Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Maximize Your Viewing Pleasure! Beast Wars - The Complete Series
Previously, on my review of Beast Wars Season 1: Put away the 80's synthesizer and pull out the 90's generic rock guitar! Created by the same company that created Reboot, this classic Computer Generated series is the follow up to the original Generation One Transformers. Beast Wars in America, Beasties in Canada (Canada has a rule that no show aimed at children can have...
Published on September 19, 2011 by Reconnecting To My Childhood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So glad!
Just as good as I remembered!
Published 2 months ago by omar alston


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Maximize Your Viewing Pleasure! Beast Wars - The Complete Series, September 19, 2011
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
Previously, on my review of Beast Wars Season 1: Put away the 80's synthesizer and pull out the 90's generic rock guitar! Created by the same company that created Reboot, this classic Computer Generated series is the follow up to the original Generation One Transformers. Beast Wars in America, Beasties in Canada (Canada has a rule that no show aimed at children can have war in the title, go figure). An enjoyable series that had previously been released in bare bones sets by Rhino (which I own and are now discontinued), it has now been rereleased by Shout! with new extras! Beast Wars has finally gotten a more deserving release!

1st Season:

Beast Wars (1)
Beast Wars (2)
The Web
Equal Measures
Chain of Command
Power Surge
Fallen Comrades
Double Jeopardy
A Better Mousetrap
Gorilla Warfare
The Probe
Victory
Dark Designs
Double Dinobot
The Spark
The Trigger (1)
The Trigger (2)
Spider's Game
Call of the Wild
Dark Voyage
Possession
The Low Road
Law of the Jungle
Before the Storm
Other Voices (1)
Other Voices (2)

The first season is more generic and simplistic as far as most of the stories go but it sets things up nicely and builds to a wonderful climax by season's end. The second half of the season really started to become inspired and storylines had more continuing arcs and characters were becoming much more developed and defined.

2nd Season:

Aftermath
Coming of the Fuzors (1)
Coming of the Fuzors (2)
Tangled Web
Maximal, No More
Other Visits (1)
Other Visits (2)
Bad Spark
Code of Hero
Transmutate
The Agenda (1)
The Agenda (2)
The Agenda (3)

This season completely transformed the series into something much more serialized and much more mature. They cram a lot into this thirteen episode season and once the first three episodes set things up nicely the rest of the season tries out some very mature storytelling and quickly delves into huge plot advancements for the series. The three part ending, The Agenda, is fantastic and took the series right back to its G1 roots in a way so well planned and so perfect. Let's also not forget the fan favorite, Code of Hero, one of the series best.

3rd Season:

Optimal Situation
Deep Metal
Changing of the Guard
Cutting Edge
Feral Scream
Feral Scream (2)
Proving Grounds
Go with the Flow
Crossing the Rubicon
Master Blaster
Other Victories (aka Closure)
Nemesis
Nemesis (2)

If you thought the second season brought new maturity and depth by transforming the series then the third season must have gone Transmetal 2. Each episode has either an inspired premise or great plot/character development if not a combination of both. Other Victories may be on of the most successful attempts to quickly tie up loose plot threads for a series that I have ever seen and the series finale went out on the high note that this series deserved.

For a show that was honestly just one huge commercial for Hasbro toys this is quite a show. It is so well designed that the addition of new characters feels natural and adds excitement to the show rather than feeling forced and contrived. The status pod crashes actually make for some of the most interesting episodes because the new character can be programmed to fight for either side. The second season concept of updating certain characters with the surge and the notion of Fuzors may also be new marketing ploys but they feel so organic to the story of the series because of the way they were handled. The final season and the concept of Transmetal 2's was also quite well executed. Just a marvelous series all the way around.

Thanks to Shout! for putting in effort when they get the rights to a series and here's hoping they obtain the rights to many more (I'm still hoping Gargoyles will get a complete series set after Disney dropped the ball those many years ago).

**Many already own this set through Shout!'s website, I'm actually waiting on the November retail release as it coincides with my birthday so I will further review content of the actual set then. However, as an owner of the Reboot set I can say if it is similar (the only downside being some audio pops and some questionable picture quality) then I will be extremely happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Just Prime!, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
This is the best transformers series there is. Unlike the others, this one keeps the main plot and main characters while adding acceptable additions. While it is targeting kids, it still has great humor every now and then."This guy's got bearings of chrome steel". If you loved it as a kid, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If this was transformers for you growing up, make it part of your collection!, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
This was a fantastic tv series, one which blended CGI, good story telling, and characters that you actually cared about. As a child, this was one of my absolute favorite Saturday morning cartoons.
My friends and I all collected the toys, and played many hours re-creating the scenes from the show. In fact, several months ago, we pulled out all our old Beast Wars toys to reminisce.
This box set is solid, and the discs are great. What a fun way to re-live a part of childhood.
I would definitely recommend for children today. Even with the old CGI, it wont seem outdated, and the story telling is much better than the current crap out there for kids today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maximis, June 15, 2012
By 
David "Typhon 2014" (Webberville, Mi, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
I was a little bitt skeptical about this show. but it turned out to be really good. the computer animation back then was pretty good. i love the characters and the concept of the show. this is a great show. my favorite maximal is cheetor and rattrap. and my favorite predicon is waspinator. i just find those characters hillarious. here are the best episodes for this show

