Customer Reviews


310 Reviews
5 star:
 (262)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all the perfectionists out there
When I saw this book, I thought it was the perfect gift for all the perfectionist children out there, including (and especially) their parents. Here's a gem of a book that finally celebrates everyday spills and paper tears and turns them into "happy accidents." I bought it for my four-year old who went wild with it, as well as for my niece who cried last time she was...
Published on October 18, 2010 by NMA

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice gift
This chunky little book is a great gift for preschoolers or anyone on your list who may need a gentle reminder that every oops! can be made beautiful with just a bit of imagination.

Artistic opportunities abound when paint drips and paper tears. Spills and smudges become happy surprises on each brightly colored page. The right attitude can turn, "I messed up,"...
Published on January 6, 2011 by Bookmark


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all the perfectionists out there, October 18, 2010
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
When I saw this book, I thought it was the perfect gift for all the perfectionist children out there, including (and especially) their parents. Here's a gem of a book that finally celebrates everyday spills and paper tears and turns them into "happy accidents." I bought it for my four-year old who went wild with it, as well as for my niece who cried last time she was drawing a line that didn't turn out "straight." This book can turn a tear into a smile. It's a lesson for kids as well as adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great message and great interactive book, September 17, 2010
By 
RobV (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
A simple, yet very creative book that finds beauty in everyday "mistakes". The message, art, and interactive pages are all great for "kids" of all age (ranging from 1 to 47 in our family).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Gift, September 20, 2010
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
I completely agree with the previous reviews about this book being for all ages. I first saw BEAUTIFUL OOPS when I stumbled into the author's book signing by accident. I bought two signed copies as birthday gifts for my nieces. It was such a success that I plan to buy copies for all my holiday gifts, not just for the little ones, for my friends and relatives, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for any age!!!!, February 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book! I wish I would have had this a few years ago but happy to have found it now. We have a child with a very controlling personality who, at a very early age, would get so upset if something wasn't perfect. If paper ripped or something spilled, they would have a meltdown. We have tried to show them time after time that you can make something creative and new with the situation. Hearing it from your parents and seeing it in print are two different things! Our child LOVES to read so this is wonderful! A wonderful idea that has been put into print! Highly recommend for everyone. A great teaching tool to help instill flexibility and positive thinking, and creatively addressing unexpected situations. Also a great great great book for parents (new and old). For "new" parents to find fun instead of frustration, and for "established" parents to remind them to find the fun in the small stuff!!!!
(Short book though .....wish it were longer because it is so good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories for Children Magazine 5 Star review, October 21, 2010
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
Synopsis:
"Everyone who has ever said the word `oops' will be smiling when they see the masterpiece that Barney Saltzberg has created . . . funny and fun, Beautiful OOPS! is the best fit to give anyone, any age, anywhere, anytime." ~Jamie Lee Curtis

Overall thoughts:
This is a delightful concept book for all ages, even though it is suggested for ages 3 and up. With bright vivid colors throughout children of all ages will love turning each page to find something fun or a little different to get their creative muse turning. If you have someone who loves art . . . this would be a fun book to give as a gift.

Author and illustrator, Barney Saltzberg is also the creative force behind the bestselling Peekaboo Kisses and last year's Good Egg. A singular work of imagination, creativity and paper engineering fills this book with pop-ups, lift-the-flaps, tears, holes, overlays, bends, smudges and even an incredible accordion "telescope".

Children will delight in knowing they can create anything from torn paper like an alligator. Or see a spill become an elephant . . . a pack of puppies . . . or even a family of birds. Besides each page having a creative twist to an everyday "Oops", you also get a surprise trying to find how each page reveals the hidden creativity of the "Oops". Making this book extra special and a unique concept book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for my little Perfectionist!, December 19, 2010
By 
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
This book has been great in teaching my preschooler that things don't have to be "perfect" to be beautiful. It's creative, fun, and colorful. The message of the book can be turned into several different lessons for kids:

-An "OOPS" isn't a reason to cry, but a chance to make something great
-Things can still be beautiful even with "flaws"
-Everyone has "OOPS", nobody is perfect

It's a short book that only takes a couple of minutes to read.

Overall, it is a great book that I'd recommend to anyone with a budding perfectionist at home. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Part? The Whole Book!, January 30, 2012
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
"Beautiful OOPS!" is about mistakes and how to make something fancy out of them. It is also about using your imagination.

Kids would like this book because it's about being creative, the pictures are funny and it's colorful. They would also like all the stuff to do in the book, like lifting all the flaps.

My favorite parts were the whole book.

Adults and kids of every age would like this book and both boys and girls, too.

It gets 5 stars!

Reviewed by Young Mensan Lila, age 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice gift, January 6, 2011
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
This chunky little book is a great gift for preschoolers or anyone on your list who may need a gentle reminder that every oops! can be made beautiful with just a bit of imagination.

Artistic opportunities abound when paint drips and paper tears. Spills and smudges become happy surprises on each brightly colored page. The right attitude can turn, "I messed up," into, "Wow!"

Small hands will enjoy exploring the foldouts, pop-ups, holes and rips. Older readers will appreciate the book's simple message: life is full of mistakes - embrace them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration of Creativity, September 24, 2010
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
How freeing- a beautiful book that encourages making mistakes. Beautiful Oops fits in perfectly with the idea that we should all embrace life as it is: beautiful, unpredictable, and precious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for all ages, December 12, 2013
By 
Catherine (San Juan Capistrano, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Oops! (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 2/1/2 year old granddaughters based on the reviews. This is way too simplistic for more advanced toddlers. This book would have more appropriate when they were 18 months old or even younger. Good message, but not for all ages, as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beautiful Oops!
Beautiful Oops! by Barney Saltzberg (Hardcover - September 23, 2010)
$14.95 $10.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.