Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a beauty!
Like the other reviewer, I've seen this lovely little movie dozens of times, and never get tired of it. Angela Lansbury and Paige O'Hara are just as charming as in the original, and Bernadette Peters' Angelique will melt your heart. Her song, "As Long As There's Christmas," just might put a catch in your throat. The animation - especially the evil Forte -...
Published on August 30, 1999

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark for a Holiday movie
We bought this DVD in hopes to add to our collection for holiday movies. My daughter barely made it through the first 1/2 hr. She seemed intersted in the beginning but as the movie went on it got very dark and for her a little scary. The beast was angry through most it. The reason for 2 stars, the beginning was fine as was the end. The majority of the movie was...
Published on November 16, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a beauty!, August 30, 1999
By A Customer
Like the other reviewer, I've seen this lovely little movie dozens of times, and never get tired of it. Angela Lansbury and Paige O'Hara are just as charming as in the original, and Bernadette Peters' Angelique will melt your heart. Her song, "As Long As There's Christmas," just might put a catch in your throat. The animation - especially the evil Forte - is eye-popping, just as you would expect from Disney. I would recommend this movie for all Disney-cartoon fans, as well as those who want a collection of cheery, heart-warming Christmas videos/DVDs. Get it ... You won't be disappointed. (FYI: Disney released a CD soundtrack that is just as much fun as the movie!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So excited that this is being released again!, November 5, 2011
By 
This is one of those movies that will disappear into the Disney "vault", only to be released every 10 years or so. I unfortunately did not get it the last time it was out, and have regretted it ever since. This movie is a wonderful tale of Belle's first Christmas in the castle (it is supposed to be during the time the last movie took place, only before the beast's transformation back into a man- it is presented in a flashback form.) The same old characters from the original Beauty and the Beast are here, along with a couple new characters- including Fife (a picollo) and Forte (a huge pipe organ voiced by the always fabulous Tim Curry) and Angelique (the Christmas angel who was once the castle's decorator voiced by the incredible Bernadette Peters.) Forte was once the court's composer but he is quite content with staying the was he is because, as he says, "humanity is overrated". He also feels more appreciated and needed as the organ, because the beast enjoys his melancholy music. The plot revolves around the castle trying to plan a Christmas, even though the beast banned it after being cursed because it brought back painful memories of his human years and the time he turned into the beast (which is portrayed in this movie as happening at Christmas), and Forte's attempt to stop Christmas from happening and also destroying Belle so she cannot fall in love with the beast and restore their humanity. The movie does not take anything away from the original and is rather a fantastic companion to Beauty and the Beast. It includes some great new songs, including "As Long As There's Christmas", "Stories", and "Don't Fall In Love". Like the original Beauty and the Beast, the film does have some dark moments- the beast's anger is once again shown and Forte is very sinister- but this is a Christmas movie and we know that Belle and the Beast do eventualy fall in love, so the happily ever after is inevitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful sequel to the classic Disney epic, March 11, 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
THE ENCHANTED CHRISTMAS is a wonderful continuation of Disney's acclaimed Oscar-winning BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, which tells the untold chapter of the fateful Christmas where Belle stole the heart of the gruff Beast.
The best thing is the presence of the entire original voice cast; Paige O'Hara as Belle, Robby Benson as The Beast, Jerry Orbach as Lumiere, David Odgen Stiers as Cogsworth and Angela Lansbury as Mrs Potts. Joining them as brand-new characters are Bernadette Peters as Angelique, Paul Reubens as Fife and Tim Curry as the evil Forte. There is also Haley Joel Osment in the role of tiny Chip.
The story is heart-warming, and as someone who has grown up with the original movie (and it has to be my favorite Disney film), it was like seeing dear old friends again.
Do not miss it! The DVD transfer is gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Christmas Saga!, September 11, 2002
By 
It's a little something for all Beauty and the Beast fans. It's sweet and enjoyable. The songs are nothing compared to the original animated feature but still it's worth a check. It revives Disney's magical tale that earned an Oscar nominee for best picture! Note: Unlike the Oscar-winning feature, this is something that will probably appeal more to kids- so based on a children's perspective (younger cousins) I give it a 5- but unlike the original feature that I gave a 5-star to, I give this a 2-3 star from an adult's perspective.