Episodes

1. Beast Wars Part 1
2. Beast Wars Part 2
3. The Web
4. Equal Measures
5. Chain Of Command
6. Power Surge
7. Fallen Comrades
9. The Probe
10. Gorilla Warfare
11. A Better Mousetrap
12. Victory
13. Dark Designs
14. Double Dinobot
15. The Spark
16. The Trigger Part 1
17. The Trigger Part 2
18. Spider's Game
19. Call Of The Wild
20. Dark voyage
21. Possession
22. The Low Road
23. Law Of The Jungle
24. Before The Storm
25. Other voices Part 1
26. Other voices Part 2

season two

Episodes

1. Aftermath
2. Coming Of The Fuzors, Part 1
3. Coming Of The Fuzors, Part 2
4. Tangled Web
5. Maximal No More
6. Other Visits Part 1
7. Other Visits Part 2
8. Bad Spark
9. Code Of Hero
11. The Agenda Part 1
12. The Agenda Part 2
13. The Agenda Part 3

Best Episodes Of Season 3

1. Optimal Situation
2. Deep Metal
3. Changing Of The Guard
4. Cutting Edge
5. Feral Scream Part 1
6. Feral Scream Part 2
7. Proving Grounds
8. Go With The Flow
9. Crossing The Rubicon
10. Master Blaster
11. Other Victories
12. Nemisis Part 1
13. Nemisis Part 2

if you have not seen this show or this before then i recommend you do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great re-issue of a great show, March 8, 2012
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
Rhino put out a solid DVD collection of this great series some years back. ShoutFactory! puts out nice DVD boxsets (nice art, nice packaging, nice bonus features, etc.) and looks to be carrying the mantle that Rhino used to carry given the depth and breadth of their offerings. I love this show so much I bought this 2nd issue to have as backup and available for lending to any family or friends who I can convince to give it a try. This isn't just a great kid's cartoon but a flat out great out sci-fi series. Turns out Larry DiTillio and Bob Forward had worked together on SheRa: The Princess of Power and Larry did a bit of work on Babylon5. Larry also wrote some of the more amazing episodes of the overall amazing 1984 Filmation HeMan and the Masters of the Universe cartoon series. Simon Furman- a revered writer of transformers stories for the UK comics- was even brought in to pen a great episode. Top writing. The voice acting is as amazing as it can get in any cartoon (thank you Gary Chalk and David Kaye). There were staff with some real bona fides behind this show and the show delivers from beginning to end with a great story arc that really entertains. When G1 transformers get referenced (Starscream, Ravage, Autobot Ark, the flagship of the Decepticon armada "The Nemesis") you get the goose bumps and chills of awesomeness flowing through you. I get the chills just thinking about Ravage's great lines in those amazing episodes aboard the Nemesis and you will too! You too will be speaking in Waspinator speak or para-phrasing dino Megatron's "Egggggsellent!" every chance you get too after taking in this beautiful show. I look forward to watching it again (and again) with my boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nostalgia is Killing me..., March 7, 2014
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
Me and my parents really love this show.
So what if the animation is dated and bad compared to modern Transformer series (like Prime)? It may be an old show, but it more than makes up for it in other ways. It stars amazing, fleshed-out characters, has talented voice actors, awesome soundtrack and a story that may start off slow, but soon escalates into something great and deep.
Plus, if you are one of those G1 fans, then you may like that little bits of continuity they hide in here.
This is a show with heart, humor and excitement. True, the animation isn't that great, but thinking about when it was made, it is what it is.
If you are a Transformer fan or simply would like a good cartoon, I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
Excellent quality I have been looking for this show for a while and could not be happier. I highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to Revisit my Childhood, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
Excellent condition upon shipping. All discs play well, and it satisfies my 90s Nostalgia. The extras are enjoyable too. My only gripe is that depending on what type of TV or monitor you view these on, there may be some interlacing scan lines showing up during high action scenes, but that can probably be fixed a little with some video codecs or filters. Great package overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let them be known as the Beast Wars, September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
The Beast Wars Series of the Transformers is more than meets the eye. It is excitement from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, July 30, 2013
By 
Josh (PICKENS, SC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996) (DVD)
I bought this for my son and just couldn't help but watch them myself.
The series was amazingly well done and the bonus materials were very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beast Wars: Transformers - The Complete Series (1996)
$39.97 $25.89
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.