Automotive Holiday Deals GG Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Martha Stewart American Made Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Outdoor Deals on HTL
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.40
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Beach Classics

8 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, October 25, 1990
"Please retry"
$27.87 $2.99

Indie for the Holidays: Listen now
Get ready for the holidays with 'Indie for the Holidays' our exclusive seasonal playlist featuring original tracks and covers from some of our favorite artists. Listen while you shop with our pop-out player. Listen now

Editorial Reviews

CD has 20 tracks. Compiled and digitally remastered by Steve Hoffman. Mfd. & Mkd. by DCC Compact Classics, Inc.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Summer Means Fun - Bruce & Terry
  2. California Sun - The Rivieras
  3. Miserlou - Dick Dale & The Del-Tones
  4. Little Honda - The Hondells
  5. Intertia! - The Hustlers
  6. I Live For The Sun - The Sunrays
  7. Balboa Blue - The Marketts
  8. Hey Little Cobra - The Rip Chords
  9. Bangalore - The Blazers
  10. Surfin' Safari - The Beach Boys
  11. Surf Rat - The Rumblers
  12. New York's A Lonely Town - The Tradewinds
  13. Riptide - The Chevell's
  14. Surfin' Bird - The Trashmen
  15. Beware Below - The Frogmen
  16. King Of The Surf Guitar - Dick Dale & The Del-Tones
  17. Penetration - The Pyramids
  18. G.T.O. - Ronny & The Daytonas
  19. Let's Go Trippin' - Dick Dale & The Del-Tones
  20. Surfer Girl - The Beach Boys

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 25, 1990)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Dcc Compact Classics
  • ASIN: B000000196
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #95,608 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 8 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Book Review Stu on August 17, 2005
Format: Audio CD
By far the greatest one volume beach/surf music compilation ever produced. This disc has become quite a sought after item among serious surf music enthusiasts...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By johnf on June 22, 2012
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Purists would say that the only real surf music was that made by the kind of guitar led bands that you find on collections like Cowabunga, and to a certain extent they are right. The Great Surf Music Boom was the first really new thing of the early sixties after a long period of teen idols and sock hops, and the surf instrumental was emblematic of the sound. But the surf instrumentals became known to the public on singles by a number of one-hit groups, and the sound that reached the public was more vocal than instrumental. This collection preserves that balance and that makes it a good introduction to the era.

Most of the important vocal artists are here with the notable exception of Jan & Dean, who along with the Beach Boys practically defined the Surf Sound. The Beach Boys are here twice with Surfin' Safari & Surfer Girl and this adds to the collection because they were the pinnacle of the whole scene but do not often appear on these types of anthologies. The flip side of Surfer Girl was Little Deuce Coupe, which added cars and drag racing to the surf mix in the summer of '63. That song isn't here but cars are well represented with Hey Little Cobra, and G.T.O. The collection is especially valuable for including rarities like The Sunrays's I Live For the Sun with it's perfect surf harmonies and driving rhythm ; and especially The Trade Winds's New York's a Lonely Town, which mixes West Coast surf vocals with an East Coast "wall of sound" backup which perfectly illustrates the plight of the lost surfer boy in New York City.
Half the disc is instrumentals, a tribute to the fact that surf music was the only music genre that produced a number of instrumental hits in the sixties. The groups include Dick Dale & the Deltones, The Pyramids, and the Chevelles.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By logicity on September 14, 2013
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Very nice compilation of hard to find 1960s era beach and surf music. Contains original recordings by the orinal artists. Good pricing point too. Nice to have so many great hits by various artists all on the same CD.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Jukebox Dave on January 25, 2014
Format: Audio CD
BEACH CLASSICS-VARIOUS ARTISTS: Unlike most surf 'n sun compilations which tend to trot out many of the same old waterlogged ditties, BEACH CLASSICS throws down more than its share of (pardon the expression) interesting curves into the mix. Naturally, the two undisputed pioneers of the genre are represented...rare, embryonic versions of THE BEACH BOYS' SURFER GIRL and SURFIN' SAFARI and a hat trick of gnarly jams from "King of the Surf Guitar" DICK DALE more than make up for any missing JAN & DEAN staples and THE SURFARIS' drum-pummeling anthem WIPEOUT. The TRASHMEN's glorious pre-punk chestnut SURFIN' BIRD, THE TRADEWINDS' sublime NEW YORK'S A LONELY TOWN and motor head oldies like THE RIP CHORDS' HEY LITTLE COBRA and RONNY & THE DAYTONAS' G.T.O. represent the smash hit side of things...balanced out by obscure big wave instrumentals from THE FROGMEN, THE PYRAMIDS and THE HUSTLERS you'll probably never hear elsewhere. Informative liner notes (especially for a 1987 release) complete this instant pool party package...all the listener has to do is add water.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?