The tale revolves around the lovable cast celebrating Christmas a year after what you saw in the original tale. They all start to have an argument over who saved Christmas the year before. They then go back to the original tale but in more detail this time. There are more new characters and a whole new villain. The 'musical' villain serves as a friend to the Beast. He's quite jealous and his music helps the Beast relax. Watch how the characters plan, sing, destroy, and save Christmas!

The story is of coarse nothing compared to Disney's Beauty and the Beast. Still with the characters returning to their objects and Belle singing around about 'stories', this feature is definitely worth seeing if you enjoyed the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Long As There's Christmas..., October 1, 2011
...Disney will keep rereleasing their movies in new format for more profits. Kidding aside, I bought this film on DVD years ago after it had already gone out of print. I sadly admit that I must have paid near $80 just for the nostalgic feeling of watching this again at Christmas. Was it worth the eigthy dollars? Probably not, but now people will be able to buy it for less than $30 and that is worth the price, especially in high definition.

It doesn't have the animation quality that the big budget original had but they do the best they can with the budget they have and it will definitely be gleaming on Blu-ray. Some people say that the organ is too scary for kids, really? Is it the voice or what? I just don't see it. He is no scarier than the witch from Snow White, the Pleasure Island sequence from Pinochio, or even Gaston in the final scenes of the original. Parents all have to use their own discretion when allowing children to watch any film but I don't see how the villain here is any more frightening than those other acclaimed classics.

The only downside with this release, not really any new special features. I would have loved a commentary or some new look back, even some classic disney holiday cartoons updated to high definition. I would have loved them but I can't say I expected them. Disney isn't as great at including new material as they have been in the past. There is the new inclusion of segments from the old Lynsey McLeod series Sing Me A Story with Belle, which will be nice to revisit but doesn't seem to tie into the holiday theme upon first inspection.

I guess the fact that I'm now buying this to put it beside my Beauty and the Beast Blu-ray means I'll have spent over a hundred dollars on the film. It might not be worth it to most but I thoroughly enjoy this film and it's fun to find time to watch it every Christmas.

I say 5 stars because I do love it, but let's be honest and say that if the original film is five stars this one is somewhere between three and four in reality. The production quality isn't as good, understandably, and the songs aren't as sweeping. The story is quaint, fun for the holidays and better than most Disney sequels but there was no way it could live up to the masterpiece of the original. That said, I love the film and I find it hard to believe anyone can honestly say this film negates the impact of the original (which is something that can be said of other Disney sequels). Now I'm just waiting on the separate release of Lion King 2 on Blu-ray and I'll have all the Disney sequels I ever need or want to own.

(Correction: I may not mind purchasing the Aladdin sequels on Blu-ray someday but they feel more inclusive to the television series than the original film and as such I'd be more inclined to buy them in a series set.)

***So having watched it the PQ is about what you'd expect. It isn't a diamond edition wow factor, but it looks crisp clean and like it was just animated, much better than my old DVD did. The special features are all standard definition, so the Sing me a Story segment (which is only good for kids or one nostalgic viewing) is a little hard to watch due to fuzziness. I wish they had made some new features but as a direct to video sequel I knew that wouldn't happen.

I will say I'd only give this a 3.5 or 4 out of 5 for PQ overall though because the organ character, computer generated back in the late nineties, really shows a pixelated or digitized appearance. He clearly wasn't rendered in a high quality image and there was no way to change that now and it shows. I'm still happy I bought it, I love this film at Christmas and other than the pixelated digital organ, expected lower production values than the original that I was already aware of and no real new special features I thought it was great and worth the price after using the 5 dollar off coupon Disney is offering online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: If you loved the first film, you will enjoy the midquel and it looks so much better on Blu!, December 16, 2011
In 1991, Walt Disney Animation Studios debuted their 30th film in the Walt Disney Animated Classics line and the film would achieve commercial success as it earned over $377 million worldwide and was the first animated film to be nominated for an Academy Award for Best Picture, and the film also received six Academy Award nominations, winning an award for "Best Original Score" and "Best Original Song".

And to capitalize on the success of the film, Disney would release the two midquel's of the "Beauty and the Beast" trilogy: "Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" (1997) and "Belle's Magical World" (1998). The films would take place when Belle was being held inside the mansion of the beast and both trying to get to know each other.

VIDEO:

"Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" is presented in 1080p High Definition Widescreen (1:78:1). For a direct-to-video "Beauty and the Beast" midquel, the production was obviously higher budget with the use of CG. Even the animation is much more fluid, colors are more vibrant, more detail and shadowing are utilized in "The Enchanted Christmas" and utilizes CG similar to the original animated film.

I saw no artifacts, no white specks and scratches. For the most part, picture quality is very good considering this is a direct-to-video release and it being released in 1997. It's unfortunate that this quality didn't transfer over to the third film in the trilogy "Belle's Magical World".

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" is presented in English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, 5.1 Dolby Digital French and Spanish language tracks. Subtitles are in English SDH, French and Spanish.

This film is primarily dialogue and musical driven and the audio comes clear through the center and front channels and music also is utilized through the surround channels. There are some mild action sequences, especially towards the end of the film which does utilize the surround channels but for the most part, this is a dialogue and music driven soundtrack.

Subtitle are in English SDH, French and Spanish.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" comes with the following special features:

Disney's Sing Me a Story With Belle: "Stick To It (Don't Give Up)" - (22:54) A hybrid live/animated short feature featuring a non-animated Belle with cuts of animated and puppet-based characters. Belle inspires children to keep trying and never give up.
Disney's Sing-Along-Mode - While watching the film, you can sing-along with the film (ala Karaoke style) during the musical portion of the film.
Disney's Song Selection - Select you favorite song from the film to sing-along to.
Behind the Scenes Featurette - (15:48) The making of "Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas". While watching the featurette, when a Mickey symbol shows up during the featurette, it will show additional information about the film.
Music Videos: "As Long as There's Christmas" - (3:20) Featuring a music video of "As Long as There's Christmas" by Play.
Enchanted Environment - Bring the castle's crackling fireplace into your home.

EXTRAS:
"Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" comes with a slipcover case plus a DVD presented in widecreen (1:78:1), 5.1 Dolby Digital English, French and Spanish with English SDH, French and Spanish subtitles.

JUDGMENT CALL:

Enchanting and an entertaining continuation to the "Beauty and the Beast" animated film. "Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" is a wonderful family film for the holidays featuring the fun and vibrant characters of Disney's popular animated film.

"Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" is the midquel to the popular animated film and an answer to the many fans who have wanted to see Belle and the Beast once again! It is no surprise that the film would receive a sequel or midquel as the original film literally made over $300 million in the box office, especially considering the original film only cost $25 million to make. So, it was great to see "The Enchanted Christmas" made but also to incorporate the beautiful painted backgrounds, the vibrant colorful characters, wonderful animation including the CG animation that made the animated film so enjoyable, but incorporating it to the direct-to-video film.

"Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas" is a holiday film that brings the cast back together again and one of the enjoyable moments of this film is that we get to see how happy everyone as humans (post-spell) and seeing how Belle and the Prince are so happy together, but also a story that shows what happened during the Holidays when Belle was still being held captive inside the castle and seeing how she was able to bring Christmas back into the castle despite the Beast being against it (as he was turned into a beast on Christmas day).

A big question is if one should upgrade from DVD to Blu-ray. I would say yes, only if you are a big fan of the film. The Blu-ray definitely brings out the colors of the animated film, especially the detail. Everything looks much more clearer and the banding issues that were on the DVD aren't in the Blu-ray version. The Blu-ray version of "The Enchanted Christmas" looks very good and to hear the soundtrack via lossless is also another plus. If anything, the film looks and sounds great in HD and is definitely worth the upgrade.

