Customer Reviews


2,018 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,040)
4 star:
 (335)
3 star:
 (193)
2 star:
 (158)
1 star:
 (292)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


404 of 469 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bass. Stylish. Great for travel. Surround sound/depth could be better.
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:24 Mins
I have been really satisfied (and still using) with the Sennheiser HD-595 Premier Headphone (which cost about $300 at the time; the most expensive headphone I've ever spent). Sennheiser is known for making leading professional headphones/microphones/etc.

...And then there's MONSTER.

As far as I'm aware, I've only known MONSTER for...
Published on November 26, 2008 by Kiyo M.

versus
2,065 of 2,192 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stylish design and clean, deep bass, but overpriced
I'll start out by saying I collect mid-priced headphones(between $50 - $300). It may be an odd hobby, but it gives me a certain perspective that others may not have. I'm also an engineering major, and I found the general lack of objective, in-depth headphone reviews on Amazon to be disconcerting. So, here I am, taking a shot at reviewing some of the headphones I either...
Published on May 20, 2009 by J. Genson


‹ Previous | 1 2202 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2,065 of 2,192 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stylish design and clean, deep bass, but overpriced, May 20, 2009
I'll start out by saying I collect mid-priced headphones(between $50 - $300). It may be an odd hobby, but it gives me a certain perspective that others may not have. I'm also an engineering major, and I found the general lack of objective, in-depth headphone reviews on Amazon to be disconcerting. So, here I am, taking a shot at reviewing some of the headphones I either own or have spent a lot of time listening to.

I've devised a simple six-song test and rating system, where 0 - 2 is abysmal, 2.1 - 4 is poor, 4.1 - 6 is mediocre, 6.1 - 8 is above average, and 8.1 - 10 is excellent.

The songs are very diverse; I was trying to represent a wide range of genres. They are "The Chain" by Fleetwood Mac(encoded in 256 kbps Ogg Vorbis), "Every Planet We've Reached is Dead" by Gorillaz(256 kbps .ogg), "Concerto Grosso #26 in D major" by Handel(256 kbps .ogg), "I Know You Are, But What Am I?" by Mogwai(500 kbps .ogg), "Afro Blue" by Triplexity(192 kbps .ogg), and "The Patient" by Tool(500 kbps .ogg).

I listened to everything on an iAudio 7 with the equalizer set to flat and all the sound effects turned off.

Sound Quality(6.8/10)

The Chain(6/10) - bass is nice and deep, slightly exaggerated, but still pleasant to listen to. Distortion is present, but very minimal. Mid tones and highs are somewhat underrepresented and bland, but otherwise sound decent. Instrument separation is a bit muddy. The main negative here is the sound stage, which is tiny.

Every Planet(8/10) - lows and highs both sound very smooth and rich in this song. Mid tones, as before, are underrepresented and bland. Instrument separation is good, but the sound stage is very underwhelming.

Concerto(6/10) - the bass in this song is deep and vibrant. Lows are nicely responsive. Mids and highs don't have quite the balanced presence they should have. Instrument separation is fairly muddy. Once again, the sound stage is lacking.

I Know You Are(7/10) - bass, as expected, is nice and vivid. Distortion was too high near the beginning of the song, but gradually leveled off. Highs were nice and crisp, but mid tones were lacking. Instrument separation, as was the case with most other songs, is a bit muddy, and the sound stage, while not as bad in this song, is still mediocre.

Afro Blue(8/10) - the lows in this song were pleasantly punchy, and the highs were fairly crisp and smooth. Mid tones were muddy, however, as was the overall instrument separation(no surprises here). The sound stage is similar to what it was in "I Know You Are, But What Am I?"; it is more present than in most songs, but doesn't have the fullness I would expect of circumaural headphones at this price.

The Patient(6/10) - right off the bat, the bass guitar in this song sounds great. Treble is decent, but underrepresented, as are the mid tones. The primary complaint I had in this song was actually not the sound stage(which isn't emphasized anyway), but the instrument separation, which I felt was greatly lacking in precision.

