another network. It was never the same after that. Only Mitch, Eddie, Shaunie, and Garner came back from the original cast. You could tell immediately that the show just didn't have a quality feel to it that it had in its pilot season. I watched the show on and off until I'd given up. After that, the show went "playmate crazy."

To me, this is the only season of Baywatch that is worth watching. The
acting and stories are much better than what you'd find in the subsequent seasons. While it's true, that the show flaunted female parts, it did focus, to some degree, on the lives and jobs of lifeguards of L.A. County. Granted, they took some liberties with these roles, as you often found Mitch and his friend, Craig Pomeroy (Parker Stevenson) employing themselves as crime-stoppers as well as lifeguards, but you generally gave for a bit of leeway there, because the show was entertaining. You also have to remember that back then, dramas were not going for a lot of realism.

Another advantage this season had were veteran actors such as Monte Markham playing the authoritarian Captain Don Thorpe, who always took his job as a lifeguard captain very seriously, and usually at the expense of all junior lifeguards around him.

I think in some regards, the reason the show was so much better, was that they had a bigger budget to work with, being initially with NBC. NBC was also interested in making sure that along with the "extra skin" that the show might be used to inspire saftey-consciousness as well.

First season sees Mitch battling his ex-wife for custody of Hobe (who was then played by Brandon Call). Call was brilliant in the role, and I felt that Jeremy Jackson wasn't as good in the seasons that followed.

Also, Mitch was NOT revealed to be an ex-Navy Seal. While buddy, Cort (John Allen Nelson) was later added to the cast, he was the only one who was considered a former SEAL. As the personal history suggests from this season, Mitch has been a lifeguard for a long time, perhaps going back to high school, along-side best friend, Craig Pomeroy.

Eddie Kramer (Billy Warlock) was a rookie lifeguard, alongside Shaunie McClane (Erika Eleniak). Eddie was the hot-headed kid from the wrong side of Philadelphia who loved to spend his free hours boxing. The writers of the show quickly saw that the "meat" of their storyline was the relationship between Eddie and Shaunie. Several episodes had storylines surrounding the romance. Warlock and Eleniak eventually became engaged in real life.

The cast also included Peter Phelps (Trevor) who played a rogue, Australian lifeguard. He left the show halfway in. Parker Stevenson played Craig Pomeroy, a veteran lifeguard who is torn between being a lifeguard and being a lawyer. His wife, Gina, was played by Holly Gagnier. Finally, there was also Shawn Weatherly (Jill Riley) who was another veteran lifeguard who was famously killed off by a shark attack in the middle of the season.

NBC cancelled the show after the first season. The final episode included a marriage proposal by Eddie to Shaunie. Obviously after the show was given the "go ahead" by a new network, many of the storylines and origins were either removed altogether or altered in some way.

For example, Mitch's budding teenage son, Hobe, was reverted back to a young boy of about 10 or 11. Eddie's propsal to Shaunie was pretty much ditched. Eddie would propose at the end of the next season.

Craig Pomeroy would be written out of the show altogether. One can assume that he quit.

For me, Baywatch began and ended after its first season, and this is the only season worth owning.