Overall, "Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted" Christmas is a wonderful holiday film for the entire family. And because it comes with both a Blu-ray and DVD, parents or grandparents can definitely benefit from watching this film via a long holiday commute or keeping the young one's occupied during the Winter break.

But if you are a "Beauty and the Beast" fan and looking for an enjoyable family Holiday film, "The Enchanted Christmas" is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas DVD, August 4, 2002
Compared to today's Direct To Video Disney, this 1997 "sequel" to Beauty and the Beast seems very high quality. The animation does not match the original, no DTV ever will, but luckily it lacks a lot of that flat feel that plagues many Direct To Video productions today. Perhaps because the colors are darker. The only problem is the lack of detail in the backgrounds at times, it's too simplistic. And the characters sometimes are very flat, with no depth like the original classic.
All the original voices return from the original (except Chip), which gives it good continuity. Tim Curry is excellent as the villain Forte. The songs are strong enough, better than anything I've heard in most of the other DTV's from Disney.
Now, to the big problem. Despite the entire movie taking place in two days, it's very hard to swallow that this entire new story took place within the first film. There was not enough time in the first film for this "lost chapter" to have taken place. Continuity errors arise when the Beast imprisons Belle for trying to escape (she was going to cut down a Christmas tree) after giving her word that she wouldn't leave. Problem is that Belle already fled once before in the original, when the Beast rescued her from wolves. And after that incident, the Beast and Belle began to get closer almost immediatley.
Even worse, it turns out (unless Belle and Beast wore the same outfits twice) that the ball room sequence in the original occurred during their Christmas celebration. C'mon, it was obvious that it was not Christmas during the original. It was winter yeah, but Christmas was the last thing on anybodies mind during the incidents that occurred in the original. Oh, and also the Beast hates Christmas becuase it turns out that he was turned into a Beast on the holiday. (Guess the narrator forgot to mention that in the original, didn't he?)
As far as trying to make this story fit within the original, I think a below average job was done. So why four stars? Because even though this does not hold a candle to the original, it is still a very good holiday movie, on it's own, for children. This is much better then those annual Mickey Mouse and Winnie The Pooh Christmas movies that Disney puts out, and I can gaurantee that parents will have an easier time sitting through this movie than those.
It is also vastly superior in terms of quality when compared to recent Disney sequels, just compare this to "The Hunchback of Notre Dame II" and you'll see what I mean. Just don't expect a Best Picture Oscar-calibre film like the original was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not as bad as people say!, May 6, 2000
True, it's not as grand as what we saw in the first Beauty and the Beast, but the fantastic fact that all actors came back to do the sequel (if you can call it that) is great. The animation is NOT poor and is actually very pretty. The story is strong and it is a fitting and warm yuletitde DVD title. It has some great songs which people will love and they are sung by O'Hara as in the original. What most people forget is that this title doesn't have to conform to the tight, well known, fable that the original had to. The flexible narrative suits the subject - which is love, freindship, and seasonal spirit. I would defend this title and say it is great for all. I'm 21 and found it most pleasing. P.S: Don't you think the titles sound like Savana the soap opera show? Hmmm....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this movie is cool!, August 27, 2002
I got this movie for a birthday present when I was 7 (my birthday is right after Christmas). I totally loved it, and I still do, 5 years later, lol! It's a really cute movie and I think lots of kids would like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark for a Holiday movie, November 16, 2002
By A Customer
We bought this DVD in hopes to add to our collection for holiday movies. My daughter barely made it through the first 1/2 hr. She seemed intersted in the beginning but as the movie went on it got very dark and for her a little scary. The beast was angry through most it. The reason for 2 stars, the beginning was fine as was the end. The majority of the movie was disappointing. Was not my idea of a good classical holiday movie. It still contained a good message, but it took too long to get to that message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.