Overall Sound(6.8/10) - the bass from these cans is overall clean and pleasant. Somewhat exaggerated, but not greatly so. Distortion, while present at times, is also in small amounts. These aren't the subs-attached-to-your-head that some might expect before having listened to them. Treble sounds above average, but slightly underrepresented. The mid tones even more so - to the extent that they come across as bland. Instrument separation is also a bit muddy(although not too terrible). Another reviewer commented that these headphones were designed to sound slightly muddy, but I find this hard to believe, since the advertisement on Amazon claims "precise audio clarity". But as I've mentioned time and again, the biggest drawback to these cans is the sound stage, which just wasn't there. Overall, though, I would give these headphones an above average score in terms of sound quality.

Design(9/10)
These are a closed-air, cirumaural design, and a very attractive one at that. I like the styling very much. Lines on these phones are aggressive, but clean and elegant at the same time. They are also very comfortable. They're lightweight and have plenty of padding. My only complaint here is the headband, which I felt was too rigid, and didn't conform to my head as much as I'd have liked. I also like how mobile these are - they fold up, and come with a nice case to carry them around in. Great for traveling.

They are also built pretty well. I would rather see more aluminum at this price, but the plastic they're composed of is nice and solid. They seem durable, and I doubt they would fall apart anytime soon.

Noise Isolation(7/10)
Noise isolation in these Monsters is accomplished via the closed circumaural design, which features plenty of thick padding, and active destruction of outside sound waves entering the headphone. I am a fan of the former; the latter, not so much. In my experience, active noise cancellation interferes with sound quality, not only because of the waves that must be emitted to interfere with incoming ambient noise, but also because an external headphone amplifier can't really be used with noise-canceling headphones due to their built-in amplifier, which is typically not of premium quality. It's difficult to judge on a case-by-case basis, because the built-in amp can't be removed, but going by the sound produced by the Monster Beats, I don't think they're an exception to this rule.

All of that aside, the Monsters were definitely designed to be noise-canceling, so I won't dock points for that. What I will take off points for is relative effectiveness, which I didn't feel was where it should be, all things considered. They do block quite a lot of noise, but plenty of noise still bleeds through. I've heard noise-canceling headphones that are considerably more effective. Then again, I've also heard much worse, and these, in my opinion, are above average.

Bottom Line(6/10)
Monster Beats by Dr. Dre are a good, above-average sounding and noise-isolating pair of headphones that feature a comfortable, highly stylish, and mobile design. This doesn't come close to justifying their high price, however. Sound quality should be significantly higher in this price range. But as always, different people perceive sound quality in different ways, and I highly encourage you to listen for yourself to a wide range of headphones before spending money. Those interested in good, deep bass at or under the price of the Monsters should also listen to various Beyerdynamic headphones, and the ATH-D40fs model by Audio Technica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


404 of 469 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bass. Stylish. Great for travel. Surround sound/depth could be better., November 26, 2008
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 1:24 Mins

I have been really satisfied (and still using) with the Sennheiser HD-595 Premier Headphone (which cost about $300 at the time; the most expensive headphone I've ever spent). Sennheiser is known for making leading professional headphones/microphones/etc.

...And then there's MONSTER.

As far as I'm aware, I've only known MONSTER for selling really really expensive overpriced cables for TV/home theater/audio input components. Well, Monster has teamed up with hip hop artist/actor/record producer, Dr. Dre (made Eminem famous) and created this "High-Definition" headphones, which they call BEATS.

I'll be comparing the Monster Beats headphone with the Sennheiser HD-595, since it's the most expensive headset that I own (till this one), and I'd be shocked to find something that sounds better than the HD-595 (that's around the same price range or less).