Note* The original theme song (sung by Peter Cetera "Save Me") is not used before each episode. Also, some of the songs used during the episodes have also been changed unfortunately. It's too bad because the original music and songs were good and went well with the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally the real thing, May 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
Unlike the earlier mis-titled "Season 1" DVD that was released in the US a couple of years ago, this Australian import actually contains all the episodes from the real first season of Baywatch when it was an NBC network series. There's no Pamela Anderson or Alexandra Paul. Instead we have former Miss USA Shawn Weatherly, the beautiful Holly Gagnier, and the show's original Playboy playmate, Erica Eleniak. Long-time viewers who miss the flamboyant characters of the later syndicated seasons will have to console themselves with David Hasselhoff's extremely gay hairdo, which was in full bloom even at this early stage. The six-disk set offers absolutely no extras (the episode titles appear in an unnumbered list on the case, and the only way to tell which disk each one is on is to count them off in groups of four), but the hard-case package is good. The quality of the 4x3 video is adequate, but this collection will be a welcome addition to anyone who was interested in the first season of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real First Season, August 18, 2008
By 
CJ Jade (Iowa, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
Like almost everyone I was slighly upset when I found out the other first season was really season 2. This season has some of the episodes that made it a classic. Plus it had some of my all time favorite characters; Craig, Gina, Jill, Trevor and Cort. It doesn't have any extras and the episode title is not listed on the DVDs. This does make it kind of hard if you are looking for a specific episode. But that all aside this is a must have for any Baywatch fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Gyp!, August 7, 2009
By 
Taheen Lopez (United States- San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
This 1989-90 Season of BAYWATCH was the original BAYWATCH series that ran on NBC from the Fall of 1989 to the Spring of 1990, but had tanked after only 8 months when a tidal wave struck in the ratings after Jill Reilly(Shawn Weatherly's)departure, which resulted in this shows cancellation in the Summer of 1990 before BAYWATCH was revived in syndication in the Fall of 1991 with better ratings than before.

Unfortunately, this BAYWATCH DVD was not what I had expected or hoped for since the introduction credits didn't have the original BAYWATCH theme song of "Save Me" by Peter Cetera that was originally played at the beginning of each of these episodes when they were on NBC, plus they deleted the previews of most of these episodes and they even deleted and replaced the original songs of each episodes with other songs in every episode, plus this DVD didn't even provide Closed Captioned on top of that either.

Therefore this BAYWATCH DVD was totally not worth it and almost nothing like it was shown on NBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TheFirst Real Season, June 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
This season that was broadcast on NB, ShawnieC before it later went into syndication, This season had all the bikinis and beachs but was more about the male lifeguards. This is the season with Parker Stevenson, who got the job because a few years earlier made a theatrical movie with Sam Elliott called "Lifeguard." Also halfway thru they cast the male lifeguard "Cort" who bonded with Hasselhoff's character, Billy Warlock's character, and Stevenson's. The season started with beauty contestant winner Shawn Weatherly but halfway thru the season they decided to go in another direction so she was killed off by a shark. This was also the season that introduced us to Eddie's (Billy Warlock) favorite lifeguard and love interest Shawnie (Erika Eleniak). I remember when after the show ended its NBC run and came back 2 years later that most of the guys were gone,, Shawnie got bustier, Hobie looked different, and the male storylines were gone and they started bringing in sexy Playboy playmates and other sexy women to carry out the storylines. Toward the end of its run they did bring back Parker Stevenson and the "Cort" character back for some great storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thankful to read other reviews before purchasing, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
This DVD is the real first season. Thanks to other Amazon shoppers, I was able to figure out which Season 1 was correct and to wait for the other season 1 that is available. No issues with DVDs. Music is different, but the episodes are just like we remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Baywatch when it was good!, May 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
I remember this season from when it was on NBC. Back then this it was a good show once it went into syndication it got crazy. If you want to see Baywatch the way it was originally intended watch this season. The real season one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars showing my age, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
I love the fact it came on time. watching it brings back pleasant memories. love looking at girls in their bikinis.. seeing how young the stars were. Hope to get season two soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
That's what the season one did for me. Used to watch this show weekly with my best gal who is still my wife. If you ever watched Baywatch you must include the first season. DUH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Season!!!, April 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baywatch: Season 1 (DVD)
I never saw season 1, of Baywatch, when it aired on tv but I'm certainly glad that I bought this season set. I have to say all the episodes were extremely well done. Also, season 2 was another season I enjoyed tremendously because after that the seasons weren't that good, until season 9. So, if I was you buy season 1 because you will most certainly enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Baywatch: Season 1
Baywatch: Season 1 by David Hasselhoff (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: $59.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.