Customer Reviews


272 Reviews
5 star:
 (249)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in rhyming picture books
Bear Snores On is Ms. Wilson's first picture book and it is WONDERFUL! Written in flowing, musical rhyme, the structure is flexible, never stilted, to allow the story to unfold as it should. Clever word choices add to the feel of the story, be it the cold winter with "fluff-cold snow" or the animals sharing food and fun ("They tweet and they titter. They...
Published on January 2, 2002 by Donna B.

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Description at the time I bought it was a little confusing.. I thought the book had a sound feature where you hear the bear snore, that would have been great. Almost returned it but felt I could read it and make the sounds, but I would have preferred it the other way.
Published 21 months ago by ljv


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in rhyming picture books, January 2, 2002
By 
Donna B. (Bridgeton, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
Bear Snores On is Ms. Wilson's first picture book and it is WONDERFUL! Written in flowing, musical rhyme, the structure is flexible, never stilted, to allow the story to unfold as it should. Clever word choices add to the feel of the story, be it the cold winter with "fluff-cold snow" or the animals sharing food and fun ("They tweet and they titter. They chat and they chitter."). A recurring refrain tells us that "The bear snores on" while other woodland creatures gather in his cave to escape the winter weather and end up having quite a party. Jane Chapman's cute illustrations will hold the attention of young listeners as will the story, the word choices, onomatopoeia ("And they nibble and they munch with a chew, chomp, crunch!"), and the refrain, which little ones will love to say along with the reader. And the twist at the end will always bring a smile. This is a book that everyone will want to read over and over again. I'm already looking forward to Ms. Wilson's next book, Moose Tracks, which is due out later this year. Hooray, Karma!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book to read, play and read again!, November 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
I first saw this book in a Discovery Toys catalog and love the fact that I saved more than $5 buying it on Amazon.com
This is the MOST wonderful book. It is our bed-time story every night and my 2 year old knows it by heart. She has learned all of the animals, the noises they make (chew chomp crunch) and shouts BEAR SNORES ON at every page!
This book is beautifully illustrated, simple enough for a toddler but detailed enough for Mom and & Dad to enjoy!
BUY THIS BOOK, you will NOT be disapointed!
We can't wait for Bear Wants More which is due out soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than what the words say, June 11, 2002
By 
Dawn Kessinger (Lima, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
While the winter storm rages, bear snores on. Guest after guest arrives in bear's lair, and bear STILL snores on. The story is funny (and has a moment of sadness) without losing meaning. Another delight of the book is the text - not just what the words are saying, but the way the letters are CAPITALIZED and sometimes bold-print, or smaller than the normal type. This really highlights the emphasis on the emotions or activities of the animals, including the bear (whose snoring seems to get louder as the activities around him become more animated). The story seems "just right" - kind of like Goldilocks finding the right bed to sleep in - and the full-page illustrations are great attention-keepers. A book kids will want to read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Must-Have Book For Winter!, January 3, 2002
By 
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
This is Karma Wilson's first book, but after you read it, you can bet you'll know that it will definately not be her last! Talent abounds with this book from Margaret McElderry Books/Simon and Schuster. Jane Chapman's pictures are refreshingly unique, and endearing.
When you pick up this book, you will think that you are picking up a piece of art.
And you are!
The text and the pictures simply sing with the flurry of the winter snowflakes. Soft, unexpected, rich, deep, and crisp!
The story is about a bear who keeps snoring on, even after some animals stop by to have tea and popcorn with him. But the party goes on without him as he sleeps. The chomp and crunch of the rabbit, badger and mouse eating honey-nuts- still doesn't wake him up! A fleck of pepper finally rouses him, and they do the party all over again for the sake of the bear. :))
Buy two. ..one for your best friend who will want to borrow your copy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book too!, May 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
I'm always happy to write about my 2-year old son's favorite books, but I'll let you in on a secret - I probably love Bear Snores On more than my son does! There are some books on my son's bookshelf that I have to grit my teeth and roll my eyes before reading (over and over again), but Bear Snores On is not one of them. I'm actually disappointed on those rare occasions that he doesn't request this book before bedtime. Here's why.