I think it's obvious most people will expect the bass to be the #1 priority with this headphone, considering it's by MONSTER + Dr. Dre and called Beats. Well, it definitely doesn't disappoint there. The Monster Beats definitely wins in terms of bass. (Of course, Dr. Dre's genre relies heavily on it). If you listen to lots of rock/rap then you'll love the bass on these. If you get headaches with bass or you just can't stand it, then obviously, these aren't really for you.

The Monster Beats headphones require two AAA batteries to listen. You cannot use the headphones if no batteries are inserted, or if you don't have the switch to ON (located on the right side of the headphone). The batteries go inside the left compartment of the headphone. I've been listening with this headphone for the past two days and the batteries are still going. I'll have to use it longer to fully test the battery life, but hopefully it'll last several months because that would be really annoying if I have to keep replacing batteries. Since the headphone is powered by the battery, the sound is obviously amplified more, as well as the bass, than regular headphones. Whether you're using this on your computer, portable device or iPod, you can have the volume at a low setting and it'll still sound a lot louder than if you were to use a different headset at that volume setting.

For taking the headphones on-the-go and for traveling, the Monster Beats win again in terms of portability. The Monster Beats can be collapsed nicely and comes with a nice protective case to store it in; so you won't be damaging that nice shiny glossy sleek look of the headphone. The Beats definitely has a more youthful look and the shiny piano black finish will definitely catch more attention; however, personally, I think the Sennheiser HD-595 has more of a professional look. The Sennheisher HD-595 has more of a soft earmuffs cushion and the cups are larger, whereas the Beats are leather and smaller. The headphone cable for the Beats is also shorter, so the length is suitable for portable devices; whereas the HD-595, the cord is insanely long and not really made for walking around with it (but you can always replace the cord).

Without taking off your Beats headphone, you can press and hold the center button (The beat logo) on the right side of the headphone and it'll mute the sound until you release it again; this is convenient when someone needs to tell you something for a brief moment or you want to hear what's going outside for just awhile. The Beats headphone are closed headphones, so just by putting the headphone, you'll notice outside noise being reduced.

The vocals treble seem to be slightly higher than normal, but then again, it is also counter-balanced because again, the bass is stronger than what most headphones produce. The Monster Beats is great for hip hop/rap/rock music that use bass, of course, but what about others?

For overall music, despite the impressive bass on the Beats, I am still way more impressed with the sound of the HD-595. Compared to the HD-595, I feel the Beats lack more depth in surround sound. Granted, the Beats headphone are closed headphones, whereas the HD-595 are open for a more natural sound than some confined studio recording feel. When I'm listening to the same music with the HD-595, I feel like I'm actually there listening to a concert/theater and can really hear the separation of instruments/vocals/sound effects/etc.; it really feels like true surround sound. On the other hand, the Beats doesn't quite have that feel. With the Beats, despite some surround sound, I still know I'm listening with headphones. Don't get me wrong, the Beats doesn't have poor surround sound, but once you experience other high-end headphones, you will notice the difference in depth/separate channels.

Pros:
+ Impressive Bass. Best for bass lovers.
+ Amplifies sound for portable mp3 players/iPod
+ Noise cancellation
+ Stylish/glossy finish design (great packaging/presentation)
+ Leather cushion/material feels high quality/comfortable
+ Headphones can collapse when you put it away
+ Nice solid case for storing the headphones
+ Quick mute button on the right side of the headphone (the Beat logo) by holding it.
+ Headphone cord only on the left side. (Also comes with iPhone, Blackberry, etc speaker black cord)

Cons:
- Could use more depth in surround sound. (compared to Sennheiser, there's more surround sound with the HD-595, as you'll be able to distinguish different instruments/beats as separate channels/different directions)
- Requires two AAA and you must turn on the headphone switch ON. Forgetting to turn the switch off can waste the battery. Headphones will NOT run without batteries.
- Too expensive. (like any other Monster Products)

Overall, if you absolutely love bass and listen to mostly hip-hop/rap/rock; noise-canceling; made for traveling; then these headphones are for you. However, if you want overall balanced sound, greater depth/surround sound concert/theater feel, then I highly recommend the Sennheiser HD-595 (not to mention, it's about half the price cheaper now than what I paid for it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


347 of 432 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Expensive An Investment For Such Poor Manufacturing Quality, December 10, 2009
By 
I wish I could give these cans a glowing review but after being burned twice due to poor manufacturing quality I must now warn consumers against making a $300 investment in these.

