Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Father's Day gift!
This is a very, very funny but also surprisingly useful book on how to entertain and amaze your little monsters. You might want to read it even if you don't have kids, for self-defense material the next time you're stuck in a room with a bored and complaining child. A perfect present for the dads you know (much better than a tie!).
Published on May 10, 2006 by An Amazon customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little lamer than I thought.
This looked like it was going to be a lot of fun. I'm more than 3/4 of the way through, and still looking for the fun. Some of the stuff is just ok (thus the 3 stars) But, some is downright stupid. ex- make a pigeon sound with your hands. You probably won't be able to do it, but keep trying. Like I said, it's not terrible, it's just ok. Turns out I have way cooler stuff...
Published on September 10, 2011 by Music Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Father's Day gift!, May 10, 2006
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
This is a very, very funny but also surprisingly useful book on how to entertain and amaze your little monsters. You might want to read it even if you don't have kids, for self-defense material the next time you're stuck in a room with a bored and complaining child. A perfect present for the dads you know (much better than a tie!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Will Be A Cool Dad/Mom, August 17, 2009
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, thanks to a review I read in Genii magic magazine by Jon Racherbaumer. The readers' reviews here definitely shaped my buying decision. I enjoyed it on several levels:

1) I found activities I can use for team-building activities (Chapter 10: Fun & Games).
2) I found new reasons to do some of the magic tricks, even though I know them already (Chapter 2: batteries Not Included & Chapter 9: Puzzles , Tricks & Jokes).
3) I discovered ice-breakers that can be used in my classroom - and they are useful after lunch (clue: scissors, paper, stones)
4) The authors presented the information in a style that is easy to follow, and there are enough facts that will give you an edge if you ever appear on 'Are You Smarter Than a Fifth-Grader?'
5) The games for road-trips are invaluable; something old, something new.

You can definitely use the material here, whether you are a teacher, corporate trainer or host of a party. Or, if you want to get back at your 10-year-old nephew with the smart riddles/puzzles. Go ahead - arm yourself with this book! This complements the copy of 'Emergency' by Neil Strauss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Dads!, May 17, 2006
By 
A.M. Ramirez (Pleasanton, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
I found this book extremely entertaining. Cleverly written and chock full of information, games, puzzles and facts that kept me reading and practicing the long lost art of engaging with and entertaining kids. If you would like to have your children put away the Nintendo in favor of some quality time that you will all enjoy, or if you are not a parent but would love to know the secret behind those magic tricks, pick up "Be The Coolest Dad On The Block".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works for anybody, not just dads, January 29, 2007
By 
Carl Scharenberg (Kansas City, KS, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
I bought this after a recommendation on the Cool Tools blog. It seemed like a good way to learn some fun tricks to amuse children and generally be a cool guy.

The book will teach you very quickly how to: perform a variety a simple magic tricks; organize impromptu games requiring little to no materials; build rope swings; identify common trees and plants; answer many of the 'why and how' science and nature questions children ask; bedevil your child with riddles and jokes; occupy your children on car rides; and dozens of other things.

Even if you're not a parent this is a fun book. You can use the ideas when visiting friends and family to become a celebrity among the kids. It's a really fun book, and worth twice what it costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little lamer than I thought., September 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
This looked like it was going to be a lot of fun. I'm more than 3/4 of the way through, and still looking for the fun. Some of the stuff is just ok (thus the 3 stars) But, some is downright stupid. ex- make a pigeon sound with your hands. You probably won't be able to do it, but keep trying. Like I said, it's not terrible, it's just ok. Turns out I have way cooler stuff than this already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lot of talk, not so much action, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
I guess I was expecting more tricks and projects... a lot of discussion on how to answer some of the basic questions in life (had those ready)... about 10 things in here that my 5yr old really liked, maybe we'll pick a few more later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for anyone (not just dads), December 6, 2013
By 
Paul (Somewhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
This book delivers in the title. There are so many cool things that you can do with your kids and this includes so many of them. As someone who will soon be a dad I wanted to have quite a few fun things in my back pocket to be able to pull out and this book is an amazing resource for them. This book is full of fun tricks, experiments and all around fun things to do.

I would recommend this not just for dads, but any person who spends time with children. You will learn some great tricks and be reminded of some classics you marveled at as a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, wish I could read it more..., January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
My daughters and wife have had more fun reading this book than I have - so much so, I don't know where it is right now. Christmas day I was able to read the first 25% of it but if the remaining 75% is as humorous a the first then it's a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some see as "fun", others see as "essentail", January 9, 2007
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
Okay, it's not classic literature, but it fills a void which, for some, could be just as important.

This group of "must know topics, skills and abilities" for Dads, could certainly be valuable knowledge for any parent, regardless of gender. As for the value of contents, here's the proof of this kind of book: As mundane as they might appear to adults, the items included in this book are the very things many children will take with them into adulthood as "best memories". What could be better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a small gift, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Be the Coolest Dad on the Block: All of the Tricks, Games, Puzzles and Jokes You Need to Impress Your Kids (and keep them entertained for years to come!) (Paperback)
This is a cute gift for fathers day or a new dad. It has some ideas that will give you some good quality time together with your child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.