Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 188 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks like real snow, feels sort of like it
Ok, nothing wrong with the product, it is what it is. A powder that when wet, quickly absorbs water and expands into wet snow-like fluffy water soaked flakes. Get it, play with it, throw it away. Caution, it is kind of messy to clean up, and the instructions to dehydrate the stuff and re-use it, forget that part, you won't want to do that.

So, funny story...
Published on January 31, 2011 by J. Kelley

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool fake snow but so MESSY
If you're looking for fake snow this product works very well. It is a powder that absorbs 100 times it's weight in water, so 1 teaspoon will make a nice sized "snowball". Insta-Snow is fluffy and probably as close to the feel of real snow as you're going to find. But here is why I hate letting my 3 year old play with it: It is such a mess when you're done with it...
Published 6 months ago by Lauren


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

163 of 188 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks like real snow, feels sort of like it, January 31, 2011
By 
J. Kelley (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
Ok, nothing wrong with the product, it is what it is. A powder that when wet, quickly absorbs water and expands into wet snow-like fluffy water soaked flakes. Get it, play with it, throw it away. Caution, it is kind of messy to clean up, and the instructions to dehydrate the stuff and re-use it, forget that part, you won't want to do that.

So, funny story. Not knowing how messy this stuff could be, and living in Phoenix AZ, thought it would be cool to make it look like it snowed outside Christimas morning. Found a site selling similar stuff in bulk, so ordered enought to make 75 Gallons of snow. It came in 3 quart-sized pouches. I got up early before the kids and with a 5-gallon bucket started mixing up the stuff 3-4 gallons at a time. I had to mix the concoction with a stick to get it to all absorb evenly.

I took the now 25 Lb bucket of "snow" and dumped it around the edges of the patio, in the planters, on the edge of the trampoline, around the walkway steps, you get the idea.

Wow! It did look like it snowed when they looked out the window, SUCCESS!!! And 5-10 minutes of excitement/joy of having a white christmas in PHX.

After the presents were open, breakfast had, now it's time to play outside. WHAT A MESS!!!

That stuff sticks really well to EVERYTHING, bike tires, shoes, and it brings anything it touches with it, gravel, sticks, rocks, dirt, etc, etc, etc.

I grabbed a shovel and scraped as much as I could into one pile, our of the way, hoping the stuff would just biodegrade and go away, but it rained a day or two later, washing the stuff from its nice pile to where ever it wanted to go. Remember the movie BLOB? Another few days later I grab the wheel barrow and shovel and rake and go after this stuff once and for all.

Anyway, hindsight, I wouldn't do that again LOL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY COOL!, December 14, 2007
By 
DVajda (Pleasanton, CA USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
This brand of Insta Snow is the best quality. All you have to do is put in how ever many scoops of snow you want and add water, literally 10 seconds later it expands to 100 times it's size. The snow can last for weeks outside. It feels like fresh snow fall and looks exactly like real snow. I went around the neighborhood and put it all over people's car, and they thought that it was really cool. The price is kind of high with shipping, but I suggest buying 2 jars of it. Kids can have fun with this forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes snow that feels real, December 10, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
The only complaint is that the picture of the product makes you think you are getting this big old jar of snow. This jar is about 4 inches tall, so that was disappointing. Besides that, great product. It does what it says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love this!, September 27, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
I love this stuff and so do my kids. Simple to use and fun to play with. Just add water. Has the texture and look of real snow without the cold temperature. My son takes this outside, mixes up a bucket full, and he and the neighbors love to play with it. Let it dry out and it can be used again by adding water. Do not keep this in a closed container after it is mixed with water however because it will mold. As a chemistry teacher, I also find a lot of educational value in this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool fake snow but so MESSY, February 5, 2014
By 
Lauren (Marietta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
If you're looking for fake snow this product works very well. It is a powder that absorbs 100 times it's weight in water, so 1 teaspoon will make a nice sized "snowball". Insta-Snow is fluffy and probably as close to the feel of real snow as you're going to find. But here is why I hate letting my 3 year old play with it: It is such a mess when you're done with it! Never ever use this indoors, you will regret it. While it was great fun for the 30 minutes after we mixed it, the aftermath left a lot to be desired. When you're done playing there are snowflakes everywhere. The problem is that it isn't going to melt or be dissolved by the rain or washed away. It will just sit there and absorb more water and turn into slippery mush but it will NOT go away. Therefore you need to have a cleanup plan. It can't be washed down a drain because it becomes a soggy gel and might clog the pipes. So you will need to sweep and shovel all the gel-like sticky snowflakes and throw them in the trash. It is a tedious cleanup.

Insta-Snow is a great science experiment and can be fun if you play with it on a tarp or in a plastic bin in small doses but I would not recommend it for any kind of decorating or in large batches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for hours, February 4, 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
My daughter is 3 1/2 years old and first played with this in her preschool class. She loves it!!!! It has a very unique texture, and cleanup is fairly easy, even on carpet. My daughter will play with it for hours, either by itself, or with her small animal figurs and "little people" toys. I make a small amount at a time and store it in a tupperware container. I'm sure this jar will last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So cool! Literally., June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
I bought this for my daughter's Frozen-themed fifth birthday party. It was a HUGE hit. We bought some big faux-crystal plastic bowls at the dollar store, added a scoop and some water, and were fascinated. It puffs up instantly, is cool to the touch, and really feels like squishy soft snow. We put the bowls on a table covered in a cheap plastic tablecloth (a few more on the ground), and let the girls (ages 4-9) go crazy. They loved scooping it and playing with it. Not bad for snow in June! When they were done, the girls actually asked if they could take some home, so I scooped it into big ziplock bags and it became a party favor. For cleanup, we just rolled up the clothes and threw them away. Fabulous stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun for kids of all age!, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
Brought this item for a 4 year old "Frozen" birthday party. Since it had been like 70 degrees in Feb and not much snow to be found, I brought this to create snow for the kids. They totally love making "snow ball" fight with it. One little jar made so much enough for 10 toddlers to enjoy. Big hit with the kids and parents as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!!, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
I would have given it 5 stars if the snow lasted longer. But, it looks great and love the way it feels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow fun, January 20, 2008
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons (Toy)
This product was great. Being from Utah, we know all about snow. & this is the closest thing I have ever seen. It is cool to the touch, it packs like snow, so much fun. I sent some to my brother in Az as he & his family miss the snow. They have small children, but not to worry, this is non toxic. We love it. I also gave some to my childrens day care & to my kids' school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Be Amazing Insta-Snow Jar, Makes 2 Gallons
$13.19 $12.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.