The first pair I bought was a year ago and I LOVED them from the first note I heard. I had never owned a pair of high end headphones so this was quite an upgrade for me. I was having a blast hearing my music library in a totally different way. This all changed about 2-3 months in as the screws which secure the earphones to the headbands started to get loose. With no way of securing them (you can't screw them back in) they eventually started to fall out. Little by little the headphones began to fall apart until they were no longer usable. I called Monster support up and they agreed to send me a new pair as long as I sent the broken pair to them (at my cost). Awesome! Well not so much...

About 3-4 months later I took off the headphones after using them and noticed the headband had a crack right in the middle of it! Not only were my headphones no longer stylish but they were no longer stable. I tried to work through the problem until one day I went to put them on after having them around my neck only to find that the left ear cushion was missing! More than a handful of times I have had an ear cushion fall off and I'd have to snap them back in but losing them makes the headphones completely useless, both for comfort and sound reasons.

I called Monster back and they told me they could not replace them again for free but I take advantage of their out of warranty program and get a new pair for $150. Gee let me think...I already coughed up $300 on these - should I put another $150 into this product that has already failed me twice? Of course the answer was no. While the cans are nice when they work I just couldn't put more money into something that I knew would break. Additionally, it was a hassle having to replace the batteries every few weeks (or have them run out of juice on you in the middle of the day while outside).

Therefore, I would have to recommend consumers shopping for headphones look elsewhere. In the meantime I will be looking for reliable/well crafted replacement.

PS The cord would always wear away at the ends, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 176 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some will love these - others will hate them, January 18, 2011
The good - Impressive bass!

The bad - everything else!

If you like boom cars, this is the cats meow.

The bass is tight, but very excessive and drowns out the midrange which sounds very flat. The problem is that if you want to hear the midrange, the phones have to be so loud that the bass will cause hearing loss after a short time.

These are not audiophile quality, but I'm sure that bass freaks will fall in love with these cans.

I'm not the final word on what constitutes good sound, to each their own. If you love bass at the expense of everything else, you'll love these.

From my perspective, 90% of most music occurs in the midrange and bass and extended highs are the icing on the cake. In this case, think of a cup cake (midrange) with 2 pounds of frosting (bass).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 130 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite "as advertised", August 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The "Studio" and "Over the Ear" terms implied that they would be good for recording tracks in a studio and isolating sound, but they're definitely not intended for that.
If someone's using them, you can clearly hear what they're listening to because there's a LOT of sound leak. Oddly, pushing them against your head somehow makes the sound leak worse.
And unless you've got the music blasting, you can hear what's going on around you pretty well, so the sound isolation is not so great either.
If you're using them to record vocals, or in any environment where you don't want everyone else to hear what you're hearing, then they're absolutely not what you're looking for at all.
If it wasn't for the beefy price tag, I'd say these would be decent headphones for general use.
If you're looking for a "professional" pair of "studio" headphones, these definitely aren't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Garbage, August 14, 2011
I see the high reviews posted on here for these things and I have to say I simply cannot believe it. For the money, these are probably the worst choice in headphones you could imagine. I have had several headphones sets over the last 20 years and each had some positive and negative things about them. The only positive thing I can say about these headphones were that I was able to return for a full refund. These are all hype and no substance. Extremely poor for gaming or listening to high quality audio, they are built flimsy, and if someone is in the same room with you they can easily hear everything so not good for roomates. There are vastly superior headphones out there for less $$$$ such as the Audio-Technica M50. Do a little research before you buy these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stylish but way too bass heavy. Don't believe the hype!, February 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very disappointed! If you're looking for headphones that sound true to the music, stay away from these headphones. They are super hyped in the bass frequencies and the high end is quite dampened. These things can really rumble like a speaker which I'm sure some people think is cool, but I found it super annoying. They are not at all what I would describe as having a crisp and clean sound. It's sort of dull and muddy. They do look better than anything out there, but they are the epitome of style over substance - definitely a fashion statement. The noise canceling wasn't that great, so having to put batteries in them all the time is a pain. There is no play through option so you have to have batteries in them. Way overpriced even at $200. I'll stick to my Etymotic HF3s. The isolation is much better, they are way more comfortable and the sound is far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the worst headphones ever made ..., December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not even worth a full star ...

