Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
419
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$15.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 30, 2004
If your child loves Bear Snores On, you have to get this book. It follows along the same line as Bear Snores On, except this time Bear wants to stay awake and celebrate Christmas with his friends.On the day before Christmas all of his friends( mouse, badger, mole, raven and wren) come to his lair to wake him up.They all pitch in keeping bear awake and preparing for the holiday.Another wonderful Bear story. The text flows just as smoothly as Bear Snores On, and it has the same style of beautiful illustrations. This is sure to be a favorite of any fan of Bear.
11 comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2006
Let me start by saying that I get goose bumps at the end of this book EVERY time I read it to my daughter, who is now 4. The illustrations and the rhymes are so wonderful. This was the first of the Bear books that I had read, and I ran right out to get the others, which are all equally fantastic. You won't be disappointed with this one. I am anxiously awaiting the release of Karma's next Bear book...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2004
T'was

'The day before Christmas,

snuggled on his floor,

Bear sleeps soundly

With a great big snore. ...'

Poor Bear! He's never seen a Christmas because of his hibernation habit. This year, his forest friends vow to wake him up and keep him up for their Christmas celebration. Karma Wilson's story with Jane Chapman's gorgeous illustrations of the Beautimous Bear and all his furry and feathered friends is sure to become one of your children's Christmas favorites. /TundraVision, Amazon Reviewer
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 22, 2008
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Bears are pretty predictable and they need to sleep a lot during the winter. However, this year Bear's animal friends decided to wake him up on Christmas Eve so that he can enjoy Christmas Day! Mouse, Hare, Badger, Gopher, Mole, Raven and Wren are a colorful group of animals.

The story is told in rhyme and the animals all convince Bear that he must stay up and keep moving. They want to give him a wonderful Christmas and decorate his den. Together they find a Christmas tree, make decorations and sing Christmas carols and Bear stays up! After awhile, the animals fall asleep, one by one, but not Bear. He stays busy all night making surprises for his friends. When morning comes all the animals find that Bear made them presents and that Santa had also been there. One final gift is given and it's for Bear. A charming patchwork quilt to keep him warm. He's covered up by his friends and settles down for a nice long sleep.

I liked the way the animals showed concern for Bear and wanted to do something special for him. I think that was a good way to show that it's important to do something nice for another person. A kind act is another type of gift! As a quilter, I enjoyed seeing the quilt show up at the end of the story. Not sure who made it though, was it Santa or the animals? Quilting animals, maybe for another story.

I think this is a sweet Christmas story and has a lovely message for children.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
This book tells the story of Bear, who is hoping to FINALLY succeed at waking up from hibernation and staying up for Christmas. It features the same characters as the other Bear books, including Mouse, Raven, and Badger. This is, in my opinion, one of the very best books from th Bear series. The story is a great example of the giving and caring spirit of Christmas. The animals exchange thoughtful, handmade gifts and have a wonderful time enjoying one another's company. They support and embrace Bear for who he is, and he reciprocates. The text is enjoyable to read and has a natural rhythm that will please children. The charming illustrations feature lots of fun details -- you'll notice something new each time you read this book! This is a secular book -- it features a Christmas tree, gifts, and Santa Claus, but no mention of the religious meaning of Christmas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2008
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a smallish, hardcover, jacket-less version suitable for little kids - no jacket to tear, no big pages that are hard to turn and easy to rip.
The story is heartwarmingly cute. It's told in rhyme similar (not identical) to Twas the Night Before Xmas style, like the earlier Bear stories - this time, the stanzas are occasionally punctuated by "But the bear stays up."
Bear's natural urge is to hibernate, but the other woodland animals want him to join their Christmas fun. The animals wake Bear and he gamely drags himself through the day, carrying home a Xmas tree, nearly falling asleep while stringing popcorn, singing in the firelight, and by the end of Xmas eve, bear is joyously wide awake while it's the other animals who have fallen asleep. He plays Santa -- but so does Santa. In the end, "When all gifts are opened, / there's one last surprise. / Badger shows Bear / a quilt just his size." And to sleep Bear goes.
A perfect snuggle-up read, warmly illustrated (big furry happy bear in glowing firelight in a cave) for younger kids (4-7ish) and even older ones will like it, though they won't admit it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2014
This is one of my favorite books of my daughter's. It is so well written and fun to read. Many children's books have a weird, choppy flow, but there isn't one point in this book that seems like they struggled to come up with something so they just made it work somehow. She was one when we got it and not many books held her attention for too long. This book is a little longer than many of her others, but it has always caught her eye and held her attention throughout.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My 2 year old recently got Bear Snores On for his birthday. A delightful book about a big bear, fast asleep in his lair that becomes over-crowded with other animals of the forest in short order as they eventually wake up bear and become friends.

Bear Stays up for Christmas is the wonderful sequel by karma Wilson. Wilson's clever and funny rhyming prose keeps the kids interested and Jane Chapman's gorgeous illustrations make this one another classic. This time, although Bear wants to sleep again through Christmas, his friends (Mouse, Badger, Hare, Raven, Mole...and the rest) won't let him. The group gets in the spirit by decorating a tree, hanging stockings and wrapping presents.

Another great "Bear" book and a holiday one to boot. My son just loves these!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 20, 2008
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I received my copy of "Bear Stays Up for Christmas" today and I am as excited as a kid. I love this sequel to Bear Snores On which I also own. The grandkids will love this book when we read it tomorrow. As I read the book for the first time I was smiling with delight and saying "Ooooh, this is sooo cute!"

In "Bear Snores On" several animals from the woods gather in bear's cave to escape the cold winter night. In this book they gather together once again as friends to celebrate Christmas. Once again parents have the opportunity to explain how bear's hibernate, and why it is difficult for bear to stay awake. In this book the friends sing "O Holy Night" remembering that Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Christ, and Santa appears too. They decorate, cook, cut down a Christmas tree, exchange gifts and share a meal like a typical Christmas celebration.

As in all the books about Bear, Illustrator Jane Chapman has done a beautiful job of illustrating this story for children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
Cute book. Emphasizes sharing and caring for others, but no references to Christian meaning of Christmas. Would make a good gift as art work and text will appeal to toddlers to young children. Have other Christmas books I like much better, but will still gift and know it likely will be appreciated, just hoped the ending would have tied to Christian celebration, as there was a great opportunity to do so the way the story is written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse