Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEENA MARIE'S FINAL "BEAUTIFUL" MUSICAL GIFT
Teena Marie's excellent "Beautiful" is the final musical work of "the Ivory Queen of Soul" who left us too soon at age 54. Recorded in her home studio, it was brought to completion after her passing by her talented daughter Alia Rose who also sings on two of the tracks. It is a fitting posthumous musical epitaph to Lady T's four decade career and almost sounds like she...
Published 20 months ago by RSProds

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
i have always respected and dug Lady T. Teena Marie. no offense to Adele, Amy Winehouse,etc.. however we didn't nbeed to leave these shores to have true Blue Eyed Soul that stayed true to the root. Teena Marie never got her fair due in life and it was mainly because she stayed R&B. she never crossed over or tried. always got around the way love...
Published 20 months ago by mistermaxxx08


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEENA MARIE'S FINAL "BEAUTIFUL" MUSICAL GIFT, January 15, 2013
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
Teena Marie's excellent "Beautiful" is the final musical work of "the Ivory Queen of Soul" who left us too soon at age 54. Recorded in her home studio, it was brought to completion after her passing by her talented daughter Alia Rose who also sings on two of the tracks. It is a fitting posthumous musical epitaph to Lady T's four decade career and almost sounds like she was looking back with "Wild Horses" from the Passion Play CD and looking towards the future with "Rare Breed" (with Alia Rose) and "Beautiful", all showing she was at the top of her singing, musician, and songwriting abilities. At age 54 many singers are reminiscing with their 'greatest hits', but Teena had already 'reloaded' with "Beautiful". And it is full of smoking soul, hip R&B, beautiful ballads, and latin-tinged swingers that show off her crystal clear, multi-range voice. The 'best of the best' begins with classic-sounding, multi-tracked "Luv Letter", the mellow "Carte Blanche", and the latin-tinged swinging ballad "Definition of Down", while the hip 'spoken word' intro to the intense ballad "The Long Play" will tug at the heartstrings of long-time Teena Marie fans. The swirling "Maria Bonita" brings to mind her fabulous "Portuguese Love" from her It Must Be Magic career phase. Curtis Mayfield's SuperFly movie classic "Give Me Your Love" with Alia Rose is lovely and sensual. This surprise recording caught nearly everyone off guard when the announcement was made in November that it existed and it is a timeless "Beautiful" musical posthumous gift from Teena Marie, produced through a labor of love by Alia Rose. My Highest Recommendation. Five BIG Stars (12 tracks; Time: 63 min; 5 sec. Some MP3 downloads have a bonus track of a great Teena version of Smokey Robinson's "OOO Baby Baby".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legacy is "Beautiful", January 15, 2013
By 
Z. Mehrbach "Zach" (Chicago/New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful (MP3 Music)
While I'll admit I'm mostly a fan of Teena Marie's earlier work, with my favorite albums being the popular ones like "It must be magic," and "Starchild," I wanted to hear her (unfortunately) last album "Beautiful." The circumstances under which she passed are unfortunate but she left us a beautiful album which was produced with much help from her daughter Alia Rose. Teena's voice is matured and silky as usual, giving a sense of calm while still driving each song forward, and Alia is a great singer in her own right as she adds flavor on a few great tracks with my favorite being "Rare Breed." It's an uptempo tune and has one of the catchier chorus' on the album.

"Luv Letter" is one of my other favorite songs that brings me back a little bit. Her voice is great on this track and it brings me back. It plays as a "letter" reflecting on her romantic history. It's almost like a reflection on her career, and on her relationships. It's also one of the faster paced songs with nice crisp high hats and a heavy hard hitting bass. I do miss the days of her having a funkier "slap" style bass on her albums, this comes the closest on "Beautiful."

"Definition of Down," is a nice track. Great instrumentation, the vocals weave well throughout the song and is one of my favorites here.

The rest of the album plays well, but doesn't completely do it for me. It's reminds me too much of late nineties R & B and reminds me less of the great Teena Marie that I love so much during her early career. The tracks are very similarly paced and her vocals don't always have a great amount of variance from song to song.

Nonetheless her voice is strong, beautiful, and a joy to listen to. Although not one of her best albums it's a nice and fitting way to end her career and Alia did a great job finishing this album off for her mother. I'm greatly looking forward to what she comes out with building on her mother's legacy. Worth a listen if you're a previous Teena Marie fan, but if you're new to her work start with the earlier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Luv Letter from Lady T~Bravo Teena!, January 15, 2013
By 
Bradly Briggs "sing it!" (TOLUCA LAKE, CALIFORNIA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
Teena Marie is and always will be unlike any another, fantastic first-rate songwriter also possessed the most amazing blue-eyed soulful voice ever, always knowing how to use it to maximum effect while going deep inside the emotional core of her profoundly spectacular original songs...opening funky jam "Luv Letter" should be a major hit and if there is any justice at all receive an overdue "Grammy Award", sadly many original classic gems by Lady T should have topped the charts winning deserved awards, but for some strange unknown reason radio didn't play her uniquely original phenomenal songs released for pure pleasure & enjoyment while at times socially aware, fans managed to find these awesome self-penned classic gems anyway while her captivating concerts were always sold-out love fests with numerous exuberant standing ovations, Teena sang to open the sky and within wild funky rhythms hit notes never heard before and man, was this wildly rhythmic little lady ever so funky yet super smooth...going deep inside song after glorious song in awesome "Beautiful" masterpiece collection, lovingly released with the assistance of her very talented daughter Alia Rose, once again at top of her game this amazing trailblazing legendary talent shows the world nobody treads where Lady T goes, mesmerizing & haunting closer "The Perfect Feeling" is just that...glorious ethereal "Wild Horses" gem actually from 1994 off the chart extraordinary "Passion Play" masterpiece, self-released classic many rightfully feel should have been an out of the park blockbuster with numerous hits and multiple "Grammy Awards". Thank you "Ivory Queen Of Soul" for the many memorable quality years of soulful bliss, sure thing there will never be another who will ever come close to the extraordinary level & output of composing one uniquely original classic after another or the rapturous vocals that forever will be the hallmark of this legendary icon...gone too soon, love & miss you madly sweet lady of soul, RIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Beautiful" Ending, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful (MP3 Music)
I didn't really love or like her last 3 albums- La Dona, Congo Square Sapphire though they had some good songs on them. I couldn't listen to them top to bottom without skipping tracks. They weren't on my "go to" list when i wanted to have a dose of Teena. This album will be! I am so happy that this has been released- thank you to her family and label for doing so. I was so sad when she passed because musically she has been a part of my life for as far back as i can remember. This album makes me smile and it makes me move! Her voice lost nothing as i very apparent by her remake of "Wild Horses" which is almost exactly note for note except for a few added riffs that go up the scale versus down. "Rare Breed" is as sexy, funky and def one of my favorite tracks! "Definition Of Down" "Carte Blanche" "Maria Bonita" are classic Lady T with her use of lyric symbolism like only she does. I also love her use and rework of lyrics and melodies from her previous body of work.

She is in my opinion the first and really the only white lady of soul music. I say that because she sings and writes from there- her soul. It's not about her "sounding black"- whatever that really means. It's not about her ability to riff- that doesn't mean someone has soul. It's the feeling. You feel it in the way she sings her every lyric that she wrote. In the way she played the music that she wrote. The way you feel she lived every note. She was unique and under appreciated in the music world. With every listen to this album I enjoy it more and more and isn't that what good music is about? Buy it, Listen to it, and Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Tee's Final Magnus Opus, February 22, 2013
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
Awesome final collection of just really good ole Teena's songs; a reminder of a singer who can actually sing without adding all of the purposeful electronic bells and whistles that distracts from "vocals" like many of today's so-called singers. TEENA SINGS!!! She is in a rare class of SINGERS, COMPOSERS, and ARTISTS - easily in the "Music Hall of Legendary Singers" such as Mariah, Whitney, Ella, Aretha, Barbra, Natalie, Sarah, Nina, Donna, Billie, and Patti.