I have most major brands of headphones (including Bose, SOL Republic, Sennheiser, Denon, AKG, Shure, Sony, Monster and Urban Ears to name a few). I have had 3 pairs of Beats (Solo, Tour and Studios) – each one worse than the last (I know I should have learnt my lesson). They are incredibly fragile, most develop some form of issue within a matter of weeks, and the worst part, sound absolutely dreadful. I respect Dre as a music producer and am a fan of hip-hop (alongside most other genres too), but the mix you get revolves around the mids, can sound muddy and usually distorted even at low volume. These are absolutely horrendous.

If you want something flashy, expensive, and celebrity endorsed on your head, do yourself a favor and buy a hat. If you want headphones, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this a joke? Seriously?, October 9, 2012
I was so excited to get Beats By Dre. I kind of bought them impulsively after someone told me they were supposed to be amazing and really popular, and I should have looked on the reviews here first....because two words: TOTAL GARBAGE.

Okay, maybe not total, but for $300? Heck yes....worse than garbage. I don't even know the word for it. First of all, for $300 you think you'd get some noise canceling and there wouldn't be too much sound leakage, right? Wrong. My boyfriend was constantly complaining about these headphones and how he could hear every single word, even if it the volume was low. It made me too embarrassed to even wear them in public. And as far as canceling noise? Not really...you can still hear most things around you and won't do anything for you on an airplane.

Also, there was a really loud crackling noise in my right bud when I turned them on right out of the box. Sometimes it would go away, but it was super annoying, and for THREE HUNDRED DOLLAR HEADPHONES you don't expect a crackle at all. My $5 headphone that I found in Target's bargain bin had less issues than these headphones.

The fact that you have to use batteries is just pointless. There's no auto-off feature in case you forget to turn them off (which is easy to do), and then suddenly the headphones will die on a road trip.

The only thing these headphones have going for them is that they look really nice (although they feel a bit cheap and plasticky) and are very comfortable. I also like being able to push down the right bud to mute it. But for $300 this is a total scam and rip-off. I returned and exchanged for Skullcandy Aviator Headphones w/Mic3, $100 cheaper, and wow - so much better. Noise canceling, no sound leakage...the whole deal. Maybe not quite as comfortable, but you don't have to worry about a stupid battery and the fact that everyone around you can hear your music.

These headphones are maybe worth $50 at the most. $300? Please.

DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 155 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it, November 23, 2009
By 
Let me start out by saying I'm a professional DJ and producer, and over the years have amassed numerous headphones, from 500 dollar Shure in canals, to Technics, Sony's, and Sennheisers.

These Beats by Dre simply don't make the cut. The sound quality is subpar at best, they sound a little muffed, and don't produce nearly the quality you'd expect. They do have a nice sturdy built, and an attractive design, but don't let that fool you. For 300 dollars you can go way better. Check Sony's MDR700s, for less than half the price you will have much warmer, more true sound than these will ever be able to deliver.

I would pass on these, if you don't trust me go to your local best buy and hear them yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2202 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.