Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think I get it know
I first picked up this book because I thought it would be more of a biography of John Nash. The book is more a discussion of how game theory can be used to help understand nature.

The book was very readable and even gave me a historic perspective about where this trend is going. Although there is some very limited math in the book, it is very clearly...
Published on March 12, 2007 by Jeffrey Leeper

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Journalistic hypes and some patently false claims
I am an academic economist who knows something about game theory, so when I bought this book I did not hope to learn anything new but just to be entertained by an "illuminating" author during my leisure hours. I was disappointed to the point of anger.

This book is basically a journalist's report based on interviews with a few (probably half a dozen) individuals...
Published on August 3, 2007 by Sung H. Kim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Journalistic hypes and some patently false claims, August 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
I am an academic economist who knows something about game theory, so when I bought this book I did not hope to learn anything new but just to be entertained by an "illuminating" author during my leisure hours. I was disappointed to the point of anger.

This book is basically a journalist's report based on interviews with a few (probably half a dozen) individuals as the pages are filled with quotes from several academics in good standing. I think it would have been better to simply present many illuminating quotes from these individuals without inserting additional insights that the author gleaned from them, because many of the author's insertions were at best misleading and at worst patently false.

Just for an example, the author keeps insisting that payoff numbers in games are "money" as economists are interested in monetary matters. It might probably be true that von Neumann preferred interpreting payoffs of a game as money, but most practicing economists and game theorists certaintly do not do that.

An annoying repeated phrase is that "xxx told me (in an exclusive interview) that..." where xxx is one of the half dozen individuals mentioned above. Most of what xxx told the author must be correct, relevant and have some meaning but these are simply taken out of context by bits and spread throughout the text.

Also the basic hype about game theory's possibility to be a Theory of Everything seems to come out of (as the author admits) one person's recent writings at Bell Labs. The idea itself presented as such sounds simply outrageous (even to an academic economist like myself) but rather a surpring fact is that game theory's origins are in fact related to such an outrageous idea from physicists, mathematicians and "cyberneticians", one story of which is told in Mirowski, Machine Dreams. Mirowski's book has its own faults, and is a lot more heavy going (with some 500 + pages with small fonts and requiring a lot of knowledge), but at least it shows seriousness and a lot of research the author took to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars for the beginner and rather misleading, June 19, 2007
By 
M. Mulhollam (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
This is a 215 page book. If you are familiar with the Prisoner's Dilemma there just isn't a whole lot here for you. The discussion of statistical mechanics pales in comparison (and is rather similar to the outline of) Philip Ball's vastly superior "Critical Mass". Go there first. I know that is a different subject but a good chunk of this book discusses it. The author creates a ridiculous and unrealistic strawman of evolutionary pyschology and then repeatedly belittles it because human societies are variable (what a novel and unexpected concept!). Usuaully the author presents one example of work within each field he discusses - I suppose this keeps it readable but disappointing light fare. Go read "Critical Mass", don't waste your time with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think I get it know, March 12, 2007
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
I first picked up this book because I thought it would be more of a biography of John Nash. The book is more a discussion of how game theory can be used to help understand nature.

The book was very readable and even gave me a historic perspective about where this trend is going. Although there is some very limited math in the book, it is very clearly explained. The books is very readable and engaging.

After reading this book, I know want to know more about game theory and its predictive capabilities. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant .. expert storytelling, November 21, 2006
By 
SG (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
If you read or saw "A Beautiful Mind" and think there was drama in John Nash's creative madness, wait until you plunge into the work that drove him. Even without a background in (or any natural talent for) math, this story swept me up completely and, like previous reviewers, I had a hard time putting the book down. Siegfried expertly ushers the reader into the heart of a branch of mathematics that influences everything from pop culture to Nobel-winning science .. and does so in a way that leaves you feeling awed, inspired, and eager for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far-Reaching Theory Now Accessible, December 12, 2006
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
The movie "A Beautiful Mind" was inspiring and touching. But, it really did not explain Nash's contributions to the world in the form of game theory. Now readers have a chance to understand the theory and practice behind this Nobel Prize winning discovery in Tom Siegfried's book, "A Beautiful Math."

This thorough, historical, mathematical, and metaphorical description of game theory really helps me to see the implications of Nash's discovery. This work influences psychology, evolutionary biology, sociology, anthropology, statistical physics, quantum physics and more. Its far-reaching implications are brought to life within an eloquent explanation that touches on all branches of science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly understood and explained, questionably authored., July 2, 2007
By 
M@ (Colorado Springs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
The book jacket tells us that Seigfried won an award "for interpreting [science] for the public." I'm sure that that award was well deserved, for he has a knack for taking complex ideas and presenting them to a less-educated crowd. His two or three page explanations of concepts that took me weeks (and loads of homework/study) to grasp are nothing short of amazing. He often uses examples or analogies rooted in works of fiction to illustrate his points. The way these works are summarized to include only relevant information, and yet still capture the essence of those stories, is marvelous. Also, unlike many books of this genre, after reading it I did not feel like I needed to re-take any classes or brush up on my math. In fact, the most in-depth math involved (calculating a Nash equilibrium) should be crystal clear to a tenth-grader, and it is conveniently relocated to an appendix so that it doesn't bother any take-your-word-for-it readers.

Why only three stars then? Because this is a book review, and explanatory prowess isn't the only thing that it takes to write a book.

The humor in the book is very hit-and-miss. I wouldn't remove it, because when it hits... it's wonderful, but perhaps he should've gotten a humor-editor, someone to help him decide what to include and what to leave out. For example, Seigfried goes about explaining the mathematical differences between what he calls a "Robinson Crusoe economy" (one in which a single person makes decisions about fixed values) and a "Gilligan's island economy" (one in which each person makes decisions based upon other people, who make decisions based on other people, who...). Seigfried states that,

"Mathematically, that meant that no longer could you simply compute ... for Robinson Crusoe. Your calculations had to accommodate ... for Gilligan, the Skipper too, the millionaire, and his wife, the movie star, the Professor, and Mary Ann."

How cool! But then there are other instances. While using a game between fictional characters Alice and Bob to demonstrate some simple game theory, he inserts parenthetically: "(As I said, Alice would probably tell him to shove it)," directly between two rules of the game. We had already been told that this game was not in Alice's favor, and that it was simplified for the purpose of example. The text is peppered about equally with good, relevant, non-interrupting humor, as it is with not-so-good humor.

Furthermore, while he can explain very-high-level science to a high-school-graduate (and two thumbs up for that) his narration seems to be directed at an audience with a damaged memory. I say this because we are told at least four times that Colin Camerer is into Behavioral Game Theory, and that Neuroeconomics is a fledgling hybrid field.
The organization of the book favors the understanding of game theory over the understanding of its history. One is presented with concepts fundamental to game theory, some uses of it, some game theory developments, some views into advanced game theory; it works very well to foster understanding. With each chunk of theory work, Seigfried includes the history (which I was pleasantly surprised at--it's fascinating) that contributed to that chunk of theory. The problem here is that the first section takes place mostly in the eighteenth century, the second-to-last section in the twenty-first, and the last section in the seventeenth and also the twentieth. The jumping around in time was confusing. I can't say what the best organisational method is, but I don't think this is it.

Lastly, and most importantly, is the hype that he gives game theory. I am interested in it, that's why I picked up the book, and the occasional renewal of that interest was nice, but he takes it a step too far. The reader is told time and time again how freakin' amazing game theory is, it's all true. The problem is that after pages of this game theory hype, and a mid-book discrediting of some evolutionary psychologists who dared disagree, I begin to question how strongly his bias is affecting his writing. It doesn't come across too strongly until the final few pages (which, in my mind, bumped it down from a four-star) in which he compares game theory to a unified field theory, or physics' golden "theory of everything." He says game theory is the theory concerned with everything else (i.e. the social/biological/economic half of everything). I agree that it could be a framework to hold "everything else" together, but that's like saying that all baked goods can be divided between pie, and things-with-frosting. It doesn't include the whole picture, and it does so in a deceptive way.

I should, however, admit that I am subject to the same type of biases as the author. When I read, in that last few pages, that:

"Game theory is not, however, the same as the popular 'Theory of Everything' that theoretical physicists have long sought. That quest is mearly for the equations describing all of nature's basic particles and forces, the math describing the building blocks."

I became quite upset: MEARLY?! that theory is only one of the most important goals of science, ever! Well, you can see that my bias clouds my judgement too, interperet as you will...

So buy this book, I can't stress enough how great the explanations within are, but take it with a grain of salt (and perhaps some of your own research).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am only half way but I can not put it down!, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Simple and accessible to the complex subject of Game Theory. A great introduction, perhaps could do with a few links to a few more practical examples/explanations on the actual math (not limited to the 'bus vs walk' matrixes), and a few experiments other than relating to monetary value.

Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
A good introduction to game theory and its many applications. This, and other books like it (e.g. Brian Greene, etc) should become standard textbooks for high school students wanting to know where math goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, October 10, 2006
By 
K. C. Cole (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
I just read this book, couldn't put it down. Finally, game theory made sense and I understood how it applies in all realms of life and science. This is a fascinating journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Math is a Beautiful Book, August 8, 2008
By 
This review is from: A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature (Hardcover)
This is one of the nicest popular science reads I have experienced for a long time. The author has the ability to explain science and math in a very clear manner. The book does not only deal with Nash's math, but with all the math and science surrounding game theory. It is an exciting field, and the author is able to explain the limits of the theory and the hopes to understand human nature, and expressing it in mathematical terms.

If you are interested in gaining understanding of what game theory is about and current developments and thought in this field, in layman's language, I recommend that you get yourself a copy and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Beautiful Math: John Nash, Game Theory, and the Modern Quest for a Code of Nature
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.