Karma Wilson knows what makes a book so effective for children. Her rhyming cadence and repeated refrain "but the bear snores on" establish a completely infectious rhythm that aids in memorization. I can stop at any point in this book and my son will immediately chime in with the next line.

Jane Chapman's gorgeous illustrations are the other half of what makes this book so wonderful. Her animal characters are both stylized and lifelike (you can easily imagine what it might feel like to grab a big fistful of the bear's fur), and their facial expressions are priceless.

Aside from the story and artwork, there is the pure sweet joy of getting lost in reading to my child. I say this with no false modesty - my "bear waking up" is awesome! I can "jump and stomp and growl and grumble" with the best of them, and trading the bear's lines with my son never fails to leave us both grinning from ear to ear.

If you have a toddler in the family, you really have to get this book. Chances are you'll enjoy it just as much (if not more than) they will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BEAR BOOK, January 10, 2002
By 
"pocah" (Marietta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
This is a great bear book. It is wonderfully illustrated, playful and fun. The book is about a bear who is sleeping in his den during the winter while other forest animals inhabit his den, party and have fun without waking him up until....HE WAKES UP! Read on to find what happen when the bear wakes up and how he reacts to the other forest animals. This is also a good book to teach your children about bears hibernating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We ALL LOVE this book!, December 9, 2005
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
I first read this to my class and then to my husband. Everyone loved it! Then I bought the board book for my young son and he just loves to listen to the bear roar, rumble, growl and grumble when his partying friends wake him up. The suprise ending make even the youngest reader smile at the end. A great opportunity to use character voices when reading aloud. A great read that can really be read AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN.... Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleep On, Brown Bear....., March 3, 2002
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
"In a cave in the woods,/in his deep, dark lair,/through the long cold winter/sleeps a great brown bear..." A little mouse arrives and seeks shelter from the freezing cold and snowy winter, and builds a fire to stay warm. "But the bear snores on." Soon a rabbit joins the mouse and they pop popcorn and brew warm tea in the now cozy cave. "But the bear snores on." In comes a badger, then a gopher, mole, wren, and raven. But the bear snores on, oblivious to all the eating and drinking and partying now taking place in his lair. That is, until a small pepper fleck from the stew lands right on his nose and he sneezes. Bear wakes up, takes a look around at all the goings on, and gnarls and snarls, roars and rumbles, jumps and stomps, growls and grumbles. He is one unhappy bear. But never fear, his woodland friends know just what to do..... Karma Wilson has written a gentle and inviting story that's sure to take the chill out of a cold winter's day. Her joyous, lyrical, rhyming text is full of humor, wordplay, alliteration, and sound effects, and just begs to be read aloud. With its repetitive refrain, "But the bear snores on", little ones will enjoy being able to "help" you read. Jane Chapman's delightful colorful and expressive illustrations, in soft tones, bring the engaging characters to life, and gives the story a warm and cozy feel. Perfect for preschoolers, Bear Snores On is a sweet and entertaining picture book, with a charming and amusing ending, you don't want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karma Books, January 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
I am pleased to find so many jewels by incident, and this is one of them. After searching for 'Karma', this book stood out as one of the least related to it topically, but I was interested in seeing Bear Snore On. It turned out to be a wonderful children's book, funny and fun to read aloud. Although not directly related to karma as a concept, the book seems to have a theme of friendship. The animals help eachother out, with fires and food, everyone making room for the next. Even when the BIG bear wakes up, growling and fussing, the fun doesn't stop & more room is made for them all to play.
Fun, funny, and a touching message, Bear Snores On is dead on when it comes to good children's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite children's book ever!!!!, November 24, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bear Snores On (Hardcover)
If you are a lover of children's literature, you have to add this book to your collection. This is a beautiful story about forest animals gathering in a bear's cave while he sleeps. This story emphasizes the beauty of friendship. The author is gifted with words and the illustrations are incredible. My favorite children's book of all time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bear Snores On (Classic Board Books)
Bear Snores On (Classic Board Books) by Karma Wilson (Board book - October 1, 2005)
$7.99 $5.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.