Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Beach
Beach Blanket Bingo is the best of AIP's Beach Party films. Unlike the other films in the series, there are actual attempts at some clever tongue and cheek writing here, Annette finally displays some of here phenomenal body, Frankie actually has a tan, and the supporting cast is much better this time around. Here we have Harvey Lembeck as Erick Von Zipper (what a...
Published on January 17, 2000 by Thomas M. Scofield

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MGM Drops the "Beach" Ball on this One!
Serious collectors hoping for the "definitive" version of this beach classic, please be forewarned: MGM has inexplicably released the "edited for television" version rather than the original theatrical version! What a disappointment! It seems that years ago when "Beach Blanket Bingo" was shown on ABC, the network cut out a solo sung by...
Published on June 18, 2001 by Robert Wyly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MGM Drops the "Beach" Ball on this One!, June 18, 2001
By 
Robert Wyly (Tahlequah, OK USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beach Blanket Bingo (DVD)
Serious collectors hoping for the "definitive" version of this beach classic, please be forewarned: MGM has inexplicably released the "edited for television" version rather than the original theatrical version! What a disappointment! It seems that years ago when "Beach Blanket Bingo" was shown on ABC, the network cut out a solo sung by Annette titled "I'll Never Change Him" to allow for more commercial time. When HBO released its VHS version, it was also the edited version and in fact, subsequent reissues by Goodtimes Video and Video Treasures apparently used the same print. It wasn't until a couple of years ago when the movie started showing on cable networks such as Cinemax and American Movie Classics that the restored theatrical version finally was seen and for those of us who weren't lucky enough to see it on the big screen, it was quite a surprise that we had been watching an edited version all these years. The song is a bouncy upbeat tune and in my opinion, it's Annette's best song in the series. In fact, it was even recycled later the same year in "Ski Party" with the title and lyrics slightly changed to "We'll Never Change 'em" and this time warbled by Deborah Walley. On the upside, the transfer is crisp and the colors breathtaking in this widescreen edition. But if you want to see the original theatrical version, you'll just have to be content to tape it the next time it plays on AMC's American Pop series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Beach, January 17, 2000
By 
Beach Blanket Bingo is the best of AIP's Beach Party films. Unlike the other films in the series, there are actual attempts at some clever tongue and cheek writing here, Annette finally displays some of here phenomenal body, Frankie actually has a tan, and the supporting cast is much better this time around. Here we have Harvey Lembeck as Erick Von Zipper (what a great character!), Linda Evans, Marta Kristen, John Ashley, Buster Keaton, Don Rickles and the great, demented, Timothy Carey.
Director William Asher had Roger Corman's Poe movie cinematographer Floyd Crosby on this film, making it the best looking of the series. The color is rich, the compositions dynamic and the camera more mobile than usual, giving the film a greater sense of excitement.
Finally, series composer Les Baxter also had a bigger hand in writing and arranging the songs this time around, and they are much better than usual for this series -- the title tune is a standout.
If you have a taste for American-International's Beach Party pictures, this is the best, and if you've never seen one before, this is the one to start with... Loads of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars actually more enjoyable than the ORIGINAL "Beach Party"!, September 27, 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beach Blanket Bingo (DVD)
BEACH BLANKET BINGO is considered by many as their favorite "Beach Party" movie. In order, my three favorites are BEACH BLANKET BINGO, PAJAMA PARTY and BEACH PARTY.
In this sequel, Dee Dee (Annette Funicello) and Frankie (Frankie Avalon) decide to take skydiving lessons from the hard-nosed pilot John Ashley and the late Deborah Walley.
Things get complicated when up-and-coming pop singer Sugar Kane (Linda Evans) ends up in Frankie's arms - literally - and the ... Deborah decides to make Frankie an afterschool sweetheart!
Dumb-as-stumps Deadhead (Jody McCrea) falls in love with an elusive mermaid (Marta Kristen) and the always-annoying Eric Von Zipper (Harvey Lembeck) and his "Rats" show up to kidnap the lovely Sugar Kane...
Featuring a memorable title song as well as great musical turns by Frankie Avalon, Annette Funicello and Donna Loren.