Run and buy this CD! Nice arrangement of songs and I love them all! This will add to the collection of wonderful CDs you already love to listen to while driving, cleaning, or cooking - it simply just goes with a positive vibe while the groove/energy flows in and all around you. It's a nice tribute to a well-deserving woman. It is "Beautiful" indeed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
If you like TeenaMarie, you'll love this cd. Reminiscent of the old TeenaMarie. Don't sleep on this one. Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teena Marie "Beautiful", February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
I feel in love with Teena voice back in the 80"s and is still in love with here even though she singing in heaven. The angels are overjoyed, they got a soul sister leading the choir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love IT!!, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
What can I say? I just love Teena Marie. I'm not going to go through a long drawn out review, May she RIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Epitaph For A Beautifully Creative Soul, January 15, 2013
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
Speaking for my own experience I got into Teena Marie late,around 2006. I quickly absorbed as much of her music as I could,through some very interesting and trying periods of my life. Because of her extremely rich musical tapestry and transcendentally rangy vocal abilities,she was one of those artists who gave people they impression she was performing both individually for them and the whole world all at the same time. It's a level of soul you don't get often. Billy Holiday had it. Ella Fitzgerald had it. Chaka and Aretha have it. And Teena Marie most certainly had it. Sadly shortly after Christmas of 2010,that voice suddenly went silent at the age of 54. I never felt she got the acknowledgement she deserved,it was sad and I thought it was all over for Teena Marie. Than later last year it was announced to me her final album was coming out posthumously. Little about the new year to come in music was more exciting news to hear.

With her fine band of musicians helping out Lady T gets things off to a fine start with the grooving "Luv Letter",a juicily slippery and sticky funk number among the classiest she ever threw down. It's back to the more 80's "Sexual Healing" type spare electronic/percussion style on "Love Starved",a song that would not have been at all out of place on Robbery. The danceable "Rare Breed",featuring (and co-written by) her daughter/musical partner Alia Rose as well as the spicily sexual "The Long Play" (name dropping JB's "Ain't That A Groove" is always a good thing coming from her) are perfect examples of how to do modern pop/R&B with strong old school craft and instrumentation. Partly sung in what sounds like Portuguese "Maria Bonita",written for her mother is a scintillating synergy of funky salsa and jazzy soul that leaps right out of the speakers.

Of course ballads such as "Definition Of Down","Carte Blance" and the intensely romantic title song excursion go right for her renowned reputation for the "fire and desire" she's put into every one of her torch soul ballads since day number one. She also covers Curtis Mayfield's "Give Me Your Love", duetting with her high pitched voiced daughter Alia again for a sweetly funky tribute to the master of sweet funk himself. The soulful drama of "Wild Horses" (not the Rolling Stone's classic,but just as powerful on a very different groove) is followed by "The Perfect Feeling",a hauntingly meditative mixture of East Indian and Arabic melodic ideas,complete with tabla drums and sitar. Duke Ellington had a certain musical signature some referred to as "Ellingtonia". Well I am convinced Teena Marie here had a similar quality I'll call Teeningtonia for the lack of a better name. There's just this unique stamp to her vocal,songwriting and musical approach that signifies itself all on it's own. And even though she's not with us to bask in this albums potential creative fruits,that quality drips from this album like garlic butter if you will-rich,creamy and with a tangy undertone. Gorgeous music through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, January 17, 2013
This review is from: Beautiful (Audio CD)
i have always respected and dug Lady T. Teena Marie. no offense to Adele, Amy Winehouse,etc.. however we didn't nbeed to leave these shores to have true Blue Eyed Soul that stayed true to the root. Teena Marie never got her fair due in life and it was mainly because she stayed R&B. she never crossed over or tried. always got around the way love for being real. this album keeps that point in perspective. well arranged and produced vocals are on time and her daughter has talent. luv letter is a cool track, however the thing missing for me, from going extra over with this album, is it doesn't have that cut,that is part of her catelog, where i hit repeat. everything else though is cool. she did a strong job covering Curtis Mayfield and Smokey Robinson. Rip to a talent who never got her full due. lady T covered all the bases and thensome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beautiful
Beautiful by Teena Marie (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.