Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a winner
I was eagerly waiting for this book's release since I fell in love with Erin's Stead's last illustrating project And Then It's Spring. Here the husband/wife duo shine as they did in Amos McGee. I am so eager to see them produce more work! This title is printed on nice, thick paper that just feels GOOD in your hands. It's one of those small details that really make a...
Published 22 months ago by Elizabeth Rose Augustine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute Circle Story But...
This is a circle story that left me a little disappointed. None of Bear's friends took the time to listen to his story and then after he waited all winter and they were willing to listen to him in the Spring he had forgotten his story. (I don't think this teaches children a good lesson. Unless the lesson is we need to make time for friends.) I like the illustrations...
Published 5 months ago by Haley Whitehall


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a winner, September 10, 2012
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
I was eagerly waiting for this book's release since I fell in love with Erin's Stead's last illustrating project And Then It's Spring. Here the husband/wife duo shine as they did in Amos McGee. I am so eager to see them produce more work! This title is printed on nice, thick paper that just feels GOOD in your hands. It's one of those small details that really make a big difference because it makes you realize that you are holding a gem... something to savor slowly and deliberately with a child.

One thing to note: I read this book in early September. It really would be better (in this part of the country anyway) to save this for an early November reading. The sun is still shining bright around here and there's only a hint of crispy air in the morning. This book evokes late fall feelings... the preparations for winter and such.

There is no overarching moral message here or intricate details of adventure (much like the Spring book)... just a lovely, simple seasonal read that you'll want to experience curled up on the couch with a child and a quilt: books that invite moments like those need to be on everyone's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story, gorgeous artwork. An instant classic!, September 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
The Steads have hit another home run with their follow-up to A Sick Day for Amos McGee! Bear Has a Story to Tell is a beautiful story that follows Bear as he tries to tell one last story before his long winter sleep. Bear's gentleness and patience is magnificently illustrated through Erin Stead's unique and subtle style. The pictures will make you want to pull Bear right off the page and give him a big hug!

It is a fantastic book for children of any age and sure to be a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friendship and Patience, November 23, 2012
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
This simple story has a big message about friendship and patience.

It is almost winter and Bear has a story to share with his friends before his big yawns put him to sleep for a very long time. As he approaches Mouse to ask if he would like to hear a story, Mouse is distracted with his need to find seeds to get him through the winter, so being a good friend, Bear helps him to gather what he will need, but when the time comes for the story, Mouse is already burrowing in until spring.

The story is not much different with his friends Duck who is getting ready to fly south. Bear is a good friend, he help Duck to take flight for warmer parts.

Oh, there is Frog, surely he would like to hear a story, but alas, Frog needs to find a warm place to sleep. Bear cannot let frog down so he sets off to make the perfect bed for his friend.

As the first snowflakes begin to fall, Bear too must find a place to burrow in for the long winter months. As the season passes and the snow melts Bear can tell his story, but first Bear must make sure his friends are ok.

As story time rolls around, all his friends wait for the tale that Bear has longed to tell - if only he could remember it.

A sweet story about sharing and caring and what it means to be a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute Circle Story But..., January 25, 2014
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
This is a circle story that left me a little disappointed. None of Bear's friends took the time to listen to his story and then after he waited all winter and they were willing to listen to him in the Spring he had forgotten his story. (I don't think this teaches children a good lesson. Unless the lesson is we need to make time for friends.) I like the illustrations though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, especially for little ones!, October 9, 2013
By 
St. Louis Illini (St. Louis, Missouri) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
Phillip Stead books are just wonderful, and this one is no exception. The repetitive nature of the book makes it appealing for young kids, the illustrations are beautiful, and it's great for reading comprehension work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderfully quaint story about Bear who cannot find anyone to listen to his story ..., December 11, 2012
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
Bear sat on a log and rubbed his eyes as little leaves began to drop to the ground. He was getting sleepy, but he was anxious to tell someone a story and soon spotted Mouse, "Mouse," he asked, "would you like to hear a story?" Oh, no, it was a very busy time of the year and he had to gather seeds. And so Bear helped him before he "tunneled underground to wait for spring." As the leaves continued to spiral toward the ground, Bear went off to find Duck to see if he would like to hear a story. Oh, no, it was a busy time and he was "getting ready to fly south." Bear would certainly miss him, but soon duck began to fly.

Puffy pink clouds were overhead and "the sun was heavy and hung low in the sky." Bear leaned against a rock and soon Frog jumped up on his tummy. "Frog!" he asked, "Would you like to hear a story? Oh, no, it was a busy time and soon he would have to "find a warm place to sleep." Bear helped him dig a little hole and covered him so he could go to sleep. The leaves continued to tumble from the old oak tree as Bear leaned against it. Perhaps Mole would like to hear his story, but little snowflakes began to fall and Bear was getting really sleepy. Was there anyone who would listen to his story?

This is a wonderfully quaint story about Bear who cannot find anyone to listen to his story. One of the wondrous things about this picture book is that it subtly teaches young children how animals prepare for winter and hibernate. The artwork gives off the aura of a quiet time, a time of preparation. We can almost feel Bear's sleepiness emanating from the pages as he slowly discovers that all his friends are preparing for winter. The little Mole can be seen in his den far beneath the ground already fast asleep, one of the many animals who hibernates. This is a story that would be a perfect read and discuss tale during circle or storytime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, December 2, 2012
By 
Beverly A Cone (Central Point, OR, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 2 grandchildren, 5 and 2 1/2, and they both enjoyed it. Nice illustrations.
Nice gentle story. Very sweet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle story about patience, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
My 4 year-old grandson and my first grade students all fell in love with Bear. The pictures are beautiful, the story is told in a gentle way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute book, February 4, 2013
By 
Lynn Hoffman (Gulf Breeze, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
I teach Pre K and thought this would be a nice addition to my winter book collection. It is not the best Bear Book, and has a goofy ending, but it is O.K. I probably would not buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No story, April 10, 2014
This review is from: Bear Has a Story to Tell (Hardcover)
There is no story in this story book. The bear never really tells a story and seems to have forgotten what it was supposed to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bear Has a Story to Tell
Bear Has a Story to Tell by Philip Christian Stead (Hardcover - September 4, 2012)
$16.99 $12.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.