There are also great cameo roles from Earl Wilson, Don Rickles, Paul Lynde, Buster Keaton and Bobbi Shaw (reprising her role as Keaton's dizzy sidekick).
The DVD includes the trailer. (Single-sided, single-layer disc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning About Tape Quality, January 14, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While the other reviews profile the movie itself, you should be aware that this VHS tape was recorded in LP (long play) mode. Most decent movies are recorded onto the VHS tape in SP (standard play), which is the fastest speed and therefore will give the best picture quality. I knew something was up when I pulled the cassette out of the box and noticed there seemed to be only about 30 minutes of tape inside. Indeed, the picture quality and sound are noticeably poor. Using the slower LP speed for a pre-recorded video tape is an inexcusably cheap way to mass produce video tapes. You are far better off recording this movie off of AMC (American Movie Classics), which occasionally shows this movie. The picture will look far better. In looking at the box, it appears that Orion now has the rights to this movie, which was originally produced by American Internationals Pictures Inc. At the end of the movie is a trailer that says "Good Times Home Video". I don't know who's responsible for the poor quality of the tape, but my rating of one star is due to the tape quality not the movie itself. At the time of this review, BBB is not available on DVD. Orion are you listening?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the Sun - 60's Style, November 26, 2003
By 
This review is from: Beach Blanket Bingo (DVD)
It's clear to see why "Beach BLanket Bingo" might've been a hit among the teens of the day. It's zesty, frothy and fun, and keeps a beat going musically. One of the biggest highlights is the beautiful Donna Loren singing "It Only Hurts When I Cry." She was a talent on the line of Dusty Springfield if ever there was one, and why she didn't become bigger (or remain known today) as a singing star is mystifying. Apparently she wasn't well managed and the proper due wasn't given to her recordings, but she certainly had star material and the pipes. It's also fun to see a very young Linda Evans, looking as if the false eyelashes are a little too much for those baby blues, and Marta Krystal (I believe is her name), an actress who starred as "Judy" on "Lost in Space," playing a mermaid.
The thing that drags the whole thing down from sheer stupidity in my opinion is Harvey Lembeck as "Eric Von Zipper," doing a Brando take-off with annoyingly dumb and adolescent wit. Whenever he and his "rat pack" are on the screen, I fast forward, although evidently he was somewhat of a hit because this character appeared in several "beach" films. I always enjoyed the way that slapstick 60's flicks would feature older stars like, in this case, Buster Keaton, giving this older legends their due and a chance to appear among the popular young stars. The guest star appearances are fun.
As for Annette and Frankie, that crooning Italian duo -- Frankie Avalon was one of those baby-faced, handsome, smooth-voiced singers that came out of Philadelphia, so I'm sure he was a heart throb at the time, and he was cute with Annette. Their on-screen relationship was sweet and light. Annette Funicello was really a gorgeous girl and such a likeable personality on film. Her popularity was well-deserved, because along with being a knockout and having a pleasant if not outstanding voice, she was just a fun and super nice human being. No one who worked with her ever has anything bad to say about her and that's certainly refreshing.
Another fun star of that period was the pretty Deborah Walley. She did her own surfing in the films and she also played in a Gidget movie.
In sum, you can't go wrong with this trip into the beach flicks of the 60's. They're a light way to pass the time and a window into the period. Dig the dancing! (I think people are actually doing the "Frug!")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, DVD could have been better., November 3, 2001
By 
AbeStreet (Willoughby, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beach Blanket Bingo (DVD)
Although I enjoy most of the Frankie and Annette beach movies I doubt I would give any of them a rating of more than 4 stars. In the case of BEACH BLANKET BINGO (BBB) I could only give it 3 stars. It and BIKINI BEACH are probably my two favorite beach movies. Each of these were made towards the middle of this series of movies and by that time fans of the movies had grown to recognize most of the characters in the films and the stories seemed to move better.
I gave stars because BBB did well with the relationships between Frankie & Dee Dee and with Bonehead & Lorelei. I especially enjoyed seeing the Bonehead character get a little more attention in this film. He is in most, if not all, of the beach movies and deserved a little more screen time. I also enjoyed Paul Lynde as Bullets. Nobody does snide or sarcastic as well as Paul Lynde.
I deducted stars because BBB did not bring back Candy Johnson, the girl who was always dancing during the previous movies (she usually danced during the end credits of the earlier movies). Also, Little Stevie Wonder did not return for this movie, he had been in two prior beach movies. As for the DVD edition of this film I deducted stars because as others have mentioned this version did not include the song "I'll never Change Him." I also thought the DVD could have used some special features other than just the original trailer. Heck, most of the actors in this film are still alive and are in their 50's or 60's. I would have thought some of them would have been up for an interview. The director William Asher is still around, I see him every once in a while on shows such as "The 'E' True Hollywood story."
All in all this is a good film. I would have given it 4 stars if the DVD had been a little better developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Correction, November 17, 2001
This review is from: Beach Blanket Bingo (DVD)
I wanted to clarify that Annette's song "I'll Never Change Him" was NOT in the original theatrical version of this film. The truth is it was cut from the original version before it's release, then added back in for the subsequent television version. It would have been nice to see it as an extra on this DVD, though, or even restored to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FRANKIE & ANNETTE TRILOGY, May 28, 2002
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beach Blanket Bingo (DVD)
"Beach Blanket Bingo," "Bikini Beach" and "Beach Party." Most people when asked to name a beach movie, immediately refer to this Frankie Avalon and Annette Funicello '60s trilogy ( I don't include the affshoot "Muscle Beach" flick as part of this authentic ouvre).

In 1963's "Beach Party" Annette went by the name Doris (an homage to Doris Day?). The plots, I use the term loosely, were almost interchangeable -- mostly surf, sand, rock 'n roll and sex -- well, mostly innicent tease really. What's most remembered is the hope -- false as it turned out -- that the voluptuous Annette would reveal a tad more skin. And then there's Bob Cummongs in a patently false beard, Harvey Lembeck as the hyper and astonishingly old juvenile delinquent Eric Von Zipper. And of course the tassled Candy Johnson shaking her bikini'd booty over, or is it under, the credits.

In "Bikini Beach" Annette is now Dee Dee (must be an homage to Sandra Dee) and Frankie stretches his chops by playing two roles. He is his standard sex-crazed surfer guy and also the gap toothed (a nod toward Terry Thomas?) Brit singer potato Bug -- apparently a spoof on the Beatles (remember, this is 1964). A drag race is part of the action and there's an ape that surfs.

"Beach Blanket Bingo" what a great title) is probably the best of the bunch. The dialogue is almost witty. And of course there's the great stone faced silent clown Buster keaton doing his timeless bits of busines. (A burned out alcoholic's sad, haunting and poignant farewell to the genius of his youth.) Don Rickles gets a major break with a part that sealed his antagonistic comic persona. Annette show a little more flesh and Frankie has a tan. The rear projection surf shots are still laughable but the over-all photography is much better. Les Baxter's score is full of energy and the title tune is actually memorable and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'd change it-a little, May 31, 2005
This review is from: Beach Blanket Bingo (DVD)
This is my favorite of the beach movie serious. My little boy and I have a blast watching the movies and singing. You definitely don't need to be an early baby boomer to enjoy these movies. My disappointment is that the song "I'll Never Change Him" is missing. It is the underlying theme music throughout the entire movie, but we never get to hear Annette sing it. I originally taped the movie off of AMC a few years back, and I was so disappointed when this song was missing from the DVD. From the other posts, I understand that this song was cut from the theatrical release, but if AMC can show it, why can't it be on the DVD? Worth the video quality, even with the missing song...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest one of them all, June 3, 2002
By 
Vince Yokitis (Cressona, PA. USA) - See all my reviews
Any movie that the Gorgeous Annette Funicello made is great, but I think Beach Blanket Bingo is the greatest becasue it has more fun, more songs, especially I'll Never Change Him(not on the video) and Annette as usual looks great... she is just Gorgeous and a wonderful actress and singer. Vince
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beach Blanket Bingo
Beach Blanket Bingo by William Asher
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.